West Oahu Sunset, Snorkel & Hawaiian Buffet Dinner Cruise (from Ko Olina Harbor)

Excellent

Reviewed by: Norma, 2017/04/04

We loved our time on the snorkeling and dinner cruise excursion. Well worth the price. Our captain gave great instruction and safety procedures. He also took us up snd close to a whale which gave us quite a show within 25 yards or so. The time by the shore snorkeling was impressive. Lots of fish.
The dinner was delicious with plenty of variety of drinks both spirited and not. I enjoyed the time to enjoy the sunset. Beautiful. There are two restrooms where you can change. Two shower hoses to rinse off after you snorkel. Staff was great. Underwater photographer was along for optional photo package you can purchase.


  • My husband saying hello.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Adventures In Sea Sickness

Reviewed by: DLineen, 2017/03/25

I know it's just the luck of the draw and bad timing but 5 or 6 people got sick on our trip due to high waves. Maybe cancelling the trip would have been best because after all that, the provided meal was not at all appetizing. Yes we saw a couple green sea turtles, but it would have been much, much better without the fear of human projectile.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Time

Reviewed by: R.D. Francis , 2017/02/12

My wife and I enjoyed this very much, Great way to help celebrate our 30th anniversary. A fun and knowledgable crew took very good care of us. Fantastic catamaran

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Joy Snorkel & Dinner Cruise Review

Reviewed by: Unhappy customer, 2016/08/02

We were pretty disappointed with this trip. Just not as organized as we had hoped. We've been on many different snorkel trips over the years and this is one of the most unorganized we've attended. Competing boats seem to pass out gear and explain rules and safety regulations on the way to the destination. Then, once anchored, we can get in the water. This boat waits until we are on anchor, then starts the slow unorganized process of handing out gear. Takes way too long!

Food was decent, but mixed drinks were not! The captain, although tried to be funny, was not for the most part. We tried to have a conversation with him and generally got one word answers. So, he really wasn't interested in talking with us. When we were on anchor, he seemed to be more interested in flying his own personal drone around the boat.

The crew was nice and helpful, the captain, not so much! The best part of the trip was the photographer. Really a terrific individual, very personal with the guest and generally took an interest in the guest.

Overall, I wouldn't use this boat again.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience on the Kai 'Oli'Oli. We are sorry your experience wasn't the best. Because of your feedback, we have thoroughly retrained the crew on how to efficiently conduct our snorkel preparation and briefings and have privately counseled the Captain about his disinterest towards you and your family. At our next crew meeting, we have food and beverage training scheduled in addition to our usual safety training. We strive to always have complete customer satisfaction and we know that at times we may fall short, so we truly appreciate your input. When you visit O'ahu again, please call us directly and we would like to host you on our boat and we will be proud to show you a better tour as a result of your review.

Ocean Joy Cruises Management

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best excursion!

Reviewed by: Tracy Arnett, 2016/04/05

This was hands down our favorite excursion on the island! Fantastic Crew, great food, fun music, great snorkeling, and lovely boat ride. We went with my mom and our 5 year old son. Both of them chose not to snorkel and still had a blast. Extra bonus, they have a photographer who took tons of photos (even underwater!) at the cost of $40 for the entire flash drive. Really great time! Highly recommend!! We will be back :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An absolutely wonderful time!

Reviewed by: Alison B, 2015/11/15

My fiancé and I went on the Snorkel and Sunset cruise the second week of November. The bus pick-up was extremely easy and allowed for worry-free drinks on the cruise.

The cruise was spectacular. The orientation was clear and made us both feel comfortable. The snorkel spot selected was stunning and quite safe feeling. We saw many tropical fish and even had a ray breeze past! We spotted a humpback whale breaching and so the captain took us on over for a closer look.

The Kalua pork was tasty for dinner and the crew went out of their way to make sure we were all satisfied. We were treated to a beautiful sunset and leisurely cruise back to harbor.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Second Time - As GREAT as the first!

Reviewed by: Silas, 2015/10/13

Ah Man! What an amazing trip. I was a bit weary on the afternoon of since the weather report was not promising any sun. But the sunset was probably the most beautiful I have ever seen. The colors that crusted the clouds were just tear jerking. The crew was so friendly and laid back, food was healthy and tasty, beer was cold, the coastline was misty, water dark blue ... it felt so good to be there at that moment. Cheers to Ocean Joy and VELTRA for making this short trip back to the islands so much fun.




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best sunset on Oahu!

Reviewed by: Lahn Bahn, 2015/10/13

This sail packs in so much in the perfect amount of time. Not only do you get to sail along the west coast of Oahu, but you get to visit a great snorkel spot, eat your fill of delicious food and guzzle down lots of drinks!

I have done a lot of regular dinner cruises in Hawaii and in other states, but this one is definitely the most unique and you totally get a great bang for your buck. Since you are on the west side, you are literally right there as the sun dips below the horizon, and with a steady stream of drinks and as much food as you can eat, there isn't anything better!!!

The drive is like 40 minutes from Waikiki, but the transportation was comfortable and on-time. Great option if you don't want to drive and definitely a "must do" if everyone in your party is planning on knocking back a few.

Be sure to bring some cash to buy the photos that they take of you. The photographer is fantastic and takes TONS of pictures throughout the cruise, both in and out of the water. They put it on a USB drive for you and that way you don't have to worry about snapping shots and can just focus on having fun ^_^

Best. Dinner. Snorkel. Sunset. Cruise. EVAR!




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME!!

Reviewed by: Tristan, 2015/10/13

Best snorkel cruise I've been on! The crew were great and you can tell they enjoy their jobs. They were all friendly and personable. They made the experience what is was. Unfortunately I am bad with names, but the crew member who spoke all the different languages was fantastic and so was our photographer (local girl).


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A day that I won't ever forget!

Reviewed by: Ms. Kitty, 2015/03/18

My friends and I were finally able to get together on Oahu, and we knew that we wanted to spend it out on the water. This cruise was the perfect choice since we got to snorkel at TWO spots (both filled with fish, coral, urchins, etc.), sipped on cocktails, devoured plates and plates of food, watched the sunset AND got to see whales! We literally couldn't ask for more!

After leaving the harbor, we headed out to the first snorkel spot and got the first glimpse of whales and after we got out of the water (which was really warm by the way), we saw even MORE whales!

The food was really hearty and filling (pulled pork, teriyaki chicken, a really tasty pasta salad, white rice, veggies and fruit) and the crew kept all of our drinks topped up :)

Really happy that we got to go on this cruise, and can't wait to go again on my next visit!


  • The west side sunset


  • Hi! Snorkel time!


  • Ready to get on board!


  • Whaaaaales!


  • High Five!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu / Waikiki Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI