Makani Deluxe Turtle Canyon Morning Snorkel Sail with Lunch (from Kewalo Basin)

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Benjamin Williams, 2017/07/31

I had an awesome time snorkeling at Turtle basin with Makani tours and I was thrilled by the turtles who lifted their heads out of the water next to me
I wish it could have been longer!

Our guide was very helpful and informative and he dived down to the seafloor and brought up a sea urchin and an unusual starfish too

The captain and his crew were all very friendly and they went out of their way to make sure we were all safe and comfortable. The food provided was quite ordinary but healthy.

I would do this again if I revisit Hawaii:)

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Makani Guests
Thank you so much for choosing Makani and sharing your experience! We look forward to having you again!
Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

TURTLES! TURTLES! TURTLES!

Reviewed by: MLDurango, 2017/07/23

Amazing day on the water with Makani Catamaran. On time hotel pick up and drop off. The water was a little rough but we didn't notice after awhile. Lifeguards paddled around with us pointing out turtles - very safety conscious operation. We saw a dozen turtles of all different sizes - some sleeping on the bottom, some swimming around. All kinds of fish there too. The turtles were awesome and the highlight of our time on Oahu. The boat was very clean and comfortable - not crowded at all, plenty of room for everyone. Lunch was good too - plenty of food (sandwich fixings and chips) and the signature cocktail was delicious! Crew was great as well - very personable, lots of Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Barboza, 2017/06/16

Even though the catamaran was a little too crowded, I and my friends had a blast!
There was a good mix of activities to do during the two hour trip. The boat ride included a full hour of snorkeling (all equipment was included) and another hour of cruising around. The crew was extremely welcoming and knowledgeable. They accompanied us out in the water and would help point out different sea life for their guests to see. One of the crew members even swam down to the ocean floor and brought up a starfish and a sea urchin!! Great if you want to see fish, turtles and dolphins! Highly recommended!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much! We a happy that you enjoyed your sail with us! We look forward to having you sail with us again soon! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blown Away

Reviewed by: MChadha, 2017/06/16

I was genuinely blown away and taken aback by the generosity and enthusiasm the crew displayed for the entirety of our trip. From the very first safety presentation to the very last goodbye the entire crew had smiles on their faces and made sure the entire boat felt safe, happy, and excited. My experience in the water was indescribable. We saw turtles, fishes, and myriad of beautiful marine life. I definitely was not expecting to be able to see such a wide variety of sea creatures! One of crew members kept swimming deep down into the ocean to collect star fish for us to hold in our hands. When my goggles weren't fitting on my head the way I wanted them to, the crew members patiently adjusted them until they were just the way I wanted them. Additionally, I was extremely nervous about the whole trip because I am not a strong swimmer. I am more than happy to say that there was not a single moment on the trip where I felt unsafe and the warmth that the crew members displayed gave me the courage to jump off the boat later. I highly recommend this cruise for all groups of people- families, senior trippers, teenagers, and adults! They are all bound to have the time of their lives and will certainly not regret it!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! We certainly love to share what comes naturally for us and that is creating memorable experiences!
Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall Amazing Experience!

Reviewed by: Cat D., 2017/06/16

Perfect mix of activities to do during the two hour trip. The boat ride included a full hour of snorkeling (all equipment was included) and another hour of cruising around. The crew was extremely welcoming and knowledgeable. They accompanied us out in the water and would help point out different sea life for their guests to see. One of the crew members even swam down to the ocean floor and brought up a starfish and a sea urchin!! They also made sure to put the safety of the attendants above all, thoroughly explaining how to use the equipment and not letting anyone swim too far from the boat during the snorkeling portion. It was nice to feel safe and comfortable, especially for those of us who had never done something like this before. It was also great if you want to see fish, turtles and dolphins! The only reason I would give this excursion a four out of five rating is because the boat was a little crowded. For the size of the catamaran the amount of guests let on should be lower. It was difficult to fit all the guests either into the cabin portion or onto the front deck. But still highly recommend:)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Probably better for families with kids!

Reviewed by: Tarryn , 2017/06/14

As a newly engaged couple in Hawaii, we thought going on a turtle snorkel would be great fun... but it is probably more suited to families with kids, which there were a few on the boat. The boat crew were really great, very warm and friendly, and we felt safe at all times. The actual snorkelling itself was okay, probably not the best day for it as the weather was relatively cloudy, but we did see a few turtles and reef fish. Water was somewhat cloudy. Food provided was good, great fruit salad and pasta salad. Perfect length of time (3hrs round trip)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

relaxing sail

Reviewed by: Janice J, 2017/03/31

The day was very windy to start. There were about 8 of us all-together aboard the catamaran. The staff was extremely polite and welcoming, also the food was great! Sandwiches/pasta salad/fruit/drinks.
Unfortunately, because of the swell and the windy weather, the turtles were not around to view. I saw one little tiny dude pop up and swim away for a moment... that was all.
Id say all in all, it would have been a 5 star review had I been able to see some turtle power.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day Spent Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Charles J., 2015/12/17

We had a beautiful day to snorkel. My wife did the snorkeling while I enjoyed the sun, food and drinks on the catamaran. When she finished she told me about the turtles she saw and the fish as well. We can't wait until we get the pictures back that she took under water. The crew were friendly and helpful. We would book the again if we return to Oahu.


  • Me enjoying the view.


  • Diamond Head

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sun....Fun and Hawaii's best

Reviewed by: Kitty & Scott AZ, 2015/10/12

We had a great time on the Molokini the staff was friendly and accommodating Captain Jack greeted us at the gangplank Amy the first mate and Anna the barkeep were spectacular and made us feel special. Our group was very young and enthusiastic we had a great time we sailed out to our snorkel spot once we made anchor the crew gave us a quick instruction and they were ready with the gear we dove into the ocean and got to see giant sea turtles,dolphins, octopuses every kind of fish you could ever want to to see. Once we got back into the boat the crew sailed us out past Diamondhead they put out spectacular lunch buffet which included fresh fruits vegetables all the sandwich fixings one could ever want fresh potato chips and of course all the famous drink called the HIGH TIDE. I highly recommend them. We got to sail back and we all enjoyed great photographic opportunities ,blue sky ,green mountains, white clouds and lots of people enjoying themselves. Regardless if you are a seasoned sailor or a first time snorkeler you will have fun. We have been to Hawaii many times and this was by far the best snorkel sail we have been on. The boat is clean and well kept. Have fun!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sailing fun!

Reviewed by: Bama, 2015/07/06

We enjoyed the sailing more than the snorkeling but that was partly due to the fact that they require you to wear a life jacket while snorkeling. We both had issues with our goggles but were still able to see four sea turtles which was really cool.

The biggest "con" about this trip was the food. I personally couldn't eat the lunch meat they provided and would have preferred a pb&j option. With that being said, you could easily bring your own food and not have an issue.

Back to the sailing, it really was the highlight of the day if not our whole trip. It was a beautiful day and we caught a great wind that took us to the edge of Diamond Head. Being out on the open water was amazing. The water is even more beautiful out that far.










Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Oahu / Waikiki Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI