Kohala Coast Hawaiian Canoe Paddling

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

7 reviews (Post a review)

Outstanding

Reviewed by: Lisa Leon, 2017/08/13

This was the best idea we had to add to our Hawaiian vacation. I felt very lucky that my family of 3 had a private tour via the ocean from a native. Chris was AWESOME. Super nice. Shared a lot of Hawaiian culture with us. That alone was great but it was even better to get our lesson on sea while looking back at the island. Totally totally worth it. I've already told all our friends to do this. Thank you Chris.


  • My husband


  • Our daughter with Chris

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Activity, Saw a Turtle

Reviewed by: Mary from San Diego, 2017/06/11

This was a fun activity, and totally safe. Our 4 yr old was not too excited at first, but later enjoyed it as we went out into the ocean. The highlight for her was getting to touch the water while sitting in the canoe, and seeing a turtle swimming close to us. The guide was experienced, and wanted to play safe since we had a young kid, but later realized that we could handle going out further into the ocean. It was a blast.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very cool experience!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/25

Canoe surfing was a lot of fun! It is like surfing on a canoe. Our 4 yo and 6 yo kids loved it, too. It does take a lot of effort on the adults part so be prepared to paddle. Our guide was excellet. We had some great conversation while waiting for each set to roll in. It was definitely worth the price for this experience. We did show up when originally scheduled, but the waves weren't big enough so they promised to call us when it would be better to come out. As promised they called us the next morning (they offered a whale watch if the waves weren't good enough before we had to leave). We were glad we re-arranged our schedule to do this. We will probably do it again when we go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

so much fun

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/29

Our 2 teenagers loved it. The experience is so much fun! The staff was friendly and curtious. I would definitely recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I Love Canoe surfing!!

Reviewed by: mynmgh1, 2012/08/18

We've been to Hawaii several times, but this is the first time we canoe surfed. This was such a fun activity, and since we purchased it on sale, the value was great! The men who guided us were so nice! They were so friendly and knowledgeable. Not only was it fun, but extremely interesting. They told us a lot of history about outrigger canoeing. The tour was supposed to be a half an hour, but lasted about an hour. Just a heads up you will paddle so there is a bit of exercise (nothing outlandish). Also, if you get sea sick you may want to take Dramamine, since you have to wait for waves just floating there. I would love to do this again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Arnold, 2011/07/14

The two guides who went with us are wonderful as they were concerned for our safety and comfort. It was a very calm sea the day went out so waves were few. They also showed us the sights of the bay and, since waves were few, they let us use their snorkel gear for a great snorkel experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun fun fun!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/30

My girl and I went on this. Wasn't sure what to expect with canoe surfing at all. I am a surfer, but it is a whole different thing! We had a blast, and would definitely recommend it to others!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI