Spirit of Aloha Catamaran Waikiki Turtle Snorkel Sail (from Hilton Pier)

Best snorkel cruise

Reviewed by: Patti, 2017/09/09

Best crew and cruise, they took me care of me when I realized I wasn't the strongest swimmer in the open ocean. They showed me the turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Over Crowded

Reviewed by: egyptnlv, 2017/08/30

Boat didn't have enough seats for everyone so in the beginning and end we were left standing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING!

Reviewed by: Kellie , 2017/08/15

We had a great time snorkeling and seeing all of the sea life! Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip!

Reviewed by: M&m's Mom, 2017/07/15

My 18 and 21 year old "kids" and I had an amazing afternoon aboard the Spirit of Aloha. The captain and crew were friendly and very knowledgeable about the catamaran and about the area's flora and fauna. The gear supplied was well maintained and they had the correct optical masks for both of us that were glasses. We swam with several Honu as well as dozens of tropical fish. All in all it was a fantastic day and we are so happy that we made the trip.


  • from my head to my toes it was an amazing trip

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Crew so so snorkeling due to semi-choppy water

Reviewed by: FatMan64, 2017/05/13

Outstanding crew. My wife does great in calm water but with the choppy water she was apprehensive about snorkeling. The crew calmed her and threw bred crumbs into the water by her to get fish to come near her so she could enjoy the snorkeling close to the boat. Food was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spirit of Aloha - Turtles

Reviewed by: Danni M., 2017/03/21

Did this one second day into the trip and it did not disappoint. Had a fantastic time and will definitely do it again when we come back next year !!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING!

Reviewed by: Thalia, 2017/02/20

Had such an amazing time! Got to see lots of fish & sea turtles, even got to hold an octopus. The crew members were very helpful & very nice. Best snorkeling adventure! Would recommend to everyone!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Canyon Snorkel

Reviewed by: KenG, 2016/10/27

Great trip! Lots of turtles, a surprise stingray, and lots of fish. The crew were fantastic and the food was very good. Strongly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING

Reviewed by: Heather, 2016/09/26

This was arguably one of the best things we did this trip!! Our crew was AMAZING! So friendly, patient and helpful. I can't say enough good things. I've never snorkeled before, I'm not a strong swimmer so I kind of panicked when I was just our in open water even with the group. The crew member leading us to Turtle Canyon saw me struggling, came over and swam me there where I became just mesmerized by how close we were to the fish & turtles I calmed down enough to actually snorkel! She also took my camera down and got crazy awesome pictures. Food was great, drinks were delicious, the sail was beautiful. I cannot say enough good things about this excursion. Worth every penny! Cannot wait to snorkel again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Canyon Snorkel

Reviewed by: Meg, 2016/09/20

Unfortunately, on the day I arrived with my booking we were turned away, even though I had a printed booking for the trip and reference number. The Catamaran company had not had confirmation from Veltra sent through. They could have called to check but they did not seem interested in doing so. To be turned away was was embarrassing and disappointing as this was a birthday treat for that particular day.

We called Veltra and they did apologise for the misunderstanding and booked us on the next day. We had no issues the next day and I must say had a wonderful time. It was just lucky we had another free day.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha Meg,

Thank you for booking with us! We sincerely apologize that you were turned away at the check in location on the date your were scheduled. It was a mix up that could have easily been rectified at the time of check in. We were glad that you were able to do this on the following day and had a memorable time.

We look forward to your next visit to Hawaii!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/08/20

This would have been a great snorkel adventure if there weren't so many people on board. It was impossible to view turtles. We were told to stick together and when the crew member who was in the water with us alerted us about a sighting everyone would swim over towards the turtles and you would either get kicked or shoved aside. Finally my granddaughter and I gave up and swam back toward the catamaran and we saw plenty of fish. The lunch was a lot better than the catamaran snorkel sail I took her on last year while she was here visiting. But they had a lot fewer people and we were able to snorkel and see turtles without being run over.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Gino, 2016/08/13

A must to do staff was very nice, professional and friendly. Will take the family again, I recommend it to anybody who wants to have an adventure. Looking at the tropical fish and turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great early afternoon snorkel

Reviewed by: Julie Hawk, 2016/07/16

Great catamaran sail from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We swam with sea turtles and saw dolphins on the cruise back to the hotel. Great crew. Lunch was just o/k.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Catamaran Cruise

Reviewed by: John, 2014/08/30

It was an awesome experience for my children and myself....to see the turtles was incredible and I would not hesitate to recommend to other families:)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Ariel, 2014/07/18

Amazing time on 6/30/14! My first time being in the middle of the ocean and snorkeling...funny and entertaining crew and still made me feel safe...thank you!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Turtles Invite You to Their Party

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/06/17


As soon as I walked on to the Spirit of Aloha boat, I knew it was going to be a good time. It wasn't too full, and it allowed for more room and comfort on the ride. Captain Dustin gave us a run down of the tour, and gave us free reign of the boat (less the Captain's chair of course). Masa helped us with our gear and Brad swam out to the snorkel spot with us. Yes, Brad knows where the turtles are. We saw tons of turtles, all with big personalities that were bigger than there shells. We twice got to see a turtle swim up to the surface! I never expected to see such humongous turtles. I named one of them Soldier because he was missing one flipper and the shell was pretty damaged, but he swam quite happily. I saw a pair of turtles even hold fins like buddies. It was too cute. The water was perfect and it was a beautiful day. We got back on the boat and Brad helped us with lunch. I highly recommend this snorkel cruise!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle trip

Reviewed by: Vicki PN, 2014/05/19

The turtle snorkel trip was fantastic. Great activity for teenagers and adults. Fantastic crew. A holiday highlight.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling Waikiki

Reviewed by: Sandy , 2014/02/08

Had a great time with friends, the crew was great. Wonderful day!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not for first timers

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/04/07

I attended this with my husband and son. They are both strong swimmers, but I am not. I've never snorkeled before, and this is not where I should have tried it for the first time. I had a life jacket on, so I knew I was safe, but the water was very deep, and the water had 4-6 foot swells. We had to swim against the current to get to the turtles. The waves were too much for me, I got tired quickly, I was uncomfortable with it being so deep, and the waves so high, so I got back in the boat. My husband and son enjoyed it though, and got up close to the turtles. At one point some spinner dolphins approached the group, but because everyone is looking down, only a few of the swimmers saw them. The leader stayed with the group, and I felt the staff were excellent. After the snorkeling they put up the sail and we took off past Diamond Head, looking for whales. We didnt see any, but we spotted some bottle nose dolphins in the distance. And the ride was fun. The lunch was very basic

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Day

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/19

Overall a relaxing sail and a great time was had by my wife and i.

Never snorkeled before, but that was no problem....the boat was really impressively clean and well cared for. SOme tours can be kind of slack about cleanliness (bathrooms, facilities, etc..) but not this one...everything was immaculate. Staff was great. Always "on it" as far as service goes, and we had just a really great day. I could go on this tour several times and still enjoy it just as much, if not more, than the first time. Great staff. GReat day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mommy and Daughter Day!!

Reviewed by: Ms. Rosie, 2011/06/15

It was a wonderful sail and beautiful scenery of Diamond Head, Waikiki and Town. The Captain answered all of my daughter's questions, and let me tell you..SHE HAD A LOT of questions!! She even made friends with another little girl on-board. We didn't snorkel because I am not a great swimmer and the waves looked kinda rough, but its ok...me and my daughter was on the top drinking our Orange and Guave juice and enjoying the breeze, relaxing and taking in the scenery.

The Catamaran was clean, comfortable, and had 2 CLEAN bathrooms on-board (Women and Men). The staff was very friendly, always came around to see how we were doing and offering us anything to drink.. Beautiful way to spend your afternoon.. Well done, Thank you Hawaiiactivities.com and Hawaii Nautical!!








Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A QUALITY EXPERIENCE 1st CLASS FUN!

Reviewed by: Laura W., 2011/06/14

I've been on other snorkeling cruises but was REALLY IMPRESSED with the boat and the crew. The boat was very clean, open and comfortable. Having great his and her bathrooms was a nice plus as well. The crew were fun, informative and professional. They make you feel very comfortable and taken care of. Swimming with the turtles was a total treat. There's a crew member in the water with you the entire time and they are not only looking out for your safety but are answering questions about the fish, turtles and the total area. In addition, they are educating you so you really "swim" away knowing more than when you came. The sailing portion was really relaxing and peaceful. It's great to see Waikiki & Diamond Head Crater from the water and being able to leave on this trip from the Hilton is a real plus. Even the food and snacks were good. I would definitely recommend this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

REALLY AMAZING STAFF!!!

Reviewed by: Anderson, 2011/06/14

Our friend recommended that we do this cruise and boy was I not disappointed. I have been on several other snorkeling trips before but never have i been so close to turtles! The staff was really amazing and it even comes with 3 free alcoholic drinks! The lunch was very ono as well. Over all a really fun day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not for beginning snorkelers

Reviewed by: humuhumunukunukuapua'a, 2010/12/16

I went on this tour with my friend, both of us have grown up around the water and have been snorkeling many times in Hawaii. On this tour, they take you to a snorkel spot called turtle canyon. However, turtle canyon is between 40 and 50 feet deep and your basically staring down at a reef that is so far down there are scuba divers below you AND it is not a secluded snorkeling spot but rather an open ocean spot far away from the shore of waikiki beach... like, past where the surfers are!
I found it to be a little scary and the "guide" kept swimming off leaving my friend and I to chase him and not guiding us at all. Once the word "sharks" was mentioned, i swam back to the boat (a 5minute swim back btw).
On another note, the sailing part was lovely and relaxing and we saw TONS OF DOLPHINS, the lunch was good as was the champagne and other drinks. The crew was great as well... except for the snorkel guide that kept leaving us to float alone in the middle of the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI