Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

52 reviews
Post a review

An Evening to Remember!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/10

The train ride was so fun, definitely add this on as you get more of the experience of the plantation!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Evening!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/10

Lots of experience filled and learning through the night!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great luau!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/10/12

Seems like the only big luau on Kauai, and it is beautiful! Make sure to add the train ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not my favorite luau

Reviewed by: Saundra S., 2022/06/24

I have attended luau's on two other islands and they were significantly better than this one. The food was subpar and did not include some traditional items I've seen at other luaus like poi. They do have an open bar with limited selections like Mai Tai and Blue Hawaii and local beers. There was no real imu ceremony and you could not view the pig being cooked in the ground like in others. The show was OK but more of a theatrical play centered around a storyline with little about Hawaiian history. We also did the train ride which was also just OK. You see some orchards and a few animals like pigs, cows, and horses. I would not recommend this luau to a friend. We were very disappointed overall.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time

Reviewed by: 10/10, 2022/06/23

Our entire family enjoyed the luau. We really liked the train ride as well as the fire spinning.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cultural Experience

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/06/10

Awesome evening full of history and talent!! A lovely show

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Experience!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/05/22

Fun and informational! Like watching a play! Cannot recommend it enough.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Happy family!

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2022/04/25

This was our first luau ever and it was nothing short of amazing. We did get there late (with toddlers) so we missed the pig roast and the vendors. Open bar and food good. Show and music wonderful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kids love feeding the pigs

Reviewed by: Vjg, 2022/03/13

This is our second time to this luau and although it has not changed much it was still a memorable event. There were 10 of us, 6 adults and 4 children. The kids loved taking the train and feeding the pigs tortilla wraps. This is a highlight for them. The meal is on time, well organized, efficient and the staff do an amazing job of keeping it all running smoothly. The food is not inspired nor unique in any way. The pork is very tasty though and I thought the chicken thighs were well prepared. The desserts need a revamp as jiggly squares and pineapple cake and tiny tarts of nondescript filling are not worth the big bucks.
The show is well preformed and really another job well done.
Everyone loves a guy throwing fire up in the air.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2021/11/14

Food was okay but the show was absolutely amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful Luau

Reviewed by: Fred, 2021/10/31

The entertainment was top notch and the food was good. We really enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great evening with the family

Reviewed by: RN Randi, 2021/09/19

Highly recommend this venue. Had an absolutely wonderful time our last evening in Kauai. The whole family enjoyed the electrifying dancers, fabulous storytelling, wonderful costumes, engaging wait staff, and an all-around wonderful experience. It was the perfect evening on our last night with the family.

There’s some thing here for everyone to enjoy and be entertained by.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Train ride and luau

Reviewed by: Griselda Lara, 2021/08/28

Did the train ride and the luau tour. This was an amazing show. I definitely recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do on Kauai

Reviewed by: Deborah, 2021/07/10

it was a great experience from the moment the bus picked us up till bus dropped us off. Top notch.
The dances were amazing, food and drinks were great *****
We had our 13y old with us and she loved it too. We know how hard it is to impress teens.
Must do

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: GirlsTrip, 2021/06/17

Loved it! The staff was wonderful! The dancers were amazing

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Show

Reviewed by: Jackdaniels44, 2021/06/10

Beautiful show and great people. Had a wonderful time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best show ever!

Reviewed by: Sam, 2020/03/07

Excellent show, talented dancers and entertainers.
Food and drink was great.
Vendors for souvenirs were good quality also

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best event on my Kauai trip!

Reviewed by: Andy, 2018/09/05

I enjoyed the whole experience immensely! The food was great and the entertainment was fantastic! What I loved the most was that there was constantly something going on, I was never bored waiting for the next tick of the clock to happen, unlike a different luau we went to later during our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: Neil, 2018/06/21

Outstanding show. Staff was great. Good food variety

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun evening!

Reviewed by: Mike and Melinda, 2018/04/07

Never ending tropical drinks, shopping pre-show, great dinner buffet and really nice show! What more can you ask for? The area is covered as well in case it rains. This was a fun evening! The show production is top notch. They fit a lot of people into the building but to their credit, it doesn’t feel like it. Don’t let them trick you into thinking the poi is good though! ;)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku Show and Dinner

Reviewed by: Walter Ostromecki, 2018/03/27

My daughter and her three friends 'raved' about the great dinner and show. The show was simply breathtaking and food outstanding. Especially enjoyed the after show meet with the cast! Would highly recommend this luau and show to all Island visitors

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Luau show and decent dinner!

Reviewed by: B.L., 2017/12/17

The show is definitely the best part of it. Very entertaining, and great production. The dinner buffet is good -- more than enough food to stuff yourself, and decent selections of Hawaiian food. We didn't opt for the train ride before the dinner, and there's really not too many booths and demonstrations to walk around and see. A lot of people end up just sitting at their table early to wait for dinner to start, especially those who don't drink alcohol that much. My only complaint of the night was it was quite chilly and even cold after sitting there for a while watching the show. It's essentially "outdoors" (with cover) and it's December, so night time it's in the 60s, and I guess I didn't dress appropriately for 60s degrees F weather.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau Show and Hawaiian Story ever told! AAAA

Reviewed by: MariaR from Colorado, 2017/11/25

It is so worth paying to have them pick you up and our driver was both informative and funny. I would pass on the train ride. Too many kids were in our car and we couldn't hear the tour. Or get closer to the conductor. The food was plentiful and many buffets were available. The drinks for Muai Tais or Blue Hawaiians were all inclusive and if you like to drink, there was no maximum. The show was the spotlight of this Luau. The pictures are just a brief image or example of the spectacular event that draws you into the history of Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The food was incredible

Reviewed by: Kayla, 2017/11/17

The show was beautiful, the food was incredible, and my only suggestion would be to add more activity or interaciton with the culture. The show at the Polynesian Cultural Center provides a tour through replicas of old villages and different polynesian islands. Very cool.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Plantation owners paradise.

Reviewed by: Jake, 2017/11/17

I had a great time with the plantation owners package. Dinner at Gaylords was fantastic and the scenery was amazing. The show was breathtaking and entertaining

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Happy

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/08/22

We had a good time, but if there was one thing I would change would be the ending. It felt like the beginning it had a lot of excitement but the end it all went down. Great customer service by the way except from one of the venders selling in graved rocks.

  • Fun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau kind of felt commercialized

Reviewed by: Candice, 2017/08/21

Dinner was good, hot no breeze because of how patios is positioned, show was good but because it being under a metal building kind of took the authentic in Hawaii feel away. I think having one out doors with a pretty back drop is the way to go

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show.

Reviewed by: Crystal, 2017/08/17

The food was alright, but the show was amazing! A very nice facility and staff. The train ride was fun and informative. The show was the best part of the night though.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

CHEEEEEEEHOOO!

Reviewed by: Aloha Ryan, 2017/08/09

My family and I had an amazing time! Get ready for the Hawaiian experience you'll have a blast.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Five star

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2017/08/07

We all had an awesome time . It was are first time to Hawaii and the luau

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]