Manta Ray Night Snorkel Express on a Hawaiian Sailing Canoe (from Keauhou Bay)

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

10 reviews (Post a review)

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Hilary, 2018/01/22

Excellent diving with the manta rays, really enjoyed it and was one of the highlights of my holiday.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Night Snorkel

Reviewed by: D & L Williams, 2017/12/25

For those who love the water and its fascinating creatures, we highly recommend this activity aboard the Hawaiian Sailing Canoe. The canoe is a modern replica seating a limited number of passengers, so the skipper Dave knew our names immediately. But much like going to a "modern" zoo, you may see what you're looking for the first time out but you may not. Our first night snorkel was at 8:30pm, and while the groups before and after us had a grand "show" we were skunked. But Dave said we could keep coming back (for free!) until we sighted the mantas. The next night at 9:30pm we were in luck, and were treated to a 45 minute water ballet by two mantas that glided and turned just inches beneath our illuminated surfboard. For optimum warmth bring your own full-length wetsuit instead of using their wetsuit tops.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Experience on Big Island

Reviewed by: Brian, 2017/09/23

We had a great time with Chanda and the captain. They honored our reservation even though we were the only two.

We saw 3-4 huge female manta rays that came up and brushed up against us. Not counting all the schools of fish! And hot cocoa when we were done was icing on the cake.

Looking forward to the next time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just do it!

Reviewed by: S.S., 2017/07/31

This is definitely a must-have experience and believe me, you won't regret. You don't have to know how to swim, by the way.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Vparikh, 2017/07/26

Our teenage children went on this excursion. They had the best time. The captain and the crew member were very helpful and made them feel very comfortable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

manta rays up close and personal!

Reviewed by: Troutman , 2017/07/07

This was the most amazing trip ever! The canoe was perfect for my family as we all get motion sickness and everyone was fine but mom. It was a quick trip out and you are in the water immediately snorkeling with the manta rays. We had two that just kept coming straight towards our faces (one even brushed dad). It was the most amazing experience and our guides, Kat and Rob made the whole experience so pleasant. We highly recommend this trip!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Close Encounters with Huge Mantas

Reviewed by: Celia L, 2016/12/13

My husband and I enjoyed the evening of going out on a canoe and then getting in the water and holding on to a lighted surf board to observing the huge mantas come right up to you! The young crew members were very friendly and helpful. They did provide a wet suit top but I regretted not having my full wet suit. Although it is in the "warm" Hawaiian water- after 30 minutes the water does steal your bodies warmth. So that would be my only suggestion to the average tourist. Despite the cold near the end, it was such a unique encounter that the amazing mantas- we were thrilled!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time with mantas

Reviewed by: FJC, 2016/07/02

Eka Canoe provided a great tour. The small group size gave a really good guide/tourist ratio. The fact that the boat sailed from Keauhou Bay meant that we only had a short (about five minutes) ride to the viewpoint. The experience of watching these creatures was fantastic. They are wild animals, so one never knows what to expect. I did not see the "inverted loop" feeding behaviour that is usually shown in promotional videos, but I saw four mantas cruising mid-way between the bottom and the surface. It was a remarkable experience. The crew and guide looked after us well. They were booked up for the remaining evenings that I had on the Big Island or I would have returned for a repeat tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Perlyn, 2016/06/12

This activity was totally worth it. The guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. The canoe was very cool, too. We saw plenty of manta rays. If you like small groups for night snorkel, then this is your best bet. Hot cocoa was provided after the swim. We had a lot of fun! This is definitely a must-do and I highly recommend Eka Canoe for your reservation!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome activity

Reviewed by: Georgia, 2015/09/14

This was one of the best activities we did on our two month holiday. The experience was incredible and unforgettable, and the company was easy to book with and great tour guides. Would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI