Mauna Kea Evening Stargazing & Daytime Solar Viewing Tour with Dinner reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Mauna Kea Evening Stargazing & Daytime Solar Viewing Tour with Dinner

Overall Rating

4.90 4.90 / 5

Reviews

10 reviews
Post a review

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Jessi, 2021/10/13

This activity was great. Our tour guide gave us informative details on our stops we visited. Getting to view the stars, the moon and the planets were stellar! My 7 year old had a blast. We would do it again. The area we stopped at had a restrooms and nice little playground. The sandwiches were good and the hot coco was yum!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stargazing Stellar exploration tour

Reviewed by: Soham Shah, 2021/09/16

Our tour guide Krystal was amazing. She had background in Astronomy and physics with lots of stories from Big Island. We observed entire milky way galaxy with powerful telescope and it was out of the world experience. Our best part was watching all planets and moon with craters. Thank you Krystal for wonderful explanation and experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!!

Reviewed by: Giselle + Saul, 2021/09/11

Rich was the best guide. He was incredibly knowledgeable about everything we saw, and even when it was cloudy on Mauna Kea, he told us ancient Hawaiian stories until the clouds cleared and we could see everything we came out to see. A++++ would go again in a heartbeat. Thanks Rich!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stargazing

Reviewed by: MS & AG, 2021/09/06

Marcus our tour guide was Amazing! Really knowledgeable about the stars and facts regarding them. He was very friendly and patient with the kids! The only reason this doesn’t have a 5 star rating is because the food was blah.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience and knowledgable guide

Reviewed by: Wade, 2021/03/27

Our family had a ton of fun gazing at the stars. Our guide Krystal was amazing. Her background in astronomy provided a unique experience. She provided so much information about Hawaii, the importance of the stars for Hawaiian navagation, and any other science questions our family had.

  • Moon shot

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna kea star gazing

Reviewed by: Carol, 2021/01/15

It was a unique experience. Rich, our tour guide was very informative. We learned a lot about the history of the island of Hawaii as he drove us to different must see locations like the cave, water falls, historic sites. We also learned about plants, volcanoes, fissures, and stars in a day! We saw nebula, galaxies, a couple of satellites, shooting stars and learned about so many other stars in our constellation! It was very educational! Really appreciated it a lot!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/01/12
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable experience. Excellent services.

Reviewed by: Ping, 2020/01/20

Unforgettable experience. Amazing views. Excellent services.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Guilietta Kim, 2020/01/01

It was very impressive that a tour guide has shared a lot of stories about cultures of Hawai'i during the entire tour program. The courses were absolutely nice. The view of a coffee farm was so beautiful and the dinner was much nicer than I expected. When it comes to stargazing tour, the tour guide moved the spot for better sightseeing and it was brilliant. Even though I am not a native speaker, I fully enjoyed this tour program and I highly recommend this one to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/27
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Making Astronomy Fun!

Reviewed by: Nicole , 2019/06/14

I decided on this tour/adventure package because it’s something that really interests me. From the coffee, to the excellent bbq picnic, the solar view of the sun setting, and of course the stars! Todd was our guide and he was so professional and was beyond knowledgeable in each area of the tour. He made everyone feel comfortable and was very engaging. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone wishing to do something that feels laid back, but covers a lot of ground.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the highlights of our trip!

Reviewed by: Hawaiian First Timer, 2018/07/24

Husband and I throughly enjoyed the excursion! Our guide blew us away with his well rounded knowledge of the island, its geography and history. The coffee farm and meal were a special treat before an evening of stargazing.

  • Coffee Farm View

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands