This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Shark Swim & Cage Diving in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.61 4.61 / 5

Reviews

356 reviews

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

イルカもいいけど断然シャーク!!

Reviewed by: 犬っころ, 2016/12/04

ハネムーンで主人と2人で行ってきました
1回目は波が高く中止になりましたが滞在日数が長かったので再度予約して2回目は参加できました♪1回目は船の中で今日は中止だと聞かされがっがり。。スタッフの方も気を使って船の上からエサをまいてみせてくれましたが、こんなんちゃうねん、こんなんで満足できんひんねん、と主人とこそこそつっこみまくりです笑
よく海外旅行に行きますがこのてのオプションツアーはぎりぎりになってから中止だと伝えられる傾向があるなぁと思います^^;天候や波などは自然のことなので本当にぎりぎりになってからでしかわからないものもあると思いますがやはり事前にわかれば予定変更の対応もできますしなんとか現地に着く前に知る事ができればいいなぁ時間ももったいないしなぁといつも思ってしまいます^^;それでも楽しく参加できたのはベルトラさんがご丁寧に連絡をちょこちょこくださったりアドバイスもくれたりしてとても気持ちの良い対応をしていただいたからだど思います^^
あとはすべて英語の説明ですが雰囲気で大丈夫だと思います笑行きのバスの中でサメの種類についてなどをドライバーさんがいろいろ伝えてくれますので英語が聞き取れる方は楽しいかもしれません^^私はさっぱりなので主人にずっと通訳してもらっていました笑
必ず酔い止めは必須です!私たち夫婦以外の方はほとんど船酔いでつらそうでした;;行く前と船の中でも薬を飲んで置いたので大丈夫でしたがかなり揺れます!
あと私はゴープロを手首につけてたくさん撮りました♪水中カメラなどある方はストラップをつけて首にかけるか手首に固定して潜るといいと思います^^
あとはドライバーさんによると思いますが送迎の車の中は極寒です笑行きは水着でもいいと思いますが帰りは簡単な着替えを持っていって着替えてください!トイレが一箇所ありますが着替えれない事はない程の小屋型のトイレなので本当に頑張って着替えてください笑潔癖の人には辛いかもしれませんが帰りの極寒のことを考えたらできます笑風邪をひきそうなほど寒くノースショアからホテルまでは割りと長い道のりなので^^;
自分でクーラーの温度ちょっと下げてと言えちゃいそうな勇者の方!報告お待ちしています笑

サメはたくさんみれました♪あいにく一種類しかいませんでしたが10匹以上見る経験は今までなかったのですごく興奮して楽しかったです!!
とにかく酔い止め、お水、簡単な着替え!これさえあれば完璧です!おすすめツアーです^^*
ベルトラさん本当にありがとうございました

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

最高!!!!

Reviewed by: fUziMurA, 2015/11/15

旦那と二人で朝イチの部で参加しました。
ちゃんと予約できてるか不安でしたが、時間通りにサメの絵が大きく載った車でお迎えにきてもらいました( ˊᵕˋ )朝5:30でさすがにつらかったですが(笑)
車で1時間ほどで到着し、船に乗って出発!!!
クルーのみなさんは全く日本語はしゃべれないので、日本語表記の注意書きを読みました。日本語はしゃべれないけど、ジェスチャーなどで伝わるのでぜんぜん問題ありませんでした♪サメがいるスポットまでの道のりもサメの人形で脅かしてきたり、具合悪くないかとか気にかけてくれてとても良い人たちでした。
ポイントについたら水面にたくさんのサメが!!!
私達夫婦の順番は3番目だったので、水面のサメを見たりしてました。
ポイントまでの道のりは全然平気でしたか、船が止まるとすこーしずつ酔ってきました(笑)みなさんそんな感じでした(笑)私たちは吐くまではなかったけど、何人かは吐いていてつらそうでした(;▽;)
でも自分たちの番になるとテンションが上がり、船酔いなんて吹っ飛びました!
目の前で見えるサメたちはとても美しかったです!檻にぶつかってくるなんて危険な事はなく、檻のまわりをぐるぐると泳いでる感じです(*˘︶˘*)10匹以上いました♪でも中には檻の中で波酔いして、具合悪そうな方もいました(;▽;)酔いやすいかたはオススメ出来ないですね(;▽;)
でもすごく貴重な体験が出来ました!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

大きなサメがいっぱい!!

Reviewed by: みきてぃー, 2019/04/19

初めは、少し緊張しながらバンを待っていたのですが、20分くらい遅刻して来て一緒にまってな外国人夫婦と、まだ来ないね…と心配していました。特に何も言わなかったので寝坊かな??と思いました。そして、皆さんの体験談を読んで居たので、あらかじめ酔い止めを飲んで参加しました。もともと乗り物酔いしないタイプだったので、私は、酔わなかったのですが、母が乗り物酔いしやすいタイプで、船に乗ってゲージまで行くところまでは、元気だったのですが、逆に海の中に入ってからの方が波の揺れも激しく、そこで酔ってしまってしました。一緒にツアーに参加した数人の外国人の方も酔っていて、吐いている人もいました。ゲージの中へは、3組~4組くらい一緒に入って、その間にクルーの人達がエサをまいてくれるので、サメがたくさん寄ってきてくれます。でも、近くまで来ても襲って来ることも無く、かなり近くで見れて迫力があります。なかなか出来ない体験なので、一緒に居た高齢の外国人夫婦もかなり興奮していました!!一応着替える場所、トイレもあるのですが、みんな水着の上にシャツを着てそのまま帰っていました。あとは小さな売店??みたいなのが来ていて、迎えのバンが来るまでスナックやジュースを買って待っていました。是非、参加してみてもいいと思います。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Don't be scared - This is a MUST!!

Reviewed by: David, 2016/01/14

OK, so the idea of going to 'find' sharks as opposed to avoiding them at all costs can take a little getting used to. However once I'd gotten over that, I have to say this is one of the most exhilarating experiences I've had (and enjoyed) on the island.
There's two basic times that you can go out, Super early or Early, Yes that's right, Don't plan on a late night in the bar the night before trying to drum up Dutch courage because this boat leaves early and you want to get your sleep in.

After a leisurely 20-25 mins boat ride out (i think they said about 2 miles) to the dive site you arrive in an open water area, engines are cut and you pull up next to the cage. A quick chat from the crew, and two groups are selected A & B, This ensures you have maximum space in the cage and is a really cool idea.

We climbed in first, GoPro's on and ready to start shooting...

The cage is actually rather large and you definitely want to be up close to the bars hold on, and go down to get your first glimpse... I'm not going to say much more on what you'll see but I will say, This is a guaranteed sharks (plural, many lol) shark tank dive. They big, upclose and personal and you are totally safe in your secure housing...

You get ample time to take selfies, group shots, dive down again, hold the bottom of the cage etc as these amazing creatures swim all around you.

I'd forgot my wrist strap for my cam, No problem, The crew guy noticed as I was getting ready ad gave me a cool wrist-strap for it (thick rubber band!) Awesome Service.

Highly Recommended. 5*

  • Our crazy group...

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

近くで見られて大興奮!

Reviewed by: ksk, 2014/01/20

ワイキキのホテルからの送迎付きで夫婦で参加しました。
さわれそうな距離で見られて大興奮!
船のエンジン音を聞きつけて餌がもらえると思い、鮫が寄ってくるそうですが襲ってくるような危険さはありませんでした。
送迎も船も日本語は通じませんが、なんとなくの会話で意思疎通は出来ました。
船に日本語訳の説明書はあります。
皆さん書かれている船酔いですが、酔い止めを事前に飲んだので全く船酔いはなし。慣れれば大丈夫ですが揺れは結構大きいです。
船上で水中動画撮影は必要かと聞かれます。SDカードにMP4で10分程度とおまけDVD付きで65$、終了後にオリジナルTシャツ30$、いずれもクレジットカードOKです。
買わなくていいけど記念になるので購入おすすめです。
あと、水中カメラは使い捨てでもいいので持っていった方が絶対いいです。船上でも販売はあったそうですが日本語が通じないので持参のほうがいいかも。私は日本で買った安い防水デジカメを持っていきました。
ノースショアで観光もしたかったのですが終われば即ワイキキへ送迎なので、ハワイ慣れしている人はレンタカーで行くのもいいかもしれないです。近くに無料で停められそうなところはありました。
あと、運よく鯨も出現して、いいツアーになりました。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

日本で体験できません!!

Reviewed by: skaljp, 2012/12/16

ここでしか体験できないツアーです!!場所がノースショアなので遠いのですが是非参加されることをお勧めします。とても安全で安心して参加できます。

私は、送迎なしの現地集合で申し込みました。それは終わったあとはノースショアを楽しむ為、レンタカーを用意していたからです。ノースショアは車でないと行けないのでレンタカーで行かれたほがお勧めです。

場所は。アリイビーチの隣の港で看板が立っています。誰もいませんし、ちょっとわかりにくいので早めに行かれることをお勧めします。

”危ない号”という不思議な船で沖合に係留してあるケージまで移動します。
大体8人くらいでケージに入ります。

船の上からでもシャークの姿が見えますが、ケージの中に入ると目の前を3~5mのシャークが数匹ケージの周りを泳いでいます。船の上から餌を投入すると獰猛な一面が見れて大興奮します。20分程度で終わりますがとても楽しかったです。

但し、日本語が通じませんのでご注意ください。船から上がったらシャワーは隣のアリイビーチにありますので、レンタカーはアリイビーチに停めたほうがいいでしょう!ノースショアに行く予定があれば是非お勧めします。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

I met the sharks!!!

Reviewed by: Mahalo , 2015/08/03

The North Shore Shark Adventures was a very neat and wonderful experience. The boat ride out to the shark cage took about 15-20min. The crew members really stressed about safety first and were thorough about directions. They even had a sense of humor, which makes everything better. When we reached the shark cage the crew members separated all the costumers in to two different groups and we were escorted into the shark cage that was floating in the ocean. Being in the shark cage was kind of rough. The waves would rock/bob the cage from side to side and up and down. You really had to hang on to the cage bars to obtain stability. I personally wrapped my legs and arms around the shark cage ladder, which I found to be helpful. As soon as I stuck my head under water what I saw was absolutely amazing. 15-20 sharks swimming and circling the cage, each shark was at least 6-8 feet long. It was so peaceful and serene to see these sharks in their natural habitat swimming freely. Just a quick suggestion that if you plan on swimming with the sharks you may want to schedule this event early on in your trip because cancellations may occur due to the oceans unpredictability. For safety reasons they may cancel your shark adventures but they will call you in advanced to let you know. I suggested that if you are driving to the North Shore you call them to ask about cancellations before you make the trip up north.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

わんさかいました‼

Reviewed by: ヽ( ’ω’)/, 2018/04/26

女3人で参加しました♫
他に12名ほどの海外の人が参加されてましたが
私達は事前に酔いどめ薬を飲んでいましたが
船でサメのいるポイントに停まっている間はかなり船が揺れていました。
何人かの人はサメとご対面前に嘔吐されてましたが
酔いやすくなくても念の為酔いどめ薬を飲むことを強くオススメします。
いざ柵の中から潜ってみるとたくさんのサメと出会えます♫
なかなか身近で見れることがないのでテンション上がりますこれ‼
そしてサメの顔もハッキリ見えてかわいらしく見えちゃいます。笑
私達の順番は最後でしたが最初から嘔吐していた中東系ダンディなおじ様と同じグループでサメとご対面中の柵の中でも嘔吐が止まらずみんなそれはそれでいい意味でとても陽気に笑っていました。笑
おかげでサメが集まってくれるかも。笑
柵の中でも波が強くて柵にしがみつきっぱなしでしたがやってみる価値アリのアクティビティです‼
どのアクティビティもそうですが英語が話せない日本人でも他の国の参加者の方ととても仲良くなれます♫
ぜひまたハワイに行くときにはまた参加してみたいです。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

目の前を沢山のサメが泳ぐ姿が見れる! 酔い止めは必須。

Reviewed by: あいく, 2019/05/23

波の影響が少ないので朝早い出発がオススメと書かれていた為、
09:00発のツアーを申し込みました。
送迎をつけると高いのでレンタカーで現地集合プランを選択。
ホノルルからは1時間程で到着しました。
受付やツアーガイドは英語のみですが、
日本語の案内表等もあったので不便はありませんでした。
出航してから20分程でポイントに到着。
到着するとボートの周りに沢山のサメが寄ってきました。波の影響が少ない朝早い出発が良いとあった為、
09:00発のツアーを申し込みました。
レンタカーを借りていた為、現地集合にしましたが、ホノルルからは1時間程で到着しました。
受付やツアーガイドは英語のみですが、日本語の案内表等もあったので不便はありませんでした。
ポイントに到着した際は波が高く、酔い止めは必須だと思いました。
7-8名のグループ毎にケージの中に入ります。
水中カメラを持参したのですが、波がありなかなか上手く撮れませんでした。。
が、目の前をサメが優雅に泳ぐ姿は感動しました。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

楽しかったです〜♪

Reviewed by: HITOMI, 2016/04/11

2016年4月4日に行きました!ワイキキのホテルと船着場までの送迎付きで、とっても楽でした!マイクロバスも船も英語のみなので、英語が得意じゃない方はちょっと理解するのに苦労するかも。ワイキキからノースショアまで車で約50分。船に乗ってサメスポットまで約20分。かなり揺れます!船酔いする方は要注意!水とガムなど、酔い止め以外にも持参した方が良いかも。船に乗り込んだら、船長さんから、注意事項を説明いただいた後に、2チームに分かれて、支給されるシュノーケルを装着して沖にある檻に入ります。2〜3mほどの肉食のサメが20匹ほど泳いでいました。檻の近くまで泳いできますが、おとなしい(人間に慣れているのかな?)あまり怖くありません!15分ほど海の中でゆらゆらとシュノーケリングを楽しんで、チーム交代。チップは船の中にあるチップ入れへ入れます。任意です。ビデオは別途70でGoProで撮ってくれます。オリジナルTシャツも販売されていました。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Quite the exciting adventure!

Reviewed by: CoCo, 2017/03/30

This was such a neat experience that I'll never forget. We were so close to the sharks, which was somewhat scary, but mostly serene watching them swim by, really not caring about us humans in a cage. They come up to the sound of the boat because the area is usually filled with crabbers and they've become accustomed to eating the scraps. It was so neat being surrounded by these beautiful creatures and close enough to see the small barnacles attached to their bodies.

We did the 11am tour, which resulted in quite rocky waters (hence it being the latest option). The earlier times are much calmer waters and generally better visibility. The later time is not ideal for anyone sensitive to motion sickness, or nervous about the experience as it enhanced the intensity getting in and out of the cage. While in the water, we all had to hold on tightly to avoid hitting and kicking one another.

All that said, it was way worth it. Again, the earlier times and much calmer and even more enjoyable - highly recommend the tour, the earlier the better!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Amazing Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: webstersway, 2015/06/13

I must admit, I was a bit apprehensive about this adventure as the fateful morning arrived. We were in Oahu visiting our Son and his wife, she was particularly interested in the shark tour. My wife, on the other hand, would have none of it, fortunately, they have an 'Observer' option available. We boarded the Kai Ou after removing our shoes and headed out. The Captain explained that the sharks had become accustomed to the sound of the engines since there had been crabbing done in the past and they would not need to chum the water...we were going to be the bait. The water was absolutely beautiful, a bit on the choppy side, however, which made entering the cage a little more adventurous. It was really amazing being in the water with the sharks all around, there were between 8 and twelve, plus a few other fish, including some very large Trumpet Fish. I think my wife got the worst end of the deal as she was sea sick when we got back in the boat. The crew members were awesome, I would definitely recommend this adventure!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

最高!!

Reviewed by: miwa, 2007/09/02

今回、初めてシャークツアーの参加しました。
息子14歳、父65歳、私39歳の3人の参加。
主人、娘、母は怖がり、ノースショアを探索しておりました。
酔い止めを飲んで舟に乗った私でしたが、かなりの揺れに、
海に潜る前から、少々気分は悪かったです。ノースショアは、冬場はもっと波が出るでしょうから、冬に参加される方は覚悟がいります。
・・・が、外国人の方々が2組入ったあと、私達の番で、いざ潜ってシュノーケルで海の中を見ると、綺麗なサメが沢山、私達の檻の周りを泳いでいて、一気にテンションが上がりました!!
神秘的で、本当に美しかったです。
スタッフの方も、日本語はほんの少ししか通じませんが、日本語で書いてあるマニュアルもありますし、大丈夫です。
息子は、またやりたい!!と言っています

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

HIGHLIGHT OF MY TRIP

Reviewed by: TCheesman, 2012/09/11

When I first started planning my Hawaii trip, this was the NUMBER 1 adventure I wanted to do. How often do you get to say... 'yeah, I swam with sharks'. Now amount of words can describe how amazing, thrill seeking, over the top this adventure was...but I'm going to try. I first want to commend the staff of Hawaii Activities. For the first time in 11 years, the boat broke down the day i was suppose to go. Just my luck But the staff worked their magic and reschedule me and I was able to full-fill the highlight of my trip. It was SOOO unbelievably easy too because they make all the accommodations for you. Once at the boat site, you jump on and set off. I would recommend the earliest time available. The earlier, the smoother the waves FYI. So once out there, you are just in awe. There are sharks. AND you are about to get in a cage surrounded by them! I was so scared but this is something I knew I had to do. So i sucked it up and the moment you put your head under the water.... you are stun

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Shark Encounters - Oahu Shark Cage Diving Tour (from Haleiwa)

Shark

Reviewed by: Tyler, 2009/03/13

Totally awesome!!!! Let me tell you, I am one of those people who respect sharks so much, I try everything to stay away from them. I am enthralled with sharkweek on Discovery channel, but terrified of sharks. I was very hesitant in taking this tour, however believe it or not I'm the one who signed my wife and I up for it. I'M GLAD I DID! What an amazing experience. The staff were cool and kept things low key, didn't make any problems for anyone. They both were knowledgeable regarding the sharks we encountered. The only thing I would ask to change would be the viewing glass, not as big as I would have liked it, but then again I'm selfish. The other thing I would ask they enforce, or at least remind those in the cage, please don't let your legs go straight out. I kept getting kicked in the back cause the lady thought she could just hold onto the handrail and let herself strectch out...very annoying. Aside from those things...I'm definately going to do this tour again when I co

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

You must take this tour!!

Reviewed by: Hawaii Lover!, 2008/12/14

This tour was awesome! It was a moment of a lifetime!

I get very sea sick so I made sure to prepare which was a VERY good idea. I took meclazine the day before and then that morning about an hour before leaving. I took the first tour which is the calmest and clearest time. It definitly paid off because we had three people that were turning green on the boat.

Finding sharks was no problem. They came right up to the boat HUNGRY!! When it was your turn to get in it was amazing! It was scarier to see them above the water than when you got in. The water was so amazingly blue! The sharks were so gracefull and you didn't see any of the scariness you do from outside of the water.

I just wish that my expensive underwater camera worked!! None of my pictures turned out! I still have the moment and picture in my mind forever but I wanted to share it with others.

Do not miss this tour!! No mater how nervous you are if you event want to do this a little you should not

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Shark Encounters - Oahu Shark Cage Diving Tour (from Haleiwa)

DO THIS TOUR!

