Kilauea Volcano Lava Hunt Expedition & Waterfalls Helicopter Tours (from Hilo)

Comfortable ride

Reviewed by: Kerilyn, 2017/09/11

Very clean and comfortable helicopter. Pilot had a great soundtrack and was very good at making sure we all got a good view of everything. Staff was efficient and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

special feeling!

Reviewed by: Rene and Pattatiya, 2017/09/10

We enjoyed the flight a lot. The flight without doors is realy special. The pilot flight direct over the crater with magna and we can made beautiful pictures and feel the cold wind and the hot magna!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Cain, 2017/08/15

Had a wonderful time flying over the volcano's. Ticked something off my bucket list. Would recommend to everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Open door laba helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Bengisu, 2017/08/07

It was an amazing experience to see the beautiful view of big island from above and observing the bubbling lava inside the crater of an active volcano together with a great crew before during and after the flight.


  • Silver lava

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Cristina , 2017/07/24

The trip was amazing, we had the doors on flight to the volcano and the waterfalls. The pilot Joyce was very nice and informative. The flight was smooth, and we got awesome pictures!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING

Reviewed by: BOB W, 2017/07/03

MY 12 YEAR OLD GRANDSON AND I WENT ON A DOORS OFF VOCANO TOUR WITH ROBERT AS OUR PILOT. AN ABSOLUTELY AMAZING EXPERIENCE, TOTALLY UNIQUE AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE CENT OF THE COS, FROM CHECK IN TO DEPARTURE. SOMETHING THAT BOTH OD US WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER. THANKS FOR A DELIGHTFUL EXPERIENCE!!!




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic trip!

Reviewed by: Jalemap13, 2017/06/26

Great tour of volcanoes and waterfalls, definitely would recommend. Pilot Paul was a great guide and wonderful with the kids.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great flight

Reviewed by: The Baker's, 2017/06/20

It was a very fun way to see the volcano. The pilot made sure everyone could see everything available.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow

Reviewed by: Megan, 2017/05/22

The ride was amazing. Very smooth and some excellent views of lava. Joyce, my pilot was very informative. I highly recommend this! Door off was really worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter tour

Reviewed by: J McQuitty, 2017/04/30

Was a wonderful tour and would advise others to do this!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome pilot and fabulous flight!

Reviewed by: Darcy S, 2017/02/08

My husband and I loved the doors off heli ride over the Kilauea volcano lava flow! Would highly recommend it!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano heli ride

Reviewed by: Max, 2016/11/25

We were a group of three with 2 of us never before in a heli.
Thanks to a gr8 pilot we experienced an adventure we will never forget.
Spectacular views and the heat of streaming lava.
If you can afford it do it, we will come back that's for sure.

Max

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Door off Helicopter Tour Adventure

Reviewed by: The Leiths, 2016/09/10

We would like to thank the staff of veltra for their outstanding services with helping making our dream vacation a reality, we really enjoyed the Helicopter Tour - the staff were perfect, sights were great! It was a little foggy so we couldn't complete whole tour but were offered a refund which was very nice.

Thanks Again,

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Ian, 2016/08/31

Really excellent trip, would recommend it to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip, life experience!

Reviewed by: ChuckBr, 2016/07/18

We had an amazing experience and will go again for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Vicki Wales, 2016/04/07

We took this trip on monday with our pilot Pete and it was totally awesome! We saw bubbling lava and were indeed able to 'feel the heat'! Pete tailored our tour to us and made us feel very welcome. Many thanks! Highly recommended!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Doors Off Helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Diane Viands, 2016/03/12

I ended up with some great pictures. Wasn't sure if I was getting any because it was so windy. Not complaining as I knew that it was going to be windy. I did think that we were going to fly near the volcanoes, but perhaps I read the description wrong. It was a great tour and I am glad I did the doors off tour. Collin was great! Thanks so much for the great tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exciting and Smooth

Reviewed by: Going back to Hawaii, 2016/02/19

Very professional pilot. Incredibly smooth ride without stunts or surprises. However, the doors off was wonderful with nothing between us and the lava. We were high enough to not be at risk but the views of the lava flows, vents, as well as the area waterfalls and scenery were superb. Securely strapped in. Noise dampening headphones with mics allows two way communication, and the pilot was a knowledgeable and helpful tour guide. Worth the time and money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaaaamazing!

Reviewed by: G from GA, 2016/02/06

An unforgettable experience! Viewing flowing lava burning trees, the spots where the lava begins to flow, the breathtaking coastline of the Big Island with its many waterfalls, humpback whales from overhead, and the wonders of the island with the unbelievable views of every hue in the ocean's water= memories that will last a lifetime! Add a fabulous staff and the best pilot ever, and that's what you can expect.


  • One of the lava vents.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Doors off is the only way to FLY!!!

Reviewed by: Alan, 2016/02/02

The doors off tour was incredible and well worth the price! I highly recommend this tour to anyone that wants to get a real helicopter volcano tour!





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What the --, I can't ... OMG! I cried.

Reviewed by: Silas, 2015/10/14

Thank you to Jork our pilot for an amazing flight. After breakfast, me and my friends hit up the Volcanoes Winery for some wine tasting and then whipped through the Volcanoes National Park to get an idea of what we'd see from the sky before heading to the airport for our helicopter flight. The check-in was easy (I gained a few pounds from all the Hawaiian food I ate, but it was okay) and the ground crew was super friendly. Make sure you get a phone strap if you want to take pics with doors off, or you can't take your phone with you. I really didn't expect a lot but as soon as we were hovering over small lava ponds I cried a little bit. It was so epic - it looked like we were on another planet. The black lava landscape stretched to the horizon. It was cold up there but whenever we got over the bright orange lava spots you could actually feel the waves of warmth, so soothing! We finished with a fly over bubbling pots waterfalls and some of the towns. All the buildings and cars were so tiny and perfect like a miniature model city. Thanks again to Paradise Helicopters and HawaiiActivities.com. Definitely an unforgettable moment on the Big Island. Ah man!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not So Hot!

Reviewed by: GeeBee, 2015/09/22

Now being honest the weather was not good at Hilo, very wet and cloudy. But in spite of the weather the flight did go ahead. I do have to say doors off is definitely the way to go! We flew over several areas of coastline and lava flows and then headed up to the Puʻu ʻŌʻō, again the weather wasn't great but you could see the ground pretty well. Heading up the mountain we saw a small area of fresh lava but it was over in a flash and then we were heading back to Hilo.

Now I fully understand that when weather and visibility are not good you might not see everything but at no point did the pilot state what we would or would not see. Obviously the vent or flowing lava is the main part of the "show" and you keep waiting for that to appear. But it wasn't until a guest asked that we were told that we went as far as we could.

Feel the heat? No we certainly did not.

A word of warning for passengers with longer hair wear a beany or make sure your hair is tied back tight, due to the wind it ended up with my wife's hair being badly knotted around the headset.

Two stars - to be honest only for the fun aspect of the doors off.

It would have been so much better if we were kept informed of the visibility and weather (now on Hawai'i this might not be a normal issue) and what we would be able to see as opposed to not being told anything and not experiencing what the flight was all about and coming away with the slightly cheated feeling.

Would I go again - yes - but I would certainly be asking a lot of questions about the weather conditions, visibility and expected viewing. It is a lot of money to pay, and especially if you are not local to not "Feel the Heat" because why else would you fly "doors off"

In additional I have to say the staff at Paradise were very understanding when we raised our points.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome, Breathtaking, Not Enough Great Words to Describe

Reviewed by: DWAungst, 2015/09/21

The flight was amazing, but we did not fly from Hilo. When our scheduled time (from Hilo) arrived, the weather was below minimum at the volcano. This was very disappointing since Hilo weather was nice. But, Hawaii weather is very volatile.

We rescheduled for the next day as a "reserve flight" (needed more people to "confirm" the flight). Before the scheduled time, Paradise Helicopters called to say the flight was still only "reserved", but they had an opening in a different, circle the whole island, flight from Kona. They would upgrade me for no additional cost to take that one. We jumped at it.

The flight was amazing. We got to see the whole island, in addition to the volcano and real, live, flowing lava. Our pilot was Koji and he was awesome. The weather over the volcano was mixed, but he was able to navigate through the clouds enough to maintain the FAA rules for height and get us over the actual volcano caldera. Then, we headed for the current eruption points on the southern slopes and saw even more lava in the second vent. Moving further to the new lava fields, he located some live, flow lava. "WOW!!!" is all I can say.

The rest of the flight was great, too. Flying low up the valley on the north shore was wild. Seeing all the waterfalls was also terrific.


  • "Captian Cook", his initial landing point on the Big Island.


  • Green Sand Beach


  • Main Volcano Laval Pool on the Caldera


  • Lava pool in the second vent on the southern slopes of the volcano.


  • Flowing Lava - we were hovering only about 50 feet off this, the heat wash from the lava made the ride bumpy but worth it.


  • More Flowing Lava, Oozing Out of a Crack


  • North Shore Cliffs


  • One of Many Waterfalls


  • Intrepid Adventurers (us), Post Flight

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Miked, 2015/09/17

First helo ride ever and we had the doors off. It was fantastic! Our pilot Rob was great! Would definitely recommend this if you want a close up view of a volcano!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Flight!!!

Reviewed by: DWAungst, 2015/09/13

Weather cancelled booked flight. They upgraded me to a whole island tour for second flight next day. Bucket list item checked off - I saw real, flowing lava! Amazing flight. I wanna do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty cool

Reviewed by: K. Hayes, 2015/05/11

I would definitely recommend the doors off experience to the doors on. You are able to get much better pictures and video, in my opinion. There were only a few active spots for us to view, but our tour guide answered most of the questions we had and explained a lot about the landscape. The waterfalls were beautiful- I would recommend hiking to them if you are staying in Hilo for more than a day.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful!

Reviewed by: Tim and Jan, 2015/04/28

The helicopter ride and seeing the volcano steam pots was amazing! Wish we could have seen the waterfalls closer though.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Doors On Hilo's Fire & Falls Adventure

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2015/03/30

I had been somewhat apprehensive as had never been on a helicopter before but I loved it!! What a way to see the volcano and surrounding area!! I was accompanied by my sisters and their husbands and it was enjoyed by all!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up, Up and Away

Reviewed by: Jeanne A, 2015/02/15

My husband wasn't too excited about coming to Hawaii but his one request was to fly in a helicopter to see the volcanos. His choice was the open door option. Neither having been in a helicopter before I at least had some trepidations. It was a blast! Our pilot, Rhys, a Kiwi, was very knowledgeable and a good pilot. Thank you!
And yes, you can feel the heat from the lava. Good times!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea experience

Reviewed by: Deb Stuckey, 2015/01/26

This helicopter trip was fabulous! Our pilot, Reese, was very informative, friendly and helpful. Gave us a great view of lava fields, the active Kilauea volcano and waterfalls. He was very attentive to BOTH sides of the helicopter, making sure everyone got a great experience. Well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI