Honu Lani Waikiki Whale Watching Sailing Cruise [Open Soon] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Honu Lani Waikiki Whale Watching Sailing Cruise [Open Soon]

Overall Rating

3.94 3.94 / 5

Reviews

107 reviews
Post a review

Fun morning cruise!

Reviewed by: Tricia , 2021/03/30

The staff was amazing, personable and hilarious! Overall we saw 2 babies and 2 adults but they were at a distance.
If you are looking for up close this is not the cruise but this is very family friendly and a relaxing sail with great views of Honolulu .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience and such a awesome staff!!!

Reviewed by: Leanne Mckinnerney , 2021/01/27

The whole trip was wonderful! We saw 2 sets of whales baby and mamma! The staff was so nice and professional ❤️

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Alan Berard, 2021/01/23

This is a great cruise. The boat was spotless and the Captain and crew were awesome. They were very interactive and made sure they took care of us in the drink and snack area. They were very knowledgeable and fun to interact with. We were able to see quite a few whales which was so fun. Booking was easy as well as check in.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

くじらを遠くに見ながらお酒を飲んで楽しかったです(コロナ前)

Reviewed by: ふよん, 2020/12/12

コロナ前ですが、クジラを遠くに見ながらジェットフォイル船でお酒を飲んで楽しかったです。60over二人を連れてても全然問題なかったです。また行けるといいなー。

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Whale Watching Cruise

Reviewed by: Nancy & Shirley, 2019/03/09

The ride was very calm and nice weather. The whales consisted of a baby and its mother which we only saw once. We were in only 45 foot deep water. That is not deep enough for the whales. It was a bust.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whales

Reviewed by: Jan Goldberg, 2017/03/18

Great tour! We saw male whale showing off plus momma whale with baby!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour!

Reviewed by: JTran, 2017/01/29

This is my second time going to Oahu but was traveling with friends who have never gone. One was really interested in whale watching so we saw links for the Honi Olani Catamaran Sail and decided to try this one out. We're super glad we did because this was such a great tour!

The staff are extremely friendly and they provide such a great experience. The first time we went, we didn't see any whales but that may have been because of the strong waves and number of boats sailing around which might have scared them away.
Regardless of seeing whales, the cruise was awesome. It was really nice to be able to feel the sun on the catamaran and have a nice beverage while we enjoyed the weather. The tour was nice to give us a free voucher to ride again to see if we can spot whales the second time and we did! We ended up seeing a mother whale teaching her male calf how to breach!

I would definitely cruise again with this crew when I come back to Oahu. Mahalo for the great experience guys

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2016/05/04

Magnifica mini crociera su catamarano, splendida esperienza e vista magnifica su diamond head e waikiki beach. Fantastico!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good sail

Reviewed by: Janice Bryan, 2016/05/01

1st time to Hawaii and was a little disappointed had to cancel our whale watching trip the 1st time but was able to reschedule before we left. We saw one whale but wasn't fast enough to get a picture. Just saw a little bit of the hump and tail. But we had fun while we could.

  • On our way back to port.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching on Catermarang

Reviewed by: Jane, 2016/04/16

We had a great time out with a fabulous, fun and friendly crew. We loved being on this particular boat. You can stand really close to the edge or laze out in the middle over the netting. Oh and the whales were entertaining too. We even saw one breech! Will definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Nice

Reviewed by: Mama, 2016/04/05

Very nice experience! I was going with my 8yd son. Very impressive!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN TIME!

Reviewed by: Stephanie M., 2016/03/05

We went on the afternoon cruise on Valentine's Day 2016 that was suppose to leave at 3 p.m. We ended up leaving about 15 minutes late because we had to wait for a van coming from Waikiki with more riders and they were late. We did see whales about 2 miles off the Hilton Hawaiian Hotel. The crew was very friendly and we enjoyed the open bar. It was like a whale watching party on someone's private boat! We had so much fun, that we booked the 5:30 p.m. boat cruise that very same day! Again, the only disappointment was that the boat was suppose to depart at 5:30 p.m., but this time it did not depart until 6:15 p.m. (45 minutes later!) because again, we were waiting on a van that had gone to hotels in Waikiki to pick up more riders and they were late due to traffic. Our boat cruise was cut short by 45 minutes and we only stayed out on the ocean until 7 p.m. so we felt cheated out of ocean time. Again, the crew was friendly but when I pay to spend time on the ocean, I expect and want to spend the entire one and a half hours on the ocean. In the future, I would suggest to the boat company, not to wait for a late van of riders and penalize those who were on time. Or, make sure that your riders get their full time on the ocean by staying out longer if you depart late.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice people - no whales

Reviewed by: smdaniela, 2016/02/13

The crew were very pleasant and helpful, somewhat informative. Drinks were available to anyone who wanted them that early in the morning, and there were many who did. Unfortunately,only a few tails sighted. Boat/captain only went about 3 miles out, where every other boat had gone to whale watch - and no one had any luck. I'm guessing a combination of too many boats, too much noise, and the slight delay in migration everyone talked about b/c of el Nino.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Christmas in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Cyndi, 2016/01/11

We spent Christmas in Hawaii and went on this excursion and absolutely loved it!!! The crew was fabulous and we would do this excursion again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two tailfins and numerous whale blowouts

Reviewed by: Gunnar Durén, 2015/12/13

Given the early season we had low expectations on whale spotting, but we were at least looking forward to a great boat ride on the ocean. And we sure got that.
After about 20 minutes we spotted the first whale air blowout and there were many more. Finally two North Pacific Hump Back whales surfaced and dove down again, showing their tailfins. Great experience, great weather, great boat trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: HulaHoney, 2015/09/07

My mom and I are seasoned travelers to Hawaii. We enjoy whale watching but this was our first time on this Waikiki Whale Watch Sail.

Our driver picked us up on time and was courteous and professional.

We sailed on the Honi Olani. It is a 45 passenger boat but for our tour there were only a dozen or so guests. We were given safety instructions and then we headed out to search for whales!

Captain Chad seemed very experienced and knowledgeable about the humpback whales and their patterns. He knew how long they would be down and which direction they were headed.

We spotted 2 whales and stayed with them most of the tour. The whales dive down and then come back up every so often for air. We saw the other large whale watching boats but we were closer than them and able to turn quicker and get to the whales when they popped back up.

We also saw green sea turtles, spinner dolphins and flying fish.

The boat has bathrooms on board and snacks were provided. There was fresh orange and apple, chex mix and granola bars. There is a covered area in case of inclement weather. The drinks were free for sodas and $1 or $2 for alcohol.

The crew was great. Chad, Jacob and Chad were more than happy to talk to you about the beautiful Hawaiian Islands and all they have to offer.

Our tour lasted a few minutes longer than expected because we came upon the pod of spinner dolphins. Nobody on board had conflicting plans so we were able to prolong the tour a bit.

Upon arrival to Waikiki our drive was able to drop us at a different location to do some shopping! It wasn't far from our hotel yet it saved our tired feet and legs.

I do recommend this tour to others. It would be great for any age. There were senior and young children alike on our sail. The little ones enjoyed the nets in the front of the boat. And the seniors were able to sit in the covered area to rest. I'll definitely be going out on the boat again on my next visit to Waikiki.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Steve, 2015/04/20

I recommend the whale watching with Hawaii Nautical. The crew was fabulous and very friendly. We got lucky because our family was the only one on board that day. We saw some green sea turtles and some spinner dolphins but the whales were very elusive that day. The captain tried his best and even gave us some extra time to try and catch sight of some whales. He felt very bad that we did not get to see some whales up close. We were not disappointed, we just enjoyed the cruise. But he gave us some coupons for another free trip with them anyways. Next time we are in Hawaii, we will go with them again for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waiiki Whale Watch Cruise

Reviewed by: Sharon & Jim, 2015/04/10

Dave and the crew of the Honi Olani catamaran were very friendly and welcoming to their tour guests. We enjoyed our late morning cruise on a bright, sunny day which featured panoramic views of Honolulu, Waikiki and Diamond Head.
Unfortunately, following a through search with all eyes focused on the horizon, we did not see any whales during our late in the season (end of March) cruise. We did see several sea turtles which thrilled the children on board.
At the end of the cruise we received vouchers for another Hawaii Nautical tour which we plan to use on our next visit to Hawaii.
Although we didn't see any whales we would recommend this tour - how often do you have the opportunity to take a catamaran cruise in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everything Hoped For -The Perfect Experience

Reviewed by: Susan, 2015/04/05

This was exactly what my husband and I had hoped for in a whale watching experience. By being on a sailing craft we were able to enjoy a sail as well as watching for those amazing humpback whales. The crew was fantastic and very informative. Our driver Shannon picked us up at our hotel and was delightful. Chad the captain of the catamaran was most interesting and had a lot to share about the island and the activities.
After hearing that Hawaii was the place to see the humpbacks during the winter months this was a "must do activity", we were not disappointed.
Great Experience - We would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a great experience!

Reviewed by: brittany, 2015/04/01

My husband and I had such a great experience! The catamaran was huge and very clean. The crew was very knowledgeable and always made sure your drink was full (did I mention that beer and wine drinks were only $1?? Can't beat that!) We felt that we were on a private, luxury tour the way that we were treated! Not to mention that we got up close and personal with an entire family of humpback whales!!! We followed them for awhile, watching them play and jump. It was the best tour we did in Hawaii and will definitely be doing it again next time we visit Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Cruise

Reviewed by: zenm, 2015/03/31

My family and I went to a afternoon 2 hours whale watching. We couldn't see whales this time but we all enjoyed on catamaran cruise.
I love this catamaran, we sat on front of boat most of the time. We saw great views of the ocean, harbor, beach, diamond head,
coco head, and building of waikiki city. We also saw beautiful rainbow.
The captain and crew were very friendly and knowledgeable. They provided us free snack and soft drinks, you can get beer if you pay $1 that is good deal.
The captain gave us a free ride ticket because we did not see whales. So, we definitely come back to tour again when we come back to Hawaii!!
I also satisfied customer service of Hawaii activities when I book this tour. They also called me for remind the tour the day before,which is help us.
I definitely recommend this whale watching tour book by Hawaii activities.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best whale watch in Honolulu

Reviewed by: Unju Rogers, 2015/03/30

This is by far the best whale watch in Honolulu. I've been on both Navatek and Star of the Sea whale watches and they do not compare to the experience you get with this whale watch. The catamaran is very clean and the crew was great! They were not only observant to everyone's safety on board they were hilarious! My family (including a two year old toddler) had an amazing time. I was very fortunate to have found this activity through Veltra. I was hosting a friend who had never been on a whale watch and it was an amazing experience. We chose the late morning tour and it was perfect. The boat went out and the crew was able to find whales within 30 minutes from take off. There were an estimated 5 male humpback whales swimming together and we circled them while they dove. They were so magnificent and during the time we were watching them the crew members told us much about their behaviors. they told us why it wasn't unusual that a group of males would be traveling together and they also told us what would've been different if we had spotted a mama and her calf. Although none breached out of the water we saw them come to the surface many times. It was so amazing to see so many of them at once! At one point we saw all five come to the surface and blow water from their backs at the same time. Talk about a magical vacation moment!

I'd book this again in a heartbeat!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watch Sailing Cruise

Reviewed by: Iowa Family, 2015/03/30

Great afternoon with a wonderful crew. The boat was wonderful, the crew was very nice and helpful and we totally enjoyed ourselves. Would give the whole experience and A+++. Enjoyed the drinks and snacks. Drinks very very affordable and snacks were free and good. We also got to see whales so that made it even better.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Activity, a couple whales and some dauphins.

Reviewed by: Gilles, 2015/03/28

we just went to this activity last Wednesday 8.30 am and it was great! We arrived a bit early and just took a walk around the park. very nice area. They have easy parking next to the Marina where you can park for $1.00/ hour. The crew on the cruise was very nice and made us feel welcome right away. We were only 6 on the cruise witch made it very intimate. I think that is one of the great advantages of the morning cruise, We took a drink and sat on the front nats until we saw turtle and dauphins and finally on the way back a couple whales. The whales were the least impressive as you stand far away and they don t really jump out of the water as you see on TV. It was one mother and one maybe and they basically just came up to the surface to breath every so often. Everything considering, this was a great way to spend morning. Maybe a bit overpriced but the crew and amenities were great.
Compare to the huge ships, I would choose this one every time just so you actually feel like you are on a boat .
Snacks could use improvement and the way back to marina was a bit rushed

  • a whale at the horizon

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful crew, Dolphins and sea life up close

Reviewed by: Tina, 2015/03/25

The catamaran was the perfect vessel to get up close to Dolphins, turtles and other sea life. From the minute we got on board the entire crew had welcomed us and made us feel comfortable. The captain explained what we would see and the rules of the vessel and was ready and willing to answer any questions or address any issues. I was impressed that they offered sunscreen to use and oil for motion sickness. It was thoughtful of them and they really cared about their passengers having a good trip. They had refreshments and juices for free. They offered beer for ($1) and mixed drinks for ($2). The drinks were strong, too. : ) We saw several pods of Dolphins, turtles and a whale. It was an awesome experience. I would take my children next time we go to Hawaii. Thank you to all the crew. You were the best!

  • It was a little windy on the water.

  • Wonderful dolphins

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family trip!

Reviewed by: Josh, 2015/03/21

My family of four had a great time on this cruise. We did have some trouble finding the boat in the slip at the harbor. Directions could have been better. Once we were on the boat, everything was what was expected. The crew was very nice and helpful. We found a pod of whales right away and then went and snorkeled at a reef because we had time. Drinks were great along the way.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent day watching whales

Reviewed by: Roy and Trish Brooks, 2015/02/25

Roy and I really enjoyed ourself, the guys were all great, we have been on a few different whale watch tours thru out the years, and by all means this was the best, we got to experience at least 40 sightings of whales, was simple wonderful. Will tell all our friends that visit Oahu, while we were on the boat we first saw several turtles, had to laugh cuz the guys said to look for trash cans lids, that was the green sea turtles and we saw about five of them, also the snacks they served were great I ate a lot of the fresh fruit and had a beer that they had available on tap. We will be sure to pass the word on of the great time we had and have passed out a few of the extra business cards we had. Great time.
Mahalo. Roy and Trish brooks

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not a good experience

Reviewed by: Lina, 2015/02/25

This was not a good experience for me because one of the crew members was rude at the beginning so it kind of ruined my trip. There was no lunch, they had some chips, an assortment of drinks and granola bars. We did not see too much whales but I guess it's not up to the crew, it is whenever whales want to get out of the water which in our case there wasn't that much to see. The boat was nice and I like the nets in the front, it was kind of fun to sit and watch the ocean from there. Drinks were good too. Captain was very good at maneuvering the boat. The boat was clean and acceptable. I think they could work on better manners for the crew and it won't be too bad.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Hanna Zezula, 2015/02/24

Our whale excursion was a great experience. Our crew, Anthony, Carlos and Bret were very knowledgeable, friendly and fun. We saw two pods of whales. All in all, it was a great day. I would highly recommend this activity to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow... I saw Whales

Reviewed by: Bonnie Michael, 2015/02/22

On February 6, we went on the late morning whale watching tour. The winds had been 20 - 30 MPH earlier that week and the water had not settled down. In spite of this, Captain Josh and the crew gave us a great time. We were close enough to the humpback whales that I could catch their bodies with my camera. Plus it was fun seeing the whales blow water into the air.

I was impressed by the captain knowing both fluent English and Japanese and being very safety conscience.

The Crew was great. They pointed out whales, got us drinks and gave us great info on the whales. I also appreciated the shuttle picking us up and dropping us off.

All in all, it was a great trip. If I go Back to Hawaii, I will probably book another trip on this boat. I would highly recommend this captain and crew to anyone who wants a great day on the water.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories