This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kohala Coast Whale Watch Tours - Morning & Sunset Cruise

Great Cruise makes for Perfect Evening

Reviewed by: Michael D, 2018/03/12

We were picked up from our resort hotel at the Hilton Waikoloa. This was the only sunset whale watch cruise I could find that was actually in Kohala (why go back down to Kona when you're staying in Kohala?), and we were not disappointed.

The pupus were solid and kept us full enough to grab a late dinner after. The drinks were plentiful with lots of choices. Best of all, the skipper knew what he was doing and found us some whales and dolphins. He even got the dolphins to swim alongside/under the boat, which was a truly unique experience to lie on the net, a couple feet above a family of dolphins swimming full speed.

I know they cannot control the animals or the weather, but we lucked out on both fronts. Would recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Morning Cruise - saw multiple whales

Reviewed by: Jonathan Smits, 2018/02/05

Because it was a morning cruise, they made good on sighting whales. There were multiple sightings. The amount of time on the boat was good, because after the sightings, I could actually relax and just enjoy the rest of the boat ride. The refreshments were tremendous. The crew was very generous and informative. I know the crew couldn't get as close as I would have liked, because of regulations, but I sure would have liked to have closer pictures and more majestic surfacings. But, overall we were happy with the cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Guides, Lots of Whales

Reviewed by: Chris G., 2018/01/30

Pros:
-Fun, knowledgeable guides
-Comfortable boat
-Saw 8+ different whales, 16+ different sightings

Cons:
-Whales were pretty far away (200+ yds)

Overall:
-Highly recommend for first time whale watching.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent whale watching!

Reviewed by: Katy, 2018/01/24

Awesome catamaran, great staff and naturalist on board! Unbelievable whale watching from every angle. Delicious beer on tap as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Humpback Whale experience!!

Reviewed by: R&B Olson, 2018/01/18

Great time from Kawaihae!! Captain and crew along with biologist kept us up to date with all you want to know about humpbacks . Had whales all around.
Highly recommend this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome whale watching and snorkeling cruise

Reviewed by: Lorena, 2017/12/12

Our 10am whale watching cruise was cancelled but we were accommodated on an other cruise for 10:30am. This one included snorkeling. So it was a big win for us. We did get to see a few whales and dolphins. The crew was amazing. They were friendly and informative. They took the time to chat with us. They gave us some background on the whales and clear instructions before getting in the water for snorkeling. They were very attentive and ready to help everyone during the snorkeling. This was an awesome tour. I would definitely book this tour again and recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale of a good time!

Reviewed by: Lorne, 2017/04/15

Good excursion. Nice boat, pleasant staff, good refreshments and we saw whales!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watch

Reviewed by: jkona, 2017/04/10

Did not see any whales but did see spinner dolphins. Got gift certificate to come back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Susan, 2017/03/20

We couldn't have asked for a better experience. The crew and marine naturalist were great. We were fortunate enough to see a lot of activity. Would definitely recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride and lots of whale sitings

Reviewed by: TEACUP202, 2017/02/25

We had an awesome time and saw more tails and fins than we had hoped for. We loved the running commentary on whales and learned lots. Thanks to the entire crew for a wonderful cruise, even though the waters were choppy. We highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching was great.

Reviewed by: Barbara from WI, 2017/02/06

We had a great time on the morning whale watching cruise. The catamaran was large and comfortable. The crew was extremely knowledgeable. We saw a few whales and happened upon one bottle nose dolphin.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wake up call with whales 8:00 am

Reviewed by: hank, 2017/01/15

all members of are group, which their 6 of us, had a great time. It was exciting to see a whale breach the water and wave her fin seeming to say hi.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We saw whales but the boat was so-so

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2017/01/12

We've been on multiple whale tours over the years. We saw multiple whales but the boat was crowded and pretty dated. The microphone didn't work for the first 30 minutes and they never used the hydrophone after mentioning that they had one. Definitely not the "spacious deck with ample seating for all passengers and first class amenities" as advertised. The Kawaihae Harbor location is setup weird. After arriving and checking in we had to board a bus for a 5 minute ride to the boat. Every cruise in the past allowed us to park and then walk on without a shuttle bus. The crew was friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Meme , 2015/03/15

Wow we saw momma baby and daddy humpbacks was saw whales all around us their tales were enormous it was the best day. We went mid morning the catamaran was spacious and very comfortable. Easy to board. The crew was very informative and friendly they were just as excited with all the action around us. We went in February 2015. I would highly recommend this tour.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for providing us with feedback about your Whale Watch Cruise. We're really glad you enjoyed the cruise, the boat, and the crew and got to see a lot of whales! We appreciate your recommendation and hope we have the opportunity to share adventures with you again!
Aloha from the Ocean Sports 'Ohana!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We seen a lot of whales!

Reviewed by: David, 2015/01/16

My wife and I seen many whales and they where very entertaining. The crew was very hospitable,it was a great experience,

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watch!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/03/02

It was great. As soon as we got out to the ocean, we spotted a mother and a baby whale. We were there for a couple of hours, and we probably saw 5, 6 whales. The staff and the captain did a great job catering all the guests (maybe about 30 of them on board). The naturalist explained a lot about the humpback whales, and it was very educational.

I'd highly recommend this one. It's very family friendly also, and the little kids were very excited to see the real whales in the ocean.




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/02/10

The crew were great and getting to see some whales and a calf was awesome!

Thanks for the great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale-watching rocks!

Reviewed by: Teresa Mackr, 2011/01/12

Me and my husband had SO much fun yesterday put on the boat. The staff was really friendly, the Captain got us right into the whales, too. We saw 9, 3 of which came right up next to the boat. The man who spoke during the boat rode (sorry I don't remember the name) was really knowledgeable and funny, too! We had a great time! Thank you for an experience we'll never forget.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Can't say enough good things...

Reviewed by: Andrea Barbado, 2009/12/20

...about to this cruise. My children and I utterly loved this tour and I just want to thank the unforgettable crew members who made this trip a highlight of our vacation. From the moment we stepped onto the boat until we stepped off, it was an absolute pleasure.

Hearing my children's sounds of joy when they saw their first whale breach from the water is something that I will remember always.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

How great was this tour?

Reviewed by: Lia, Miki, Karyn and Sam, 2009/12/20

TOTALLY AMAZING! When my friends and I saw this tour we were like, "Hmmm, whale watching? Sure why not!" and I am so glad that we decided to go. The boat was great, the view was priceless and seeing humpback whales jumping and slapping the water is something that I will never forget...ever. Like what a great memory to bring back home with me. Take this tour! You won't regret it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/12/20

Wish we brought the kids, they would have had a blast!! In any case it was our first time to the Big Island and this was a super good time. I'm guessing it's the same crew, but the afternoon sail crew was just lovely. Highly Recommended!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: rebecca, 2009/01/26

We had a super time and saw plenty of whales. Excellent crew, very informative and friendly!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whales!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/12/20

We just came back from our honeymoon in the Big Island. We took this whale watch trip, and I must say this was by far the most enjoyable sailing trip we did in Hawaii. Being Discovery Channel lovers, we were so excited to see the real whales in front of us! We can't wait to go back there someday. Five stars!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands