This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maui Princess Sunset Dinner Cruise from Lahaina with Live Music and Cocktails

Overall Rating

4.19 4.19 / 5

Reviews

68 reviews
Post a review

Beautiful relaxing sail

Reviewed by: Catherine , 2016/06/14

We ended our trip in Maui with the sunset dinner cruise. It was perfect because it was a very relaxing night. Before we got on the boat, it was a little unclear what we needed to do with our Veltra vouchers, the man working there sent us on the line with out getting our real tickets needed so we were sent off the line to go back and get those. Not a huge deal, but maybe more of a clear direction when people get there could avoid that. The drinks were yummy and the food was pretty good. I tasted my boyfriend's steak and liked it better than my Mahi Mahi, so I would say go for the steak instead ! A tasty cheesecake was served for dessert as well! We got hit by one huge wave at the end which was kind of scary because the boat tipped a lot, otherwise it was smoothe sailing over all and a beautiful experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princess cruise

Reviewed by: Dell Sue, 2016/06/04

Diner was marvelous. I had prime rib. The couple I sat with was entertaining. Crew was attentive. Three drinks per person. Sun set beautiful.

  • Sunset from princess

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice cruise, but .....

Reviewed by: Nancy L., 2016/05/19

The cruise was nice, but the seating was so close you could barely get in and out of your chair. Choice of drinks was very limited. We were seated in close quarters with a couple we didn't know. Luckily for us they were very nice and we got a long well. I could imagine it being
A very long three hours otherwise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bon Voyeage

Reviewed by: dustman, 2015/10/04

Very pleased with the cruise. It definitely exceeded my expectations. The food was good, the timing of service was right on and we really enjoyed the live entertainment. Would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Princess Sunset Cruise and Dinner

Reviewed by: Dennis and Pam Bock, 2015/09/25

The BEST dinner cruise! Great crew, delicious food, beautiful setting, very nice boat. I'd do it again and again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super Cruise

Reviewed by: Kerhoffmn, 2015/09/14

Great Captain (same as our snorkel trip) and crew. Very friendly and happy, food was good. Nice night for my wife's birthday.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I've been on much better

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2015/09/12

The food was subpar. The service was the same. Hated that we had to get up and get our own drinks which were weak. Chairs were bolted down so no movement and extremely uncomfortable. And 90% of the 'cruise' was us drifting in the water...I expected a sunset cruise to, well, cruise....

  • At least the sunset was nice!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cramped and rushed

Reviewed by: Matthew, 2015/09/08

It seemed as though the staff was just trying to rush through their shift so they could get home. It was about 90 degrees outside and the staff were all dressed in formal wear and sweating like crazy. Considering the fact that the condition/cleanliness of the boat was mediocre at best and that the chairs were cheap plastic patio chairs bolted to the upper deck, I think the staff would have been better suited in shorts and short sleeve shirts. Then, maybe they wouldn't have seemed so miserable and rushed to get done with their shift. Also, when my wife and I booked the dinner cruise, we weren't told we would be seated with another couple. I think we should have given the option of being charged less to sit with strangers. It definitely was not worth the nearly $200 for my wife and I.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth the money

Reviewed by: Leah Carman, 2015/09/03

CONS: It was a super hot and muggy day. We were all pouring sweat and looking forward to finally getting some A/C but then we were told that we would all be on the roof top. While I appreciate the view, we just started meting. We understand that the crew can not control the weather but why could we have not had the option to be on a lower level on days like that? We could see all of our salads sitting in a warm room and it was wilted by the time it came out. Some of the staff looked unclean in terms of their uniform. Which concerns me about what the kitchen looks like. The food was terrible, the chicken and Mahi Mahi was as dry as could be and neither my husband or myself could eat the fish. I thought that there was going to be dancing but there was no room unless you went below and just made your own dance floor. The worst part was that you have to sit with people at your table that you do not know. We were not well matched up. This was our honeymoon and we did not expect that we would have to curb our conversation or affection to make the much older couple feel comfortable. We paid way too much money for this and we feel we definitely did not come even close to getting our monies worth. We did like how they served us a Mai Tai right away when we sat down but would have preferred to pick what we wanted and not have that count as one of our 3 drinks. We found it tacky that we were given a check at the end just to remind us to pay gratuity.

PROS: Our waiter was friendly and made sure we had what we needed. The bartender was great, good personality and drinks. The live music was nice and the singer had a great voice. The style was perfect for the cruise. The view was wonderful while we were cruising and it did cool down once we were out to see.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princess sunset dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Mindy McKnight, 2015/07/23

Great staff, food, and music! Beautiful evening out on the water. Loved the dessert: cheesecake

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner Cruise from Lahania Harbor

Reviewed by: Ron and Cheryl, 2015/07/07

Had a most enjoyable cruise. The food was good and the harbor made for smooth sailing. The hosts were very organized and cordial.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No wind. Boat could have run a little faster to stay ahead of the engine exhaust

Reviewed by: Thomas, 2015/05/15

The Mahi Mahi was a bit dry. Otherwise a good cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Anniversary Celebration

Reviewed by: James, 2015/02/28

Fantastic views, delicious food and great entertainment. Was all we hoped for and more! Whale watch was exceptional. Would absolutely book again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waste of money

Reviewed by: Jamie ditto , 2015/01/12

It was not the boat we paid for, food was average, tables were small and crowded, music was distortion,

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had an OK time

Reviewed by: Jen&Sean, 2014/12/03

We had an ok time on this excursion. The upper deck was very crowded, and there wasn't a lot of room to move around. Dinner was just so-so. Seating is assigned, and someone sat in our seats, but we were moved to another table and made new friends! That was probably the best part of the evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise

Reviewed by: diva, 2014/08/09

The cruise was wonderful the food and drinks were fantastic.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Anniversary Celebration

Reviewed by: Kelsi, 2014/07/26

My husband and I booked this dinner cruise as a way to celebrate our anniversary while in Hawaii. The food was delicious and we were lucky enough to have a beautiful sunset the night we went. I would recommend this to other couples. There were great views of the island while relaxing on the water.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princess Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Ted, 2014/07/13

I highly recommend this cruise. The food and wait staff were top notch. Beautiful view of the island and sunset. Very worth the cost. The Mai Tai was so good I ordered a second one and that is not my drink of choice. lol

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent evening

Reviewed by: Smith party, 2014/06/19

We brought our daughter with us. The dinner cruise was really nice. At first we were worried as when we left the harbor it was really hot, no breeze and we were baking while awaiting the dinner service. About 45 minutes into the cruise the boat made a bit of a direction turn and the breeze made all the difference. The rest of the cruise was enjoyable; food was adequate and dinner service was good. People on the boat were friendly and accommodating. The music was good, but only "our generation" knew the songs. Our daughter was clueless on the genre. We headed out toward the north west at a slow pace. The Maui mountains were a beautiful backdrop. The sunset was a bit obscured by the low cloud cover but still amazing. Before passing Kaanapali beach we turned back and headed in. I wish we had toured further but all in all it was a good experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would not do it again

Reviewed by: William Barber, 2012/11/10

When I chose this dinner cruise on our first trip to Maui, I thought "larger boat, more space". Instead, it was "larger boat more people". The four of us in our group could not believe how many tables were set up on the upper deck. In my opinion, it was not even safe if something had happened to the ship. I even had the sense that the ship was top heavy.

We sat near the bow in the center. For whatever reason, everyone was served around us before we received our food. We were absolutely the last people served, but we weren't the last table in any of the rows. I realize that some table has to be last, but it didn't make any sense in the way they served the tables. We even had to remind them that we hadn't been served. The people at the stern were close to the bar and the food. They were finished with dessert before we had been served. There was almost no way to get the three drinks included with the meal unless you ordered all of them at once. Too many people trying to order from one

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice dinner option in Maui

Reviewed by: Clark Family, 2012/08/22

Having never been to Hawaii, we wanted to experience many of the romantic options available for couples. This dinner cruise did not disappoint. Our only complaint was the table and chairs - small table with chairs bolted to the floor. Uncomfortable and inconvenient.

The meal itself was well prepared and quite tasty. As non-drinkers we enjoyed the free beverages; however there was always a wait at the bar and we had to wait to get additional drinks. A suggestion would be for the servers to bring non-alcoholic beverages to those without the "alcohol bracelet."

Though Mother Nature did not cooperate and the sunset was less than spectacular, the experience itself was great. The entertainment was well done and we enjoyed the singer's lack of conversation while playing nice music.

This is definitely something we would enjoy doing again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

enjoyable, nothing more

Reviewed by: brian, 2012/05/17

I almost gave this one a overall 3 rating, but the views and weather were so nice I had to go with 4. There are however a few downsides to this one. First, there were a ton of empty tables, but they still opted to seat couples with other couples in tiny cramped tables forcing everyone to make akward conversation. Personally, I wanted a nice relaxing time with my GF to enjoy the experience, not have to talk to someone we just met. Second, the dinner was just ok. Maybe it is because everywhere else in Maui is so good, this dinner just didnt quite do it for me. The staff were friendly enough, but they work in an assembly line fasion and once you get your food its hard to find them again.

If you are very sociably and want to meet people this might be a better cruise for you. If you want a nice quiet evening with just you and your loved one this might not be the best option.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice view/uncomfortable seating

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/11/16

Pros: Food was delicious, service was good and the views were great, the music was great!
Cons: The seating was very uncomfortable, the chairs were bolted down and the seating was very close. I have been on a few other cruises, and was much more comfortable on them. Would not do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Sharpe/Blanchard, 2011/10/25

Food was good and wonderful views from the top deck...music to be serenaded by in the back ground was quite nice as well. One thing we noticed is there were some empty tables and they could have spaced the couples out a little more to fill the tables and to give a more private setting for some couples to be a little more private with each other. They could have also sailed up or down the coast a little instead of just coasting around Lihania might made for some nice scenery sightings as well...but overall it's worth it !!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed the Music & Cruise

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/09/22

We booked this dinner cruise as a way to begin our Maui vacation after spending the day at grandparents memorial celebrating their lives & love of the island. There was a very unfortunate mix up with table seating that was a little awkward when we were asked to change tables in the middle of dinner. Server was to busy or distracted while serving desert & failed to serve some of the guests, leaving the desert tray on an empty table. Guests wondered if they should serve themselves.
Music was superb with a terrific variety of appropriate dinner & dance music. For us the music made the night !!
We would definitely suggest "a" sunset dinner cruise but would not feel comfortable mentioning the name of this one.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

anniversary

Reviewed by: Peggy, 2010/08/08

we had a wonderful time dinner was great and the staff was great too. then we went down stairs drank and dance.that was a anniversary to remember.thank you maui princess

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very nice experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/03/17

The sunset dinner cruise was a very pleasant experience. The food was excellent and the weather was perfect. We saw a whale and her calf nearby, which was a great experience, and the sunset and bright stars in the clear night sky were unmatched. Overall, I would recommend this cruise to other couples.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I miss that boat!

Reviewed by: Rockygirl, 2008/10/25

Very nice! We had a really good time and felt very social that night ... haha! It was so fun, my friends and I will definitely do this one again next time we are on this super amazing island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Cruise Comments

Reviewed by: Walt, 2008/09/25

Cruise, dinner, music and wait staff were all great. The one negative area is their check in procedure which caused a delay in sailing. This needs to be improved.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great service

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/07/03

The service was wonderful. Anyone booking should know before hand that the stairs going above/beow decks is difficult for anyone with walking difficulties (with a cane). Food was very well prepared.
Comments from the entertainer regarding what we are passing as we cruise along the coast would be beneficial. But, it was very good music.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]