Reviewed by: UnderwaterAdventurer, 2007/05/10

It is unfortunate that sharks have gotten the label of being mindless eating machines that attack anything that twitches in the water. I was able to experience first hand just how wrong this stereotype actually is.

The moment we arrived, sharks began to make there way to us. The regulars, the Sandbar Sharks, are attracted to the sound of the boat engine and quickly swam up to say hi!, but then an unexpected visitor decided to drop by. My jaw literally dropped when I saw a HUGE tiger shark circling the boat. Then another came by...then ANOTHER! We were lucky since Tiger Sharks are fairly rare.

As the first four made there way into the shark cage, the remaining four, including me, waited on board and watched the sharks from the surface. These creatures just circled the cage and boat and at times a Tiger Shark would pop his head out of the water to munch on some fish. This shark could have easily bitten the crew member, but all he (she?) did was nibble and go.

If anything, it

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Without a doubt, the best thing I did all week.

Reviewed by: Rob R, 2013/09/02

When my friend asked me to do this with him, I was a bit hesitant. Not knowing what to expect, my imagination relived several scenes in "Jaws". After doing some research and coming to the realization that North Shore does this on a daily basis without people loosing limbs, I agreed. It turned out to be an absolutely phenomenal experience. We arranged for the hotel pickup and once in the van, took the 45 minute ride to the North Shore area of Oahu. Once at the marina, it's about a 20-30 minute ride out to the cage. The Captain went over all the safety instructions thoroughly and describes what types of sharks we would be seeing. His shark lecture was very informative and wasn't stumped when questions were asked. Once at the site, the cage is secured to the side of the boat and after the 8-10 passengers get in, the cage is allowed to float away about 20 feet. Observing the sharks was a thing of beauty and simply can't be described in words. I would do this again in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2013/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Ocean Diving - North Shore Swim with Sharks Tour with Marine Biologist

I didn't want to get my hopes up..

Reviewed by: Jill, 2017/05/24

My brother and I have long been shark fans. As a keen diver I've seen the occasional reef shark but wanted to see something bigger. We went out on the boat (limited to 6 of us) and after a short ride arrived at the site where we spent probably half an hour by the boat (holding onto the lines) then free swimming and diving with Galapagos and Sandbar sharks (around 40 at one point but always at least 15 around us at varying depths). There were multiple times when we could have touched one with a flipper they were that close but we didn't feel threatened at all (although i would be lying if I said we weren't a bit scared). There was only one shark that bared his teeth to us which was amazing to view and again not threatening. The staff made us feel very safe and are very passionate about the sharks. I've dived around the world but never come across an opportunity to swim with this many large sharks in the wild. I cannot recommend this enough. #HelpSaveSharks

  • Obviously not the real thing!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

6歳の子供と参加しました

Reviewed by: このみん, 2017/10/27

サメ好きの小学校1年生の息子と家族で参加しました。波が高くてどうなることかと思いましたが、ライフジャケットを着せてたっぷりサメを見れました。ゲージの隙間がかなり広くて、子供は容易にすり抜けられそうなほどでしたので、親としてはかなり恐怖でしたが、子供はしっかりゲージのバーにつかまっていたので、大丈夫でした。一緒にゲージに入ったスペイン人の女性の一人が、あろうことかウォーターシューズを履いて入ったので、靴ががんがん身体にあたってとっても痛かったです。船に乗船するときサンダルや靴はすべて脱いで入っているはずなのに、漏れていたようです。一緒に入るグループの人が靴やサンダルを履いていないかどうか、気を付けていたほうがいいです。それ以外は大満足でした。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Islandview Hawaii Shark Swim Adventure Tour (from Haleiwa, North Shore)

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: George, 2016/11/10

This was an awesome experience. I had done the shark cage before, but I never thought that I'd be able to swim with the sharks without cage. I was a bit skeptical about the safety, but once I was in the water, I didn't feel threatened at all. It was just a calm and relaxing experience, and the sharks were not interested in humans at all. The sharks we saw were mostly Sandbar Sharks and Galapagos Sharks, and they only eat fish. They were more attracted to the sound/vibration of the boat engine. So the guide instructed us to stay away from the boat, and we stayed together as a group. We only have a group of 5 with 1 guide and 1 photographer in the water, so the experience was very intimate.

I highly recommend this activity to anyone, and really observe the sharks in their environment. Forget about Shark Weeks, Jaws, etc., and go see them with their own eyes so you can cure people's misconception about these beautiful creatures.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

North Shore Shark Dive

Reviewed by: Tok2me64, 2012/06/25

Considering this is my 2nd submission I will repeat it because it was so fun! I talked my brother into doing this activity with me so when he agreed I was excited. First of all the capt and crew were super cool!! I am a straight out Claustrophobe and was nervous about the snorkel and mask having never used them but after I gained my bearings it was awesome to see we were surrounded by one of earth's most feared predators. There really was nothing to fear but I had been secretly hoping for a Great White drive by but accepted the sharks we were surrounded by. It was phenomonal to be in their domain as spectators. Overall it was a very cool activity that I would definitely recommend to all, minus the fact that after being the first cage down the remaining time was left with me hanging my head over the railing and counting the minutes until our return to shore. What good is dramamine I ask?
Thanks again for the ride.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

楽しかったです

Reviewed by: ぷっくん, 2015/04/28

10歳と7歳の子供と参加しました。
英語オンリーですが日本語で書かれたパンフレットもあり、特に困った事はありませんでした。
波は穏やかでしたが酔い止めを飲んでても酔うくらいの揺れはありました。
でも、檻に入ったらたくさんのサメがいて酔いも忘れるほど楽しかったです。
7歳の息子はサメが大好きなので大興奮してました。
息子が帰りにサメの絵を描いて船長さんに渡したらとても喜んでくれました。
後で現地の方に聞いたら、オーストラリアの参加者のかたが多くオーストラリアにもサメツアーはあるのですがものすごく高いので皆さんこちらでやられるそうです。
DVDが75ドルで買いましたがとても良い思い出になりました。
また行きたいけど、船酔いが恐いかな…

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

An Adventure to Remember!

Reviewed by: Ian & Tasha, 2014/10/04

My wife & I love Shark Week so this activity was a clear must do. There is so much to talk about for this activity, but I'll just break it down to pros & cons. Pros: the water is really warm and about 80ft of visibility, the crew was nice, the sharks ranged at a decent 10ft to 12ft, the sharks get extremely close to the cage where you can touch a fin (but they tell you don't so beware), and most importantly not even Jaws can get through that cage (super thick bars). Cons: it's a small boat so if your prone to motion sickness you NEED dramamime since your out there for about 2 hours, no food or snacks so bring some because after your 30min dive you will be hungry and its about 1-2 hrs before you get back to Waikiki, and this is a tip from the wife - the bathroom at the dock is a park restroom so no seat covers so byosc ;). Wish I had a photo to share off my phone since it was really cool but its all on the gopro.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Islandview Hawaii Shark Swim Adventure Tour (from Haleiwa, North Shore)

Incredible Experience

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2016/11/28

Without a question this is a 5 star experience. This is one of those moments in life you will never forget and will probably want to do again. The staff is very friendly and experienced and they have great respect for the ocean and its creatures. They gave us a safety briefing and explained what to expect with the sharks and what not do, first thing we heard was "keep all the negative associations with sharks at the shore, go in with an open mind".
We got to swim around Sandbar & Galapagos sharks ranging from 5-10 feet, absolutely mind blowing. Some of them were curious and came close to us! It was a little scared first, but the guide kept us safe during the whole time. While we were enjoying that magical moment another crew member took great pictures of the encounter.
Absolutely a must-do activity if you are in Hawaii. I would love to go out with the Islandview Hawaii crew again!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Sawyer, 2017/09/22

This trip to go cage diving with the sharks was incredible and unforgettable! To start off the bat, the crew Matt and Tanya were very nice, and knowledgeable. They are quick to ease anyones fear of being in harm or of risking the sharks being harmed in any way. Matt is full of jokes, almost like we got our own stand up before the main event! It was I believe 20 minutes of being in the water, more than enough time to watch the galapagos sharks swim by so elegantly. Once you get in the cage, you just seem to forget everything else, being surrounded by sharks close enough to see their pupils as they pass. Ultimately the sharks are rather disinterested in you, and more interested in the boat hoping for them to drop some crabs in the water thinking it's a fishing vessel. If you are on vacation, I would highly recommend this adventure, especially if you have a love for sharks like I do!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

シャークツアーに参加しました!

Reviewed by: りょうパパ, 2015/08/31

息子と二人で参加しました。ホノルル滞在先からveltraさんにネットで予約しました。前日の予約と言うことと時差の関係から、現地にも確認を入れ、念のために電話でも確認。電話で確認した時は、指定の11時に空きがありましたが、最終的に9時枠で確定でした。現地の人からは、その後予約が入り、一杯になってしまったとか?ピックアップは、サメの絵柄の車。ホテルから現場のハレイワまで、約一時間。そこからボートに乗り換え、20分にほどで到着。海は、透明度が高く、とても綺麗でした。実際に、あれだけ多くのサメを間近に見れたのは初めてで、とても貴重な体験が出来ました!また、船上では ジョーズの音楽も流れ、演出もなかなかでした。

  • 目の前にサメが!

  • 夢中に見ている息子

  • 安心して見れました!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

元祖・名物 ノースショア・シャーク・アドベンチャー<送迎・現地集合選択可>

いい体験ができました!

Reviewed by: kitty, 2014/07/19

20人乗りくらいのボートで荒波をこえ沖まで出ました。
日本人は私たちだけでした。
3グループに分けられ、順番に檻に入ります。
サメはボートのエンジン音で集まってくるのでたくさん見れました!
肉食ではないので人は襲わない種類らしく、安心して楽しめました。
待っている間のボートも、檻の中も、かなり揺れるのでほぼ全員船酔いしてました。
行きはノリノリで元気だったみんなが帰りは無言でぐったり。。。いい思い出です(笑)
注意事項にもあるとおり、酔い止めは絶対飲んだ方がいいですね。
あと、風が強いと寒いので羽織るものとすぐ体をふけるようにバスタオルは持って行った方がいいと思います。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Amazing Bucket List Item

Reviewed by: plomfs, 2015/09/14

Wife and I loved this tour. She was nervous going into it but once we got out there and she saw the other two groups go in prior to ours it helped to calm her nerves. The crew was great and very knowledgeable about the area and what we were seeing.

We felt very safe the entire time and thought the water was so blue and clear. Visibility in the cage was about 100ft in either direction.

Only thing I would suggest is to make sure you take something for Motion sickness prior to going out like we did. There were several on the boat who got sick several times while we were stationary next to the cage and a few others that got sick while in the cage.

It was a bucket list item for us and we are so happy we did it. We also got their video package which was $75 for a SD card recording of our time in the cage.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

You'd be Insane NOT to do it!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Alvarez, 2010/10/16

The Hi-light of our trip. The crew was AWESOME. They were very informative as well as entertaining. Even though we were in the ocean with a lot of sharks we still felt completely safe. This is the closest you can come face to face with nature w/o fearing for your life (well, almost - it is a little scary at first). The sharks are amazing animals. Can't put into words what its like to look a shark in the eye. You have to see it for yourself. We were in the cage for about 20-30 minutes, but it seemed like an hour and there was plenty of room. If you tend to get sea sick just take a pill and do it anyway. You won't regret it. Definately get the DVD, its about $65 and worth every penny. I'm pretty cheap myself, but knew I couldn't pass the DVD up. Totally worth it. Just DO IT and don't forget your underwater cameras.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories