Afternoon Maui Snorkel Cruise & Turtle Watching Tour with BBQ Lunch - Four Winds reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Afternoon Maui Snorkel Cruise & Turtle Watching Tour with BBQ Lunch - Four Winds

Overall Rating

4.68 4.68 / 5

Reviews

37 reviews
Post a review

Wonderful Cruise

Reviewed by: April Rachal-Burson, 2022/11/20

If you’re looking for snorkeling cruise this is the one you should choose!! Everything about this cruise was wonderful. The staff were friendly and fun and made everyone feel at home . The food and drinks were good and they made sure you felt comfortable in the water and on the ship. Will recommend this trip to anyone that want to cruise or snorkel.

  • The views are absolutely stunning

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your review and for joining us on the Four Winds II!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable!

Reviewed by: Eileentru, 2022/11/05

We had a great time on a very nice boat, friendly staff, snorkeling at a the crater, and good food. Would definitely do it again!

This trip was more affordable than others, which made us wonder what we're going to get, but it turned out better than expected! It included a nice lunch, a great location for snorkeling, and a good length of time (four hours). We saw many varied fish and the day was fun!

  • So enjoyable!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review! We are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would do it again

Reviewed by: Latte, 2022/10/19

This was probably the highlight of my week in Maui. The staff good, just not great. One of them seem more interested the women vs everyone. The experience was all that I expected. One negative is the deluxe lunch is burgers and chips. Hardly what I would call deluxe. So keep that in mind if you go.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for joining us! We provide a hot BBQ lunch of not only hamburgers, but also chicken breasts, hot dogs, vegan burgers, chips and fixings on the side. Most companies provide a deli sandwich, but we like providing a hot and fresh hearty option to our guests after snorkeling.

Mahalo!
Nikki

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great service!

Reviewed by: Trang, 2022/09/17

My family had a great time snorkeling. The staff was very supportive, friendly and helpful. Service was all quick, on time. I definitely will book with you guys again.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel cruise

Reviewed by: Tom n Marita, 2022/08/28

We had an awesome experience. The crew was totally professional and helpful in every way. Couldn't have been more pleased. Thanks

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for joining us on the Four Winds II! We are thrilled to hear you had a great time.

Aloha,
Nikki

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: RaeMarie Leano , 2022/08/23

Great staff. Good grub! Great vibe! Beautiful views smooth boat ride.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the review! We are thrilled to hear you had a great time on board with us.

Aloha,
Nikki

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding and unforgettable experience.

Reviewed by: Anand Nanda, 2022/05/24

Hospitality is to another level. Highly recommended. Special thanks to all the crew members for being so awesome. Our 3 year old had a blast!!!

If you are a beginner or lack swimming experience (non swimmers), you must try this.. they make it so easy..

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for joining us on the Four Winds II! We are thrilled to hear you had a great trip with us. We hope to see you again!

Aloha,
Nikki

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun for a family of 7.

Reviewed by: San huynh, 2022/04/23

The crew member on the ship made the experience possible and fun! They will meet your needs and help you the best as possible. Madison and RACHEAL ARE THE BEST! They helped us when they could and kept my daughter Evelyn entertained. The only thing I recommend is to download the app for ParkWhiz because you will need to spend extra time going online to pay for the parking space and if you did not show up a half an hour early you may miss the opportunity to board on time because your still trying to pay for your parking spot. Warning it gets very windy so you need to hide inside sometimes and May get crowded. Other than that the food was great for us and so were the unlimited drinks.

Reply from activity provider


Thank you for your review! We appreciate you choosing the Four Winds II and we hope to see you and your family again!

Aloha,
Nikki

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great crew great adventure great location

Reviewed by: Cathi , 2022/04/10

The crew was great. I was only in the water for about 10 minutes. I was struggling and a little nervous but very quickly I was asked if I needed help by a blonde female ( forgot her name) she was very calm which calmed me down and guided me back to the boat

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the review! Please let us know what we could of done to improve and make this a 5-star experience for you. We hope to see you again!

Aloha,
Nikki

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Snorkel Trip.

Reviewed by: Alaskans, 2022/03/03

It was an amazing snorkel trip. The boat ride was smooth, the crew was great and the food was awesome.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for choosing the Four Winds II! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your snorkel tour. We hope to see you again!

Aloha,
Nikki

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great vibe

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/02/21

delicious food, good tour guides, a beautiful day on the water!! great way to spend a day in maui

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the 5-stars! We appreciate your review and for choosing the Four Winds II!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Kelsey, 2022/02/02

All the crew members were nice and had positive attitudes. They were thankful for the tourists as it’s hard to travel to Hawaii right now. The BBQ lunch provided was way better than a wrap sandwich that was pre-made. Would totally book with them again. And saw lots of whales too.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us! We appreciate the review and hope to see you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good option

Reviewed by: Mariah, 2022/01/07

Overall, I thought it was very good. Crew was nice and professional. They served lunches and accommodated *most* dietary restrictions. Seeing turtles was really cool. Unfortunately I picked this tour for where it said we were snorkeling. The crew made a last minute decision to change our snorkel spot due to winds.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you for joining us on the Four Winds!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it

Reviewed by: Savannah , 2021/08/01

My family and I enjoyed our afternoon snorkeling.Lunch was great and the staff was awesome.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for joining us and we hope to see you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

July 14 afternoon snorkel

Reviewed by: Eloisa, 2021/07/16

The staff was amazing and very attentive to everyone. BBQ lunch was super yummy.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for the 5-stars!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They did not provide the name of the boat

Reviewed by: J Abernathy , 2020/01/04

The company did not state the name of the snorkel boat. My cab driver could not locate the boat and others had no idea what boat we were to go on. Later we noted in small print a reference to the name of the boat doing the cruise.
The cruise personnel were very nice but the only thing I was upset about was a mask they swapped with me that leaked. This limited the enjoyment of the snorkel experience. Otherwise I would recommend the snorkel cruIse. Sorry, I forgot the name of the boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Floyd Martinez, 2019/05/10

Captain Dan and the crew were fantastic! Friendly and helpful, even though they they had just come back from the morning cruise. They truly enjoy their work and it shows! We will recommend them to all our family and friends!

Reply from activity provider

ALoha! Mahalo for joining us on the Four Winds II. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again during your next Maui vacation!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just saying

Reviewed by: MMB, 2019/04/21

This would be good with the kids. I don't have kids so, anyway with family this is great. As an adult date situation not as much. Go with the kids and have fun.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! The Four Winds II is a family-fun boat, but still has amenties for all ages. Next time you are on Maui, I would recommend a trip on our sister vessel the Maui Magic which is a smaller catamaran that takes ages 5 & up.

Mahalo,
Nikki Andricci

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I saw a squid!

Reviewed by: Emily, 2017/12/09

The boat they normally take you on was in dry dock, so we didn't get the glass bottom boat. Also the wind was too strong that day, so we didn't get to go to Molokini. ...Basically we didn't get either of the things that were advertised, but those were uncontrollable elements and not the fault of the business. They took us out north along the coast from Ma'alaea Harbor and stopped at two separate locations. We still saw some tropical fish and some coral, and the water was warm and wonderful. They grill up a delicious burger and hotdogs if you buy the option to eat lunch on the boat, which was only $8 extra per person if memory serves. The ladies on the boat were very friendly and learned everyone's names by heart. They helped with instructions on the flippers and scuba gear. A great time with really nice people. I would definitely do it again!! They advise going on the morning sail if you want a chance to get to Molokini. That's where the real beauty is!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A snorkel trip on the Four Winds is a great value

Reviewed by: Charles and Kathy A., 2016/09/04

We have wanted to snorkel the Coral Gardens for a number of years and found that the trip aboard the Four Winds would not only take us there but at one third the price of our usual snorkel trip supplier. The food was great and the staff friendly and helpful. The only thing I would recommend is warning their customers not to touch the turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Woo hoo!!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2016/06/16

We had an awesome time with this crew! They were full of energy and VERY informative! They were very accommodating and made everyone comfortable in snorkeling, SNUBA diving, or those just along for the ride. I would suggest this for everyone!

Reply from activity provider

We are so glad to hear it! As a company, we strive to make every trip a great one and love to see happy faces! Hope to see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is the snorkeling excursion you want

Reviewed by: Aaron H., 2016/06/12

The crew of Four Winds provided a big group with a great experience. There was a lot of attention to passengers, a great meal, and a fantastic snorkeling experience. We were lucky to get out to Molokini, and though the waves got crazy in the crater everyone saw some amazing sea life. I also loved being able to use the prescription goggles which made my experience even better. I would do this again and again.

Reply from activity provider

A big MAHALO for the great review! We strive for excellence in customer service and in our daily excursions ... it makes us all very proud to know we deliver! We hope to see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Donna Kappers, 2016/05/28

We are return customers for the Four Winds & they didn't disappoint ! We did the afternoon trip this time & the weather was pretty choppy, but we were able to snorkel in another area that was also fabulous! The photographer on board was awesome & got some amazing photos of us! Thanks for a great time!

Reply from activity provider

We are so glad you came out with us again and that you had a great time! Hope to see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average, but would still recommend...

Reviewed by: SkeeterNWife, 2016/04/24

The staff are friendly, and the food was surprisingly enjoyable (my husband had a cheeseburger and I had the boca burger.. also came with all condiments, chips, and drinks). We've been to a couple other snorkeling adventures before, and this one offered pretty much the same entertainment. If you've never tried a snorkel trip and plan to visit Maui, we would still recommend this activity.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha SkeeterNWife,

I'm so glad you enjoyed the tour. If there is anything we might do to make this seem less average, we are always open to suggestions. We strive to make it an above average experience with excellent food, snorkeling and customer service. Please do not hesitate to let us know!

Mahalo,
Kelly Stoneman
Public Relations Manager
Four Winds II

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If you're a newbie, don't worry, it's easy!!

Reviewed by: JLondon, 2015/07/22

Can I give 10 stars? If you're a newbie, don't worry, it's easy!!! I've never done snorkeling before and my wife is afraid of water...HELLO!!! We're giving this place 5 stars!!! That should tell you that this is the go-to place on Maui for snorkeling. We were in line for registration and a couple before us who have done snorkeling many times before were ranting and raving about the exceptional amenities on this adventure. It's a class-act all the way, from start to finish. Food, alcohol, corrective lens goggles, floatation devices...the list goes on and on. I can't put into words the level of excellence that this company delivers from start to finish. EVERY element is addressed and for two newbies who never did this kind of thing and are totally out of our comfort zone, this should give you a clue as to the totality of excellence that this company delivers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/19
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy fun and friendly

Reviewed by: Samantha , 2015/06/07

Everything about this experience was great. The crew was super friendly and funny, and the snorkel was very interesting and simple to do. Absolutely amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Little Adventure

Reviewed by: Eli, 2015/05/01

We had a great afternoon snorkel to Coral Gardens. The crew was friendly and the fish were a plenty. Swam with a couple turtles as well. Our 1 year old enjoyed the whole trip as well, especially the glass bottom viewing (although that aspect was not as impressive as it appeared online). Would go on another Four Winds snorkel cruise in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Under The Sea...

Reviewed by: Sue & James Nivens, 2014/10/25

Captain Dan and his crew is always sooo great! We booked last year with this crew and absolutely loved it! We came back as a family and we still loved every moment of it as it were our first time again. We booked coral gardens but Capt Dan took us to Molokini Crater and sooo grateful! We wouldve bought the pictures but we were only in one candid shot. I wished we had more shots esp the first time experience for our son. Its ok, always next time. We bought them last yr with Tre since we were captured many times

  • See life through crystal clear waters!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible afternoon and toddler friendly

Reviewed by: Jen Raponi, 2014/05/25

We had an amazing afternoon last Thursday. The crew were amazing. They gave my son (almost 2) a floatation device to lie on with a window and he saw everything that we were looking at during Molokini snorkelling. Wonderful family memories for the 3 of us :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

lots of fun BUT.........

Reviewed by: Leca, 2014/05/11

I would suggest anyone to do it in the morning because in the afternoon it's way too short, you get about 1hr to snorkel because it takes more than one hour to get to molokini and another to get back. Everything was a lot of fun but I WOULD NEVER DO THE SNUBA OPTION AGAIN - it's a different business so you'd have to pay there, me and my husband were both disappointed, it's not that much of a difference from snorkeling because the line isn't too long, it's just 30 mins of the time you're there, the guy running it was extremely rude and you have to pay an additional 60$ per person, NOT WORTH IT!
But apart from the snuba issue, the rest of the trip was fun, and bbq lunch was good! Molokini is beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories