Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Overall Rating

4.79 4.79 / 5

Reviews

43 reviews
Post a review

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2021/11/14

Food was okay but the show was absolutely amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful Luau

Reviewed by: Fred, 2021/10/31

The entertainment was top notch and the food was good. We really enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great evening with the family

Reviewed by: RN Randi, 2021/09/19

Highly recommend this venue. Had an absolutely wonderful time our last evening in Kauai. The whole family enjoyed the electrifying dancers, fabulous storytelling, wonderful costumes, engaging wait staff, and an all-around wonderful experience. It was the perfect evening on our last night with the family.

There’s some thing here for everyone to enjoy and be entertained by.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Train ride and luau

Reviewed by: Griselda Lara, 2021/08/28

Did the train ride and the luau tour. This was an amazing show. I definitely recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do on Kauai

Reviewed by: Deborah, 2021/07/10

it was a great experience from the moment the bus picked us up till bus dropped us off. Top notch.
The dances were amazing, food and drinks were great *****
We had our 13y old with us and she loved it too. We know how hard it is to impress teens.
Must do

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: GirlsTrip, 2021/06/17

Loved it! The staff was wonderful! The dancers were amazing

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Show

Reviewed by: Jackdaniels44, 2021/06/10

Beautiful show and great people. Had a wonderful time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best show ever!

Reviewed by: Sam, 2020/03/07

Excellent show, talented dancers and entertainers.
Food and drink was great.
Vendors for souvenirs were good quality also

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best event on my Kauai trip!

Reviewed by: Andy, 2018/09/05

I enjoyed the whole experience immensely! The food was great and the entertainment was fantastic! What I loved the most was that there was constantly something going on, I was never bored waiting for the next tick of the clock to happen, unlike a different luau we went to later during our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: Neil, 2018/06/21

Outstanding show. Staff was great. Good food variety

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun evening!

Reviewed by: Mike and Melinda, 2018/04/07

Never ending tropical drinks, shopping pre-show, great dinner buffet and really nice show! What more can you ask for? The area is covered as well in case it rains. This was a fun evening! The show production is top notch. They fit a lot of people into the building but to their credit, it doesn’t feel like it. Don’t let them trick you into thinking the poi is good though! ;)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku Show and Dinner

Reviewed by: Walter Ostromecki, 2018/03/27

My daughter and her three friends 'raved' about the great dinner and show. The show was simply breathtaking and food outstanding. Especially enjoyed the after show meet with the cast! Would highly recommend this luau and show to all Island visitors

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Luau show and decent dinner!

Reviewed by: B.L., 2017/12/17

The show is definitely the best part of it. Very entertaining, and great production. The dinner buffet is good -- more than enough food to stuff yourself, and decent selections of Hawaiian food. We didn't opt for the train ride before the dinner, and there's really not too many booths and demonstrations to walk around and see. A lot of people end up just sitting at their table early to wait for dinner to start, especially those who don't drink alcohol that much. My only complaint of the night was it was quite chilly and even cold after sitting there for a while watching the show. It's essentially "outdoors" (with cover) and it's December, so night time it's in the 60s, and I guess I didn't dress appropriately for 60s degrees F weather.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau Show and Hawaiian Story ever told! AAAA

Reviewed by: MariaR from Colorado, 2017/11/25

It is so worth paying to have them pick you up and our driver was both informative and funny. I would pass on the train ride. Too many kids were in our car and we couldn't hear the tour. Or get closer to the conductor. The food was plentiful and many buffets were available. The drinks for Muai Tais or Blue Hawaiians were all inclusive and if you like to drink, there was no maximum. The show was the spotlight of this Luau. The pictures are just a brief image or example of the spectacular event that draws you into the history of Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The food was incredible

Reviewed by: Kayla, 2017/11/17

The show was beautiful, the food was incredible, and my only suggestion would be to add more activity or interaciton with the culture. The show at the Polynesian Cultural Center provides a tour through replicas of old villages and different polynesian islands. Very cool.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Plantation owners paradise.

Reviewed by: Jake, 2017/11/17

I had a great time with the plantation owners package. Dinner at Gaylords was fantastic and the scenery was amazing. The show was breathtaking and entertaining

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Happy

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/08/22

We had a good time, but if there was one thing I would change would be the ending. It felt like the beginning it had a lot of excitement but the end it all went down. Great customer service by the way except from one of the venders selling in graved rocks.

  • Fun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau kind of felt commercialized

Reviewed by: Candice, 2017/08/21

Dinner was good, hot no breeze because of how patios is positioned, show was good but because it being under a metal building kind of took the authentic in Hawaii feel away. I think having one out doors with a pretty back drop is the way to go

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show.

Reviewed by: Crystal, 2017/08/17

The food was alright, but the show was amazing! A very nice facility and staff. The train ride was fun and informative. The show was the best part of the night though.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

CHEEEEEEEHOOO!

Reviewed by: Aloha Ryan, 2017/08/09

My family and I had an amazing time! Get ready for the Hawaiian experience you'll have a blast.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Five star

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2017/08/07

We all had an awesome time . It was are first time to Hawaii and the luau

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2nd Time Around!

Reviewed by: Tisha, 2017/07/08

Enjoyed this luau so much, we came back to see it again! Must see while visiting Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: NLKTravel, 2016/11/19

Pros: I added the optional transfer for $12pp and it was nice to have someone else drive since drinks were included. This was a large tour bus with plenty of room. When you arrive, you are greeted with a flower lei. Some local venders were selling hand made items, spices, photos, and nuts. The grounds are well kept with a flower lei greeting. The food was very good and you could go back for seconds. The dancers and show was one of the best I have seen.

Cons: If you drive yourself, arrive early so you can find parking. Paying for the "Plantation Owner's Evening" I thought we should have been sitting closer and I didn't feel like I was being treated like an "Owner". See the photo I attached of how far back we were from the show. For some reason, our bartender was not having a good day and was basically being grumpy. I hope his attitude changed later.

  • View from table 126, Plantation Owner's Evening

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha ,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. Your feedback has been shared with the activity provider to better serve future guests.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very professional job

Reviewed by: scott, 2016/08/10

This is a busy, but very well organised event - We had the full package - coach transfer, train ride, meal and show. The food was of very high quality and as a vegan I was very pleasantly surprised by the variety of veggie food. (There is plenty for the meat eaters too!). The show good too - something for everyone I reckon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau!

Reviewed by: Tisha, 2016/06/23

What an awesome experience! Recommend the gold seating. Food was ok but the performance was phenomenal! Bottomless Mai Tai's and Blue Hawaiians. Will go again the next time I visit Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Jody, 2016/06/11

I loved the Luau. My kids including my 8 year old was entranced the entire time. They especially loved the fire dancer. But the entire show was awesome. The food was delicious and there was tons of variety.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well organised and tasty food.

Reviewed by: Laura, 2015/05/20

Had to wait for 25 minutes on arrival in a queue to 'check in', once inside we didn't realise how big the area was. Markets, no lines at the bar, the buffet was well organised and entertainment was good. Not an intimate affair, hundreds of people but well worth the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku at Kilohana Plantation

Reviewed by: George Carr, 2015/03/10

The train ride was very nice. Enjoyed seeing the plantation. The show was wonderful. The story behind the show was much better that the traditional Luau show of various dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome and Passionate

Reviewed by: Kat and Tom, 2015/02/07

This was exciting and passionate! Well choreographed and emotion filled. The Dancers are sexy and in great shape, and very much into their roles! The history is that of many pioneers and reveals all the sorrow and exhilaration of coming to a new land! Hawaii is no different than America and the West, or of Europe and its colonization. The story is fiery in its presentation with several ovations prompted by the force of the dancers, well worth seeing. And the food is excellent. The whole is well organized and amazing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Klalmaku at Kilohana Plantation (premium luau seating)

Reviewed by: Werner, 2014/08/24

Enjoyed the story. Great dansers. Our daughter loved the the "fire-danser".
The food was also very good.

Mahalo for the great show.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]