This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waterfalls & Volcano Helicopter Tour Doors-off & Doors-on Flights (from Hilo)

First-Timers

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/04/22

This is a great activity except if you're prone to motion-sickness then it is not for you. Two hours was way too long for us. I was doing well in the first hour when we were shown the volcanoes and mountains but in the second hour I could not keep my eyes open due to my motion sickness. And that sucked because in the second hour is when he shows you the beautiful valleys and waterfalls! Thank God my husband was able to record it for me but it still wasn't the same. I would recommend a 45-minute-1 hour tour but not the 2 hour tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a great time!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/12/11

We had a great time on the Big Island tour today. The flight was
awesome. The pilot, Koji, did a terrific job. He made sure folks on
both sides of the helicopter saw the sights-Pu'u O'o, lava flowing
into the ocean, waterfalls, etc. It was our first time in a helicopter
and it was a great experience.

The reservationists were patient and informative. The folks at the
terminal were helpful, supportive and very upbeat-they truly seemed
excited for us.

We will be sure to spread the good word about your outfit.

Thank you for making the experience positive, simple and memorable for
us.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava Hunting!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/09/29

We did the "Fire & Falls" tour and loved it (although we both got a bit airsick, but that's not the company's fault, that's just because we're prone to it - the other couple with us was fine). I had picked Paradise because it was the cheapest air tour of the volcano (in terms of cost per minute), but I can't imagine why I would pay more for another company because this ride was everything we wanted.

We did the "doors off" tour and it was a 4-person helicopter (not incl. the pilot), so everyone had a fantastic view. I would highly recommend the doors-off experience. My husband is a bit afraid of heights, and even he agreed that doors-off was worth it (but a bit frightening for him). Our pilot was Jesse and he was a lot of fun.

What I loved is that if a passenger spotted lava, our pilot would circle back (as if we were "lava hunting") and make sure that everyone got a view.

The waterfalls portion was brief, and at the end. The main attraction of this tour is the volcano/lava.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/09/29

Our group of 4 booked a "doors off" helicopter ride through Paradise Helicopters. None of our group had ever been in a helicopter before and this exceeded all of our expectations. The front desk staff was courteous and upbeat. The guy doing the safety briefing was thorough and knowledgeable while infusing some humor into the "speech". Our pilot was Joyce and we could not have asked for a better experience. Because there were 4 of us, we took every seat on the helicopter. We were concerned at first about the view from the front-middle seat, but she could still see everything, though you do miss the experience of sitting right by the window.

Joyce did a great job of going over the different areas multiple times so each side of the helicopter could see what was below. Joyce spoke clearly and slowly and we never had a problem hearing what she was saying and she would repeat the "attractions" for both sides of the helicopter.

If you have the option of choosing your pilot, you want J

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gotta Do the Doors Off!!!

Reviewed by: Robin & Julie O'Neill, 2009/09/17

Doors Off is the ONLY way to go!!! Mahalo so much for the awesome tour experience over the Kilauea Lava Flow. Dylan was a great pilot and was very knowledgeable about the Hawaiian terrain we were flying over. He definitely provided a great commentary and guide to the beautiful sights below us. We have taken helicopter tours before over such things as Niagara Falls, but we will not want to be flying with doors on ever again. We highly recommend the doors off experience, it is second to none

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flying high!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/09/11

An amazing activity definately recommended to be done on Big Island. You get a narrated tour and see the flowing lava fields and the lava hitting the sea. A once in a life time experience. You see sights that you wouldn't see from ground level. Worth every penny. Very friendly staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Tracey K., 2009/07/04

Paradise Helicopters is an excellent company and I would highly recommend the Fire and Falls tour out of Hilo. For three of the four of us, this was our first time in a helicopter and it was amazing. Our pilot Dylan was fantastic and gave us a personal guided tour which was great because the whole ride was very interactive. Definitely the best way to see the Volcano and Water Falls!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Doors off

Reviewed by: Glenn, 2009/06/02

The "doors off" was everything I had expected.....spectacular!!! Combine this with Jacks Volcano House Landing and you have a fantastic adventure. Jack Thompson met us and was a very cordial tour guide of the devastation that has occured arround his house. The pilot was an obvious experienced professional. The flight was smooth and not "white knuckle" at all. My wife was even pleasantly surprised, and she hates to fly!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Open Door Experience with waterfall

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/05/15

We took the open door with landing at Jack's lava house. It was a very neat experience getting to walk on the lava rock. Be prepared for being wind-blown on the open doors, and take a jacket as it can be chilly in the air. Overall a very nice experience, but don't expect big "red lava flows" as that is not realistic. You can't exactly "feel the heat" and the waterfalls are not close up views they are more from a distance and thrown in at the end, But still pretty spectacular scenery!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the Money

Reviewed by: BuckysGirl, 2009/03/15

I wavered back and forth with doing a helicopter ride since it is so expensive. My boyfriend and I went on the Falls and Fire tour, which was interesting. I am glad we did it, since much of the volcano viewing area was closed due to the fumes, but I wish we could have gone at night to see the lava flows better. It was a bit inconvenient for us due to the weather (we had to reschedule), luckily we could be a bit flexible. I would recommend a helicopter ride in Hawaii to anyone, since it is a unique experience and the views are phenomenal.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Gina, 2009/01/27

Awesome experience, best pictures I could ever have from the off doors helicopter. The view was spectacular and the staff was awesome. Thank you!!! Cant wait to be back :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Feel the Heat

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/11/15

This is the most amazing ride of the life time. If you have a chance, do this tour. You won't regret it. It's worth every penny.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Door off ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/08/02

There is no word to describe this experience. It's like skydiving. You have to do it to know.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise Helicopter Ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/06/25

This was the most amazing experience I have ever had. Our pilot, Steve, shared his vast knowledge of the big island with us. Absolutely amazing!! I would do this again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Experience

Reviewed by: Rene, 2008/06/19

We had a FANTASTIC experience on the Paradise Helicopter tour!
We would do it again, the next time we travel to Hawai'i.
I've included some of my favorite pictures from the tour.
Had a GREAT time!
Aloha,

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Mary, 2008/06/15

Great time ! We are still talking about it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a Lifetime!

Reviewed by: Leslie, 2008/05/08

I had the amazing experience of seeing the volcano and lava field from a helicopter with the doors off! This is a once in a lifetime experience! The vantage point is unsurpassed and one really gets the feel for the enormity and power of volcanos. The volcano was very active during my flight and I could view red lava droping into the ocean, "sky lights" and brand new back sand beaches being created. During the flight you also see many of the beautiful waterfalls and varied micro-climates that make up the Big Island. My photos came out great and I was using a small, digital camera. A MUST DO!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

HOT Ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/03/28

This was THE HIGHLIGHT of our honeymoon trip to Big Island. MAJESTIC is the only word we could describe the active volcano. We could feel the breath of our planet. Will do it again in a heartbeat. Thanks!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/01/16

We enjoyed the trip and would recommend it to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Miss Hardey, 2007/11/01

Would definitely do this again! Pilot was fabulous and sights were beautiful. Wonderful way to spend time in Hilo.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: MELANIE BURTON, 2007/09/21

It was awesome, exciting and unforgetable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: Eric, 2007/06/19

The helicopter ride with the doors off was very cool! You can feel the heat from the lava! This tour gives you a great view of the different features of the island. It's a bit on the expensive side, but I'd recommend it if you've never done it before.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Open Door Tour

Reviewed by: Scott H., 2007/05/08

This tour was a wonderful experience! The open door helicopter was, in my opinion, the ONLY way to see the volcano's and the associated flows. We were lucky enough to witness 3 surface flows, noticeable flow into the ocean AND 2 craters with visible orange molten lava! Thanks for a great time. Emily, you were AWESOME!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

Hawaiian Islands