Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Overall Rating

4.73 4.73 / 5

Reviews

70 reviews
Post a review

Really Awesome!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/01/28

Food was better than expected, and the plantation grounds are breathtaking beauty.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Luau and location

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2024/01/06

Wonderful Luau show and food. The venue was beautiful and protected from any weather that might occur.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Darius , 2023/12/14

The event was awesome and the food was outstanding

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent luau experience, esp with kids!

Reviewed by: Dana, 2023/12/10

I specifically booked this luau because I read it was a great experience for kids. We loved the train ride, especially, which is unique to this location. You get to feed the pigs, cows, and horses at a stop along the way! My 2 and 5 year olds loved it. The food was good - lots of variety for different diets - and open bar is awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Show

Reviewed by: Norma M, 2023/11/12

The show was wonderful, I was surprised by the great cast and the excellent presentation with the fire.

The food at the buffet was delicious with 3 main dishes to choose from, plus salad, fruits, dessert and drinks all included in one price.

I recommend this show for the whole family, it is a wonderful experience.

All under a giant tent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: Carlos García , 2023/10/30

My first show ever , I did not know what to expect but I loved it . I am definitely coming back and enjoy the garden next time . The theater was something I really loved . The last act with the fire was my favorite. I do recommend for families or even for solo travelers . I learned a little more about the culture and the different races that have made Hawaii a paradise with culture and history

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rave Warning

Reviewed by: Lisa G, 2023/10/19

Great experience! Even my snarky teens loved it! The food was very good. Lovely and engaging atmosphere. Great staff! The performances were impressive and high caliber. Definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau (not on a beach)

Reviewed by: Colorado, 2023/09/16

Entertainment was great! Everyone was very nice. Pictures were awesome. It was not all you could eat and drink. The food was cafeteria style and put away before we could get seconds. Desert was basic. Not at all what we expected at a luau.

Where is the pig on a spit?? Fresh fruits and vegetables from the island?

Definitely should’ve done more research before attending a Luau. If you want a Beach Luau, this is not the one for you. If you wanna plantation in Luau, where the people are friendly, and the food is average, this is your place!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful luau

Reviewed by: Sharon Blackwood, 2023/08/24

Perfect night. Seating was good, the variety of food was plentiful and delicious. The show was great. Very beautifully done. Loved the story of the love a father has for his daughter and interesting history of the island. Marvelous performances, great fire dances, wonderful cast. Recommend to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Event

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/08/21

Grounds the luau takes place on is breathtaking- my favorite luau on all islands.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family evening.

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/07/31

Loved this event and so did my daughters- the hula dancing is simply gorgeous and unforgettable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Evening

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/07/01

Wish they had a greeting better, but the authentic show was really great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Vanessa , 2023/06/28

Great show , amazing time, kids had fun getting tattoos , drinks were great , food Can be a bit better other than that . Great time .

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great night of entertainment

Reviewed by: Connie, 2023/03/18

The performance was very entertaining and professional. The only issue I had was not being able to clearly hear the moderator who was on stage and telling the story. I had to read the details on the brochure to know what was going on. But the show was great and we also enjoyed the grounds and the vendors who were outside.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Server issues - good show

Reviewed by: Davis Family of 10, 2023/03/09

The Luau event location where we ate and viewed the show was all under roof - very large roof. There is not a bad seat in the place with excellent viewing. The 3-man band for our show was outstanding! They wove the dancing and other acts into an historical account which added interest to the hula and fire dancing. Great costumes and enthusiasm from the performers. The food was medium grade with the desserts below medium grade. The process to be seated was an issue with us as a server is supposed to take you after checking in to your table. No server did that for us. Hence after everyone had been served their salads we noticed nobody brought us a salad. Their head server said since we were not seated properly we were not known to the servers as to who would be serving our table. That was a really bad answer to blame us for their mistake. Once they brought us our salad, they almost immediately were asking us to go through the buffet line for the main course and servers were asking for our unfinished salad plates. Other than this server issue, the venue and show was very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Good time!, 2023/01/25

Good time! This was my first Luau, and it was very enjoyable. Very professional establishment and they put the dinner and show on without a glitch.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go for the show not the food!

Reviewed by: MSC, 2023/01/05

Pro: sensational show!

Con: rushed diner and so-so food

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Evening

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/12/21

Great evening, there is lots to do and learn on the plantation before the show even begins!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Evening to Remember!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/10

The train ride was so fun, definitely add this on as you get more of the experience of the plantation!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Evening!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/10

Lots of experience filled and learning through the night!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great luau!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/10/12

Seems like the only big luau on Kauai, and it is beautiful! Make sure to add the train ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not my favorite luau

Reviewed by: Saundra S., 2022/06/24

I have attended luau's on two other islands and they were significantly better than this one. The food was subpar and did not include some traditional items I've seen at other luaus like poi. They do have an open bar with limited selections like Mai Tai and Blue Hawaii and local beers. There was no real imu ceremony and you could not view the pig being cooked in the ground like in others. The show was OK but more of a theatrical play centered around a storyline with little about Hawaiian history. We also did the train ride which was also just OK. You see some orchards and a few animals like pigs, cows, and horses. I would not recommend this luau to a friend. We were very disappointed overall.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time

Reviewed by: 10/10, 2022/06/23

Our entire family enjoyed the luau. We really liked the train ride as well as the fire spinning.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cultural Experience

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/06/10

Awesome evening full of history and talent!! A lovely show

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Experience!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/05/22

Fun and informational! Like watching a play! Cannot recommend it enough.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Happy family!

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2022/04/25

This was our first luau ever and it was nothing short of amazing. We did get there late (with toddlers) so we missed the pig roast and the vendors. Open bar and food good. Show and music wonderful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kids love feeding the pigs

Reviewed by: Vjg, 2022/03/13

This is our second time to this luau and although it has not changed much it was still a memorable event. There were 10 of us, 6 adults and 4 children. The kids loved taking the train and feeding the pigs tortilla wraps. This is a highlight for them. The meal is on time, well organized, efficient and the staff do an amazing job of keeping it all running smoothly. The food is not inspired nor unique in any way. The pork is very tasty though and I thought the chicken thighs were well prepared. The desserts need a revamp as jiggly squares and pineapple cake and tiny tarts of nondescript filling are not worth the big bucks.
The show is well preformed and really another job well done.
Everyone loves a guy throwing fire up in the air.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2021/11/14

Food was okay but the show was absolutely amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful Luau

Reviewed by: Fred, 2021/10/31

The entertainment was top notch and the food was good. We really enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great evening with the family

Reviewed by: RN Randi, 2021/09/19

Highly recommend this venue. Had an absolutely wonderful time our last evening in Kauai. The whole family enjoyed the electrifying dancers, fabulous storytelling, wonderful costumes, engaging wait staff, and an all-around wonderful experience. It was the perfect evening on our last night with the family.

There’s some thing here for everyone to enjoy and be entertained by.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Categories