Scenic Oceanview Horseback Ride Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Scenic Oceanview Horseback Ride Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews
Post a review

Horseback Ride and Waterfall Swim

Reviewed by: bostongirl, 2019/06/28

This was an amazing excursion for our family! We have visited Hawaii several times, but this was our first horseback riding experience. It definitely did NOT disappoint! The guides were patient and helpful throughout the trip. They gave a detailed safety briefing and Jaime took time with my younger daughter to practice a few commands so she would feel more comfortable. The views during our ride were beautiful and breathtaking at times! We had a great time at the waterfall as well. There was plenty of time to swim, play in the waterfall, kayak and use the paddle boards. They also had life jackets if needed. I could go on forever about how much we loved this trip! I highly recommend it for anyone who is looking for a fun way to see the beauty of this island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scenic horseback adventure with waterfall swim.

Reviewed by: Tleslie24, 2019/06/27

This was a great experience for the entire family. Our two girls did not have any riding experience and were really nervous. The guides gave a very detailed safety briefing and made sure the girls were comfortable before the trip started. The guides were always close by to help them guide the horses when needed. The scenery on the entire trip was the most beautiful I have seen since being on the island. The stop at the waterfall was incredible. We had plenty of time to enjoy the paddle boards, kayaks and swim under the waterfall. This experience was the highlight of our trip and I highly recommend to those considering it. I recommend wearing pants if you have them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Adnan, 2019/06/23

We were a group of three guys with almost no riding experience. They did a great job of making sure we knew what we were doing and the horses were good.

Riding horses was fun but my favorite thing about that activity was the stop at the waterfalls. Very safe lake to swim in and they even let you use canoes which was a great addition.

  • My brother and friend enjoying the view.

  • Taken from the canoe!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My daughter's favorite day of our 2 week's in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Fiona, 2019/06/23

Mylie and Jamie made sure we were comfortable on our horses, given our varying degrees of riding experience. Each horse was perfectly matched to us! I even shared a name with my horse! As we rode through the beautiful rain forest area, Mylie and Jamie shared information about the flora and history of the area. Both grew up in the area and are so knowledgable.

At the waterfall, there were toilets and a changing room. Jamie got out kayaks and paddleboards for those who wanted them, but the pool was also fabulous for swimming. I swam and sat behind the waterfall, listening to the water cascade over me! Brilliant. So much fun!

On the ride back we stopped for a photo op. and learned more about the area.

Though this is a new tour and outfit, they are connected with a well-established outfit and have the expertise you look for in a horseback excursion! Fabulous afternoon!

  • Bailey, Lakota, Danny

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Day! So much fun!

Reviewed by: Fiona, 2019/06/23

Love waterfalls? Love rain forests? Love riding horses (or have always wanted to try)? Want to learn more about the plants and animals and history of the area? Then this tour is the one for you!
We were hoping to go on the horseback ride through the Waipi'o Valley; however, it was booked. We think it was our lucky day. We have no doubt the Waipi'o Valley ride would have been wonderful, but on our tour--we got to swim in a waterfall! The two tour leaders, Jamie and Mylie, made sure we were each comfortable on our horse given our varying riding abilities. We rode for about 45 minutes as the guides told us about the plants we were seeing and a bit about the history of the area. It was wonderful dialogue. When we arrived at the waterfalls, there was a restroom and changing room. Jamie and Mylie got out kayaks and paddle boards for those who wanted it, but I just wanted to swim--it was wonderful. The two falls were strong, but I swam up along the side and behind it to sit behind it, watching the water pour down! We then had a photo op. on our horses with the falls in the background. We had a wonderful ride back--Jamie and Mylie were a wealth of information, kindness, and support! Fabulous day--my daughter's favorite of our 2 week vacation!

  • Thank you for a great day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a fun experience

Reviewed by: Brittney, 2019/06/21

My cousin and I did the horseback ride to the waterfall adventure on 6/18/19 and had so much fun. I was really nervous to ride a horse because I have not done so since I was a child, however, the guide (I believe his name was Jamie), made me feel really comfortable and answered all of my questions. This was by far the best horseback riding experience I have had. The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable about the local plants and Hawaiian history. I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome horse ride paired with a beautiful waterfall swim

Reviewed by: Tyson, 2019/06/16

Had an amazing time on this trail ride/waterfall swim!

The ride was lovely, perfect weather for both us and the horses, and the waterfall was beautiful! Very peaceful area, refreshing water, perfect way to cool off mid-ride! Our guide was wonderful! Not only did she get us to the waterfall before other groups, she taught us a bit about Hawaii and the nature on the trail, and best of all she clearly loves the horses and takes great care of them.

Great company, friendly and caring staff, wonderful experience. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They were great and horses were very friendly

Reviewed by: Arun, 2019/05/31

It was our first horse ride experience, two ladies guided us very well. horses were friendly and overall experience was very great!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Arun! It makes us really happy when you folks had a wonderful experience riding with us!!. Thank you so much for the positive review we appreciate it. Hope to see you folks next time you visit!! A hui hou! Wailea Horseback Adventure!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands