Sunset & Moonlight Swim with Manta Rays Cruise Adventure (from Honokohau Harbor)

Overall Rating

4.864.86 / 5

Reviews

7 reviews (Post a review)

Swimming with rays

Reviewed by: Dorotka , 2017/07/18

It was an amazing experience ! Like an underwater ballet with a bit of adrenaline because even you know that rays are completely harmless and gentle you are still swimming in the middle of the ocean at night .There were at least 25 of them that night passing sometimes within an inch of our biddies, it felt like gentle caressing. I think it was my favorite activity and we did practically everything there is to be done on the Island (from extreme to leisure ) Definitely recomend it

Reply from activity provider

Aloha- We love to hear about our guests fantastic experiences! Glad you had a wonderful time and were able to see and enjoy the Mantas on our tour!! Maholo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mantas were great!

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2017/07/09

We did the moonlight swim. The biggest manta ray was actually bumping some of the people in the water when she came up to eat the plankton that the lights attracted. We also saw so many fish. It was great. I would do this excursion again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An awesome time!

Reviewed by: Miller family, 2017/06/19

One of the highlights of our trip, so fun! Peena, Tim & crew were awesome. They moved things along nicely and were fun to be with. We saw some amazing Mantas, it was an experience we'll be talking about for a long time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Tim Strike's Again!!!

Reviewed by: Josh Mishkin, 2017/04/17

This was our second trip snorkeling with Tim. This time we brought my wife's family (from Miami). They absolutely loved it, and we can't thank Tim and crew enough for making it, yet again, a once in a lifetime experience for our family.

You guys rock!!!

Reply from activity provider

We are so glad to hear you had a once in a lifetime experience. Thank you for sharing your experience. Aloha and please don't forget us on your return to Hawaii!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mantas

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/08/29

Very cool experience. There were 12 Mantas swimming around us. The crew were safety conscious and handled a guy that freaked out in the water very professionally. No shame and wanted everyone to have a good time. Hot Chocolate provided with fresh fruit.

Reply from activity provider

Awesome! Glad you had a good time and thank you for the positive feedback.
Capt. Tim

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Manta Experience

Reviewed by: Mindy, 2016/06/08

I've taken three different groups on three different manta swims and this one was the best! I really liked how we were tethered to the boat so that inexperienced snorkelers and people that got cold could easily climb back on the boat while the rest of us could continue to enjoy the mantas. Because we were on the moonlight swim, we were in the harbor by ourselves by the end. All the mantas (four total that night) were ours to observe. It was awesome.

This is really a must-do for your Big Island trip.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your wonderful review on our Moonlit Manta Snorkel. We are so pleased your tour was such a success. It is our goal to have every person rate us as the best snorkel tours in Kona! You just described the advantages of doing the Moonlit tour. I always recommend this tour to people with children. Because there are only two to three boats at the later tour time, this allows us to tether the light board directly to the boat instead of swimming the light board in the middle of twenty something boats and their light boards to give you the best show. Some parents might have to switch out with their partner if they bring their young children (toddler's and babies are always welcome). There might also be children and/or adults that have some apprehension and would prefer to have the boat near by as a comfort. We hope you will remember us on your next trip to Kona. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience with tha manta rays, but service below expectations

Reviewed by: Riccardo, 2015/05/31

We went on moonlight snorkeling tour and saw four manta rays, two quite big, they are so graceful dancing in the water below the light and passing inches from our bodies without touching us and without any fear. This experience is one to be remembered for the lifetime.
Said that, the service given is below expectations.
Let's start from pricing, no reduced price for the one that is not going off board snorkeling.
We arrived on time for the check in and the boat wasn't in the water yet, due to a problem with the truck. Maybe the info on the tour had been already given to the other participants, but nothing more for us. I recieved the wet suit, even though there was no locker room to change, only the marina restrooms.
Anyhow the boat went in the water just in time to go onboard, no gangboard, assuming people is used to jump on and off board.
We went quite fast to the point where manta rays are usually seen, there was already another boat from a different charter, we stood just aside them.
Gear provided by them, good quality, no water entered during all the visit.
Just few basic rules, do not dive, do not touch them, do not kick them, lay horizontally and stay attached to the plastic board, which hosts lights to attract plancton.
As said at the beginning, the experience is really wonderful and makes me almost forget the service part.
Returning onboard, just a minute to remove the wet suit, get dry, have a glass of hot soup and go back as fast as possible to the harbour.
A formal and quick goodbye and that's it.
Overall you cannot miss the mant rays snorkeling experience, but consider also other service providers with respect to this one.

Reply from activity provider

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the manta rays. If we receive a review that is less than 5 stars, we seek out ways in which we can make improvements. In your case, the areas in which you wish to see improvement are beyond our control. You are correct in that there are no locker room facilities. Honokohau Marina is operated and maintained by the State of Hawaii, who instead chooses to provide the public restroom facilities. You are also correct in that there is not a gang plank that is used to get onboard our boat. Like other companies in the harbor we tie up close against the dock, allowing you to step directly onto the boat from the dock. We charge the same price for the people who choose not to go into the water simply because that person still takes up a seat. We are limited by the U.S. Coast Guard as to how many passengers we can carry. We do offer discounts to children, local residents, military personnel, and for those returning to do additional tours with us.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI