Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Overall Rating

4.47 4.47 / 5

Reviews

15 reviews
Post a review

Rain can't stop a good time.

Reviewed by: Holly P, 2019/03/09

A warm rain fell, off and on during our float up the river, but since we were going to get wet anyhow, it didn't matter. Our guides, Web and Dan, were very attentive and funny. And knowledgeable about what we were seeing along the way.

One thing that was different from our expectation, but didn't matter too much, was that since the road past Hanalei is closed indefinitely due to a storm, the guides had to park and load things in different spots than normal, which added to the walk to the beach.

I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes fun flatwater kayaking, and great snorkeling on the north coast of Kaua'i.

  • Web (Hardy) and Dan (Laurel) our great guides

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Holly,

Thanks for your nice review. You were the beneficiary of our "dream team" , i.e. Web and Dan who also guide our all day sea kayak tour along Na Pali coast during the summer.

Thanks for warning others that, due to last years flood, has forced us to take a 1/4 mile walk along beautiful Hanale Bay.

Sometime in the next few months we are told that the road to the river mouth, where we generally launch, will be open once again.d

Thanks again for taking the time to share with others.

The Hanalei River and Bay has to be one of the more beautiful places on the planet.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Brought us to a hotel beach

Reviewed by: Thilo, 2018/11/26

It was wasted money. We drove with the guides 45min to Hanalei. There we walked relatively long along the public beach to the kayaks and started to kayak in the river next corner. Nothing spectacular and you can see everything from the road. After about 1 hour kayaking they brought us to a dead reef in front of a hotel where you can go by yourself as well.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Thilo,

Sorry to hear that our Hanalei Blue Lagoon paddle and snorkel did not meet expectations.

Many folks enjoy not only the scenic drive by van up to Hanalei but also the short hike along beautiful Hanalei Bay to the staging area; not to mention the paddle/snorkel and panorama that surrounds magical Hanalei.

We are there for folks that choose to rent and go un-guided versus those who want to and maximize their time.

Thanks for sharing and Happy Holidays.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Excursion!!!

Reviewed by: MarkFlannery, 2018/03/05

We had such an amazing time in Kauai, but one of our favorite events was the Kayak and Snorkel excursion up the Hanalei River Anne snorkeling on the reef. Our guides, Lisa and Steve, did amazing jobs. I’d highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Great times!!!

Reply from activity provider

Mark...usually reply to review in a timely fashion. May have been paddling myself.

We are in the summer calms and the snorkeling has been dynamite.

We are waiting for your return.

Thanks for a nice review.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular adventure!!!

Reviewed by: MarkFlannery, 2018/02/12

Our daughter bought us this trip for our 30th wedding anniversary. We then added four of our good friends that we came with. Kayaking up and down the river was amazing, and on into the ocean. Our snorkeling adventure was awesome, as we saw a Sea Turtle and beautiful fish! Lunch was delicious too! Lisa and Steve did a great job! We were especially grateful for Lisa sharing her expansive knowledge of nature, surfing, and the Hawaiian culture! She was super accommodating taking pictures and setting up lunch! Many thanks!!!

  • What a great way to experience Kauai!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Tour Guide

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2017/11/12

This tour was made awesome by the tour guide. He knew so much and he put us at ease the whole way through.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Brooke, 2017/03/20

This was one of my husband and I's adventures here in Kauai for our honeymoon! We had a wonderful time and would recommend! Great exercise, tan, and got to see lots of ocean life while snorkeling!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeled with turtle

Reviewed by: Jim, 2016/01/26

This was a great excursion, which required a little grace and patience as it got started (van's battery was dead, had to switch vehicles), but was great overall. Fun to do both river and easy ocean kayaking. At the snorkel beach, we saw plenty of fish and also were treated to swim alongside a turtle. Steve was a great guide too.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely a perfect experience for us all!

Reviewed by: Jill Dutra, 2015/08/05

This trip was one of our best yet! We have done several activities in Kauai and this one will be hard to beat. Jessie was our travel guide and he was wonderful. He was full of information about the island, he was easy to talk to and it's easy to see he loves what he does. We are a family of four with two teenage sons and all four of us enjoyed the entire day; that is not always an easy accomplishment! The kayaking was very fun, Hanalei Bay was amazing and the snorkel location was just beautiful. Our lunch on the beach was great and It was one of those memories that will last a life time. Jessie was very professional and made us feel very comfortable every step of the way. I would recommend this adventure to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jessie was the BEST tour guide. The ultimate professional and extremely personalable.

Reviewed by: Portland, OR Couple, 2014/07/26

What more can we say? Jessie made our kayak tour the most exciting part of our Kaua'i vacation. He's 100% passionate about the island & maintaining it's splendor. Jessie know the island flora & fauna, as well as very interesting tidbits about the history. He is also an excellent kayaker, who remained calm throughout our outing. One of the 3 couples in our party had their kayak turn over and the wife, a non-swimmer panicked. Jessie made sure all were safe with life preservers securely fastened, despite the slight "adventure." This tour is worth doing again, and again. Thanks Jessie!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Obami, 2013/12/29

Very nice and relax trip. This is our first kayak experience. The river is clam and beautiful. Snorkeling is good too, many fishes.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very bad service!

Reviewed by: SAEZELL, 2012/09/15

This excursion was fun, but staff at office was very rude. Acted like we were a burden to even help. Very short and snobby. Especially blonde lady. No one even smiled at us. I have never been on an excursion so unorganized and unfriendly. Our guide was nice enough, but no instructions for snorkeling. My sister had never snorkeled and he just gave us our masks and left us to snorkel on our own while he went spear fishing. As we were kayaking he got way ahead and never stopped and checked on the group. I was very disappointed. I have been on several excursions and the staff has always been wonderful, but not this one. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

business trip break

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/07

Recently my buddies and I were on business in Hawaii and needed a break from work. We had the day off and decided to try this kayak thing out. It was awesome in every way.

A group of guys, we always like to be active and this provided us with the intensity we needed, and the sites were gorgeous and the guide was cool too.

Every guy who went agreed with me, this tour was the bomb.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was fun!

Reviewed by: Ms. Barb Langham, 2011/06/12

In spite of the downpour of rain the day of our kayak adventure (5/28), it was fun and we all had quite a workout. Our guide, Harley, was excellent in every way. Very informative, patient, skilled, and accommodating! It would have been nice if you had ordered more sunshine but then we would have been sunburned; this way, we were just wet!
Thanks again.
Barb Langham

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/07/06

Bucky was an excellent guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River Kayaking & Snorkel

Reviewed by: Flo S, 2008/06/17

This was a really fun experience! Jonathan was our tour guide and since we were the only ones booked that afternoon, it was a really private tour. We snorkeled at Hideaways Beach, which was breathless. The kayaking back was a little tough because we were tired from the snorkeling but we finally made it. I would definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]