Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Luca, 2018/02/19

Snorkelling in the night with manta rays was an awesome experience.
Everything was perfectly organized: Captain and "Mermaids" were professional, nice and helpful.
We did it with our two kids (8 and 11) and they loved it.
Big mantas swam a few cm from us: in many occasions it looked like it was better to keep the breath in order to avoid touching them!!
It was super-fun and safe.
I recommend this activity to everybody!!!!
Big thanks to the crew for the amazing memories we will bring with us forever





Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Cruise and Manta Ray Night Snorkel

Reviewed by: Evar, 2018/01/13

My most favorite experience on Big Island with Sea Paradise! A great crew and we were taken care of from start to finish. You start by checking in at the shopping center, drive 5 minutes to Keauhou Bay to park your vehicle, get fitted for your wet suit, and get on the boat. The sunset on along the Kona Coast was beautiful. The crew were extremely helpful, very knowledgeable about the history of the manta rays, humorous and went out of their way to make sure we spent the most time with the manta rays. We were one of the first boats in and last to leave. Plus, we were given fresh pineapple, juices/sodas and hot chocolate.
I do not know how to swim but the guides took extra care to make sure I made it on and off the boat with flotation devices. I would definitely recommend Sea Paradise!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your experience. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time. We look forward to serving you in the future. A Hoi Hou.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Neera Iyer, 2017/12/29

This was a last minute booking so we were glad to get it. We did the 7:45-9:45 PM night tour. The set up is pretty standard. The crew was experienced and knew what to do when didn’t find rays at the first spot. We were towed gently to where we saw two! We had a couple of screamers which was a bit annoying but that apart, terrific trip

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Only 1 manta ray spotted

Reviewed by: RMred, 2017/12/16

The ride was too bumpy as there were many waves. We were able to spot only 1 manta ray. Too expensive for 45 min bumpy ride and the whole experience.

Reply from activity provider

We appreciate you taking your time to review your manta snorkel and are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the tour. It is true, some nights are better than others; ocean conditions, weather and the amount of rays seen on any given night is out of our control. What we can control we aim to do our best with the conditions we are presented with.

Aloha
Sea Paradise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutes Highlight

Reviewed by: Paseba, 2017/11/26

Diese Tour fand mit ca. 18 Personen auf einem modernen Katamaran statt. Man befindet sich ca. 45min im Wasser, wobei man neue Neoprenanzüge trägt. Der Trip wurde professionell durchgeführt, es fanden sich neben den Teilnehmern stets 2-3 Sicherheitsschwimmer im Wasser. Wir sahen 5-6 majestische Mantarochen - selten was eindrucksvolleres erlebt. Ich empfehle Mittel gegen Seekrankheit, denn die Tour findet auf offenener See (Wellengang) und bei Dunkelheit statt. Kann diese Tour auf jeden Fall empfehlen.


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your manta tour. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the experience. Hope to serve you again in the future.
Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Erica , 2017/11/01

We had a great time, and really enjoyed the entire experience. We we lucky and had manta rays barrel rolling right up to us for most of the time we were in the water. The captain and staff were friendly and knowledgeable. And the snacks were a nice treat after getting out of the water. Hope to do it again!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your manta tour. We are happy to hear you had a good time.
Mahalo Nui Loa!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice, but...

Reviewed by: dusty, 2017/10/25

their lights were dim compared to other companies, and they went in much earlier than the other boats.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for reviewing your tour with us. The lights we use are quite powerful, we do place a special blue filter over them to attract more of the microscopic plankton which the mantas' appear to prefer over the larger zooplankton, that may be why they appeared to be dim by comparison.

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A stunning experience for all

Reviewed by: Amber Bialy, 2017/10/24

My husband and I were both nervous, I get seasick and he has a fear of deeper water and has never snorkeled. Captain Morgan was amazing and the crew was super reassuring. They gave me ginger candy when I got on. I only felt a little queasy, it wasn't as bad as I thought. Short ride and they got us in the water and we had a full display of barrel rolls by 2 mantas! My husband had an amazing time and he enjoyed it more than he thought he would. He would do it again! You stay in the water for a reasonable amount of time, I got out a tad early but we went back shortly after. Tea, soda and fresh pineapple was offered. A MUST do and I couldn't ask for a better crew. Bring your own goggles and snorkel if you have them, some masks leaked a little. Worth it even if you get seasick (lots of ginger and dramamine!)
Pick a day with no wind as Well! We had a great experience.


  • Our group on the floaters

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your manta tour. Happy to hear both you and your husband enjoyed the experience. Thank you for joining us and hope to serve you again soon in the near future.

A Hui Hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta ray with NO CRUISE

Reviewed by: Steve, 2017/10/22

Crew was very nice and captain had a great story, but we were ones that had little luck with manta's. We did see one or two, but it took a full hour in water, where some of my party began to get sick and missed it. The most disappointing part was absolutely no cruise. Do not expect a cruise. We coasted for 5 min and went out where I could snorkel on my own. I really thought we would sail for a bit and get snacks instead of one piece of pineapple. Understand you are hanging onto a ladder the whole time. I get it for safety reasons, but not what I expected. There is no real snorkeling where your swimming around. No boat lights other then ladder. I felt we were using other boats lights, where we were the last ones to ever see anything, unless we got lucky. Our ladder had lights. I thought this was also a 3 to 4 hour tour. It took 5 or 10 min. To get where we were going, then hour in water, then go home. No drinks on this, and hit and miss with hot chocolate. I highly recommended actually sailing first and open the sails like they said would happen and choosing this boat in the first place. My party was disappointed. My kids were troopers and stayed out with me and saw the one manta, before turning back where the rest of the people holding onto the ladder didn't see it. At least give us a cruise first with this cool boat.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your manta tour. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the staff and also sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy the trip. We, unfortunately, do not always get the opportunity to sail prior to the manta tour. As stated on the website, factors such as mooring availability water conditions and weather play a great part in what happens on each individual tour. If I could have it my way, every night we would have just enough wind cruise out to sea while watching a glorious sunset (No rain). Return back to the manta site to find our mooring available, at this point the wind would calm and the sea would be flat and upon entering the water all of Kona's manta rays would gather under our raft for the entire hour. Everyone would be happy, but alas this does not happen as often as I wish it would.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta ray swim

Reviewed by: Jessica , 2017/07/29

The people at sea paradise were truly outstanding. They were professional, fun, and extremely accommodating. Let me preface this review by saying that I suffer from extreme motion sickness and had I not been heavily medicated then this would've been a truly awful experience, of course this was no fault of the crew, the waters are just that rough. The crew Heather and Troy and the captain did their absolute best to make me feel better, while entertaining my six year old daughter. We saw tons of mantas and they barrel roll right under you almost touching you. Truly a remarkable experience. Once we decided we had enough the crew got us back to the shore as quickly as possible as they could tell I was in distress. I highly recommend this experience, just be aware that you will need every form of motion sickness prevention if that's a concern. I couldn't be more pleased with the crew of sea paradise.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy you had a great time and you took the precautions you needed for your motion sickness. The waters in Kona are generally flat and the calmest of the islands, however once in awhile we do get a swell. Happy the mantas put on their beautiful performance to keep you at ease. A Hoi Hou and Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Swim

Reviewed by: Tony, 2017/07/22

I had a great time the guides very very knowledgeable and helpful. It was amazing how close the Manta Ray came to use as we were on the surface hanging to a raft. If I go back this is one thing I will differently do again.



Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with us. Happy to know you enjoyed it.

A Hui Hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Lianne, 2017/05/27

I had an awesome expierence with the Manta Ray swim in front of our hotel.



Reply from activity provider

Aloha, thank you for taking the time to review your trip. We are so happy to know you enjoyed it. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!!!

Reviewed by: Stacy R, 2017/03/18

We saw several manta rays and they were amazing! Some came up to the surface and could be seen from the boat. Captain Morgan and Troy were awesome! They were funny, personable and told some great stories. While in the water, Troy and Cory were always making sure everyone was doing okay. I would definitely recommend this excursion with Sea Paradise and this crew.
March, 2017

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for reviewing your tour. We are so happy you enjoyed the manta experience and the crew treated you well. Hope to be able to serve you again.
Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super Cool

Reviewed by: Larissa, 2017/02/21

Totally awesome experience, did the moonlight snorkel with the manta rays. The crew was awesome it was a nice small size of 6 people and such a great experience. They swim so close to you and are so incredibly cool

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the manta tour. Hope to be able to serve you in the future.

Aloha,
Sea Paradise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Swim

Reviewed by: The Leiths, 2016/09/10

We would like to thank the staff of veltra for their outstanding services with helping making our dream vacation a reality, we really enjoyed the swim with the Manta Rays - the staff on the boat were perfect, snacks were provided and we saw lots of Manta Rays, the sunset was beautiful.

Thanks Again

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for joining us at Sea Paradise aboard the Hokulani! We are happy you enjoyed our manta ray tour :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply amazing

Reviewed by: Pernille , 2016/09/08

We didn't have the best start for our manta ray snorkeling - trouble checking in for our flight the day after stressed us a lot, so we were not really in the mood. But despite me getting pretty seasick, being in the water and experiencing these magnificent and majestic fish feeding was an amazing experince. I so much wanna do it again - but next time without being seasick :) Thanks to the crew and captain for being so nice to me

Reply from activity provider

We are happy you had a pleasurable experience minus being seasick. It does affect some of us more than others. We always have remedies on board to assist with seasickness. A Hoi Hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Spectacular

Reviewed by: Keith, 2015/10/17

A fantastic experience,the mantas come as close as the say! A great tour with experienced helpful guides.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you so much for taking the time to review your trip with us.
We are so happy you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon.
Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The greatest/worst activity of the trip

Reviewed by: Mountain Man, 2015/10/05

I'll be honest, overall I didn't have a great time on this trip. We sailed off late and missed the sunset which we were supposed to enjoy, and then spent 15 minutes "sailing" in a circle getting tossed about in the waves in the boat which was very unenjoyable. I wouldn't call it snorkeling either. After an hour of getting tossed around in the waves, you get in your wet suit and get your snorkel mask and get in the water to hold on to a long float, getting beat up by the waves (some more) while playing footsie with your neighbor. Meanwhile, your float is drifting in the current towards the plethera of other boats in the surrounding area leaving you wondering if you're going to get run over or not. Seriously, our floating group ended up almost tangled in another boats anchor line. It was incredibly unsafe.

Why am I rating it a 3 with the description being very negative? Well it's because it's the most incredible thing to see Manta's swimming INCHES from you. We had quite a few come by and it was spectacular to witness for those few seconds.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We appreciate your feedback. The safety of our guests and staff are of great importance to us and we will be speaking with them on how to improve our operations. Again thank you and we are happy you enjoyed seeing the manta rays.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So worth it!

Reviewed by: Julia and Pat, 2015/03/01

Two mantas came to visit and were incredible. It was definitely something everyone should experience at least once in their life. The crew was friendly and did a wonderful job keeping everyone safe and comfortable.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for joining us! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Huge Manta Ray visit

Reviewed by: Deb Stuckey, 2015/02/07

I was a little leary about swimming with Manta Rays at night in the ocean....but I knew I would regret not doing it. WHAT an experience!! The highlight of our trip. It was amazing to float on the water with those gigantic rays swimming literally inches from your body. I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Deb~ We are so happy you enjoyed your night out on the water on the manta ray tour! Safe travels, and we hope to see you back again with us here at Sea Paradise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome

Reviewed by: Ota, 2014/12/27

It's a amazing experience!!!
We really recommend!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for reviewing your trip.
A Hui Hou!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic trip

Reviewed by: HHHH, 2014/12/02

They did a great job with my young kids. Everyone got in the water and had fun. When the 5 year old was ready to get back on the boat, they took her and let the adults stay in the water. Professional and fun.

Reply from activity provider

So happy you and your family had a good time. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Mahalo Nui Loa!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gotta try this!!

Reviewed by: Mike B, 2014/11/17

This was truly a unique experience that should be done once. It is kind of creepy being out in the open ocean at night, but that is the exciting part and of course the Manta Rays will not disappoint. After about 25 minutes in the water you've seen enough, but definitely a thrilling 25 minutes.


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. Were glad you had a good time.
Sea Paradise

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

manta rays snorkel

Reviewed by: amauri santana, 2014/09/15

i liked all the atracctions and people live arond island. and hotel and foods

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for writing a review.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful event

Reviewed by: blessed, 2014/08/04

this is my second manta snokel.
3 yrs ago, I did it at hulakai.
Even though at that time, I had no manta encounter,
I think there is no difference between sea paradase and fairwind.
Steps of sea paradase seems to be more informative. I though.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed the trip.
Mahalo! A Hui Hou

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: helen, 2014/07/12

This was an amazing experience, the rays swam around gathering up the plankton and came within milimeters of us. The staff were very friendly.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your Manta Night excursion. We hope to see you the next time your visit the Big Island.
A Hui Hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta ray night snorkel

Reviewed by: Spieth5, 2013/11/26

A once in a lifetime experience. The crew took excellent care of our entire family and helped put our nerves at easy. I only wish they had the ability to take pictures of your swim for you, sure hope ours turn out. Everyone should do it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Words Cannot Describe

Reviewed by: Mark from Ottawa, 2012/02/29

There are not enough superlatives to describe this experience. For a landlubber from eastern Canada this is an adventure that will not likely be repeated. The staff at Sea Paradise are friendly, proffessional and extremely knowledgable. I would not hesitate to book with them again. Can't wait for my DVD to arrive so I can relive it all over again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thanks for everything!

Reviewed by: Shane, Samuel, Marylin, 2010/06/18

We were so comfortable! It was amazing. If you are scared, my dad made it with just one arm and at 74 years young. You can do it too! We will tell all our friends!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

E.T. encounter

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/26

So if I'd explain this experience to someone, I'd say that it was like meeting with E.T. underwater. It's just very unique and almost spiritual experience to see them underwater at NIGHT. If you are comfortable in the water, do this tour. You won't regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI