This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

Wonderful Day (Despite the Rain)

Reviewed by: Jef,Terry Saperstein, 2016/02/03

Enjoyed the Hawaiian show immensely which I was not expecting. Enjoyed the show despite the rain at the grotto. You should highlight the entertainment with such a pleasant show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth every penny spent!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2015/12/20

Great value for your money. Got to experience a lot of the culture, food, boat ride and much more . Learned about the Island we were visiting as well! It was an excellent item to spend on.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua Cruise

Reviewed by: Kyla, 2015/12/06

We are newlyweds, so the cruise to the Fern Grotto was very cool since weddings used to be held there!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto River Cruise

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2015/11/14

This was a great adventure, perfect for everyone! The guides were wonderful and the entertainment on the way back was fun. For $20 this is a great deal. I will definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Glen Hayden, 2015/10/25

A great way to spend an afternoon. A slow relaxing ride up the river with a leisurely stroll through the tropical plants to the grotto. Once at the grotto the songs of Kauai serenade you while the beautiful and awe inspiring sites fill your senses.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: Carri Cheek, 2015/10/04

Just as I remembered as a kid. Thank you for a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average boat tour

Reviewed by: Lucie, 2015/09/22

This was 2 hour boat tour to Fern Grotto and back with live music. The tour was average, nothing special.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable but not as impressive as a trip 10 years ago

Reviewed by: Marcia, 2015/09/19

Everything on Kauai has a beautiful plant variety. It is awesome

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2015/08/24

Great excursion at a very reasonable price. The crew were exceptional and talented. I would definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had fun

Reviewed by: John , 2015/07/22

the river trip was fun, they had entertainment on our return from the fern grotto. The grotto was very nice to see, with ferns growing upside down. I recommend doing this at least once

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Laua Ever!

Reviewed by: Family of Five, 2015/07/16

The Smith Family Laua will not disappoint! I've seen five Lauas and this was far superior to all others! Food and the show was amazing! The grounds of the facility were very beautiful and the tram ride showed all the land had to offer! Many photo opportunities! The Fern Gratto was beautiful and the musicians were great! Very pretty!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do

Reviewed by: Diane, 2015/07/13

Driver picked us up so we didn't have to worry about drinking and driving, fun and informative boat ride to Fern Grotto with music, singing and dancing then delivered right on time to the Luau and brought back to our condo afterwards......Al fun, no worry

  • Fun fun

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River Cruise

Reviewed by: Jim, 2015/05/22

The river cruise was relaxing and informative. We loved the traditional Hawaiian music that was sung.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruisin' down the river

Reviewed by: Bud & Babe, 2015/05/03

Excellent! Good music, good stories, wonderful local flavor!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River Cruise

Reviewed by: kablewhirl, 2015/04/05

We bought the river cruise as an add on to the Luau. It is a pleasant ride on the river with a tour guide and some hula dancing. Honestly we could hardly understand/hear what the guided was saying on the ride. The dancing was nice. The whole experience was just a little underwhelming. Would not sign up for it as an individual event.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great show and scenic trip

Reviewed by: Jill, 2015/03/25

The performers we're so friendly and entertaining. you could tell they enjoyed presenting the music and dance show. the river ride was scenic and relaxing. the walk to the grotto and back was beautiful. highly recommend. don't book online with another company for $40 each. its only 20 when you book on this site.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Value

Reviewed by: Kauai Girl, 2015/02/15

Nice trip for a reasonable cost. Entertainment at the Fern Grotto was a nice touch. Entertainers then return on the boat with you for the trip back, singing and dancing all the way. Easy on and off access.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This activity should be discontinued

Reviewed by: Chris , 2014/12/13

The fern grotto is a piece of Hawaiian history. Originally the site of a huge waterfall, before the river was diverted for irrigation, and originally the site of hundreds of ferns, before being battered by cyclones, this place is not what it once was.
It would have been a very impressive tourist attraction in the early 1900s but unfortunately ferns need water to grow and as it is with the river not going through here this place will never be as impressive and at the moment the tourist operators are trying to flog a dead horse.
Unless they divert the river back through here and let the ferns regenerate I would not recommend it. Time to put this activity out to pasture!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome entertainment!

Reviewed by: Hulala, 2014/12/09

I was not particularly excited about this excursion because the fern grotto is all dried up and you can't go in anymore. However the entertainment was great. I dont think they could have made the excursion better with all the story telling, music and dancing. It was alot more than i expected and it was a great start to the luau we saw after!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

relaxing

Reviewed by: TN traveler, 2014/12/04

The Cruise Is On A River Not IN THE Ocean FOR Anyone Worried About attire. It is very laid back atmosphere so any clothes are appropriate. The staff where authentic and made you welcome. I combined with smith laaui.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip as part of luau

Reviewed by: Gordon Edmonton, 2014/11/17

This was an interesting trip. A lot of fun and a good "part" of the luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing Wailua

Reviewed by: Mary, 2014/11/17

Every time we come to Kauai we take this River Cruise. It is so relaxing and the ride on the Wailua is calm and you don't have to paddle! We love the entertainment at Fern grotto as well as the fun on the way back to the dock. Everyone we have taken has enjoyed it! We always take this cruise right before going to the luau. A wonderful value too!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Off the bucket list

Reviewed by: arkhas, 2014/11/15

If you don't know what to do with your time allotted to satisfying curiosity, take this cruise. It offers usual Hawaiian fare of beautiful scenery not accessible otherwise, enthusiastic entertainment complete with hula dance, and a photo op against inaccessible fern grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern grotto

Reviewed by: Marsha, 2014/11/04

Boring... Crowded and fern grotto was pretty but....

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River CRUISE/ Tropical Luau

Reviewed by: carlie, 2014/10/07

This is a must entertainment was awsome and the cruise up the river was great very relaxing weather couldnt have been better and the Luau is a must execellent food and drinks

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: Dean, 2014/10/05

It was a nice way to start the afternoon before the Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Padricipant

Reviewed by: Sharon Norris, 2014/10/05

Very lovely experience and I would recommend everyone participate in this adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Eoka, 2014/09/20

We enjoyed the lush surroundings, however, it cannot compare to our previous trip which was many years ago. At that time we were able to actually walk into the Fern Grotto and listen to the singers in the grotto. We did enjoy the entertainment on our return trip back to the dock.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

More than expected!

Reviewed by: MarshFamily, 2014/09/20

This tour is awesome! So much more than expected! The family/crew were all very nice and very entertaining! I would recommend this tour to anyone looking to learn a little bit of island history and relax on the comfortable boat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delightful!

Reviewed by: Felicia, 2014/09/13

Was definitely worth the time! I would have liked to be able to approach the grotto, but our guide was magnificent & the boat team made it a very enjoyable trip. Talented dancer & singers! We will cherish this memory!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |