This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waipio Valley Horseback Riding Tour with Naalapa Stables

Awesome

Reviewed by: Josh, 2017/11/19

Had a great time with beautiful surroundings and very cooperative horses!!! Would definitely do it again.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ride was great fun

Reviewed by: Tracy S, 2017/07/31

Jaime was a terrific guide and the ride was nice. It was drizzling pretty much all day but they provided rain jackets and my 10 year old son and I were comfortable. We were pretty wet from the waist down; my jeans were soaked, but the horses were gentle and well behaved.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Jo K, 2017/06/03

This experience is certainly off the beaten pack and is an amazing way to explore the nearly inaccessible Waipio Valley.
We met at the meeting point and we were driven down into the valley down one of the gnarliest roads I've ever been on in a 4x4 to the stables.
We were introduced to our horses and led on a serene trek through the valley. We went through rivers and around small holdings that are dotted around the valley. We marvelled, from a distance, at incredible waterfalls as we trekked through paths with fields on one side and jungle on the other. It was awesome.
Our guide was great and it's something we'll both always remember. We're not riders but we're extremely well looked after.
It was great. Thank you!!


  • Crossing the river


  • Hanging loose on horseback!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Angie, 2016/12/03

Waipio Valley Horseback Ride was such a great and fun experience for my entire family! The scenery was beautiful and riding the horses was very exciting too. Even if it was our first time riding horseback, the guides were very calm and helpful throughout the ride. We absolutely loved it!!


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couples total of 4 guest.

Reviewed by: Jewel, 2016/09/02

First it started off with a mix up with the dates!! I booked for 8-29-2016 with the voucher confirmation for the 29th of August but was contacted by the host stating that we are schedule for 8-31-2016. We have already left the Condo, on our way to the tour which is a 1 1/2 hrs away when I got a call from the host of the tour!!!! We have already been driving for about 1/2 hr at that point. So then the tour was cancelled for 8-31-2016 due to the Hurricane threat and was told that I will be refunded. So I am back in my home town without doing any of the things I wanted to do!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breath taking tour back in time

Reviewed by: Terry Charbonneau, 2016/09/02

We booked our tour of the Waipio valley with the hope of a different type of Hawaiian adventure. Jaime was our well versed guide. His humour and eagerness to share his vast knowledge of Hawaii history, as well as the flora and fauna of the valley made the tour quite memorable. However the ability to rid beautiful beautiful ,well mannered horses in such a magical historical setting made the the rid unforgettable. My hats off to Jaime
and the rest of the wonderful staff that made this the
best Horse back ride that we have ever exprienced. This is definately some
thing that everyone should experience at least once in their lifetime.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Breathtaking

Reviewed by: Garry, 2016/08/22

Horses were well mannered and fit for each individual. Guide was great and had a very good experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This was a Great Time

Reviewed by: Steve C, 2016/07/24

This was one of the top highlights of our trip. The van ride into and out of the valley is an adventure all of it's own. The guides were just awesome. The family of one had lived in the valley for generations and he was very knowledgeable about the area. The other one was just a riot. The horses also had more spunk than your average trail horse, too. Some of them had been wild horses not too long ago. I don't know if these guys do a longer ride, but I would definitely sign up for it if they did.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!!#

Reviewed by: Julie, 2016/07/10

We thoroughly enjoyed our time, the horses, the views, the locals and the guides. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great first time horseback riding!

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2016/06/04

The tour guides were very nice and skilled at their jobs: driving down the rocky, curvy road to the horse barn and then helping everyone enjoy their time on their horses. Although my horse was not the most obedient, the guides always tried to help me keep up with the group and have patience with me and the horse. I definitely enjoyed my first time horseback riding especially since the walk around the area was very beautiful. After this experience, I definitely learned how to ride a horse (lead it, understand its needs, etc) and also appreciate how beautiful Waipio valley is.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day for a ride

Reviewed by: Michele , 2016/04/18

It rained half the way the pickup spot to the valley so we were worried that we weren't going to get to go. But as it turned out 15 minutes after we got there the sun came out the clouds went away and it turned out to be a beautiful day in the valley we had a great ride. We got to cross rivers and streams and see beautiful waterfalls. Our horses were well-mannered and everyone in our group had a wonderful ride. Our guides were very knowledgeable about valley and the history. This is my second trip riding in this Valley and I would do it again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of a kind experience!

Reviewed by: Ningritf, 2015/07/07

This experience went above and beyond our expectations! The guides were friendly and nice. The valley was beautiful! The horses were fun! Even the journey down to the valley was like a Disneyland ride with the steep, hairpin turns! We loved it and would definitely recommend it! A great way to see the Waipio Valley!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best way for first-time visitors to explore Waipio Valley

Reviewed by: TS , 2015/05/26

We joined a 2 1/2 hour tour and had a great time. Super-friendly guides who are very knowledgable about the valley history and ecology. Highly recommended!!!


  • Water fall


  • Wild horses

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breathtaking experience

Reviewed by: MrsCairns, 2015/04/27

My newlywed husband and I LOVED this ride. our guide Grace(?) was friendly, knowledgeable, down to earth and very kind with the horses.
horses were very sweet for the most part, clean and well taken care of. barn was also in good shape. advertised as 3 hour ride but with the drive to the barn, info session and saddling up/down the ride itself was 2 hours, which was fine for us. breathtaking ride through Waipio valley. beautiful scenery that can't be matched. only bad part is our bums hurt the next day from sitting in the saddle! :D
would love to go again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely ride in Waipo Valley

Reviewed by: carrie, 2014/09/24

As a horseowner I am always a little leery of trail riding at unknown stables but I was pleasantly surprised to see the good condition and decent manners of these horses. They were very suitable to carry a wide variety of sizes and experience of riders. The ride itself was well escorted by friendly staff and the scenery was beautiful and enjoyed at a steady walking pace with the opportunity to take photographs of the beautiful and unique valley. The van ride down into and up out of the valley was an adventure in itself with amazing views. Shop at the art/gift store where you park as they have lots of lovely stuff at good prices.

I would rate this a "must do" on your trip to Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Alice P, 2014/07/07

My husband and I took our 9 and 8 yr. old grandkids on this tour. It was spectacular! Our guides were wonderful. The valley is so beautiful and seeing it on horseback is awesome. None of us are experienced riders, but we had no problem with the horses. They are very well trained. I highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Calleja Family -From Fresno, California

Reviewed by: John A. Calleja, 2014/06/26

This was a great tour. Our guides had a lot of knowledge and were great guides. They also took the time to help us both when getting on and off of the horses.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice horses, pretty valley

Reviewed by: Mickey, 2014/03/15

The horses were very well kept, and decent training. Wrangler gave very good riding instructions (we are both experienced riders & recognized this). The valley is beautiful, but this ride basically just followed the road, so not the "trail ride" experience we were hoping for since were dodging vehicles (not lots, but it would have been nice to be off the road & in the woods).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful nature

Reviewed by: Chrissy, 2014/02/24

The horseback riding tour was great. You'll see beautiful nature but don't expect a "real" horseback riding tour. Although they ask you about your horseback riding experience, they mixes all experience levels. 12 year old girls who have ridden only once in their life joined our tour. So the ride itself was a bit boring but the Waipio Valley was beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great horse ride!

Reviewed by: Joe, 2012/07/04

Hilarious guide that made it even more fun, outstanding scenery, horses not old nags, good riders......This ride comes highly recommended.....even got to see wild fruit trees. This is a one of a kind trip well worth the value! Definitely one of the best parts of my vacation! Don't forget to try the ice cream at the store where the trip starts when you get back....delicous.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointed

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/10/14

The guides and horses were great but the trails and scenery were disappointing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ride thru Beautiful Valley

Reviewed by: Karen&Amy, 2011/08/16

A van takes you down to the valley floor where you are introduced to your horses. The ride takes you thru beautiful vegetation (mangos, avacados, bananas, taro and amazing flowers). You cross thru streams and see waterfalls streaming down into the valley. The riding itself is not very exciting. The horses walk at a leisurely pace. However the views are so worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Ride

Reviewed by: Renita Moschitta, 2010/10/12

My daughter and I loved the horseback riding adventure. Our guides were fantastic and the views were breathtaking. Well worth the money and time!!! Would highly recommend for all levels of riders.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Bob, 2010/02/21

Great scenry, great staff, well matched horses. Well worth the cost for a great trail ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Lot of fun & Beautiful views

Reviewed by: Bill, 2009/11/22

While the shear beauty of the valley is worth the trip out to Waipio, our guide made the day a special one. He was funny, knowledgeable and a pretty good photographer. We brought home some great memories and the pictures to keep them fresh. The ride was pretty tame, which was fine for us. The horses were gentle and the pace was leisurely and relaxing.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Expected more

Reviewed by: Cali Girl, 2009/10/29

After reading about how wonderful the Waipio Valley Ride was, I was excited to go. I have shown horses for over 20 years and know my way around a horse. When we arrived at the stables, and, yes, the road into the valley was an experience to be had, I was very disappointed in the quality of the horses. I over heard one worker state that most of the horses were lame.

The ride itself was peaceful and the scenery was beautiful. The guide took us on public roads and down a short stream; the actual ride was about 1 1/2 hours long. My horse was pleasant to ride and knew his job.

The guides were okay but spent a great deal of time talking with locals or riding off on their own. Several times very inexperienced riders were left by themselves and seemed very uncomfortable; I would not be surprised if their experience was not a good one. I am glad nothing bad happened but it easily could have.

I would do this activity again but probably with another operator.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We loved our guides

Reviewed by: Hunter, 2009/09/05

Keone we think and Jay were wonderful guides and added greatly to the beautiful experience of riding in Waipio Valley. Their friendlyness and helpfullness really made the ride from great to an amazing experience. It was fun to ride through water and learn about the valley. I would recommend it to anyone interested in horseback riding. The horses were easy to ride but also had some personality which is always fun and the guides did a good job of teaching the basics and what to do to stay safe.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Waipio by Horseback

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/10/21

We enjoyed this beautiful, relaxing ride through the valley. Friendly staff, attention to various skill levels and safety made for a comfortable ride and lasting memories.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse back riding

Reviewed by: al, 2008/09/13

It was fun and the staff was great! I rate an overall 5 star but I think the horse back route could be a little more interesting if we had gone in a circle instead of taking the left route then turn back the same way and then take the right route and then turn back to get back and that would complete the journey. But don't get me wrong, the ride was exciting and very entertaining!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

HORSE RIDE

Reviewed by: ROD RENFRO, 2008/05/25

MY WIFE, DAUGHTER, AND MYSELF TOOK THIS RIDE IN MID-APRIL '08. EVERYTHING WAS JUST LIKE IT WAS DESCRIBED. THE DRIVE IN AND OUT OF THE VALLEY WAS A TRIP IN ITSELF. THE TWO GUYS THAT LED THE TOUR WERE A BLAST! HELPFUL, CONSIDERATE, AND FUN. THE RIDE ITSELF WAS SO NICE SINCE IT WASN'T ENDLESS TIME IN THE BLAZING SUN. MOSTLY CROSSING STREAMS AND RIDING UNDER JUNGLE CANOPY. EVERYONE IN TOUR WAS ENJOYING THEIRSELVES, FROM NOVICE TO EXPERIENCED. DURATION OF RIDE WAS JUST RIGHT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TRIP TO ANYONE. IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST TIMES OF OUR TRIP. GREAT FUN VALUE FOR DOLLAR. WE'LL DO AGAIN ON OUR NEXT TRIP.








Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Hawaiian Islands