Kauai Na Pali Coast Snorkeling Tour & Sea Cave Adventure by Makana Charters reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kauai Na Pali Coast Snorkeling Tour & Sea Cave Adventure by Makana Charters

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

10 reviews
Post a review

I WOULD BOOK WITH MAKANA AGAIN

Reviewed by: HawaiiTourist 2022, 2022/09/29

I do not know where to start. On September 20th we boarded the boat with Captain A’a and his daughter Ri (Ree). They were professional, knowledgeable, fun, and worth every penny. Whether you are serious about snorkeling (like me) or just looking to see the sites (my husband) you will enjoy this excursion.
On land they will divide you up into groups and then Captain A’a will explain the do’s and don’ts while on his boat (by the way do not bring bananas or granola bars as snacks – he will explain). He is serious about the don’ts. The Captain and his daughter are very knowledgeable of the area (ask them anything) and they are so much fun.
I would definitely recommend the Makana Charters and I highly recommend Captain A’a and his daughter. Thank you both for a fabulous time and making us feel like your friend – not just a customer.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Tour we’ve ever done!

Reviewed by: Cece , 2022/08/21

Captain Kam and Asia were wonderful to our small group. We loved being in the smaller 12 person boat. Kam is a very skilled captain and they both always kept our safety a priority. It was fun, incredibly gorgeous view of the Napali coast. We saw dolphins, turtles, went under a waterfall. The best part was we got lucky with the weather and got to experience a unique cave tour as well.
Food was great too, everything was perfect!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

CAPTAIN CAM AND ASIA ROCK!!!! GREAT TRIP

Reviewed by: Mplayer, 2022/08/21

Great TripCaptain Cam and Asia. What a great duo!
Fun yet safe. No Bananas EVER on da boat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exceptional experience with a caring staff!

Reviewed by: Saundra S., 2022/06/24

This tour surpassed all my expectations. We went out with Captain Sean and Jamie. They were fun and kept the energy and excitement levels high while making sure everyone on our boat's needs was met. This tour is not for the faint of heart! The wave swells can be huge! There's a lot of up and down but when the boat stops for pictures that are when you may get seasick. If that's a problem for you take something or wear acupuncture wrist bands. Our family of 4 wore the wrist bands and 3 of us had no problems. My teen son however ended up vomiting over the side of the boat during the last 1.5 hours of our tour right after the lunch stop. The staff were super helpful, washed off the boat, and gave him ginger chews and sprite. Within a few minutes, he was able to continue on and enjoy the end of the tour. The snorkeling was not off the beach as described on the website due to high winds and waves but they were able to find an area near the coral where our group could get in the sea to snorkel. You had to climb down the ladder in the back of the boat and the water was about 20 feet deep. Again, this is not for weak swimmers. They did provide fins, floats, and anything else you needed to feel safe but made it clear that if you were not a good swimmer, you should stay in the boat. I stayed in the boat while the other 3 strong swimmers got in the water. The staff made a point of throwing out food into the water to bring the fish to the boat so even I got to see some of the most colorful fish I've ever seen in real life up close due to the water being crystal clear and saw a sea turtle. The best part of it all was going into the sea caves! I can't even describe how awesome it was and the staff took the time to take pictures of all the parties in the cave. I would highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Choppy Waters in April Require an awesome Captain.

Reviewed by: Michael Emerson, 2022/04/20

If you visit Kauai in April and want to see the Na Pali Coast then make sure you book with Makana. To navigate the choppy waters you will want a good Captain.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip - very scenic, informative, and fun!

Reviewed by: Connie, 2022/04/19

Our trip with Makana Charters was a great time - our guides Cam and Asia were very helpful, knowledgeable and made the trip fun, as well as showing us amazing sights along the Na Pali Coastline. We entered a couple of awesome sea caves, saw turtles and hundreds of fish and sea life snorkeling, learned about the culture and history of the native Kauaian people, and enjoyed great views of the beautiful mountains, waterfalls and beaches all along the coastline. Safety was always front and foremost - we never felt at risk in any way. Would highly recommend Makana Charters - you can't go wrong!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic adventure!

Reviewed by: Billy, 2022/04/18

My 9 year old daughter and I had a wonderful afternoon with Captain Cam and his partner Tony. They conveyed wonderful information about the areas we were seeing, made sure everyone was well taken care of, and kept the afternoon moving along such that there never seemed to be a dull moment. Highlights were snorkling, humpback whales, getting into some of the beautiful caves and just generally becoming familiar with a uniquely beautiful area of the world. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful time

Reviewed by: Melissa, 2021/06/12

Great people and had a wonderful time. Would book again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the boat tour !

Reviewed by: Kavya, 2021/06/01

Tony and Cam were very friendly and humorous. They stopped at all the amazing places. We took the 8:30 AM tour and got to see dolphins, turtles, beautiful caves and multiple waterfalls. Snorkeling was fun and could see coral reef and many types of fishes. I would highly recommend Makana Charters to my friends and family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Dave was AMAZING!!

Reviewed by: Michelle , 2021/05/23

I had a BLAST!! Captain Dave and his first mate were the best tour guides and I would recommend this to anyone. I had a hard time with sea sickness, and both Dave and his helper were so attentive and helpful. I truly had an amazing time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]