This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Afternoon Snorkel BBQ Lunch (from Maalaea Harbor)

Overall Rating

4.934.93 / 5

Reviews

15 reviews (Post a review)

Best ever!

Reviewed by: Lisa N, 2018/03/03

This was a great afternoon snorkel and whale watching event. The crew was very well organized and knowledgeable in the area and the whales. Ciara and Sal were great hosts. They kept a watchful eye on all this swimmers and we're very accommodating to my seasick husband. The barbecue was freshly grilled and was very tasty. I recommended this trip to anyone who wants to see many that whales.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our favourite Maui activity

Reviewed by: Hayley, 2018/03/01

There were 5 of us that went on the afternoon snorkel and whale watch and all agreed it was a stand out experience of our ten days in Maui.
The staff are all very friendly, helpful and overall seemed like really great people who love what they do.
We were able to stop whenever a whale was spotted (we saw at least 20) not just during the first part of as was first indicated. The captain had an endless supply of information about the whales and all the islands surrounding.
The snorkel location was absolutely stunning. We had gone out snorkelling multiple times ourselves and this location was by far the best, calm waters, loads of fish and coloured reef.
The trip was finished off with burgers and vegetarian pasta for lunch and cocktails as we stopped again for a few more whale sightings.

We will be back!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Cruise

Reviewed by: Hawaiian vacationer, 2018/02/26

The cruise was all it claimed to be, and more. The snorkeling equipment and support were excellent, we saw lots of cavorting whales with commentary from the captain, and the food and drink were good and plentiful. We couldn't have imagined anything better.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Nclan2018, 2018/02/02

Great time. We had our 4 kids and they were very accommodating.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A taste of it all!

Reviewed by: Madison Figg, 2018/01/30

First off, the crew was amazing. Wonderful, friendly, and never a frustrated or unhappy moment. They ensured everyone had all their gear, handed out drinks and food, and answered questions with ease.

The snorkle part of our day felt considerably shorter than expected, especially since looking at something so beautiful makes the time fly. If you are wanting lots of time in the water I would suggest another snorkle focused excursion instead.

The food was yummy and plentiful. One perk to the afternoon tour was it was less busy and everyone was able to get great views and seats during the whale watching cruise. There were so many humpbacks around, and we were able to catch some amazing breaches and slaps not too far from our boat. Because this boat was large it was harder to get as close to the whales as the smaller vessels, but was non the less breathtaking!

I would reccomend this activity to first time snorklers, and those wanting a taste of both the coral reefs and the open waves. I want to commend the captain and his crew for the smooth sailing and great memories!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!

Reviewed by: David, 2018/01/29

Overall I think this was the best activity we did while on Maui. My wife and I had a great time and the crew did an amazing job. We saw multiple whales on the way to our snorkel spot. When there one of the crew members would act as a scout and point out cool stuff. We swam with 4 sea turtles. On the way back we had burgers and hot dogs, plenty to go around. Great beer choices and Mai Tai's as well. Would definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day of snorkeling and whale watching

Reviewed by: Juliette Goodwin, 2018/01/25

The boat was very nice my daughter enjoyed the slide. The service was great
They were very helpful of getting you ready to snorkel with all the equipment
They made the whale watching great you learned some great facts about the whales. They were very speedy in getting you a lot of snorkeling time made sure everyone was safe. It’s was great to go out in the afternoon because it was not crowded in the snorkeling spots. Great drinks and food . I recommend this tour to anyone even if your a family with littler kids .FUN TIME IN MAUI.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Johnny , 2018/01/24

Overall impression of this company is outstanding. The trip itself was very professional. They are very safety oriented and make sure everybody on the boat is doing what they are supposed to do and all accounted for at the close of your snorkel adventure. The whale watching was very good as well. Beyond all the structure and safety of the trip is also the fact that they want you to have fun! They feed you great and drinks flow freely. Honestly this trip was one of the highlights of our time on Maui. I would highly recommend this to anyone, couples or families. Thank you for a great memory.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous experience!

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/12/21

If you are looking for a snorkeling/whale watching experience, this is the one for you! All facets of the trip lead you to a perfect time on the water.

The captain took us to a beautiful spot for snorkeling located on a coral reef that had clear waters and many species of fish. It was our first time snorkeling. The crew taught us the basics, guided us while in the water, and shared how best to see the fish. Having a waterproof camera helped us capture the fun we were having as a family. We were sure glad we had it, especially when it came to the turtle sightings!

The boat, the Pride of Maui was well equipped with all the gear we needed, including multiple sizes of fins and snorkeling goggles. It was a comfortable boat, with storage under seats on the upper deck. Great views of the waters with whale sightings even during an off season. The slide is a must! You go zipping down and fly into the water! Never gets old!

The lunch was tasty, plump hotdogs and cheeseburgers were cooked over a grill and served warm with all the fixings. If you are a vegetarian and/or gluten intolerant, it’s best to call ahead to let them know so your needs will be covered. They are ready to make your lunch perfect for you if they have a heads up. There were several kinds of soft drinks and fruit punch along with alcoholic beverages for adults. The Miatais were the best!

All in all, a highly recommended choice for all ages!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your kind interpretation of our tour. We love to hear the words "perfect time on the water", because that is what our crew strives for. We love to create the perfect day on the ocean and are so happy you appreciate all the little things we do for our guests!

Mahalo for joining us.

Pride of Maui

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Day

Reviewed by: Brenna, 2017/12/20

This was a very great experience for me and my family! The servers on the boat were very kind and helpful. When we got to the place where we snorkeled I had a lot of problems with my snorkeling set and had to ask for a new one many times, they were still nice and helpful and wanted me to be able to snorkel with out any problems. We had 45 min of snorkeling time which was the perfect amount of time for me! I even got to see a turtle, which was a big plus. The BBQ was ok with limited options, but tasted good. On the way back we whale watched and saw several even though it was off season. The boat was clean and bathrooms were also. If we came back we would stay with Pride of Maui!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Perfect Day

Reviewed by: J. S. , 2017/12/20

Our day on The Pride of Maui was Perfect! The crew was helpful and knowledgeable as well as patient and kind, help and assistance were always there yet we were given the freedom to be independent to make the day even better. We saw plenty of fish, turtles, and whales! The food was fabulous and they had plenty to go around. I will recommend!


Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank You for your kind words. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests everyday. Your stating that it was PERFECT is exactly what we strive for. We are so pleased to hear that you had a PERFECT day with us.

Mahalo for joining us.

Pride of Maui

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great day out

Reviewed by: Michele, 2017/12/09

Staff were amazing. Although it was a little windy and we weren't fortunate enough to see turtles, we had a fantastic snorkelling and sliding off the back of the boat. The BBQ lunch was awesome too:) All in all a great afternoon on the water.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Whale Watching and Snorkeling afternoon!

Reviewed by: Darlene Smith , 2017/12/09

The “Pride of Maui’s captain and crew members were helpful and very friendly! The vessel was quite roomy and the BBQ lunch was great. We’d seen humpback whales on the way to snorkel at The Coral Gardens, where the water was beautiful and the fish were coming right up to the vessel! Great job “Pride of Maui”! Thank you for our awesome experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great snorkel & whale watching trip!

Reviewed by: Donna MacKenzie, 2017/12/09

Once we were aboard the Pride of Maui, the captain and crew made us feel right at home. We were lucky to see humpback whales just a few minutes into the trip. How exciting! The grilled burgers had our mouths watering but first, we had to anchor st Coral Gardens to snorkel. Lots of fish to see and the weather cooperated so it wasn't windy or cold. The slide on the boat was a great extra. The crew was always ready to help with any of our questions. All in all, we have a very good excursion with the Pride of Maui boat and crew. We definitely would book again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Hydroo, 2017/09/11

Wonderful experience ! Encounter turtles and other marine life.. food was delicious .. staff was very helpful!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank You for your kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your afternoon with us, and swimming with the majestic Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles. We pride ourselves in providing a freshly prepared and bountiful BBQ lunch cooked right onboard and served hot off the grill.

Most of all, I'm proud of my team of experts on the boat who strive to exceed your expectations. It is my crew i am most proud of. I am happy to hear tat you felt my team lived up to our reputation in the care they took of you.

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Scott Turner
CEO
Pride of Maui

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]