Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Manta ray swim

Reviewed by: Jessica , 2017/07/29

The people at sea paradise were truly outstanding. They were professional, fun, and extremely accommodating. Let me preface this review by saying that I suffer from extreme motion sickness and had I not been heavily medicated then this would've been a truly awful experience, of course this was no fault of the crew, the waters are just that rough. The crew Heather and Troy and the captain did their absolute best to make me feel better, while entertaining my six year old daughter. We saw tons of mantas and they barrel roll right under you almost touching you. Truly a remarkable experience. Once we decided we had enough the crew got us back to the shore as quickly as possible as they could tell I was in distress. I highly recommend this experience, just be aware that you will need every form of motion sickness prevention if that's a concern. I couldn't be more pleased with the crew of sea paradise.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy you had a great time and you took the precautions you needed for your motion sickness. The waters in Kona are generally flat and the calmest of the islands, however once in awhile we do get a swell. Happy the mantas put on their beautiful performance to keep you at ease. A Hoi Hou and Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Swim

Reviewed by: Tony, 2017/07/22

I had a great time the guides very very knowledgeable and helpful. It was amazing how close the Manta Ray came to use as we were on the surface hanging to a raft. If I go back this is one thing I will differently do again.



Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with us. Happy to know you enjoyed it.

A Hui Hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Lianne, 2017/05/27

I had an awesome expierence with the Manta Ray swim in front of our hotel.



Reply from activity provider

Aloha, thank you for taking the time to review your trip. We are so happy to know you enjoyed it. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!!!

Reviewed by: Stacy R, 2017/03/18

We saw several manta rays and they were amazing! Some came up to the surface and could be seen from the boat. Captain Morgan and Troy were awesome! They were funny, personable and told some great stories. While in the water, Troy and Cory were always making sure everyone was doing okay. I would definitely recommend this excursion with Sea Paradise and this crew.
March, 2017

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for reviewing your tour. We are so happy you enjoyed the manta experience and the crew treated you well. Hope to be able to serve you again.
Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super Cool

Reviewed by: Larissa, 2017/02/21

Totally awesome experience, did the moonlight snorkel with the manta rays. The crew was awesome it was a nice small size of 6 people and such a great experience. They swim so close to you and are so incredibly cool

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the manta tour. Hope to be able to serve you in the future.

Aloha,
Sea Paradise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Swim

Reviewed by: The Leiths, 2016/09/10

We would like to thank the staff of veltra for their outstanding services with helping making our dream vacation a reality, we really enjoyed the swim with the Manta Rays - the staff on the boat were perfect, snacks were provided and we saw lots of Manta Rays, the sunset was beautiful.

Thanks Again

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for joining us at Sea Paradise aboard the Hokulani! We are happy you enjoyed our manta ray tour :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply amazing

Reviewed by: Pernille , 2016/09/08

We didn't have the best start for our manta ray snorkeling - trouble checking in for our flight the day after stressed us a lot, so we were not really in the mood. But despite me getting pretty seasick, being in the water and experiencing these magnificent and majestic fish feeding was an amazing experince. I so much wanna do it again - but next time without being seasick :) Thanks to the crew and captain for being so nice to me

Reply from activity provider

We are happy you had a pleasurable experience minus being seasick. It does affect some of us more than others. We always have remedies on board to assist with seasickness. A Hoi Hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Spectacular

Reviewed by: Keith, 2015/10/17

A fantastic experience,the mantas come as close as the say! A great tour with experienced helpful guides.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you so much for taking the time to review your trip with us.
We are so happy you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon.
Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The greatest/worst activity of the trip

Reviewed by: Mountain Man, 2015/10/05

I'll be honest, overall I didn't have a great time on this trip. We sailed off late and missed the sunset which we were supposed to enjoy, and then spent 15 minutes "sailing" in a circle getting tossed about in the waves in the boat which was very unenjoyable. I wouldn't call it snorkeling either. After an hour of getting tossed around in the waves, you get in your wet suit and get your snorkel mask and get in the water to hold on to a long float, getting beat up by the waves (some more) while playing footsie with your neighbor. Meanwhile, your float is drifting in the current towards the plethera of other boats in the surrounding area leaving you wondering if you're going to get run over or not. Seriously, our floating group ended up almost tangled in another boats anchor line. It was incredibly unsafe.

Why am I rating it a 3 with the description being very negative? Well it's because it's the most incredible thing to see Manta's swimming INCHES from you. We had quite a few come by and it was spectacular to witness for those few seconds.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We appreciate your feedback. The safety of our guests and staff are of great importance to us and we will be speaking with them on how to improve our operations. Again thank you and we are happy you enjoyed seeing the manta rays.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So worth it!

Reviewed by: Julia and Pat, 2015/03/01

Two mantas came to visit and were incredible. It was definitely something everyone should experience at least once in their life. The crew was friendly and did a wonderful job keeping everyone safe and comfortable.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for joining us! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Huge Manta Ray visit

Reviewed by: Deb Stuckey, 2015/02/07

I was a little leary about swimming with Manta Rays at night in the ocean....but I knew I would regret not doing it. WHAT an experience!! The highlight of our trip. It was amazing to float on the water with those gigantic rays swimming literally inches from your body. I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Deb~ We are so happy you enjoyed your night out on the water on the manta ray tour! Safe travels, and we hope to see you back again with us here at Sea Paradise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome

Reviewed by: Ota, 2014/12/27

It's a amazing experience!!!
We really recommend!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for reviewing your trip.
A Hui Hou!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic trip

Reviewed by: HHHH, 2014/12/02

They did a great job with my young kids. Everyone got in the water and had fun. When the 5 year old was ready to get back on the boat, they took her and let the adults stay in the water. Professional and fun.

Reply from activity provider

So happy you and your family had a good time. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Mahalo Nui Loa!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gotta try this!!

Reviewed by: Mike B, 2014/11/17

This was truly a unique experience that should be done once. It is kind of creepy being out in the open ocean at night, but that is the exciting part and of course the Manta Rays will not disappoint. After about 25 minutes in the water you've seen enough, but definitely a thrilling 25 minutes.


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. Were glad you had a good time.
Sea Paradise

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

manta rays snorkel

Reviewed by: amauri santana, 2014/09/15

i liked all the atracctions and people live arond island. and hotel and foods

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for writing a review.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful event

Reviewed by: blessed, 2014/08/04

this is my second manta snokel.
3 yrs ago, I did it at hulakai.
Even though at that time, I had no manta encounter,
I think there is no difference between sea paradase and fairwind.
Steps of sea paradase seems to be more informative. I though.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed the trip.
Mahalo! A Hui Hou

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: helen, 2014/07/12

This was an amazing experience, the rays swam around gathering up the plankton and came within milimeters of us. The staff were very friendly.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your Manta Night excursion. We hope to see you the next time your visit the Big Island.
A Hui Hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta ray night snorkel

Reviewed by: Spieth5, 2013/11/26

A once in a lifetime experience. The crew took excellent care of our entire family and helped put our nerves at easy. I only wish they had the ability to take pictures of your swim for you, sure hope ours turn out. Everyone should do it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Words Cannot Describe

Reviewed by: Mark from Ottawa, 2012/02/29

There are not enough superlatives to describe this experience. For a landlubber from eastern Canada this is an adventure that will not likely be repeated. The staff at Sea Paradise are friendly, proffessional and extremely knowledgable. I would not hesitate to book with them again. Can't wait for my DVD to arrive so I can relive it all over again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thanks for everything!

Reviewed by: Shane, Samuel, Marylin, 2010/06/18

We were so comfortable! It was amazing. If you are scared, my dad made it with just one arm and at 74 years young. You can do it too! We will tell all our friends!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

E.T. encounter

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/26

So if I'd explain this experience to someone, I'd say that it was like meeting with E.T. underwater. It's just very unique and almost spiritual experience to see them underwater at NIGHT. If you are comfortable in the water, do this tour. You won't regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/10/07

The experience with the mantas was the highlight of our honeymoon. They are beautiful, amazing creatures and spending time with them was fantastic. The scuba diver who attracts the mantas also filmed it and it was the one DVD/picture set that we bought of all of our tours. We really loved the animals, but hte experience was so-so. Do NOT go on this tour if you are not comfortable snorkeling, as they really do not hold your hand--you go in the water in the dark and there isn't really a lifeguard or somebody making sure that you are with the pack. Its fine if you are comfortable, just be warned. The only other downside was the other people on the boat with us who, instead of passively watching the creatures and taking their turn with them, swam over on top of us every time the manta were near us. We got kicked in the head by stranger's fins and we have it all on tape! I might recommend trying to get somebody to take you on a personal charter for this beautiful experience, it would probab

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel with Manta Rays

Reviewed by: Alison, 2007/10/26

This was a fantastic experience and very unique. Never expected the manta rays to come soo close. Hope my pics come out. Will definitely do again when I come back to the Big Island. Highly recommend for everyone, was a very easy snorkel and NOT scary at all.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

an experience of a lifetime!

Reviewed by: ashley, 2007/07/23

This was an amazing experience to witness. You are probably five minutes off the shore by the sheraton resort and are left to swim with huge manta rays that swim right up next to you. It is a little scary at first but after the first few minutes you get used to it. The staff on the boat are very friendly and pretty humorous. You definitly get your moneys worth on this activity because you are in the water for about 45 minutes and they dont let you get in until a manta ray shows up so your time with the manta rays isnt wasted. The only bad things I have to say about this activity which was kind of a personal problem was that I got stung in the butt my something. It hurt pretty bad but the stinging went away in about a hour. I dont think anyone else had this problem though so I wouldnt be too worried about it. I would definitly sign up for this activity is I was you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI