Oahu to Big Island: Black Sand Beach, Waterfall & Volcanoes National Park Tour

great time.

Reviewed by: Brian Schreiber, 2017/07/24

Steve was an excellent tour guide, with lots of information about Hawaii's history. Everything went smoothly and we finally seen an active volcano in person. I would do it again, if I ever come back to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Hawaii

Reviewed by: Rebekah, 2017/07/18

Awesome day of seeing God's amazing creation of black sand beaches, active volcano, and beautiful blue water. Definitely the best day of our Hawaiin vacation. YB is an excellent guide, very personable and knowledgeable about the island. Lunch was delicious. My husband packed binoculars for the volcano - great idea for seeing the lava. The only stressful part was the airport. We flew in from Oahu. We were directed to 3 different desks (so 3 different long lines) before getting the correct info on where to print our tickets. Thankfully we didn't miss our flight.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice guide, mediocre experience

Reviewed by: Liz, 2017/06/09

From the description of the experience I thought we would be spending most of our day hoofing it outdoors, doing a one mile hike, walking up close to a volcano, etc.

This was the most mild-mannered tour imaginable. We spent MOST of the day on the bus, traveling between stops which we stayed at for 30-40 minutes. Our guide was good, his name is YB, and he took us to a really great cliffside spot that wasn't a scheduled part of the tour and I think that was my favorite part.

The two eateries we stopped at were not good. I don't know if the options on the Big Island are limited or what, but both places were not good at all.

I had an okay time but I wouldn't recommend this tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The day got better

Reviewed by: Mike A, 2016/09/11

Much of the morning was spent on only moderately interesting small excursions near Hilo, mainly arranged it seems with the purpose of allowing some guests to complete helicopter tours and for others to arrive later at the airport. Rather frustrating as I could have arrived 3 hours later and not missed much. Once we finally got the whole group on the way, the day was excellent with good guiding, fine weather and lots of highlights, but it could have been much better with a full day in the park.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

big day out

Reviewed by: JulieM, 2016/01/05

This is a long day but well worth it. We saw the coast of Hawaii, a waterfall and of course the Volcano area. We had an excellent knowledgeable guide, YB, which made the day better. The highlight was everything about the volcanoes but especially seeing the red glow of the lava/magma at night. A great way to see Hawaii from Oahu

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We encourage you to share your experience on social media. And, if there is anything we can help you with on a return visit to Hawaii, or your family and friends who would like to visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. Let them know Jason told you!

Mahalo,
Jason

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A bit of a long day!

Reviewed by: Melanie, 2015/09/07

This trip was great but could have been shortened by two hours either end without losing any of the experience. The food came in the form of a Chinese buffet and a Hawaiian buffet but unfortunately wasn't brilliant so if you're at all picky I'd bring your own snacks. Steve the tour guide was very informative and did his best to make sure everything ran on time and smoothly.

Please be aware you won't see molten lava on this trip unless you take s helicopter tour over the vent. The scenery is stunning and the hike was very easy and doable by almost any fitness level.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review, Melanie! We are always aiming to improve our guest's experience, and your feedback is genuinely appreciated :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

worth waking up early

Reviewed by: Constanze, 2015/07/02

A fantastic tour of wonderful sights of Hawaii. Well organized and a great tour guide! The guide (YB) was the best guide I've ever had on a tour. He knew how to transfer his love for the island! Very well worth every cent!!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your excellent review, Constanze! We're so happy that you enjoyed yourself :)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WHAT A DAY

Reviewed by: ALAN KUNOVSKY, 2014/11/09

This was a day trip we will never forget. The whole trip was well organised and the tour guide was knowledgeable and very funny.The highlight was to stand on the summit of an active volcano and at night to see the red glow coming from the crater.
Highly recommended .


  • ENTRANCE TO THE PARK


  • THE SUMMIT


  • PRE-HISTORIC SCENE


  • FROM THE JAGGAR MUSEUM


  • KILAUEA AT NIGHT

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: lee, 2013/10/31

We had a very good tour guide and I enjoyed this tour very much.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Vocano tour

Reviewed by: Angelia Turberville , 2013/05/24

Enjoyed it immensely driver was knowledgable. All thou I did not appreciate being asked for a gratuity. I as everyone else employed is not tipped for doing my job, tip service started for servers/waitresses.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big island volcano Eco tour

Reviewed by: Bribon, 2013/03/29

Great tour! Could have been a shorter stay at the Japanese gardens. Problems with the airline to the island and back, but that's beyond the tours control. We had a great tour guide Jay, he was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/01

This was such a fun tour - the guide was terrific and very knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

needs improvement

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/23

At the get go we were dropped off at airport and was told by the driver our tour guide would meet us at gate D and left. no one was at the go airlines ticket booth but there was a line waiting to check in. our group got into line and waited. another group showed up and was led to a different section by their driver and made sure everyone was checked. After that group had left, we were informed we needed to be in the other line. (Great Start) Go air lines needs major improvements.!!!! delayed long time going to main island and delayed several hrs returning. The tour guide was nice but repeated himself several times....on the brochure it stated we would visit the macadamia nut or candy factory. when asked the tour guide said he would try to fit it in. eventually we went to the macadamia nut factory. Take the tour with a small group. The large tour bus can not take some of the hills and you would miss some instresting sites.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Girl's Trip, the perfect tour

Reviewed by: TCheesman, 2012/08/22

With this being my first trip to Hawaii, I was very appreciative of the Hawaii Activities website. It gave all the information i could need and more. I didn't know walking on an active volcano was possible!! This is also the easiest tour due to the accessibility Hawaii Activities provides. All we had to do was show up at the required area and presto, we were on the move and taken care of. Now, i will say that I didn't walk as much as i thought we would, there is a lot of time in the bus but don't let that stop you. The tour guides are hilarious and have a vast amount of knowledge! You are not bored for a moment. Oh, forgot to mention that you do so much more than see a volcano... there's black sand, sea turtles, bottomless pits, huge trees, and more! If you are looking for something unique and life changing, this is the perfect trip. PS, i went in August and wished I had packed snacks, windbreaker and light jacket. ENJOY!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/22

Had a great time even though it drizzled rain off and on. Tour guide had so much knowledge and was very willing to explain the different areas and answer all questions to help us understand the volcanoes.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Volcano Eco-Tour

Reviewed by: Kingfubu, 2012/02/28

The best part of the tour was the tour guide he was very knowledgeble and he took the effort to come with us show stuff which we would have missed. we really enjoyed the tour and highly reccomend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun filled day

Reviewed by: Robb, 2011/11/08

Overall a great trip and a great experience. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and combined humor and history for an informative day. A lot of stops are packed into this tour, so be ready for a long day of touring, sightseeing, and getting on/off the bus. My favorite parts were walking through the lava tube, hiking the trail through the sulfur vents (phew!) and the nightime observation of the couldron.

Unfortunately, there were no accessible areas to view actual laving flowing, but I knew this going out. I would recommend a helicopter tour if you want that experience.

The tour stop meals were not too bad. And after a long day of touring, a cool beer sure tastes good.

I would definitely recommend this tour and this agency to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good but not great

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/09/25

The biggest problem right off the bat was that it rained the entire day. While the tour company could obviously not prevent this, they could have pointed out that it rains 50% of the time in the Big Island, that way we could have been better prepared with ponchos or rain gear. They strongly pointed out that it can be cold at the top, so to bring a jacket, but nothing about the high probability of rain.

They could have also pointed out the lack of food options and high prices for low quality food. Again, so that we could have been better prepared and perhaps brought some snacks.

Our tour guide, Jay, was extremely knowledgeable, funny, and kind. He was one of the highlights of the trip. The volcano park itself was quite interesting, but a little disappointing as we could see any lava at the top.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It could be more fun...

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/23

Worth the tour but tour guide was a retired person and did not accompany the group to the hiking area. He basically just waited at the parking lot area.

The people in the tour were also quite anti-social so the spirit was not there. Could be more fun with a more energetic tour guide. And the tour guide was pretty rude when telling people to get off the bus. He shouted: "Out! Out! Out!" everytime the bus stopped at an attraction. He said he expected us to get out immediately when he stopped. That was so weird.

Also, the first half of the morning was wasteful until we hit the National Volcano park. We were left in the Japanese Garden when it was raining and the tour guide had to pick up 2 more people.

We were told that the hikes would be quite challenging but in fact they were not.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava and vulcanos

Reviewed by: Maj Juul, 2011/07/13

If you're into clutted lava, active vulcanos and steam you should definetly go on this adventure. The guide was great and very knowledgeable. The trip is not physically demanding and can be recommended for everyone.








Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mr.

Reviewed by: Jeff Meyer, 2010/11/22

Only OK. Too much time traveling and the one thing we signed up to see, which was volcano activity close-up, we were told numerous times all day that there was a chance we wouldn't be able to see any. Why wasn't this told to us in this fashion before we signed up? Then when our tour guide found out that lo and behold we'd be able to see some activity, he dropped us off over a mile away, gave us a flashlight and sent us on our way. That was OK, but then when we arrived we were still a significant distance away, and honestly could have been looking at a small brush fire. We spent over a thousand dollars and a whole day of our trip for the most part on a small bus. The garden was fine, the volcano and black sand beach was great, but the rest was lacking. Again only OK...

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous & Fun

Reviewed by: Margaret & Zara, 2010/10/30

Phoenix was an excellent guide, giving valuable and informative narration. Especially knowledgeable with regard to the island flora and geology. The information was given in an accessible manner, pitched perfectly. Transportation in the mini-bus was comfortable. Lunch was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed the Japanese garden tour. Great value for money, highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tours on the big Island

Reviewed by: Shane and Drayanna, 2010/10/20

We had an AWESOME time our guide was John and he was all that we could ask for in a guide. His fun additude and personality made the trip so fun and enjoyable that we want to do it again when we come back to Hawaii. John, Thanks for being the best and funest guide we had during our entire trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/01

This tour basically takes in the same sights you would get to on your own with a car, but of course offers the convenience of not having to drive yourself, or rent a car if you come from another island for the day, as I did. Participants should realize how far away the public is kept from active lava, and remember to bring binoculars! I shared mine with a few other people, who otherwise would probably have been quite disappointed. I would suggest a little more time at the volcano, and less elsewhere, though the guide's comments about his hometown of Hilo were interesting. Perhaps add a stop at the Sulfur Banks? I was very interested to see the new pit at Halemaumau, particularly since my wife and I had been standing at the old overlook about six years ago, which is now gone! Lava was visible (see photo) coming down the hill from Pu'u O'o crater, though to see it entering the sea you would have to take a boat trip. And seeing the "oceanview" lots on fresh lava flows for sale was amusing



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fabulous day

Reviewed by: Sandra from Australia, 2010/01/26

It was hard to decide which of the volcano tours to take, but I'm glad I finally settled on this one. The service from start to finish was excellent - on time, comfortable, with a great guide in Jarred. He was funny, informative about the Big Island and its eco-system, very personable - and an excellent driver - loved the funner driving on the up and down road. The caldera was in excellent form, billowing huge smoke clouds, although the night lava flow was a little less co-operative, but interesting anyway. The food and toilet stops were always timely, but occasionally a little too long. Loved the black sand beach and all the other beautiful walks and sights. It was a long day, but full of things to do and see and very little just sitting around. I would recommend this tour to older kids, parents, friends and anyone interested in seeing some fabulous nature.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Neat to see at night

Reviewed by: Iowa Couple, 2010/01/01

The best part was the last - viewing the lava flowing into the sea at night. We could have used more time at the last two stops and skipped the orchid factory. The noon meal at the country club was awful. We didn't get a chance to have anything for supper. We stopped just before the lava viewing and tried to get food. One couple ordered some food and it never came so they lost $20. We bought a block of cheese and an apple at the convenience store and shared a bite with them. I had already trecked three miles out to see the lava flow four years ago and knew this excursion was not the same. I think some people thought they would actually see lava flow and not just the smoke plume and orange glow.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Big Island Tour

Reviewed by: s.lawit, 2009/07/31

This was the first time for my wife and I on the Big Island. We were staying on Oahu and the tour was very well organized from the beginning. We were very impressed. We were picked up on time, taken quickly to the airport where boarding passes were waiting for our group. We were picked up by our tour guide, Kama Ki, immediately after landing at Hilo.

Kama Ki was very friendly and knowledgeable. He had many entertaining facts and stories that kept us entertained through the whole day. The tour moved quickly, and given the breadth of the tour we had a good amount of time at each location. There were certainly places we would have enjoyed staying longer, but that is for another time. I know some people who were visiting the Big Island on their own, and they certainly did not get such a comprehensive experience as we did.

Overall, this was a great tour that we are very glad we took. It left us wanting more of the Big Island, which I think is exactly how a tour like this should leave

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/05/29

It was a really great tour and activity, we had a small bus and the guide was so friendly and gave a very good tour and took us to some places which were not on the list since we had extra time...really fun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful day trip!

Reviewed by: Twinner, 2009/05/28

We got a lot of great photos and great memories from our excursion to the Big Island! We didn't know that it usually rains in Hilo, so we weren't prepared for the rain or the cloudy skies. Luckily, the rain was misty and was not a problem. Visibility, however, was an issue when visiting the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. It was still very enjoyable and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in seeing a lot of the variety that Hawaii has to offer. It was an amazing day and I would do it again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Breathtaking experience

Reviewed by: Monica, 2009/05/18

From start to finish this was by far the best tour we took while visiting Hawaii! We were staying in Waikiki for a week to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and took many tours but this was by far the greatest!!! My husband wanted nothing more than to see an active volcano and boy did we! The pure joy and excitement on his face for the whole day was worth every cent spent on this enjoyable trip. Our tour guide (John) was FABULOUS!!! It was like visiting with an old friend that was a local. He was friendly, informative, and fun. He deserves a raise, a promotion, or both! The day was funfilled! We got to see so much in one day it was amazing. It was a day jam packed with sights but we never felt rushed or like we were missing anything. This is a tour I could take again and again, worth it! I wish I could say more but basically it was a BLAST!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI