Drums of the Pacific Luau with Open Bar at Kaanapali Hyatt Regency Maui reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Drums of the Pacific Luau with Open Bar at Kaanapali Hyatt Regency Maui

Overall Rating

4.30 4.30 / 5

Reviews

43 reviews
Post a review

Amazing Luau!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

I would say best luau on Maui, the fire dancers really tie the knot!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drums of The Pacific Luau

Reviewed by: Rick G., 2022/07/04

Awesome evening! As good as it was 26 years ago!! Will definitely be back! Excellent!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Leif , 2022/06/26

Just a great show. Loved how it was about the entire pacific island triangle heritage. Definitely worth the money for the VIP.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our first luau, some great some not so great

Reviewed by: Alan from Colorado, 2022/06/02

This is our first luau so not a lot to compare it to. Check in was super easy and the staff was great. The show
Overall the performers were talented and we appreciated that it was a show of different styles of traditional dance from several Pacific islands. The fire dance at the end was fantatic as well. It was hard to understand some of what was going on as the audio was not super clear and we were disappointed that our table was situated where we could only see 2/3 of the stage.
The meal
The appetizer and desert were really good, poke and Mac salad with pineapple and desert was coconut cream cake.What was not good was the main dish...dry mahi mahi, dry steak and dry pulled pork with rice in middle...really a big let-down.

All in all a mixed bag...great performers but a bit of a let down with the obstructed view and less than stellar meal.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing show!

Reviewed by: adk, 2022/03/24

we loved the show, the atmosphere, the storytelling, and the food! great accomodation for our dietary needs and warm service.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/01/05

Me and my daughter both enjoyed our evening. We learned a bunch of thing about Hawaii and food was yummy too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, historical, traditional

Reviewed by: DFish, 2022/01/01

How could we vacation in Hawaii without going to a luau? We were in Maui during winter break, so things were very busy. This luau was the only one I could find with openings. The show itself was very fun and interesting. It gave us some background about Hawaiian culture and history. The food was just ok. All drinks are included (even alcoholic ones). It’s definitely pricey, but overall it’s a fun Hawaii-specific experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Save your money

Reviewed by: Disappointed , 2021/12/21

I was disappointed with our overall experience at the luau. The food was mediocre and the show seemed “cheesy” although we did have great table side service. I would say save your money. The most exciting part of the show were the fire dancers, but they performed at the end of the show and only for a few minutes.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Liz H, 2021/11/23

Drums of the Pacific was a beautiful display of Polynesian culture. The service and food were outstanding. The performers were incredible. I highly recommend this Luau and am very grateful for the opportunity to experience this culture.

  • Dessert

  • Haka

  • Appetizers

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the Luau!

Reviewed by: Eziel, 2021/09/05

Ten out of ten! The hostess was so beautiful with an inviting voice, extremely charming woman.

Venue was great, hotel is beautiful, sunset was great, performance was awesome, food was good and plentiful, unlimited drinks, not sure what else could be added.

Great for families, friends, and dates. Would love to attend more.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aloha!!!

Reviewed by: Korynn, 2021/06/23

We had a great time at the luau. It was right at sunset so the weather was perfect. The open bar was really fun for our group, and after a mishap when they brought us a drink with an allergen for one of us in it, they were then super accommodating for the rest of the night assuring we had special plates with no contact to our food allergies! The performances were so fun and it was overall a great time.

  • Here is the trees and tiki torches around us!

  • This was our view from the stage. Even though we were the second to last row since we booked so late, it had a great view still!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just okay

Reviewed by: Traveler612, 2018/09/02

Dancers were talented. Host was impressionable but I have to say I was disappointed with the food. The waitress that tended to our table in preferred seating was not friendly or helpful. Also, the line that they sorted us in was not helpful at all for getting in.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau Experience!

Reviewed by: Lindley, 2018/05/17

Really enjoyed our luau experience! The event is well organized. Our section's server was very friendly and funny, and very quick to bring rounds of drinks from the bar. Our section was one of the last to be dismissed to get food but there was still plenty of food as new trays were continually being refreshed. Location of the luau is very picturesque but bring a jacket/sweater as our night (end of April) was very windy/chilly - some people were in winter parkas!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice show

Reviewed by: Mary, 2018/04/27

Great time. Show had ups and downs but overall it was nice. We upgraded to preferred seating which was nice but i think it was not really worth the extra money. Food was really good. I would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magnificent luau

Reviewed by: J Blackmon, 2018/01/12

Well worth the money. Delicious food, a huge variety of drinks and very entertaining show.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It's was good.

Reviewed by: Linda, 2017/06/17

It was good, not great. Show was good. Food was good. Seating was tight and overall it was a little over-priced.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All around good luau

Reviewed by: Cary R, 2017/05/18

Good luau. Little cheesy but good food and atmosphere

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drums of the Pacific Luau

Reviewed by: CHeryl & Roy, 2017/01/07

It was awesome! Was the best and we would do it again tomorrow!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect night!

Reviewed by: Steve , 2016/04/26

I reserved this show at the last night of Hawaii and it was perfect to our family!
You should try. I'm not a agency of this show lol but anyway you'd better try this show and have fun!
The pork from buffet was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pacific Luau

Reviewed by: Adam, 2015/06/14

We had a great time at the Luau. The food was great and they have a great system to get everyone through the buffet line quickly. The show was really spectacular, great music, great performances and I loved learning the history of the beginning of Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointed

Reviewed by: Sue & James Nivens, 2014/10/29

I am VERY disappointed with this Luau. I have attended many luau's in Maui and this was my second time to this one and I will never book again. The guys performance was way better than the girls. The luau seemed shorter than the last time and of all luau's I have attended. We paid ALL this money for 3 of us. It was NOT cheap. 200.00+ dollars is quite much when your expecting a good show. Every luau I have been to, we were able totake pic with. This time NO1 did. All the dancers left. We paid for our "luau" picture and our 7 yr old son was soo excited because he thought he was going to be able to take pictures. We went to Maui on our honeymoon last yr and attended The Royal Lahaina and it was so great. It felt like how a luau should. The experience was amazing. We took pic with the performers and our son saw the pictures and wanted to do everything we did. I attended the drums of the pacific in 2007 with my late brother who recently passed and it was great. I wanted to go to this one to reminice about my time with my brother. Needless to say I hate posting a bad review because I love Hawaii. My sons first time in Hawaii and THIS was suppose to be the highlight. :/

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Show

Reviewed by: Olesons, 2014/04/09

We had fun at this Luau and it was a really good show. This was the second one we did and we had high expectations from what others had told us about the show, we felt that the luau at the Westin Maui was better tho.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drums of the Pacific Luau at Hyatt Regency Maui

Reviewed by: Ruth, 2014/04/03

Beautiful Luau at the Hyatt Regency Maui, especially with the ocean and sunset in the background. The food was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

There are better Luau's to go to

Reviewed by: Fefa0723, 2014/02/08

The preferred seating was behind a whole section of hotel preferred seating. So don't pay for that. Food was buffet style and tasteless. The drinks are premade with ice and sitting on large trays, getting watered down, so the staff can just grab them fast. The said they had a full bar, but when we asked for something else, the bartender was upset he had to make it. Only 2 types of beer. They did advertising of products they were selling in the hotel 4 times during the show. We had a people that live on the island tell us we should have gone to the Luau in Lahaina.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drms of the Pacific Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/29

Delicious food, poor MaiTais, Corny Host, Great Dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not my choice

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/26

My husband and I have been to the Old Lahaina Luau and prefer it to this one hands down. Drums of the Pacific seemed corny, as another reviewer posted. The emcee sounded like a barker for a side show..."and now the GRRREEAATT, the FaNTAAAASSSTIC, So-And-So (can't remember the name of the dancer) performing the ...whatever. My brother and his wife, first time visitors, were with us and enjoyed it. We didn't tell them any different so as not to spoil their evening. For first timers, it's OK but if you want culture and history, Old Lahaina Luau is far better.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/14

We have been to this show a couple times, but this last show has to be the best we have seen on Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Night to Remember

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2012/09/29

Had a really fun time in a beautiful setting. The show was extremely well done and the food was excellent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drums of the Pacitic Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/21

My husband and I have never went to a Luau before so this was great to see. We enjoyed ourselves. I was told that this was the best Luau out of all you can visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Performance

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/01/02

This was the second Luau of our trip. We scheduled this as our new years eve activity. This was aperformance by a professional dance group. Each song and dance was an good "act". But just that. I did not get the feeling of the culture and the sense of enjoyment that I recieved from the first Luau I attended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories