Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkel Adventure

Disappointed

Reviewed by: Laura, 2017/08/08

Absolutely gorgeous morning...our guides Ben and Happy were amazing....they were really great....very helpful and very knowledgeable....it was the advertising of this event that I'm pissed about....me and my kids wanted to travel into sea caves....well....there was no sea cave...it was literally a hole in the mountain.....you don't go into a "cave" and explore and see amazing things....you literally go up to a wall and thats it. Had I known that....I wouldn't have dropped $85.00 bucks each to paddle out in a kayak to see a hole in a mountain!!! It's very misleading and I wouldn't waste the money on this.....we did see dolphins run by us in the kayaks, we did see some fish while snorkeling..even though my mask they provided kept fogging up...I eventually just gave up on the snorkeling and sat on a rock until it was time to go. No pictures to provide bc go pro didn't work.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: mizzlemcshizzle, 2017/07/31

We had a great time kayaking the beautiful clear blue water with our guides Ben and Devin. Was a lot of fun getting to snorkel and cliff jump and the guides provided us with snacks and drinks on the cliffs. The highlight for sure, however, was having a pod of dolphins swim by/amongst us on both our way there and our way back. Awesome time. Thanks Ben and Devin!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea cave , kayak and snorkel adventure

Reviewed by: Misty , 2017/07/29

We had a great time . It was a wonderful way to experience beautiful Hawaii. Our guides : Devin and Special K were so helpful, educational and supportive ! We would definitely do this again !


  • Underwater fun


  • The view from one of the cliffs

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day

Reviewed by: Kelly Koch, 2017/07/10

This vacation we did both the stand up paddle board as well as the kayak adventures. We had a wonderful time and will definitely use this outfitter again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family tour

Reviewed by: Breanne, 2017/06/28

We went on the kayak tour to a sea cave on June 27th. There were two adult's and 2 kids in our group. Overall they took out 20 people, so 10 double boats, with 2 guides. Happy & Ben were our tour guides and each took turns along the route to tell us interesting facts about the area. We had drinks and snacks at the area for cliff jumping. My only let down was there was no mention of sea caves nor did we go in one which I was really looking forward to since it was on the description and why I chose this one. However overall it was a great experience and the guides were very friendly and fun! The kids really enjoyed it and the snorkel time,

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

More kayaking expected

Reviewed by: Arlene, 2017/06/24

Our guides were very nice, funny and competent but we had no idea we were kayaking 3 miles total, which took up about 45 minutes each way. The area at which we snorkeled was "OK" - no brilliantly colored coral and saw only a few fish. We did some cliff jumping which was nice. We did not see any caves and nobody explained why. The kayak trip back was slightly difficult and very choppy due to all the boaters. Be aware that you spend much more time kayaking than you do snorkeling and it is physically demanding - one mother-daughter (adult daughter) couple had to be towed back. It was a good experience but wouldn't do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the workout!

Reviewed by: Elise Wilson, 2017/06/24

This was a really unique way to see the island, and my family and I had a blast! The snorkeling quality and difficulty of kayaking obviously vary with weather, but the beautiful views are amazing no matter what! The seas were pretty rough the day we went out, so we couldn't spend as much time in the cave, but the guides were really helpful, and we were still able to see plenty of fish, eels, and urchins despite the weather. The guides also pointed out some historical sites and things we never would have noticed alone. Excellent day trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very helpful and sweet crews

Reviewed by: Thida, 2017/06/01

The crews are very patient, sweet and helpful. It was a fun trip allthough a lot harder than we (two sisters) expected. They ended up towing us because we were behind everyone.
The best part was eating awesome pineapples and feeding the skins to the fish. The deep blue ocean is really beautiful, absolutely worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable Kayaking Adventure

Reviewed by: Krista Gray, 2017/04/28

We chose the morning Kayak tour, it was a bit of a walk to get to the dock but were greeted warmly by Hauoli, our guide, and Ben. We stowed our valuables in their lock box and paddled out into Keauhou Bay and out into the ocean past the Sheraton Hotel, the Lekeleke/Kuamo'o sacred burial grounds, and the End of the World burial grounds which is a great tourist spot too. We got to the Sea Cave but because the swells were too high and dangerous that day, we admired them from outside. Our guide, Hauoli, made our tour so much fun. He regaled us with the history and attractions of the area, and being a local, was very knowledgeable and interesting. We did not stay for snorkeling or cliff jumping but thoroughly enjoyed our time kayaking.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure!!!

Reviewed by: Eldin P, 2017/04/07

We are family of four and did two tandem kayaks, guides were great and friendly. Also very knowledgeable with safety first in mind. Loved the snorkeling part once got to our tie off spot. I would definitely recommend booking with these guys.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak adventure

Reviewed by: Carol , 2017/03/06

The guide was wonderful. This helped to make this adventure safe and extra interesting. Absolutely beautiful sites and one of the best big island day trips out there! Awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A total blast

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2017/02/27

Devin and Derek were amazing tour guides. They were very attentive and made sure we were both safe and having a great time. The cave was awe inspiring and the snorkeling was even better. I highly recommend this for anyone who wants an off the beaten path adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great excursion....great guide!

Reviewed by: Barry and Judi, 2016/11/07

Our Kayak snorkel excursion was great......our guide gave us lots of information about
the area and Hawaii as we paddled along.....loved the trip would recommend it to others.!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2016/10/20

Big K and Special k were awesome! They were helpful and knowledgeable and they helped me get in my kayak from the water. They also let us cliff jump. It was great. They gave great instruction. This is fun and you will get a great arm workout!


  • Is with big K and Special K

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun times

Reviewed by: Carrie H, 2016/10/13

This was a great tour. We had been cancelled on our original day we were scheduled and the tour guide made it a point to give us our own personal tour on a different day to make sure we were taken care of. We had a lot of fun and seen some really great fish

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time

Reviewed by: S & S, 2016/10/01

We had Ben as our guide, and we did a great job! Showed us cool sites, and made sure we had tons of fun!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Short, I'll blame it on the hurricane

Reviewed by: MichAle, 2016/09/10

It was a very short trip and we only saw 1 cave and a very small one. The guide was great, however due to the approaching hurricane he said that it was not save going further. I'm not an expert on weather, but the waters/wind did not change for the entire time we were there. If I would've known what it was going to be, I would've prefer they had cancelled the trip and we would have either planned for another day or received our refund.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Devon the Ultimate Adventure Guide

Reviewed by: H James , 2016/08/25

Devon was great, informative, fun, and adventurous. The caves and snorkeling were amazing. The remote location was fantastic, Devon added to the trip with his exciting and friendly personality teaching us about the land formations, the sea, and Hawaiian folklore. A must see, will be booking again next year with Devon for my whole family.
HJames

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Lori, 2016/08/11

The guides were lovely and we saw dolphins! It could not have been more fun. We went as a family with my 60-year old parents and my 7-year old son. All had fun. There was snorkeling in a lovely cove, along with cliff diving and fresh pineapple. The only thing I wished I'd known was that we don't actually take the boats on shore for picnic time. My mom wasn't wanting to swim so ended up hanging out in the kayak. She still had fun watching the dolphins and cliff diving, though. I highly recommend the experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic event!

Reviewed by: Frequent visitor, 2016/08/08

My family visits the Hawaiian islands every summer and we've been on many tours. This particular event was very personalized and was one of the best we've been on over the years. The guide was very personable, he took us off track when dolphins showed up so we could snorkel near them. It was clear the guide was thoroughly enjoying himself, which made the trip enjoyable for all who were there. The guide even gave up his own shoes to a person who didn't bring a pair. Highly recommend this trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great day for kayaking and snorkeling

Reviewed by: Cairns, 2016/07/23

A fantastic adventure! We rowed down the coast--explored and rolled into a couple of caves. Snorkeling and cliff jumping into clear waters--everything we could ask for. Our guide-(Kayla)-sorry--I know that's wrong---was great. Good instructions on kayaking basics---knowledgable about the area---she knew her stuff. My wife and I--both 50-ish--were blown away. We would highly recommend this trip and this company. Thanks for a great day!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Third time!

Reviewed by: ChuckBr, 2016/07/18

Really easy trip with great snorkeling. Some of the best on the islands!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkel Adventure 2016/07/11

Reviewed by: Lolo, 2016/07/14

Absolutely fantastic. Our two guides were extremely knowledgeable about the Island and told us things that you would only get on a tour. The kayaking was a blast and we had visibility to 100 feet. We went kayaking into a sea cave and were also able to snorkel there as well. We saw many fish, urchins, and even an eel in a tidal pond that our guide took us to. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to cross off their bucket list, kayaking across the bay/ocean, seeing ancient tombs, and being face to face with God's wonderful creation of the Island. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love it!

Reviewed by: Cassie, 2016/06/24

It was such an amazing experience, my husband and I decided to buy a kayak, at some point. The guides were also awesome and they told us some history, as well as helped us found objects that we dropped out of they kayak. One guide actually found my husbands wedding ring that fell off his hand when he jumped off one of the cliffs. It was truly amazing and such a fun time with the group!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We did everything!

Reviewed by: Reyna, 2016/06/09

We loved the day out. Our guide was super friendly, informative and easy going. He handled the group of non english speakers with us really well. And he gave us great local info. We kayaked, snorkeled, cliff dove, snorkeled again, ate and it didn't feel rushed at all. Had an intense moment staring into the clear blue water while snorkeling - most memorable moments of my trip. Thanks you all!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea kayaking and nothing else

Reviewed by: Kelly, 2016/05/12

We were looking forward to this as the best part of our vacation, but we're very disappointed. We arrived at the dock area, and out guide told us it might be a little cold and windy out but that it would not affect our tour of we still wanted to go out. We decided to go, and kayaked a mile and a half through very choppy waters. Exhausted by the time we reached the sea caves, our guide turns to us and tells us it is too rough to do any other part of the tour and we have to turn back. We ate the snacks they had packed and paddled back. No refund offered and no one let us know before hand that we would not get to do half the tour. The guide was very nice, but there should be some sort of refund policy if only a partial refund....

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Adventurous and Interesting Tour!

Reviewed by: meg, 2016/05/09

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Kona! Our guide Nate gave us lots of great information on the history of the island, the places we were visiting, and general Hawaiin activities. We kayaked in the ocean for about 1.5 hours total, so this tour is definitely for active people. We explored some sea caves, did some cliff diving, and snorkeled in a cove, and met the local eel as well.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Michael and Emily, 2016/02/23

Very professional and safety conscious organization. The kayaking was fantastic! They spent time with the beginners to help them feel comfortable and let those with some experience go at their pace also. Ben and Noni were our guides and they were very knowledgeable, took us to a beautiful snorkeling place, dove down a grabbed things off the bottom for us to see and led us to a great sea cave. Do this one day while you are in Hawaii!!!


  • Ben helping guide the kayak in the Dragon's Throat Cave.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak. Dolphins. Jumping.

Reviewed by: giraffeslover, 2015/09/20

The guide and his team was awesome. They took care of us very well. It was almost an hour kayak on the wavy sea to the cliff. We also saw dolphins. We did a cliff jumping which was very awesome! Overall, recommended!

Reply from activity provider

Big Mahalos!!! We're glad you had a good time. Please come back and visit us when you on the Big Island.
Aloha from Ocean Safaris:)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Cheryl , 2015/06/27

The trip was a lot of fun. We were lucky and saw dolphins and actually was able to stop and swim with them. The guides were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI