(All Reviews) Movie & Film Tours (Sightseeing / Guided Tours), Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Movie & Film Tours in Kauai

Overall Rating

4.80 4.80 / 5

Reviews

25 reviews

Kauai Movie Sites Tour - Film & TV Sets, Hanalei Bay, Opaekaa Falls & More

Kauai Movie Tour

Reviewed by: Alice, 2018/06/02

It was a good way to check out some of the sites of movie scenes from Kauai. Relaxing and no stress, if that’s what you seek. Jonna was great, providing more of a local perspective and was also one of the founders of this movie tour. However note that due to recent flooding, tour won’t bring you to Hanalei Pier.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Movie Tour

Reviewed by: Annette McDevitt, 2018/05/02

This was a wonderful tour! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, affable, and considerate.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sites Tour - Film & TV Sets, Hanalei Bay, Opaekaa Falls & More

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Jacquie, 2017/12/30

We had Aunty Alicia as our guide and she was very knowledgeable and took us to extra spots! I was glad we got to see most of the north shore.

The only downside was the people flew in for the day and we were delayed waiting for them which cut our time short at some of our viewing sites.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Movie history on Kauai

Reviewed by: Ev & Dave, 2017/10/20

Our guide, Michelle, did a wonderful job explaining the sites. While we travelled between sites, the movie clips on the bus were very entertaining!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: Alicia, 2017/10/17

We decided to go on the Hawaii Movie and TV Show tour. We had a blast. There were only 2 couples and we actually made a couple side stops. All the places we saw were great to learn about. And the beauty of it all was wonderful too.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Kauai 1st Trip

Reviewed by: Brb, 2017/05/20

We had a great guide Wendy! Thanks for all the information on Kauai and the movies.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Excellent Information and Hospitality

Reviewed by: Karen, 2016/12/22

This tour was neat for movie buffs and for anyone wanting in depth knowledge about the ins and outs of the island. Kat and Mickey were wonderful tour guides. This was a must do in my book; I just wish we had done it earlier in our trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Hi lights / low points

Reviewed by: Mike, 2016/09/16

Had 21 people on a bus that holds 24. Ended up in back row of bus with inadequate air conditioning. If you are taller than 5' 9" and over 180 you will not be comfortable.

Your was nice. Guide and driver were great. Lunch was very mediocre.

Unless you are really into older movies, I would not recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Helpful and Informative. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by: Kansas620, 2016/09/08

We were on this tour on the island of Kauai, as two hurricanes were predicted to hit the Hawaiian Islands. The tour staff were so helpful in helping us prepare in the event of a hurricane (which did not hit, thankfully.) They took their time and even stopped by the WalMart for us to buy some items in case of power outage.
Wendy was our tour guide, and Anthony was our driver. We were in awe of the amount of information these two have about the history, culture, movie stars, and environment. Wendy is hilarious! Not only is she a wealth of information, she kept us laughing the whole trip.
The tour is as advertised. We felt this tour was a very good value for the price paid, and highly recommend this tour!!
The lunch was very good, too.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Great start to our stay!

Reviewed by: Sam, 2016/03/09

This is a great way to start your stay on Kauai as it takes you to a lot of different locations on the island. Wendy was a great tour guide, she was very informative and funny. She knew a lot of facts about the movies and where they were filmed as well as the island in general. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sites Tour - Film & TV Sets, Hanalei Bay, Opaekaa Falls & More

Kauai Movie Excursion and Hanalei Bay Tour Review

Reviewed by: Ayshe Murat, 2015/12/03

We loved, loved, and loved it! The movie tour on Kauai is the perfect treat for not only movie fans such as me and my husband but for those who love seeing the beauty of Kauai. As it combines clips of scenes from famous, and some not so famous, movies filmed on the Island. It’s an easy six hours of entertainment as the tour guide fills you with fun facts of the movies with the reality of what actually had to occur (or not occur in some cases) for the film to be made. Bleeps of scenes and inaccuracies are pointed out with amusement such as scenes that go from one far corner of the Island into the mountains with the flash of the camera such as in the Elvis movie “Blue Hawaii.”

For a modest cost, my husband and I enjoyed touring Hawaii and meeting other tourists and having lunch (choice of Burgers; Pulled Pork and Chicken Sandwiches and Salads for the vegetarians) at the wonderful restaurant, Tahiti Nui, used in the film “The Descendants.” We even got to meet Julia, the real bartender in the movie.

The tour guide was professional, courteous and funny and went out of his way to point out great restaurants and frequent stops for pictures.

We highly recommend this for anyone as a wonderful way to tour Kauai and enjoy movie making at its most magical.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sites Tour - Film & TV Sets, Hanalei Bay, Opaekaa Falls & More

Alii Movie Tour in Kauai

Reviewed by: Nancy Ray, 2015/10/30

The Movie Tour with Johna, our Tour Guide was very informative and enjoyable because she was actually a native from Kauai. She brought in alot of details concerning the movie areas that we saw. I have been a movie buff for over 60 years and to see and hear about how the movie director used these areas was very exciting. The movie DVDs were very important for the touring people to identify the movies and with Johna explaining the how and wheres of each movie site , it made everything fit so perfectly. Each of the movies I have seen at least twice, even Lilo and Stitch and seeing the filming sites of "Jurassic Park", "Raiders of the Lost Arc" and "Dragonfly "were my favorites. Of course, "Elvis Presly", in my day, was the King and to see some of the filming sites of his movies and where he stayed was exciting. The Movie "Descendents" really showed the beauty and vastness of Kauai and the were got to eat at the same place the actors in the movie ate, Tahiti Nui. How fun was that!!!!!! The Hanalei Peir was very unique and I remember seeing it in several movies. The bridge that was in "Soul Surfer" was amazing and I really never thoght about it being only a one car at a time bridge. I hadn't seen one of those in forever.
The weather was awesome, at times it was sunny and then in the after noon we got some afternoon showers which made it even more fun and interesting.
This was the best tour ever. I could go on for days, but I won't. I have and will recommend this to to any and everyone I meet. Thank You for Your Tour Service and for our wonderful Tour Guide, "Johna".

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/10/26
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sites Tour - Film & TV Sets, Hanalei Bay, Opaekaa Falls & More

If You're A Movie Buff, Sam's THE MAN!

Reviewed by: gsr, 2015/08/10

We took the tour on June 18, 2015. My husband and I were the first to be picked up, last to be dropped off, so this tour was much longer for us than it was for those picked up last/dropped off first. We were tired by the end, but happy to have been able to see the extra filming sites and watch more of the associated film clips in that time. it was nice that the very knowledgeable tour guide, Sam, did that. He also edited the clips, so he really knows his stuff. (I was a film major in college, so I had high expectations for this tour, and Sam not only met but exceeded them.)
Sam is a professional musician, and he also serenaded our group by singing and playing his ukelele several times at stops long the way, which was absolutely charming. I don't want to give away everything - you really will enjoy it more if you allow yourself to be pleasantly surprised. But this tour is jam-packed with film trivia and celebrity trivia and so many stops along the way, all accompanied by corresponding film clips.
Our lunch destination was AWESOME! The food was OK, not amazing or anything, but the ambience was TRULY OUTSTANDING, for film buffs!!!!!
My husband and I meant to take the drive back up to the North Shore of Kuaui again sometime during our 1-week stay, but we never did make it back up there. We weren't too upset, though, because we felt like we got to see so much of it on this movie tour.
This was our favorite tour of the vacation, by far. (We also flew to Oahu for a one-day tour which was basically a "Stop and Shop" tour), and on Kuaui we toured Allerton Gardens and went on a helicopter.) This movie tour is long, but well worth the time spent.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Enlightening

Reviewed by: Kathy , 2015/07/04

We really enjoyed. This tour! Mickey was a fantastic guide who kept us entertained while chubbie was such a good driver. We recommend this tour for the beginning of this trip so that you can go back to some of these places during your trip

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sites Tour - Film & TV Sets, Hanalei Bay, Opaekaa Falls & More

Jill and John Adventure

Reviewed by: Johnno, 2015/06/11

Fascinating, Informative, Fun, and all the other superlatives to achieve my fifty words!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Great!!!

Reviewed by: Sharon & Jeanette, 2015/05/29

Wendy was the BEST tour guide....very informative! Cats did a great job driving us around. Thanks to both of you for making our day so enjoyable

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Loved it.

Reviewed by: Eva, 2015/05/17

Mickey the tour guide was very informative. We saw so many places and enjoyed the movies as we went along to help us remember the movies. Fantastic.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

TV & MOVIE TOUR

Reviewed by: Joan, 2015/01/10

Great tour guide. Very knowledgeable. He obviously loved TV and movies.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Great tour for getting familiar with the island!

Reviewed by: Nina, 2014/05/29

We had a great time on this tour - It was also nice that they picked us up from/dropped us off at our hotel. We saw a ton of sights, got some AMAZING scenery shots, learned a lot, and it familiarized us with the island. The tour guide was funny, knowledgeable and really nice. Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sites Tour - Film & TV Sets, Hanalei Bay, Opaekaa Falls & More

Reviewed by: David, 2013/09/08

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and lots of fun it was a great experience. Would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Movie Tour

Reviewed by: Kauai Visitors, 2013/06/29

The reason I rated this tour "Good" is because my husband thinks it was great, and I think it was so-so. Maybe, it's because I don't watch TV often enough and have no idea about movies mentioned on the tour. Unfortunately, we did not stop in the area, where they filmed those few movies I actually watched and liked, so it was a big disappointment for me.

I would not recommend this tour if TV shows or movies are not your passion.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sites Tour - Film & TV Sets, Hanalei Bay, Opaekaa Falls & More

Fabulous Time!

Reviewed by: Tom & Brenda, 2013/01/31

When Sam, our guide for the day, picked up my wife and I at our hotel, on time, we thought he was taking us to another location to meet up with a busload of other people for our movie tour. Instead, he said it was just the three of us on today's tour, off on a day of movie magic.
After sharing some of our favorite Kauai filmed movies with Sam, he made sure he highlighted several of the filming locations along the way. My wife and I never knew there were so many movies filmed on Kauai and so many spectacular locations to see. Sam was involved in pre-production scouting of locations for "The Descendants" and so was very knowledgeable about scenes from that movie and scores of others.
Sam personalized our tour for us, even fulfilling my request for a Bubba Burger and shave ice. He was a ukulele master musician and serenaded us at several stops along the way.
This tour made for a day in paradise that we will never forget!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

Kauai Movie Tour

Reviewed by: Ron Besler, 2012/02/27

We enjoyed the tour and rank it as one of our best that we have ever taken. The guide was knowledgeable, had a great sense of humour and was very courteous. We had no idea that Kauai was such a movie making mecca! The structure of the DVD played during the tour was done very well.The addition of singing along with the South Pacific musical song of 'We Ain't Got Dames' was a fitting end to a great tour.
The driver was courteous and very conscious of our needs. We would recommend this to others and have fond memories of this tour

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sightseeing Tour - Roberts Hawaii

A must-do for movie lovers!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/01/24

This is a top-notch tour for movie and television lovers alike! The locations picked are ones which are instantly recognizable from the clips played by the tour guides en-route to each place. Many of the locations are absolutely stunning, and provide ample photo opportunities.

The guides on this tour are top-notch and provide detailed information about each stop and the movies/TV shows which were filmed there.

Being able to visit the abandoned Coco Palms was definitely a highlight of this tour. This is an exclusive that only Roberts Hawaii offers and is a big plus for booking with them!

I thoroughly enjoyed everything about this tour and highly recommend it to movie fans of all ages!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Movie Sites Tour - Film & TV Sets, Hanalei Bay, Opaekaa Falls & More

An Interesting Tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/18

When I found out that parts of Jurassic Park were filmed on Kauai I had to visit the film locations. The tour guide was very informative and showed us movie clips to refresh our memory of what the scene looked like in the movie. The scenery of Kauai is just stunning, and you can see why people filmed at these locations.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations