Naalapa Stables Kohala Horseback Riding Tour at Kahua Ranch - Oceanview Trail reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Naalapa Stables Kohala Horseback Riding Tour at Kahua Ranch - Oceanview Trail

Overall Rating

4.54 4.54 / 5

Reviews

70 reviews
Post a review

Will Come Again

Reviewed by: Ming Chai, 2019/08/22

I went here with my daughter because she rides and loves horses, and insists on riding horses once every trip. This time though, she wanted to canter because most trail rides are scenic and she wanted a actual ride. This place has amazing horses and the views are great, and you have a option to canter or take it slow. They assign you a horse based on what you need. Would definitely come here again, and probably will, because we visit Hawaii every once in a while .

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good horses and cowgirls

Reviewed by: Happyretiree, 2019/07/22

Guides were thorough in instructions so all of us felt confident with our horses. We were helped on and off, which was appreciated. We were given the opportunity to cantor and gallop if we wished. The guides were enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and fun! The green hills and cool breezes were lovely, did not use our jackets although the sun & wind were strong. They recommended a fun place, Fish and Hog, for lunch following the ride. I would recommend this ranch and ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful horseback riding experience!!

Reviewed by: mamamindi, 2019/06/24

Had a relaxing and fun day with the Kahua Ranch horseback group! Went with my husband and two teenage sons. My youngest son has high functioning Autism and was given a gentle sweet horse. The ranch is beautiful and has many types of terrain to ride across. The ranch is a working ranch with cattle and cows with calves. There are also sheep spread around the property. The guides are knowledgeable and fun and support the guests with instruction and help throughout the ride. This is a gentle relaxing ride for all skill levels. I would recommend this excursion for folks wanting a calm relaxing ride threw the pastures of Big Island! (The cows get all the best views on Big Island!)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: Laura, 2019/05/16

Would highly recommend!! The tour guides and horses were fantastic and you get to see all the landscape and beautiful views. Waterfall tours are great but this is a completely different scenery and we loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Mark O., 2019/04/25

Awesome scenery, great horses and a wonderful guide in Jackie.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great morning activity!

Reviewed by: Joe, 2017/08/29

We were very impressed with the weather, views, horses and trail guides. It is a beautiful venue and a high quality experience which was well worth the expense.

  • On the way back down the mountain at Kahua Ranch.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Leilani Cook, 2017/08/24

The ride was beautiful, the horses were teamed up with the appropriate writers. The ladies were very informative about the island, culture, the ranch. My granddaughter and I would totally do this again We loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Horseback Riding

Reviewed by: K Engstrom , 2016/09/05

Beautiful views of Kohala mountains and ocean. Guides accessed the experience of the group and allowed cantering. Some how the 2.5 hr wasn't long enough. Glad we did this.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great views

Reviewed by: Emil, 2016/08/23

Very nice views from the slopes of the Kohala mountain. It was very nice riding through the big open hillsides, and seeing Maui in the distance.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great horses, magnificent ranch

Reviewed by: BeePos, 2016/07/25

The horses were really well trained, no skill was required to ride them. We had a couple of chances to canter, but due to the different skill levels of the riders, we only cantered for only a couple of minutes total. One lady lost her cellphone during the canter and we all had to stop while the guides looked for it in the tall grass. They weren't able to find it and we lost some time and further opportunities to canter. The views from our trail were amazing, and it was a great way to spend a morning. If we could've split up according to skill level so who wanted to go faster could, as there were 3 guides to about 6-8 riders, then I would've given it 5 stars.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Adventure!

Reviewed by: John Griffin, 2015/06/01

We had a fantastic time riding with 'T' and Keanu. We've ridden several times on the Big Island and this was the most fun and interesting by far. We recommend it to everyone who visits!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala Kahua Ranch Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Stephen, 2014/12/27

It rains a lot on the mountain so it was postponed twice. We were looking for a more relaxed, free ride which they intimated but it was not quite what we were looking for. There were four other people, most of whom didn't know what they were doing. So maybe if it was just my daughter and I, it would have been better. The ranch is nice and if you're inexperienced and just looking for a mostly plodding experience, it's a good activity. Using VELTRA was a good experience. They have a very good system.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting

Reviewed by: Chere, 2014/05/21

This was fun. It rained and my horse really really liked to run and eat grass, but it was an experience that I will not forget.

  • beautiful horse

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time!!

Reviewed by: Annie, 2013/07/11

This was the last activity we did after spending 8 days in Hawaii. By far my favorite! Our guides were knowledgeable, fun, and entertaining. This was my first time riding horseback, and I felt comfortable the whole time. I would recommend for anybody - families, couples, individuals. Had a great time!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Adventure

Reviewed by: Bob Davis, 2013/03/04

My family had a terrific time on a very rainy day. The scenery was beautiful and the guide (Melissa) was very knowledgeable and attentive. Props to the horses for getting us around on our 2.5 hour adventure. My daughter loved it as she is an AVID horse nut.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time in Kona

Reviewed by: Tracy, 2012/11/04

I chose to do this adventure for my birthday while we were in Kona. Melissa, our guide, was wonderful. She did a great job of sharing all of the history of the ranch and also the local sites. The horses were matched to us perfectly. I'm an experienced rider so really enjoyed having a horse that was spunky! We were able to trot and canter and Melissa was very attentive. If we go back to Hawaii we will definitely do this again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wahoo

Reviewed by: CVC, 2012/09/25

We had a great time, I felt safe and in professional hands.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time!

Reviewed by: Cara from Texas, 2008/05/09

As a first-time rider, this was a great experience! The horses were sweet and gentle, the leaders were patient and reassuring and we all had a blast. They helped ease us into trotting and even galloping-- all amongst lovely scenery. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful ride

Reviewed by: karen, 2007/07/22

Had a wonderful time. It was a nice ride throught scenic beauty. Would recommend it to anyone who enjoys horseback riding.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands