This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Luau Kalamaku - Polynesian Show & Island Dinner Feast

Fun evening!

Reviewed by: Mike and Melinda, 2018/04/07

Never ending tropical drinks, shopping pre-show, great dinner buffet and really nice show! What more can you ask for? The area is covered as well in case it rains. This was a fun evening! The show production is top notch. They fit a lot of people into the building but to their credit, it doesn’t feel like it. Don’t let them trick you into thinking the poi is good though! ;)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku Show and Dinner

Reviewed by: Walter Ostromecki, 2018/03/27

My daughter and her three friends 'raved' about the great dinner and show. The show was simply breathtaking and food outstanding. Especially enjoyed the after show meet with the cast! Would highly recommend this luau and show to all Island visitors

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Luau show and decent dinner!

Reviewed by: B.L., 2017/12/17

The show is definitely the best part of it. Very entertaining, and great production. The dinner buffet is good -- more than enough food to stuff yourself, and decent selections of Hawaiian food. We didn't opt for the train ride before the dinner, and there's really not too many booths and demonstrations to walk around and see. A lot of people end up just sitting at their table early to wait for dinner to start, especially those who don't drink alcohol that much. My only complaint of the night was it was quite chilly and even cold after sitting there for a while watching the show. It's essentially "outdoors" (with cover) and it's December, so night time it's in the 60s, and I guess I didn't dress appropriately for 60s degrees F weather.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau Show and Hawaiian Story ever told! AAAA

Reviewed by: MariaR from Colorado, 2017/11/25

It is so worth paying to have them pick you up and our driver was both informative and funny. I would pass on the train ride. Too many kids were in our car and we couldn't hear the tour. Or get closer to the conductor. The food was plentiful and many buffets were available. The drinks for Muai Tais or Blue Hawaiians were all inclusive and if you like to drink, there was no maximum. The show was the spotlight of this Luau. The pictures are just a brief image or example of the spectacular event that draws you into the history of Hawaii.







Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The food was incredible

Reviewed by: Kayla, 2017/11/17

The show was beautiful, the food was incredible, and my only suggestion would be to add more activity or interaciton with the culture. The show at the Polynesian Cultural Center provides a tour through replicas of old villages and different polynesian islands. Very cool.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Plantation owners paradise.

Reviewed by: Jake, 2017/11/17

I had a great time with the plantation owners package. Dinner at Gaylords was fantastic and the scenery was amazing. The show was breathtaking and entertaining

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Happy

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/08/22

We had a good time, but if there was one thing I would change would be the ending. It felt like the beginning it had a lot of excitement but the end it all went down. Great customer service by the way except from one of the venders selling in graved rocks.


  • Fun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau kind of felt commercialized

Reviewed by: Candice, 2017/08/21

Dinner was good, hot no breeze because of how patios is positioned, show was good but because it being under a metal building kind of took the authentic in Hawaii feel away. I think having one out doors with a pretty back drop is the way to go

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show.

Reviewed by: Crystal, 2017/08/17

The food was alright, but the show was amazing! A very nice facility and staff. The train ride was fun and informative. The show was the best part of the night though.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

CHEEEEEEEHOOO!

Reviewed by: Aloha Ryan, 2017/08/09

My family and I had an amazing time! Get ready for the Hawaiian experience you'll have a blast.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Five star

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2017/08/07

We all had an awesome time . It was are first time to Hawaii and the luau

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2nd Time Around!

Reviewed by: Tisha, 2017/07/08

Enjoyed this luau so much, we came back to see it again! Must see while visiting Kauai!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: NLKTravel, 2016/11/19

Pros: I added the optional transfer for $12pp and it was nice to have someone else drive since drinks were included. This was a large tour bus with plenty of room. When you arrive, you are greeted with a flower lei. Some local venders were selling hand made items, spices, photos, and nuts. The grounds are well kept with a flower lei greeting. The food was very good and you could go back for seconds. The dancers and show was one of the best I have seen.

Cons: If you drive yourself, arrive early so you can find parking. Paying for the "Plantation Owner's Evening" I thought we should have been sitting closer and I didn't feel like I was being treated like an "Owner". See the photo I attached of how far back we were from the show. For some reason, our bartender was not having a good day and was basically being grumpy. I hope his attitude changed later.


  • View from table 126, Plantation Owner's Evening

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha ,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. Your feedback has been shared with the activity provider to better serve future guests.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very professional job

Reviewed by: scott, 2016/08/10

This is a busy, but very well organised event - We had the full package - coach transfer, train ride, meal and show. The food was of very high quality and as a vegan I was very pleasantly surprised by the variety of veggie food. (There is plenty for the meat eaters too!). The show good too - something for everyone I reckon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau!

Reviewed by: Tisha, 2016/06/23

What an awesome experience! Recommend the gold seating. Food was ok but the performance was phenomenal! Bottomless Mai Tai's and Blue Hawaiians. Will go again the next time I visit Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Jody, 2016/06/11

I loved the Luau. My kids including my 8 year old was entranced the entire time. They especially loved the fire dancer. But the entire show was awesome. The food was delicious and there was tons of variety.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well organised and tasty food.

Reviewed by: Laura, 2015/05/20

Had to wait for 25 minutes on arrival in a queue to 'check in', once inside we didn't realise how big the area was. Markets, no lines at the bar, the buffet was well organised and entertainment was good. Not an intimate affair, hundreds of people but well worth the price.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku at Kilohana Plantation

Reviewed by: George Carr, 2015/03/10

The train ride was very nice. Enjoyed seeing the plantation. The show was wonderful. The story behind the show was much better that the traditional Luau show of various dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome and Passionate

Reviewed by: Kat and Tom, 2015/02/07

This was exciting and passionate! Well choreographed and emotion filled. The Dancers are sexy and in great shape, and very much into their roles! The history is that of many pioneers and reveals all the sorrow and exhilaration of coming to a new land! Hawaii is no different than America and the West, or of Europe and its colonization. The story is fiery in its presentation with several ovations prompted by the force of the dancers, well worth seeing. And the food is excellent. The whole is well organized and amazing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Klalmaku at Kilohana Plantation (premium luau seating)

Reviewed by: Werner, 2014/08/24

Enjoyed the story. Great dansers. Our daughter loved the the "fire-danser".
The food was also very good.

Mahalo for the great show.





Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau at kilohana plantation

Reviewed by: Isabel d, 2014/08/04

The dancers were excellent!! Loved the story line. The food and drinks were delicious!! Will definitely go back and would recommend your luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun evening!

Reviewed by: The Bowmans, 2014/07/04

Dinner was great for adults and chicken available for picky children. Luau show was great!


  • The Bowmans

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau Ever

Reviewed by: KathyS, 2014/05/21

This luau was beyond our expectations. We went for the gold seating (worth it). We had a table right up front. Upon entering we were able to learn a few hula moves with the poi balls and do some shopping with local vendors. Open bar! All you could drink all through dinner. Hula dancers before and during dinner. Group hula lesson - fun! Buffet food was good - dessert delicious. Show after dinner was spectacular!! We also went to the plantation a couple of hours before the luau started to enjoy a tour of the old plantation house (with shops) and did some run tasting. Definitely worth the money. I would highly recommend this event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Okay Train Ride a Waste of time.

Reviewed by: Vicki, 2014/05/12

I've been to a lot of luaus. This one was okay. Food was average but nothing special. Buffet was hot and line went quickly.
Show was very good although not what most people would expect for a Luau. The show was a portrayal of how the first people came to Kauai. Very good but would have liked to seen more traditional dances.
The train ride is a waste of $18 and 45 minutes. would not recommend taking it at all unless you like to see pigs and chickens.

Staff was efficient and friendly.

Probably would not go back to this luau again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

TOO GOOD TO PASS UP

Reviewed by: HAWAIIBOUND, 2014/05/08

JUST AN AWESOME SHOW AND THE FOOD WAS SO GOOD NOT A HUNGRY PERSON TO BE SEEN!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Plantation Owners Dinner

Reviewed by: Brandon and Kelly, 2013/10/30

What a great way to experience the Hawaiian culture! We very much enjoyed our dinner as well as the Luau performance after dinner. The dancers were fantastic and we were thoroughly entertained! We would highly recommend the plantation owners dinner for couples as it is a very romantic setting with a staff that made us feel very welcome and appreciated!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

luau kalamaku

Reviewed by: Lori, 2013/09/25

Had a wonderful time. Great show. Would go back again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

1st timers

Reviewed by: Jcutch, 2013/08/03

Before the show, my kids enjoyed getting their first Jagua skin art (similar to henna) from a local artist. Some of the show's performers had booths selling jewelry and crafts as well. The drinks were stiff, however, the food was on the mediocre side. The show itself was great and was enjoyed by all. The dancers were very friendly and welcoming. Overall great experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Enjoyed

Reviewed by: Angela, 2013/07/05

Been to Luaus' before, just dancing, music, and food/drink. But this was so enjoyable because of the story they told through the dancing, music and song. Even my husband enjoyed it. Our daughters couldn't get over the fire dance, and the way the dancers engaged audience members through out the show. The food was really tasty, we even enjoyed the Poi with everything. The Plantation grounds were spectacular too. This is on our "To-Do List again in Kauai".

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Lee Hanley, 2013/06/29

Great, food, drinks and entertainment. What more can I say. Well worth going to for an evening of fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |