This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Drums of the Pacific Luau at Hyatt Regency Maui on Kaanapali Beach

Just okay

Reviewed by: Traveler612, 2018/09/02

Dancers were talented. Host was impressionable but I have to say I was disappointed with the food. The waitress that tended to our table in preferred seating was not friendly or helpful. Also, the line that they sorted us in was not helpful at all for getting in.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau Experience!

Reviewed by: Lindley, 2018/05/17

Really enjoyed our luau experience! The event is well organized. Our section's server was very friendly and funny, and very quick to bring rounds of drinks from the bar. Our section was one of the last to be dismissed to get food but there was still plenty of food as new trays were continually being refreshed. Location of the luau is very picturesque but bring a jacket/sweater as our night (end of April) was very windy/chilly - some people were in winter parkas!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice show

Reviewed by: Mary, 2018/04/27

Great time. Show had ups and downs but overall it was nice. We upgraded to preferred seating which was nice but i think it was not really worth the extra money. Food was really good. I would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magnificent luau

Reviewed by: J Blackmon, 2018/01/12

Well worth the money. Delicious food, a huge variety of drinks and very entertaining show.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It's was good.

Reviewed by: Linda, 2017/06/17

It was good, not great. Show was good. Food was good. Seating was tight and overall it was a little over-priced.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All around good luau

Reviewed by: Cary R, 2017/05/18

Good luau. Little cheesy but good food and atmosphere

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drums of the Pacific Luau

Reviewed by: CHeryl & Roy, 2017/01/07

It was awesome! Was the best and we would do it again tomorrow!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect night!

Reviewed by: Steve , 2016/04/26

I reserved this show at the last night of Hawaii and it was perfect to our family!
You should try. I'm not a agency of this show lol but anyway you'd better try this show and have fun!
The pork from buffet was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pacific Luau

Reviewed by: Adam, 2015/06/14

We had a great time at the Luau. The food was great and they have a great system to get everyone through the buffet line quickly. The show was really spectacular, great music, great performances and I loved learning the history of the beginning of Hawaii.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointed

Reviewed by: Sue & James Nivens, 2014/10/29

I am VERY disappointed with this Luau. I have attended many luau's in Maui and this was my second time to this one and I will never book again. The guys performance was way better than the girls. The luau seemed shorter than the last time and of all luau's I have attended. We paid ALL this money for 3 of us. It was NOT cheap. 200.00+ dollars is quite much when your expecting a good show. Every luau I have been to, we were able totake pic with. This time NO1 did. All the dancers left. We paid for our "luau" picture and our 7 yr old son was soo excited because he thought he was going to be able to take pictures. We went to Maui on our honeymoon last yr and attended The Royal Lahaina and it was so great. It felt like how a luau should. The experience was amazing. We took pic with the performers and our son saw the pictures and wanted to do everything we did. I attended the drums of the pacific in 2007 with my late brother who recently passed and it was great. I wanted to go to this one to reminice about my time with my brother. Needless to say I hate posting a bad review because I love Hawaii. My sons first time in Hawaii and THIS was suppose to be the highlight. :/

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Show

Reviewed by: Olesons, 2014/04/09

We had fun at this Luau and it was a really good show. This was the second one we did and we had high expectations from what others had told us about the show, we felt that the luau at the Westin Maui was better tho.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drums of the Pacific Luau at Hyatt Regency Maui

Reviewed by: Ruth, 2014/04/03

Beautiful Luau at the Hyatt Regency Maui, especially with the ocean and sunset in the background. The food was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

There are better Luau's to go to

Reviewed by: Fefa0723, 2014/02/08

The preferred seating was behind a whole section of hotel preferred seating. So don't pay for that. Food was buffet style and tasteless. The drinks are premade with ice and sitting on large trays, getting watered down, so the staff can just grab them fast. The said they had a full bar, but when we asked for something else, the bartender was upset he had to make it. Only 2 types of beer. They did advertising of products they were selling in the hotel 4 times during the show. We had a people that live on the island tell us we should have gone to the Luau in Lahaina.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drms of the Pacific Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/29

Delicious food, poor MaiTais, Corny Host, Great Dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not my choice

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/26

My husband and I have been to the Old Lahaina Luau and prefer it to this one hands down. Drums of the Pacific seemed corny, as another reviewer posted. The emcee sounded like a barker for a side show..."and now the GRRREEAATT, the FaNTAAAASSSTIC, So-And-So (can't remember the name of the dancer) performing the ...whatever. My brother and his wife, first time visitors, were with us and enjoyed it. We didn't tell them any different so as not to spoil their evening. For first timers, it's OK but if you want culture and history, Old Lahaina Luau is far better.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/14

We have been to this show a couple times, but this last show has to be the best we have seen on Maui.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Night to Remember

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2012/09/29

Had a really fun time in a beautiful setting. The show was extremely well done and the food was excellent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drums of the Pacitic Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/21

My husband and I have never went to a Luau before so this was great to see. We enjoyed ourselves. I was told that this was the best Luau out of all you can visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Performance

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/01/02

This was the second Luau of our trip. We scheduled this as our new years eve activity. This was aperformance by a professional dance group. Each song and dance was an good "act". But just that. I did not get the feeling of the culture and the sense of enjoyment that I recieved from the first Luau I attended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

As far as Laua's go

Reviewed by: From Australia, 2012/01/01

Unfortunately it was raining on the night we went, were handed plastic poncho's at the door to an outdoor cement courtyard and facing away from the beach. This was disappointing compared to others I had read about. We paid extra for preferred seating, which was probably better than sitting up the back. Our table service was not good and agree with other reviews the Mai Tai's were awful, had to go to the bar to ask for wine instead. Still all in all it was what a Laua is all about, the dancers were great, had a good laugh at them doing the NZ Huka. Would still recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Engineering Tech

Reviewed by: Ken from TN, 2010/12/27

Been to 4 luaus in 3 visits to the islands and this is by far the best one.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drums of the Pacific

Reviewed by: Florida Vacationer, 2010/11/18

We arrived at the Hyatt location promptly and had to stand outside in lines instead of being seated and served a cocktail as we expected. It was like being in line at a Disney Park. We expected more from such a small venue at such a large price. The performers were excellent. Staff sucked.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It did the trick...

Reviewed by: The Marshalls, 2010/08/16

For my kids first time in Maui I wanted them to experience a true Luau. We didn't want to pay the price that the Old Lahaina Luau charged (even though we had been to it on our honeymoon and loved it, and everyone always says its the best one on Maui) so we went to the Hyatt. I was disappointed that it was on concrete with the stage so far away, after we waited in the rain and sunny heat (yes at the same time!) in line for 45 minutes! The mai-tai's were not very strong either and we wanted to get the most bang for our buck. On the other hand, the show was entertaining enough, the staff was very friendly, and we met a lovely family from Tokyo, so we all had a great time. The fire dancers were a big hit! I thought the food was EXCELLENT, especially for such a large buffet, and my kids really enjoyed the whole thing. For the price, it was a decent deal since one of my kids was free, but I think The Old Lahaina Luau is the only way I would go if I had it to do over again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Time

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/04/09

A little bit corney, but fun nevertheless. I took my daughters to the show and they did enjoy it. This is not broadway and I doubt it has anything to do with Hawaiian culture, but iw was a fun time. All the dancers were great. The fire dance is obviously the big draw and it worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not the Best

Reviewed by: David, 2009/07/21

This was our 2nd luau during our trip. Unfortunately, it was only mediocre. With the setting beside a Hotel, it lacked any cultural flavor. The emcee was just that. We felt like we were watching a performer. The food was lack-luster but the performers were amazing ! The mai tais barely qualified as "cocktails". Would not recommend this luau unless it's your best choice for convenience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

**Fantastic**

Reviewed by: Melissa, 2009/01/20

My best friend and I enjoyed watching all of the unique dances and the fire show was definitely a site to see!! Would love to see it again. The food was delicious too :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Experience and Good Food

Reviewed by: Val, 2008/10/11

This was great. Food was great and the whole productive was very professional. They even had the performers meet at back for pictures you were so inclined. I did notice they did take some pictures before going - unsure how that was because it seemed to be for another tour group/company. Of course, you paid for these separately. I didn't inquire what the requirement for the pictures was - but perhaps if you notice such, may be you will. Many people were celebrating birthdays and anniversaries. It was a nice time and the music seemed to be continual even while you ate. A nice way to end a stay in Hawaii and it ended in good time so that you weren't up all night packing for the next day's start of the return to the mainland.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hurray!

Reviewed by: Jackson, 2008/07/25

Great food and a Great Show. We were afraid a Luau would be tacky but this one exceeded our expectations! We were pleasantly surprised by the level of talent of the dancers and recommend this tour to anyone coming to Maui!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Location, Nice Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/07/21

First of all the Hyatt Regency Maui is an amazingly beautiful property right on the water and the Luau location is lovely as well - Makes you feel like you are tucked away in a private beach cove. The food was great especially the Ulupalakua Beef and the Taro Dinner Rolls. Our server brought us drinks all night and we loved the vibrant costumes and the fire dancer at the end of the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

pleased... overall

Reviewed by: Tim and family, 2008/06/19

I was not happy about the start and end time of the experience. The entire event was over by 8pm, and it was barely dark. The food and the drinks were as expected... good. The performers were very good, but the show lacked the level of audience involvement that I've seen at other events.





Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |