This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Ocean Encounters - Swim with Manta Rays Sunset & Snorkel Cruise (from Honokohau)

Overall Rating

4.424.42 / 5

Reviews

12 reviews (Post a review)

Beautiful creatures

Reviewed by: David , 2018/10/25

The team where good and provided for a fun filled evening. The rays are beautiful and we got a few spin moves and seen about 6 animals. I highly recommend the experience and the ocean is lovely and warm. The only downside my wife had never snorkel before and required some extra guidance and assistance that wasn’t given so I did my best to help. Better instructions would have helped.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience and great crew!

Reviewed by: Stacia, 2018/10/22

My husband and I went on the snorkel experience and it was the best! We saw about 15 manta rays, including one with a 12 foot wingspan, and probably close to 10 barrel rolls where they came within a few inches of us. Our crew worked hard to make sure we were comfortable and that we had a good time (even made us hot cocoa after we got out of the water). I can't say enough great things about Ocean Encounters- you might find a cheaper manta ray swim, but you won't find a better one.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very cool time

Reviewed by: Stainless, 2018/10/10

Great crew, got us to the spot off the airport, lots of other boats there, lights on and after a while Manta Rays showed up. The cool part was when a 10-12 foot wide one did 3 manta rolls right in our faces. It was too much to hope for but it happened.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I went to a different location than the one which was thought.

Reviewed by: N・S, 2018/10/08

I went to a different location than the one which was thought.
I expected the manta was not seen only a little,but I think that nature is unavoidable because the opponent.
The staff are very friendly and made an effort.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Montalvo Family , 2018/08/01

We were a family of 7 visiting Hawaii for the first time in July 2018 and swimming with the Mantas sounded like a dream. We went out and was disappointed when only 2 Mantas showed up but I only saw one. To our surprise the captain announced that he planned on going back out later and anyone who wished to go back out was welcomed to stay onboard. Well needless to say we went back out to the south side of the island and to our amazement we were blessed to not only swim with one but with seven Mantas. The experience was outstanding one I will never forget. The captain and crew was courteous and professional and I highly recommend Ocean Encounters.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Equally awe-inspiring and nerve-wracking

Reviewed by: Darra, 2018/07/29

I only add the nerve wracking part as it was something I did with a little trepidation - the idea of swimming in the ocean, in the dark, in the cold with a little tube to breathe through... However, I like to do something that scares every once in a while as the fear usually is nothing when actually doing the activity and this one was definitely the case in this experience. The guides were excellent and talked everyone through and kept everyone relaxed. You had a half wet suit to help with the cold; the water was lit up (to attract the plankton and mantas); the snorkel you soon forgot once you were floating in pure amazement and smiles as these giants swooped below you and then treated to the bright white display of them underneath as they rolled to eat up the plankton. Complete gentle giants; and not at all scary but just delightful


  • Still shot from a video (recommend taking a gopro or similar if you can!)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Experience overall

Reviewed by: Jmontgomery, 2018/07/03

Even though I was sea sick, my husband and daughter had the time of their life that they described as surreal like a dream. The mantas were inches away from their faces doing rolls. An experience they will never forgot and well worth it. The captain and crew were very nice and sympathetic to my condition.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good experience

Reviewed by: Matt, 2018/06/26

My wife and I had a good experience. The boat was comfortable although some people got seasick since it was a fairly choppy sea. I'd recommend taking Dramamine before going. The appetizers were just bagged snacks and cans of juice and pop. We ended up seeing about eight manta rays in the water.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Fred, 2018/06/23

Excellent experience and well worth the money. The crew was friendly and helpful. I would not recommend this experience for “timid” children but, if your kid is into new things and not afraid of the ocean, this is an experience they will remember forever! It was amazing to see how well all the boat crews worked together to ensure everyone enjoyed a fantastic show

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience!

Reviewed by: Stephen, 2017/12/31

While we only saw one manta, she did come up close, which was an amazing experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of my trip to Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Margarita, 2017/05/15

Swimming with Manta Rays has been on my bucket list for a very long time. Seeing these beautiful creatures swimming next to you was absolutely unreal! As you can only spot Manta Rays at night we went for a short boat trip first where we watched the sunset, enjoyed the weather and had a few drinks. Our captain was a great guy who showed us something I couldn’t believe existed – a green flash right before the sun disappears below the horizon – thought it was a myth! Crew did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and to enhance our experience throughout the entire trip. Manta Rays were swimming right next to us and I managed to get a perfect footage on my GoPro camera which I am going to use for my video. This experience is a must do if you are visiting Big Island – this was definitely a highlight of my trip to Hawaii!




Reply from activity provider

Mahalos for the wonderful review. Hope you all have a great vacation in HI

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw A Manta Ray!

Reviewed by: Erin, 2015/01/12

You can't help mother nature -- we only saw one manta ray during our tour and the water was really choppy. The captain and crew were friendly, but had us wait for some other people that didn't show. I also don't feel they connected with us as a group, which was unfortunate.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands