Manta Discovery Adventure - Keauhou Bay Night Manta Ray Snorkeling Cruise reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Manta Discovery Adventure - Keauhou Bay Night Manta Ray Snorkeling Cruise

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

30 reviews
Post a review

Amazing Manta experience! Once in a lifetime!

Reviewed by: Pam UK, 2022/06/29

Hands down the most amazing experience ever! The guides were knowledgeable, supportive and made you feel safe. The whole experience was just magical! Thanks so much!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Williams, 2022/06/19

We had a great time. Seth and Colleen were wonderful. Kay was extremely helpful. The Manta's were beautiful and amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A magical experience!

Reviewed by: Siobhan, 2022/06/15

This experience is 100% worth it and is a must do if you are visiting the Big Island. The Manta Rays are magical and come so close to you that they sometimes even touch you. It is a once in a lifetime memory that you will never forget. Sometimes the image of them doing their barrel roll pops into my head during work and I am taken back to a moment that didn't even seem real. It was so special. While I would recommend this tour to someone who has snorkeled before, we had a member in our group who was a first timer and they did great and had a wonderful experience. Don't let anything hold you back and just book it. The tour guides are very knowledgeable and all about keeping you safe and comfortable. You will not regret it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was awesome!!

Reviewed by: Catherine Campbell, 2022/06/14

The night manta ray snorkel was sooooo cool!! We saw many manta rays and the guides were very helpful with information.
This was one of the highlights of our trip to Kona!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience: see quite a lot manta ray

Reviewed by: Rui, 2022/05/23

Scheduled with 7:30 manta ray tour, checked in at 7:30, crew provided snorkeling equipment and wetsuit, our boat (have around 16 people) leave around 8 and after 5 mins we arrived the view point. And finally we spend around 40-45 mins in super man mode.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best adventure of our lives!

Reviewed by: The Foster's, 2022/05/02

We were a little skeptic about where we met, but we were assured by the guy checking us in. We got to the landing station and were told step by step what was going to happen. We got to the snorkel site, we had to jump in from the side of boat which took my facemask off. After regrouping and getting it back on we swam to the float. Wow, what an experience! So many mantas swimming right under us giving us a great show. I had one rub on my arm. It was nonstop mantas for 45 minutes! We all loved it! The highlight of our trip! Thank you all!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing, unique experience.

Reviewed by: Sesame family, 2022/04/11

The Manta Discovery tour was overall, super cool and a definite must-do if you’re planning to visit Hawaii’s big island. Depending on the day, the number of mantas will differ, so don’t expect to see ten of them when you go. If there are rays around, they will do flips and aren’t afraid to swim right up to you, which is an AMAZING experience. The mantas are really friendly, and make the activity almost magical. The crews are very informative and friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Bertha!

Reviewed by: Oscareen, 2022/04/07

Better than expected! We saw Big Bertha, and 4 other Rays. They were putting on such a show for us, barrel rolling and feeding right in our faces. Was an incredible and unforgettable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Keller Family, 2022/04/06

Would you like to make amazing memories in Kona? Our family had such an unforgettable experience with Dolphin Discoveries swimming with several enormous manta rays! Wow! Just wow! We planned our trip to Kona because we wanted to experience snorkeling with Manta Rays, so we had high expectations and hopes! We selected Dolphin Discoveries from reviews online and because it was the best deal around. All of the companies were in the same location - but we really enjoyed the experience with Shelly and crew! Eagerly attentive to all of the guests, they made sure everyone was getting the most out of their experience! In true Aloha fashion, they even helped out another company nearby while we were on the water! Book with Dolphin Discoveries and you will be so glad you did!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Third time is a charm

Reviewed by: Dennis and Linda, 2022/02/16

We had attempted two times previously 9 years ago to see the Mantas and were unsuccessful. We warned our group this time that we may be bad luck. Our experience was over the top, well over 10 Mantas and Justin and Connor were great at sharing their knowledge of these fascinating creatures. We would definitely recommend to anyone wondering about this novel opportunity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of Mantas

Reviewed by: Awesome day!, 2022/02/11

We had a great trip! We had non stop manta ray action! Apparently we were very lucky. I left my phone on the boat because the current was a little rough. It was an awesome experience, would do again!! They were literally belly to belly with me. It was a really cool experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Truly Majestic

Reviewed by: Susan, 2022/02/10

It was awesome! As soon as we got in the water we had Manta rays doing barrel rolls around us. Captain Kai, Justin and Jaz made the experience alot of fun. They know their Manta rays. An experience I recommend. Lady's I did this solo, don't hesitate. The night I went was well worth the money. Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Patricia , 2022/02/07

Justin was so knowledgeable about the manta rays - we learned many interesting things. The equipment provided was very good quality and most comfortable. The most unforgettable part of the experience was seeing so many beautiful manta rays! And they came so close that we were touched by them as they swam.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Coolest experience of my life!

Reviewed by: Coolest experience, 2022/02/04

This was the coolest experience of my life, and that is not an exaggeration at all. Plus that is saying a lot as we are world wide travelers and have done epic things. Every person living on the Big Island or traveling to the Big Island should do this! If you are considering it and wondering if it will be kinda cool or maybe sorta lame (like I thought it might be) let me assure you it is beyond cool!
We literally had to have close to a dozen manta rays swimming around us, most would swim within inches of us. Some VERY large ones also! No need to fear they have no teeth or stingers and are harmless (unless you are plankton). These creatures are truly magnificent!
The crew onboard was wonderful and knowledgeable. When we were done there was hot tea and a snack which was an added bonus.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great manta ray viewing with awesome crew!

Reviewed by: Matt D, 2022/01/22

Super competent captain and crew who were helpful with gear, getting on/off the boat, assisting those who were uncomfortable once in the water. The manta viewing was amazing, close up and continuous. Our guide provided background information on the mantas. Several other species of smaller fish were present also. Definitely recommend this activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Life Changing with The Best Crew Ever!

Reviewed by: Marlene209c, 2022/01/06

It's true, discovering the Manta's is a must do on Kona and the best place is Keauhou Bay with the "Dolphin Discovery" crew. I chose this company based on their reviews and it was the best decision I made! Our family numbered 6 among an intimate group of 12, plus the crew. Everyone of the crew from the "in-water" guides (Justin & Chaz) to the Capt. and shore staff were AMAZING. Super helpful, patient, approachable, knowledgeable and everything a group could ask for and more! Equipment is top notch and the hot, lavender/chamomile tea & cookies after the swim/snorkeling is the perfect touch!! Thank you very, very much for making this one of the most memorable experiences we had in Kona!!

  • We LOVE Dolphin Discoveries 'Manta Adventure"!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Adventures

Reviewed by: Kevin&Lorrie, 2021/11/23

Tour was professionally done, we saw to many Mantas to count...was such a beautiful experience:). Hot tea and good discussion afterwards was great! Thank you so much!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: fyr, 2021/11/22

We saw so many mantas!!!! It was amazing and awesome!!!! The hot tea was nice as well. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Night Snorkel

Reviewed by: K Fox, 2021/11/18

This Manta Ray Night Snorkel was near the top of my husbands life list! It was very well organized and the guides were very informative. We saw at least 5-7 Rays. Many came up quite close to check us out. We would definitely do this again, but next time we will bring the camera! I felt very safe the whole time and for me, 45 minutes was just the right amount of time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply magical, but easy to get cold

Reviewed by: John, 2021/09/15

Really enjoyed this experience, the manta rays even touched me!

You can bring your own GoPro but it might be hard to film and hold on at the same time. You're not swimming, you're horizontally floating with a pool noodle at your ankles and your hands gripping a light bar that attracts plankton upon which the mantas feast.

It can get cold when you're in the water, so don't be afraid to bring dive boots, gloves, and your own wetsuit. You'll get a shorty top only and I was pretty chilly, even for a New Englander!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

unforgettable experience

Reviewed by: Ivy, 2021/09/13

It was a lifetime experience to see so many manta rays. The captain and crews tried to give everyone the best experience. Unfortunately the waves for that evening was so high that made the boat ride an unpleasant trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Jenn from WA, 2021/07/21

This was an extraordinary experience. I loved every minute watching the majestic mantas doing their thing. The staff was incredibly nice, safe, knowledgeable and accommodating. I would ten out of ten recommend this!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Kate , 2021/07/16

Highly recommend this! The guides were knowledgeable and we saw lots of rays! Booked the 6:30pm trip but went out about 7pm which was perfect timing for sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Amalia, 2021/07/02

My family had a great outing to the manta rays. The crew made us feel safe and made sure we had a great time. My 12 and 8 year old loved the experience as well. Would definitely recommend this crew.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the shout out to your crew and the 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing night. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again next time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Alex U., 2021/06/30

If you are ever on Big Island and looking for unforgettable experience, you have to snorkel with manta rays. They are massive, but completely harmless, and will swim up to and under you. Just have your camera ready and enjoy the show. Dolphin Discoveries took care of all the details and made everyone feel comfortable in the water. I will definitely consider them for other tours!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Alex for your awesome review! We are so happy that you had a great time out on our manta ray snorkel! We do hope that we can see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The manta ray snorkel was AWESOME!

Reviewed by: Jaxsmom, 2021/06/18

The guys at Dolphin Discoveries made it so much fun. Simply float and enjoy the mantas swimming super close to you. This should be on everyone's bucket list.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo nui for the 5 star recommendation! We are stoked to hear that you had a great time with our crew and the mantas ;) We do hope that we can see you again next time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok he beat excursion ever!

Reviewed by: Dee, 2021/06/03

This is once in a life time experience, nobody should miss it!!! Swimming inches away from Manta Rays was unbelievable!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the 5 star recommendation! Our manta rays are so impressive and we love what we get to do every night! Mahalo for choosing us! We do hope we can see you next time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome sauce!

Reviewed by: KLH, 2021/05/23

Kellie and Shelly were incredible hosts!!! Extremely knowledgeable. We were the only ones they had five manta Reis under our board because of their expertise!! Their fun attitude was contagious!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the 5 star recommendation! We also appreciate your shout out to your captain and crew. We are so happy to hear that you had a fun time out with us! Please come and see us again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Magical Night!

Reviewed by: John, 2021/05/07

We loved the experience! Saw 6 to 8 mantas swimming near our little surfboard. They made multiple backflips just inches from us. Nice captain and guide.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo John for the 5 star review! WOW that is a lot of mantas. We are so happy that you had a great night. Mahalo for the shout out to your captain and crew too! We hope that we can see you again on your next visit!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray night snorkeling

Reviewed by: Heather , 2021/03/29

An incredible experience, had no idea they were that big and they’d get as close as they did. We took all four of our kids ages from 11 to 20 and they all loved it!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Heather for the 5 star review! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are so happy that you all had a fantastic time on our manta ray night snorkel. Please come see us again on your next visit!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories