This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kailua Bay Glass Bottom Boat Cruise (from Kailua-Kona Pier)

Excellent

Reviewed by: Father/daughter, 2018/07/14

Excelllent trip. Microphone would of been nice. Hard to hear everything. I would still recommend this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for a great review! We have recently been researching hands-free microphones. Yes, it would be very helpful.
Jeannie Jewell
Kona Glassbottom Boat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Glass bottom boat tour

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2018/06/04

What a fantastic tour, a lot more than expected. Very knowledgeable of all the coral and sea creatures. Not just for kids our party was 2 adults so we had fun too.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Debbie! We are so happy that you had a fantastic tour! Yes it is fun for kids, but most definately for adults too. There is so much to see and learn. Thank you for the review.
Jeannie

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Informative!

Reviewed by: Scott Reimer, 2017/11/20

My girlfriend broke her ankle trying to go snorkeling so going again was out for us. The next best thing or better even was this tour; Kat, our guide, answered every one of our questions and it was super fun! We saw all kinds of critters and fish and it felt like you were under the waves yourself! Clear and colorful! I’d do it again, and the price was the most reasonable of all the activities we’ve tried so far on the Big Island ;)


  • Lots to see!


  • Lots to learn!


  • Fun!


  • Great tour!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Scott, Glad you had a great time and thank you for such a nice review. Sorry to hear about your girlfriend, hope she is better now...ankles take time healing though!
Mahalo,
jeannie

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Glass bottom boat

Reviewed by: James Henderson , 2017/10/21

Great experience!!!! Tour guide was very knowledgeable, experienced, super friendly, and accommodating! Loved this!

Reply from activity provider

We are happy you enjoyed the tour. Hope you will join us again!
Mahalo,
Jeannie
Kailua Bay Charter
The Glass Bottom Boat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day on the Ocean Harbour

Reviewed by: Good, 2017/10/02

Very exciting to see the dolphins on our outing as well as the tropical fish below. The guide was very knowledgeable and provided lots of info on what we were seeing! Excellent outing.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your nice review. Glad you enjoyed the tour.
Mahalo!
Jeannie

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time on a Glass bottom boat

Reviewed by: Joe , 2017/06/10

It was good the people were very nice! If you don't like to snorkel then this will be great for you!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Under the Sea

Reviewed by: Jessie, 2017/03/05

The staff was great, their knowledge about the fish and the area is beyond amazing. The children were so excited to see the fish and corral.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jessie, Thanks for your nice review. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed the tour!
Mahalo,
Jeannie
Kailua Bay Charter Company
The Glassbottom Boat

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Glass bottom boat 11/27/12

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/12/16

Had a wonderful time. Boat was exceptional and specifically built for tour. Staff was extremely knowledgeable really great with the children as she used to be a school teacher. You couldn't have asked for a better guide for families with children!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GLASSBOTTOM BOAT CRUISE

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/02

I thoughly enjoyed the cruise although my wife became ill
prior to the journey and wasn't able to attend. She would
have also enjoyed! The highlite was a Black Manta that
swam directly under the boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/07/06

It was fun, and the snorkeling was great, but it does take a lot of upper arm strength.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/07/06

It was a fun experience. We got to see lots of different fish. Taking pictures is hard though because fish and boat moving, and hard to see when developed because of glass.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun for kids

Reviewed by: Jane, 2008/09/29

This was a pleasant outing and particularly enjoyable for kids. If you think you might get seasick, I would recommend you take a ginger capsule before you go. Looking down into the water can make you a little queezy. Very informative and was helpful to have someone describing what you see.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Non snorkelers - don't miss out!

Reviewed by: JK, 2008/09/21

I don't know how to swim, and no way would I try snorkeling without even knowing how to float, so this was right up my alley. The staff was engaging and funny and knew a lot about the fish that we saw. We floated over several clusters of coral and although I didn't see anything as cool as a dolphin or manta ray, I did see a variety of exotic fish I had never known outside of an aquarium. Sadly, it's a quick 1 hour because you're so focused on looking at the windows that you lose track of time.

I don't recommend taking tons of pictures like someone here suggested, only because the fish move so fast that you'd probably get bad shots anyway and secondly, you really want to enjoy this uninterrupted without a contraption mounted to your face. Maybe take a snapshot of the first reef so you can tell people "I experienced this," then put the camera away for good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Over the Rainbow

Reviewed by: Pot of Gold, 2008/05/26

It is magnificent. The best sightseeing of all the tours. Take lots of film. I loved it. Stunning scenery,and very entertaining guide. It is over the rainbow good.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Tom and Jo, 2008/03/05

This was an enjoyable hour! The staff was great! Spinner Dolphins, Eel, Manta Ray and lots and lots of beautiful fish in the reef! Worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands