Big Island Paradise Waterfalls & Volcano Helicopter Tour Experience (from Hilo) reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Big Island Paradise Waterfalls & Volcano Helicopter Tour Experience (from Hilo)

Overall Rating

4.58 4.58 / 5

Reviews

12 reviews
Post a review

Comfortable ride

Reviewed by: Kerilyn, 2017/09/11

Very clean and comfortable helicopter. Pilot had a great soundtrack and was very good at making sure we all got a good view of everything. Staff was efficient and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Cain, 2017/08/15

Had a wonderful time flying over the volcano's. Ticked something off my bucket list. Would recommend to everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Cristina , 2017/07/24

The trip was amazing, we had the doors on flight to the volcano and the waterfalls. The pilot Joyce was very nice and informative. The flight was smooth, and we got awesome pictures!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic trip!

Reviewed by: Jalemap13, 2017/06/26

Great tour of volcanoes and waterfalls, definitely would recommend. Pilot Paul was a great guide and wonderful with the kids.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great flight

Reviewed by: The Baker's, 2017/06/20

It was a very fun way to see the volcano. The pilot made sure everyone could see everything available.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow

Reviewed by: Megan, 2017/05/22

The ride was amazing. Very smooth and some excellent views of lava. Joyce, my pilot was very informative. I highly recommend this! Door off was really worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter tour

Reviewed by: J McQuitty, 2017/04/30

Was a wonderful tour and would advise others to do this!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano heli ride

Reviewed by: Max, 2016/11/25

We were a group of three with 2 of us never before in a heli.
Thanks to a gr8 pilot we experienced an adventure we will never forget.
Spectacular views and the heat of streaming lava.
If you can afford it do it, we will come back that's for sure.

Max

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Doors On Hilo's Fire & Falls Adventure

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2015/03/30

I had been somewhat apprehensive as had never been on a helicopter before but I loved it!! What a way to see the volcano and surrounding area!! I was accompanied by my sisters and their husbands and it was enjoyed by all!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: shrikant jalukar, 2014/12/28

There was no lava erupting nor flowing. We had Door closed Ride. What Open Door Tour will experience ? Prior to our arrival at Hilo, I was told , " YES " you can see Lava , etc. Your office should give real truthful information. Some tourists come from too far away, like we came to Hawaii from Michigan, ( Main Land ) ... ... 1 ! !.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The only way to see lava

Reviewed by: Pilot01, 2014/07/28

This is exactly as described, a 40 minute helicopter tour of the volcanoes on the eastern side of the island of Hawaii and the area around Hilo. The staff are very friendly and the entire operation is well run and safety oriented. Our pilot Joyce was informative and did a great job of piloting so that everyone on both sides of the helicopter got good views of everything. Considering that there are no active lava flows at the current time. This is the only way to see molten lava. While it is through "sky lights" looking down into lava tubes, it is still quite exciting to see the bright pink/orange glow of lava.

The helicopter company offers the option to fly with the doors off the helicopter. I would recommend this for optimum viewing and picture taking. However, be aware that it is pretty chilly with the doors off and make sure to wear a warm jacket.

As a final note, when booking a helicopter tour, be aware that there are two airports on the island (Hilo and Kona). Make certain that you are booking a tour from the airport that is on your side of the island. I made a mistake and booked a tour out of the wrong airport. It was completely my fault and I did not realize my mistake until the day before the tour. The folks at Veltra and at the helicopter company went out of their way to get us booked on this tour at the last minute. They also worked hard to find someone else to take our seats on the tour that I had originally booked. They were only able to fill one of the two seats that I had booked, but at least they were kind enough to refund that portion of the fee.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava Chasing from the Air

Reviewed by: The Shepherds, 2013/12/27

Professional pilots and a well-coordinated organization combined to show us where the lava action was happening. We were safely strapped in and plugged into communications so we could get the most out of what we were seeing and trying to photograph. With an experienced pilot, everyone in the chopper got a good chance for the best views. The photography itself can be tricky; the higher quality pictures you try to take, the more you should have a good camera setup and practice from a vibrating platform. Overall: a rousing success.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands