Honolulu Christmas City Lights on Trolley or Double-Decker Bus (from Waikiki)

Really enjoyed!

Reviewed by: Natalie, 2018/01/22

This definitely exceeded my expectations! The lights outside Honolulu Hale were beautiful but I didn’t even know about all the trees and decorations inside! Everything was gorgeous & so festive. The lights extended down the road & there was so much to do (food, rides, etc). I also enjoyed the trolley ride to and from because parking is of course minimal in the area. Would definitely go again!





Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just okay.

Reviewed by: Aimey R., 2017/12/28

Overrated, but still fun to see the city from up high (especially with kids)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Christmas Lights Trolley Ride

Reviewed by: CASEY, 2017/12/11

It was a nice and fun trolley ride with the kids to see the Honolulu City Christmas lights. Recommend it to anyone who wants to sit back, relax and listen to Christmas songs while enjoying the festive lights. I liked is especially that I didn't have to drive and look for parking which made the evening more enjoyable to spend with the kids.

Highly recommend this tour and buy yoir tickets thru this site. Fast and prompt notification on confirmations, etc.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Late start, disappointed finish

Reviewed by: Joel, 2016/12/25

After finding parking ($12) rushed to locate the shuttle which started late because someone on another business had to go potty. Rode to downtown area where there was about 3 blocks of Christmas lights and then stopped to walk around a building with a few trees in it then back to wait on another late bus just to return to where we started. Huge disappointment for $25 and 3 hours I'll never get back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great service

Reviewed by: Derek , 2016/12/21

Niu helped us to find the place and actually called to see it the trolley could wait for us! Thanks for a really nice time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommended

Reviewed by: Mister, 2016/02/14

First off we got to ride on a double decker bus with Christmas lights strung on the roof which was not expected because of the title. That was definitely a pleasant surprise. The trolley picked up me and my girlfriend in Waikiki and took us through down town honolulu to see Christmas lights that you probably wouldn't park and walk to look at. The driver also acted as a tour guide talking on the speaker about the history of some of the buildings. Then we circled through to the big Santa and Mrs. Claus statue and the bus dropped us off for half an hour to walk around. Got picked up and dropped off at the same location we started off. No complaints at all.



Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review. I agree! The Waikiki Trolley is a convenient way to see the Honolulu City Lights and Honolulu Hale during the holidays. We're glad you had a great time. Hope to see you again next year. Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Festive & Fun!

Reviewed by: Traveler, 2016/01/18

This was the best way to see the Honolulu Xmas Lights.... no traffic to deal with, no having to look for parking, a friendly driver, xmas lights on the bus and xmas music playing! The bus ride (a double decker!) was the best part of the entire tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu city lights tour

Reviewed by: Travelmom, 2016/01/09

This was the second year we took this tour. The check in crew, driver of the bus, and narrator were very friendly and courteous. It was a fun time for my family and I !

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Okay but not what I was expecting

Reviewed by: Melanie, 2015/12/29

It was a little hard to find the meeting spot, and the description of the tour didn't match what actually happened. First, I thought we would be on a smaller, old-fashioned trolley. We actually rode on a double-decker tour bus, and the fumes were awful on the lower level. The description of the tour said that we would make 2 circuits around Waikiki to see the lights and made no mention of getting off the bus at any time. But, we actually stopped at the extremely crowded Honolulu City of Lights for 30+ minutes, which I was not expecting.

Reply from activity provider

Happy New Years Melanie!
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with our Holiday Lights Tour. We were not clear enough in letting customers know that
they would be in double decker vehicles. We sincerely apologize. (The name of our company is The Waikiki Trolley but we actually have many types of
vehicles.)

Where did you read the description of our tour? Was it on our web site? The stop at Honolulu Hale is the highlight of this tour so I am concerned where
we missed that in the description you read. We really do appreciate you letting us know these things so we can continually improve.

If you could respond to jlawson@waikikitrolley.com that would be great!

Sincerely,
The Waikiki Trolley Team

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not a trolley, it's a tour bus

Reviewed by: Aaron, 2015/12/27

We were expecting a trolley but got a packed tour bus.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu City Lights Tour

Reviewed by: Mike , 2015/12/26

Very disappointed. The only lights were at the Hale. The money paid is not worth it. The end result is one hour wasted. Would recommend avoiding this tour and simply drive to the Hale to see the lights. Honolulu City Lights Tour is false advertising.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Christmas lights trolley

Reviewed by: Melody60, 2015/12/17

This was my 4th time seeing the lights. There were fewer lights then previous years. The worst part was not enough time was allowed for seeing the displays at the Hale building. The trolley was decorated nicely and the driver was pleasant but radio was used for music which was interrupted with talking. I doubt I will do this again due to parking cost added to ticket cost. :-(


  • We love seeing Hawaii during the holidays

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome family time!

Reviewed by: Loren , 2015/01/12

We had a great time on the Waikiki Trolley! It was nice to see all the lights and not have to worry about being the driver. The staff was very helpful and courteous too.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you got to enjoy the lights with us. We hope to see you again on our other tours and events. Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

honolulu city lights trolley

Reviewed by: BJAM, 2014/12/30

This was overall very very disappointing. We went on this tour on Christmas eve with our young family, our daughter was excited to go on one of the trolleys and sing Christmas carols, as she had seen them drive along Waikiki. Firstly there was no trolley, but a double decker bus. The driver explained at the outset that because they had changed to a bus, he would not be able to sing or talk along the way. It was promoted as 90 minute trip, but it was actually 45 minutes in total. The lights indeed were lovely but the experience was disappointing

Reply from activity provider

Aloha BJAM,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Due to the overwhelming popularity of our Honolulu City Lights program, we did make a last minute substitution from trolleys to double deckers, allowing more people to enjoy the beauty of our city lit up for the holiday season. The 90-minute experience includes time to get off and enjoy Honolulu Hale, the rides, booths, and festivities.

We understand your disappointment at the loss of Christmas cheer this change created for your daughter and your family. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will continue improving this experience for 2015 using the information you have passed along helping us give you both the holiday spirit and the aloha spirit that make your holidays full of joy.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI