This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Ocean Encounters - Swim with Manta Rays Sunset & Snorkel Cruise (from Honokohau)

Overall Rating

4.504.50 / 5

Reviews

6 reviews (Post a review)

Excellent Experience overall

Reviewed by: Jmontgomery, 2018/07/03

Even though I was sea sick, my husband and daughter had the time of their life that they described as surreal like a dream. The mantas were inches away from their faces doing rolls. An experience they will never forgot and well worth it. The captain and crew were very nice and sympathetic to my condition.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good experience

Reviewed by: Matt, 2018/06/26

My wife and I had a good experience. The boat was comfortable although some people got seasick since it was a fairly choppy sea. I'd recommend taking Dramamine before going. The appetizers were just bagged snacks and cans of juice and pop. We ended up seeing about eight manta rays in the water.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Fred, 2018/06/23

Excellent experience and well worth the money. The crew was friendly and helpful. I would not recommend this experience for “timid” children but, if your kid is into new things and not afraid of the ocean, this is an experience they will remember forever! It was amazing to see how well all the boat crews worked together to ensure everyone enjoyed a fantastic show

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience!

Reviewed by: Stephen, 2017/12/31

While we only saw one manta, she did come up close, which was an amazing experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of my trip to Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Margarita, 2017/05/15

Swimming with Manta Rays has been on my bucket list for a very long time. Seeing these beautiful creatures swimming next to you was absolutely unreal! As you can only spot Manta Rays at night we went for a short boat trip first where we watched the sunset, enjoyed the weather and had a few drinks. Our captain was a great guy who showed us something I couldn’t believe existed – a green flash right before the sun disappears below the horizon – thought it was a myth! Crew did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and to enhance our experience throughout the entire trip. Manta Rays were swimming right next to us and I managed to get a perfect footage on my GoPro camera which I am going to use for my video. This experience is a must do if you are visiting Big Island – this was definitely a highlight of my trip to Hawaii!




Reply from activity provider

Mahalos for the wonderful review. Hope you all have a great vacation in HI

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw A Manta Ray!

Reviewed by: Erin, 2015/01/12

You can't help mother nature -- we only saw one manta ray during our tour and the water was really choppy. The captain and crew were friendly, but had us wait for some other people that didn't show. I also don't feel they connected with us as a group, which was unfortunate.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories