Hilo Ocean Adventures - Black Sand Beach Snorkel Tour at Sea Turtle Lagoon reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hilo Ocean Adventures - Black Sand Beach Snorkel Tour at Sea Turtle Lagoon

Overall Rating

4.50 4.50 / 5

Reviews

4 reviews
Post a review

Fun time snorkeling, but we miss the boat.

Reviewed by: SJ Bass, 2022/09/24

We signed up for a snorkeling trip online. Mind you, we’ve done these trips before where they take us out on a catamaran and find some secluded bay where we can go and check out the tropical fish and coral reef and maybe a chance at a sea turtle.

Well, this trip was not quite the same. We did find a secluded bay that had a nice cool reef and tropical fish but we got there by use of a Ford expedition (which had no AC by the way). We then traveled to a second spot by car, where we did get a chance to see a sea turtle, but not much else.

Our snorkel guide was very kind and considerate and made sure that everybody in our small group of four was safe. But it seemed like he was working with one arm tied behind his back, because he had to hunt out the two places for us to dive.

  • Our snorkeling guide was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great snorkel and guide.

Reviewed by: Tim H, 2022/08/10

It was a rainy warm trip but had a lot of fun. Devon was a great guide and although we did not see any turtles we saw plenty of fish and coral. Also learned a lot about the local area and history. Very helpful for getting our son, who is not a strong swimmer and new to snorkeling, into the water. Our guide explained everything very well and emphasized safety and respect for the land, sea and marine life.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great experience!

Reviewed by: ominette@hotmail.com, 2022/06/27

Our guide Devin was very accommodating and knowledgeable! He was thorough when discussing safety in the reef and how best to use the equipment. He seemed to enjoy the experience as much as we did even though we know he does this every day! We were thrilled to be able to commune with sea turtles as they relaxed in the sunshine. He then navigated us through the coral reef and pointed out a bunch of wildlife we might have never have seen on our own. The snacks and drinks at the end of the tour were exactly what we needed after swimming for an hour and a half. We appreciated the personalized experience and would absolutely do this again!

  • Absolutely heartwarming to see turtles relaxing in the sun!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed you experience with us and hope to see again on another of our tours.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel and turtles everywhere!!!

Reviewed by: Travis, 2019/06/29

Chad and a guys name I can’t remember (lol, sorry guy but he was nice) met us at the general store and took us to the Blacksand beach. At first, my wife was very claustrophobic and was having trouble snorkeling but Chad worked with her and was very patient and before long she was swimming like a guppy! We had a wonderful time and saw a bunch of turtles! I recommend this tour. It was better than what the cruise ship offered for less money. We would definitely go again.

  • Some of the turtle we saw bathing in the sun.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Travis, Thank you for your 5 star review. I am thrilled you and your wife had a wonderful time. Richardson's is a beautiful beach park and and a favorite spot for the honu to gather and sunbathe. We invite you to join us again on one of our many exciting tours in Hilo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories