Whale sightings guaranteed! West Oahu Whale Watch Cruise from Waianae [Dec-Mar] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Whale sightings guaranteed! West Oahu Whale Watch Cruise from Waianae [Dec-Mar]

Overall Rating

4.36 4.36 / 5

Reviews

33 reviews
Post a review

Fantastic crew. Best trip

Reviewed by: jan Seifert , 2022/04/19

Wonderful boat trip and watched two whales. Best crew

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Boat Trip!

Reviewed by: James, 2022/03/31

We had a very good experience on board this vessel. The crew was kind, courteous and knowledgeable. Captain Jesse and the crew were very entertaining. We did find a whale about 50 yards off the bow, caught a shot of his tail! Great boat ride, beautiful scenery and gorgeous weather! Well worth the price of admission! Thank you to everyone involed!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun times

Reviewed by: Stephan, 2022/03/30

I took my folks on this boat trip, and they had a great time. We spotted a whale about 50 yards out and saw a bunch of flying fish. The crew were fun and informative and showed us all sorts of sites. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see a whale or just enjoy a big catamaran.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super chill whale watch.

Reviewed by: Kathryn Reich , 2022/03/05

Loved the catamaran, as we got to sit on the sturdy netting and relax during our ride. We saw a mother and newborn calf and hung out with them for the duration of the trip. Adorable. The crew was entertaining, kind, and resourceful.

We were three adults, but we saw several families with children of a variety of ages enjoy the activity as well. It was winter when we did it and it was super warm. They provide sunscreen, but if you are particular about brands, bring your own. Also if you are sensitive to the sun, bring a hat that is able to withstand the wind. Two additional notes: bring shoes you are ok with being locked up as this is a shoeless cruise. And you get two drink tickets with a very serviceable bar and local draught brews.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was awesome!

Reviewed by: Aki & Matt, 2022/02/17

Twenty minutes after leaving Waianae harbor, my husband spotted a whale spout first. After that several pairs of whales were spotted during the 2 hour tour.
We were so excited when one appeared at a distance of about 20 yards (whale came up to the boat) Also we watched a whale with a baby, and the baby appeared to wave to us hitting the surface of the water several times with a pectoral fin awhile looking at us.
The waves weren't so strong on that day, so even I, who get seasick, could spend the day out to sea without any problems. I was relieved that there is a restroom on board.
We relaxed sitting back enjoyed the whales and good drinks with snacks . We really had a great time.
The captain and the three staff members always took care to make us feel comfortable. The boat appears and sounds to be in good working order. We felt safe on it.
Thank you, CPT Dave, Quin, Aaron, and braeden!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Maddie, 2022/02/08

The crew were fantastic! First part of the trip had difficulty finding the Whales (Mother Nature you know) but the captain and crew were relentless in the search to provide us an excellent experience! We found a group of whales that came extraordinarily close to the boat. Refreshments and snacks were also provided. Great for any traveler, family, couples or solo!
10/10 experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOWW

Reviewed by: Prachi D, 2022/01/20

This a must do activity. Since Dec to Mar is mating season, they guarantee you sights of whale or will offer you another trip.

Those whales are majestic to watch. The views of west Oahu from the boat were treat to our eyes. I haven’t seen a landscape that beautiful. The good part is our boat was NOT overcrowded at all. The boat also had net at the front where you can sit. Its an amazing experience to feel the ocean waves so close.

The staff was super nice and fun. We were late by 3 mins and still they were courteous and waited for us. The music on boat is fun and the crew will keep entertaining you with the Hawaii'an language to call out whales and also jokes!! They were also helpful in clicking pictures for us. We even managed to get a pic with whale's tail in the background!!!

They offer 1 free drink per person (alcoholic/non-alcoholic) and a snack too :). I would suggest not to drink while on boat if you have a motion sickness. We had US COVID vaccination card so weren't required to take a COVID test. Please check with COVID requirements before booking.

  • Whale sight

  • Sooo close <3

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time and awesome staff!

Reviewed by: JKKM, 2022/01/15

We had 2 adults and 2 little kids. We saw whales within the first 20 minutes and they continues to follow them. The staff was highly engaging and very informative during the trip. This is not a stuffy pre-canned trip, the staff really made it an enjoyable time and you can tell they love what they do.

  • This is taken with an iPhone to give you and idea of how close you get

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding Experience

Reviewed by: Bubba, 2022/01/09

We loved Captain Jesse, Aaron, and Seanna! They went above and beyond to make sure that we had the best experience possible. Thanks to them, we were able to see 2 males showing dominance over the other, and 1 baby calf fooling around. On the boat, it was very spacious and the service was phenomenal. Would recommend 10/10.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very cool!

Reviewed by: Murphy , 2021/02/21

Beautiful boat, fun crew, and a nice sail. It was neat to see whales in real life.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best money I've ever spent

Reviewed by: Ashley C., 2020/02/26

This was just such a great experience. We got incredibly lucky with active whales during our trip. We saw two set of mothers with their calves. The calves breached multiple times and we even got to see one of the mothers breach! Even just the scenery during the sail up the coast was amazing. The crew was incredibly fun and nice, everyone was very accommodating. I would definitely recommend using this company for your whale tour.

  • Mother surfacing with her calf breaching

  • Calf breaching

  • Calf breaching

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching

Reviewed by: B&D, 2020/01/20

Had a great time, saw momma and baby whales but now tails to shallow to dive. Fun day

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This was an ok adventure

Reviewed by: Tracy Arnett, 2019/04/10

The staff was amazing, but for money, this was just ok for us. We spent 2 hours cruising the ocean looking for whales. We did not see any, but did see some dolphins and a sea turtle. I was under the impression that the boat would be a catamaran, and would have some areas to sit, relax, and watch. But, apparently on certain days, the Disney resort uses that boat and so we took a boat normally used for scuba diving out. There was not much seating that allowed for you to view the ocean and watch for whales, so basically we stood the whole 2 hours on some pretty choppy water. They had some snacks and refreshments which my son enjoyed, but about an hour in he was pretty bored. Again, the staff was awesome, but the experience as a whole I probably would not do again. They did give us a voucher to return for free. We will see.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Baby whale! (doo doo doo doo doo)

Reviewed by: Kristin, 2019/02/09

It was a lovely afternoon on the boat where we saw and followed 2 pairs of whales-- one of which was a mama and a baby whale! The team was experienced and knowledgeable and also showed us other ocean wildlife while we were waiting for the whales to resurface. Excellent activity-- I would do again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whaleless Whale Watch

Reviewed by: Karen R., 2018/03/25

Unfortunately we didn’t see any whales on the cruise (the same cruise the day before saw 8 we heard from another passenger), but they gave us a voucher to return because they guarantee you will see whales. We found the crew to be fun and friendly. We appreciated the drinks and snacks. My kids and I have been boating a lot so the rough seas and rainy weather didn’t bother us, but several passengers were sick. A day on the ocean with beautiful island views, regardless of rain, is still better than a day at work or school!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Afternoon Whale Watch Cruise

Reviewed by: Ken, 2018/02/25

The whale watch cruise was a great afternoon experience. The catamaran used was in top shape. The tour was not over crowded and the crew took care of everyone's needs. Saw many whales and even some dolphins and sea turtles. Glad the afternoon weather was beautiful which made being out on the open water enjoyable. Definitely do this tour again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Whale Watch Experience

Reviewed by: Colorado Couple, 2018/02/21

Take the tour with this company! We were hoping to see some whales and have a great cruise on the ocean. Our cruise turned out beyond expectations. Not just because we saw lots of whales but Captain Amy and her happy crew had the best attitude. They were knowledgeable, very considerate, and made sure we had fun. Despite the downpour of rain at the very end, even this turned out to be a fun adventure!

  • Can’t Believe I Captured This!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best value for money we ever spent on an excursion

Reviewed by: Bart&Roxy, 2017/12/23

Excellent team, equipment and service. We booked the tour with whale watch guarantee very early in the season, we did not see whales our first 2 times, but we never had to ask for the voucher to go again and it was very easy to rebook for another day and time. We had an amazing exoerience seeing the whales on our 3rd trip. On trip one and two the team also made sure we had a good time by serving great cocktails.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Jim, 2017/02/20

The staff was great - very nice and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories