Horseback Ride Tour Through Waipio Valley reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Horseback Ride Tour Through Waipio Valley

Overall Rating

4.61 4.61 / 5

Reviews

49 reviews
Post a review

The best!

Reviewed by: The Fesagaiga’s , 2019/07/23

This was most definitely the highlight of my families trip, the scenery is beyond amazing. Nothing like i have EVER seen before and the horses are absolutely amazing. It was my kids and my husband’s first time riding and the horses were great for them! Actually made them fall in love with horseback riding just like I am! So thank you to the ranch for letting us experience that as a family! I would MOST DEFINITELY recommend doing this on your vacation or even if you live there and looking for something to do!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Peaceful ride through Waipi'o Valley

Reviewed by: NYCTransplant, 2019/07/01

Our family had a great time on this horse ride through the peaceful Waipi'o valley. We learned a lot about it from our very knowledgeable guides (they are also residents of the valley!). No riding experience is necessary but our 11 y.o. daughter has taken lessons, and we've done a few other, similar tours. It's all just walking pace (no trotting) but you go through small rivers and streams and see some beautiful vegetation and waterfalls. We were so glad not to have to walk the steep and dangerous path from the main (paved) road down to the valley floor where the stable is. The view from the top is spectacular! We went during an unusually dry and hot spell, so if you go after a rainfall, I'm sure it's even more incredible. What's especially nice is the tour is small (our group was 10 people), so you get highly personalized attention. Be sure to bring water, sunscreen, and bugspray! All in all, I would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience all around! A+++++

Reviewed by: Kim W, 2019/06/24

The guides where friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The area was gorgeous, pictures do not do it justice. The horses knew what they were doing so it was simple for all levels of riding. I highly recommend anyone on the Big Island to make the trip to tour Waipio Valley!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth the money!!

Reviewed by: Daisy, 2019/05/21

The ride was awesome, the guides were energetic and super friendly, I felt so incredibly welcome, like family The scenery was GORGEOUS and the horses we're amazing!! I'd spend the money again in a heartbeat They matched all of us to horses according to our skill level, so that even I didn't feel like I was just on a pony ride (I've been on horseback many many times) We even got to see the resident heard of wild horses! Best afternoon spent in a LONG time

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best horseback ride ever!!!

Reviewed by: Heidi Hendrix, 2019/05/12

The staff is excellent!!! Horses are beautiful!!! The excursion in and out of the valley by van was just as much a part of the adventure!! The horseback ride was beautiful!!! Would definitely do it again if I ever get back!!!
Thank you all!!! Meeting up with other riders from around the world was even an adventure!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally worth it!!

Reviewed by: NLG, 2019/02/24

Guides provided such a memorable experience and a unique way to see Waipio Valley.
Highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Nui for your review!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Authentic! Informative! Great way to see Waipio!

Reviewed by: TourGal, 2018/02/06

The owners were very informative, having both grown up in Waipio. The tour takes you along their property and a small portion of private property outside of public access areas. It was great to learn so much info about Waipio! The owners have the answers to all your questions and have great stories to share about their time there. In terms of scenery, the only thing I wish was that the horseback tour took you to see more than just their taro farm below and the small patch we traveled by horseback. Overall the interactions with the owners make this a great choice for your horseback tour! They are as authentic as you can get to the Waipio, Hawaiian culture!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Twice is nice!

Reviewed by: Robin Carson, 2018/02/02

The ride in van to the valley, then back to the top were outstanding as well as horseback ride. Guide was a great driver on the narrow treacherous roads. Horseback ride wonderful, guides informative, horses gentle. Great instructions given on how to "drive" a horse. I've never felt so comfortable on a horse before. Mine was Holoholo, a handsome palamino. He had personality and would nip ar other horses. I could identify with him. I have personality as well. Scenery beautifal. I loved the ride so much that I went back for a second ride a week later.Also saw many wild horses too.
.I would recommend this activity to anyone and everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everyone was knowledgeable and friendly!

Reviewed by: Kathryn Love, 2018/01/13

My granddaughter and I had a wonderful day! The guide was funny and knowledgeable and we enjoyed learning about the valley and the people that live there! What a great way to learn the history of the valley and the people that live there. I had no idea how tara was grown and the diversity that exists in the valley!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wiopoio valley horses ride

Reviewed by: Lorald clawson, 2018/01/07

Guides were great fantastic experience loved it all

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding Tour Through Waipio Valley

Reviewed by: Eileen, 2017/10/26

The guys were awesome. Made it fun. The horses were strong and healthy. The scenery was breathtaking, green and lush. We would have liked to ride the horses through the waterfalls, same price, but this was good too. There were wild horses and donkey that let you pet them. Overall our experiences was great. Thank you for making the day fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Sam, 2017/07/30

We traveled with 8, 12 years old boys and wife.
It was so great. It was our one of best tour in BigIsland.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great ride

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2017/07/22

loved it, great fun! My son enjoyed cracking macadamia nuts before the ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Kelly Koch, 2017/07/17

We have been on several horseback rides on all four of the major islands and this tour had by far the best views.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback ride!

Reviewed by: Kali, 2017/05/24

This was one of our favorite adventures during our time in hawaii! Our guides were awesome and we loved getting to see the beauty of the Waipio Valley while riding horses! Highly recommend this for anyone who loves the outdoors and loves a good adventure!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our favorite vacation day!

Reviewed by: A. Durnell, 2017/03/02

This was truly a magical day in Hawaii. Waipio Valley is one of those places best seen through the eyes of someone local. This is not merely a tour, but more of an invitation to visit the valley as a guest and get the grand tour from people who truly love it and want you to as well. The horses are happy, healthy, well cared for individuals with personalities and this trail ride is not the dull, narrated nose to tail variety often found in tourist areas. You won't have a "canned" speech and your horses won't be falling asleep from having done a monotonous walk they have done a million times with no hope of change. We left feeling like we really learned a lot from our hosts, who live in the valley, love and know it well, while having seen some of the most spectacular scenery on the island. The snapshot of the view from the lookout point is certainly gorgeous, but go the extra mile and take a ride into the valley to see the taro, the waterfalls, the wild horses, the freshwater streams and amazing landscape. You won't be disappointed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience

Reviewed by: Deb Morris, 2016/12/26

It was my first time on a horse for decades and thanks to the wonderful guides and calm horses, i never felt safer. The scenery is fabulous and the guides have a huge and amazing knowledge of the valley, its inhabitants whether human or animal, as well as the plentiful edible plant life. They really made the trek perfect. Highly recommend whether a first timer or an experienced rider, you will not regret it.

  • Our guide leading the way

  • Getting ready to match horses with riders

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Riding Fin

Reviewed by: Grace, 2016/05/23

My sister and I had a great time exploring the Waipio Valley on horseback. The guides wet very friendly and informative regarding the area. The horses were well behaved. It's a must do activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Way to Visit Waipeo Valley

Reviewed by: David Case, 2015/09/04

Horseback is maybe the best way to experience the Waipeo Valley. Our guides and horses were very experienced. My only critique is that I wish we'd had more time to talk with the guides-- maybe even after we got back to the stables. It was also a good value for the money, but I'd have paid more for some extra time with them.

  • A Waipeo Afterrnoon

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the kind review!!! We are so glad you enjoyed your ride with us and sorry you didn't get more time with the guides! Hope we see you again in the future!! Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

May 2015

Reviewed by: Diane Norton, 2015/05/22

Great experience! Amazing scenery. Guides were entertaining, knowledgeable, made us feel welcomed and comfortable with the whole experience. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Hawaiian Ride, with a Local Hawaiian !

Reviewed by: Stephanie C., 2014/12/19

This is the best hawaiian experience ever…I have done this twice! Not the typical tour, a local hawaiian Mika, takes you on a personal tour, with local folklore about the menehunas, he shows the local fruit, plants, how the hawaiian grew the taro plant..and then we can eat and taste the local fruit. I ride horses, and have ridden many a tourist rides, all over my travels, but this my favorite, the spiritual Waipio Valley with a local guide. Local horses (and you ride by wild mustangs in the valley) amazing to see.! ,Even my co-worker, from NY who has never been on a horse, loved it and feeling so close to nature and the culture. I will go on this ride every time I come to Big Island!
My favorite Hawaiian experience..you feel very connected with the culture, and nature.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Always and excellent adventure!

Reviewed by: JSL, 2014/01/23

This was my 4th adventure with Waipio on Horseback, and as always, the guides / handlers and the horses were the best! Despite the frequent rains in Waipio Valley, the horses are in wonderful condition and well matched by the guides based on the skill of the rider from novice through advanced rider. The horses and the valley make for a great adventure and enjoyment in a very special environment.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What waterfall?

Reviewed by: Peggy, 2013/10/13

My daughter and I really enjoyed horseback riding through Waipio Valley. Just be warned that if it is the dry sesson, you won't see any waterfalls. We did see lots of water though in addition to taro fields, wild horses and plenty of beautiful scenery. Our guides, Dava and Robert were entertaining, yet professional. I highly recommend this tour, as many people try to hike down into the valley and don't get far. Then they have to walk back up that very steep road! One warning. Do wear long pants or some sort of insect repellant. We were told there were no mosquitos but my daughter and I both returned with lots of bites.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Trails

Reviewed by: Partyof10, 2013/08/31

Stunning beauty and fascinating cultural legacy! We had been before with another company. Both were equally as great, but we didn't book ahead this time. Online-no luck...but when I called the 800 number, Reid Oshiro w Veltra helped with concierge service. Booked my party of 10, emailed and phoned me to confirm, etc. Reid, you were our hero of our week on Hawaii! Before or after your HB trip have lunch at the local pizza place in Waipio and shop the couple of nick-nack shops. Ten mins from trails. Really great food! Nice day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands