This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Makani Deluxe Turtle Canyon Morning Snorkel Sail with Lunch (from Kewalo Basin)

Wonderful Sunday morning!

Reviewed by: Ben Hickman, 2018/10/28

My wife and I took the 3 hour turtle canyon snorkel cruise on the Makani Catamaran. The crew was top tier helpful and friendly all the way and the experience was incredible! They fed us mixed fruit on the way out to the snorkel spot and a sandwich bar after our hour long swim. We were able to get some really incredible footage of the tropical fish and sea turtles on our GoPro. My dear wife is still glowing hours later from happiness. Definitely recommend this cruise as a “must do” for your Hawaiian vacation!




  • Wind power!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Catamaran and Turtles

Reviewed by: Agnes, 2018/10/23

We went on the turtle tour on Saturday morning! Everything was well organized!
Once we registered, we were told in an email where we'd be picked up from (since we weren't staying at any of the original pick up points). The pick up was right on time and really close to our hotel.
The tour itself was wonderful. The crew was professional and extremely friendly. They made sure we felt safe and comfortable at all times!
As a bonus to the turtles of which we saw plenty (about 12 or so!) We also got to see a pod of dolphines!

It was a great time and I'd recommend it for all kinds of individuals, from couple's to families to solo travelers!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience!!!

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2018/10/17

It was an amazing experience. We ended up booking last minute because another one of our excursions was cancelled. Absolutely no regrets. Super friendly and helpful staff. They even helped me book over the phone. Once we got there it only got better. The boat was beautiful and very well maintained. The boat staff was very informative on the sea life and the location they took us too. They made sure while we were snorkeling that we got an opportunity to see an array of sea life. The guides took time to point out different fish, sea turtles and even rays! On the way back the captain stopped the boat to allow everyone to watch a large pod of dolphins pass by. They came very close to the boat! We would highly recommend this experience for anyone of any age.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice crew/ nice boat/ mediocre experience

Reviewed by: Jason Johnson, 2018/07/27

The boat and crew were very nice. We enjoyed our time on the catamaran. The snorkeling experience was subpar. There were a lot of people at turtle canyon lobbying for the same space to get a glimpse of a turtle. Nothing against the charter but the snorkeling was lame.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice boat/nice crew/subpar snorkel experience

Reviewed by: Jason Johnson, 2018/07/26

The boat and the crew were pretty nice. Overall the company was good. The snorkeling experience was pretty bad. Maybe it’s turtle canyon or maybe it was the large crowds of people cluttering in the same spot. Other charters were there at the same time which I recognize has nothing to do with this company. I was kicked quite a few times in the head because of the crowds so we just swam back to the catamaran and payed out on the boat which was enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super fun and friendly crew!

Reviewed by: Chelsea S., 2018/07/19

It was our first time snorkeling in Oahu and we definitely chose the right sail! From pick up to drop off, everything was super smooth and the Makani Crew were awesome and very friendly. We were able to see a total of probably four turtles including two up close who came to the surface for air. The lifeguards who were in the water were great, not only protecting patrons on our boat but the general public snorkeling in Turtle Canyon as well. Very professional! I would definitely recommend adding this activity to your list while in Honolulu! Mahalo Makani!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Chelsea. Thank you so much for your comments! We aim to please and safety is always first with our crew! We look forward to having you aboard again soon! Take Care! MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing turtle adventure

Reviewed by: Ethan , 2018/07/06

Amazing tour. The captain and crew were very friendly and accommodating. We went out early and got to the turtle hangout pretty quckly. There were 3 other tour boats in the area but it wasn't too crowded and our boat stayed the longest. I was the only tourist in the water with the turtles by the end of it. Two lifeguards stayed in the water with us and we saw a number of turtles in our time there. The turtles weren't scared and surfaced a few times while we were in the water. It was an awesome experience and highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Family Experience

Reviewed by: Elena, 2018/06/16

The entire family got up so early because it is our very first time snorkeling and having the luxury of seeing sea turtles at the same time! It only took us five minutes to get to the pick up point since the two hotels are so close to each other! it was a short but nice ride to the harbor and once we got there we went to check in immediately, the wait to get on to the boat was about 15 minutes, when things were all ready, we jumped in immediately and could not wait longer to see some turtles! It took us about 30 minutes to get to the Turtle Canyon, and before we could do anything, our instructor and captain made sure everyone knows the safety precautions, how to wear and operate our equipment, which I think was very important. When we jumped into the big blue ocean, we had life guards surrounded us, making sure we didn't go too far away. The sea turtles were very easy to spot and we follow them as they swam around. Life guards would also direct us to the turtles in case you could not find them. After swimming in the ocean for about an hour, we got back and the crew had already prepared some nice and delicious sandwiches for us to fill our stomach. We went out further to the ocean for about another half an hour,our family had a really good time and once again I wanted to say that the crew was super friendly, patient and responsible! I would definitely love to do it again when we visit next time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An unforgettable experience!

Reviewed by: Jed Jin, 2018/06/16

This is our family’s first ever trip to Hawaii and it is also our first time snorkeling in the big ocean! We went to our pick up point on time and the bus was there already waiting for us, since we were the last group on board, the bus started after we all get on, it was a very short ride and we went to check in right after that. Check in was easy, showed them my phone and we were told to wait for awhile before we could get on board. After 15 minutes of wait, we were invited to hop on to the boat. It was a pretty big boat! Very roomy and spacious, and we were all very excited to get started. The captain and instructors were all very friendly. As the boat left shore, one of the instructors were patiently explaining to us how to use those gears. We were all lying on the front of the boat, the view was super nice and awesome and once we reached the turtle valley, we were all super excited and jumped straight into the ocean. There were two life guards around us all the time, they held us accountable and were very responsible, making sure we were together all the time. As sea turtles swam, they would direct us to them and through those goggles, we managed to see the beauty of the ocean and had a fantastic experience!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Turtle Snorkel Cruise

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/05

Thank you Makani Catamaran for such a lovely morning. I had a great time on the snorkel cruise, the Waikiki coastline is beautiful. It was amazing to swim around so many turtles and fishes. The crew members were very professional and friendly and the picnic lunch was very tasty. The boat is clean, specious, comfortable and has indoor and outdoor seating options. I would for sure cruise again with Makani Catamaran, the snorkel cruise at turtle canyon was one the highlights of my trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Sonya, 2018/06/01

Great time sailing out and seeing dolphins and green turtles! The crew was superb!! We had a delicious lunch and drinks. My husband especially enjoyed the snorkeling. The sail back was fun. The fresh Pacific air felt so good! We’d definitely do this again.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Professional and friendly!

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2018/05/01

A very enjoyable and fun filled activity. It was actually great to have a little workout with the flippers kicking through the water.

We spotted adult and baby turtles and even a couple of small sharks. One of the staff members informed us that this was because of the scuba divers disturbing them during their sleep. Made for a very interesting day!

The staff were super friendly and attentive. My friend and I had a bit too much 'juice' to drink the night prior, and they made sure we felt comfortable and ok with a bucket on hand.

Food was fresh too. Nice fruit, sandwiches and salad to munch on after a refreshing swim.

All in all a great experience. Would recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2018/04/30

I booked this tour just one day in advance and everything worked out great! The crew was super nice and very helpful, always pointing out where the turtles were. I saw 5 turtles swimming with us, coming to the surface and diving back down. Totally recommend this tour and definitely would do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great turtle viewing!

Reviewed by: Nicole , 2018/04/03

This was a great experience! We went the end of March on the morning trip. We boarded the boat and were given some fruit for breakfast while heading to Turtle Canyon. Once we go there were were given vests, snorkels and fins. 2 guides came out in the water to help spot the turtles. I was shocked at how many turtles we saw! I think it was about 12 (kinda hard to tell if we saw any of the same ones swimming around multiple times). At one point I looked down and there were 4 large turtles and 1 smaller one below us all getting cleaned! 2 turtles even surfaced so we were right by them. After snorkeling we got back in the boat for the sandwich bar lunch with fruit and pasta salad. They also opened up the bar to use our free drink coupon. They had a wide variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drink options. We ate while heading back to the dock. Unfortunately we didn't see any dolphins or whales. It was a beautiful view of Diamond Head and Waikiki beach. Overall, a great experience I would recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip.

Reviewed by: Robert Brown, 2018/03/09

The makani turtle canyon snorkeling adventure was a blast! We started off with a shuttle pickup at our hotel. The shuttle was right on time. We got to the launch site and received our boarding passes and drink tickets then set sail. The crew was awesome! They gave us a safety briefing and made sure everyone was set. In one trip we saw whales, dolphins, sea turtles and tons of fish. I would recommended this snorkel adventure to anyone!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for sailing with us and sharing your Makani experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Michael Hill , 2017/12/26

Great trip for families. It was our first time in Hawaii and thought snorkeling would be fun. The crew were great and helped out a lot. I thought the price was a little high for the trip but other than that it was fun. The weather was fantastic and food was fine

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience with great value

Reviewed by: James, 2017/12/25

This snorkelling tour was absolutely fantastic! Our transfer bus picked us up exactly on time with no hassle, and was there are the pier to take us home straight after the tour. Checking in at the terminal and collecting the boarding passes was very easy. The boat was fantastic, as were the crew. After only about 15 minutes on the boat, we were out at Turtle Canyon where we saw numerous turtles, both at the bottom of the ocean and at the surface. Two turtles were incredibly friendly and came right up to the surface to say hello!

We were served with fresh fruit for breakfast as soon as we got out on the water, and a fresh sandwich bar for lunch with plenty of food. The drinks selection onboard was also fantastic. After snorkelling, the crew took us out sailing down the coast to get great views of the island, and of Diamond Head.

I would definitely recommend this to both couples and families, as it was such great value for money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Trip

Reviewed by: Shawn503, 2017/12/24

The boat was gorgeous. The crew was friendly and helpful. It was a beautiful ride out to see the turtles! Lunch was good and they had a nice fruit salad for a breakfast snack! The price was great. We would definitely go out with them again!





Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Christmas vacation

Reviewed by: Michael Hill , 2017/12/24

Families first time snorkeling. The crew was great. They took the time to help everyone get fitted and went thru the steps of what we all needed to do. They were great with the kids. Everyone saw turtles and we saw a tiger shark. The only negative I would say was the cost of the trip for kids. Lil spendy I thought.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family experience!

Reviewed by: Michael Hill , 2017/12/24

Great experience with the family. Perfect weather for Christmas vacation. We have never snorkeled before and the crew was fantastic. Great with everyone and very helpful. I would only say that I think the cost was a little high for the kids and the trip. Snorkel time was about 30 minutes. Overall it was a good learning experience. Good food. Beautiful boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A DREAM COME TRUE!!

Reviewed by: KyPie&Zach, 2017/12/03

The Makani Turtle Canyon Snorkel Cruise was the most extraordinary activity we participated in while staying on Oahu! Our day on the boat was just perfect. Their shuttle conveniently picked us up and dropped us off right in front of our hotel so there was no hassle with driving, nor parking. The entire crew greeted us with kindness and aloha onto their modern, well appointed, clean and comfortable vessel. We were welcomed onto the boat as though we were Ohana! Not only did we enjoy a top notch selection of both alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages and a hearty sandwich buffet but my goodness, talk about THE SNORKELING AND SWIMMING!!! The crew shared excellent information with us on ocean safety and gave us a good idea of what to expect while on the cruise. The crew also shared a great knowledge of marine and sea life, and shared wonderful stories of the islands, too. We snorkeled and swam to our hearts content! We saw such a variety of gorgeous, brilliantly colored tropical fish and other little creatures native to Hawaiian waters. Of course the highlight of our cruise, though, were the Hawaiian green sea turtles. We were expecting (hoping!) to see at least one or two turtles amongst the tropical fish while snorkeling off the boat but it ended up there were so many that they were EVERYWHERE WE LOOKED! They welcomed us into their warm blue waters and swam so peacefully and in harmony with us. This was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives and a memory that we will forever cherish and share! Don't miss your opportunity to experience this absolute Hawaiian BLISS!!!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling with the Sea Turtles!

Reviewed by: Olga, 2017/11/25

It was a perfect morning for snorkeling with the sea turtles overlooking Waikiki beach! The captain and the crew were professional but laid back, and the catered food was excellent. The family enjoyed the catamaran ride, the warm waters and cool ocean breeze. It's like swimming in a giant aquarium, and you're guaranteed to swim with the sea turtles!


  • Catamaran ride to Kewalo Basin


  • First Sea Turtle Spotted

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling with the Sea Turtles!

Reviewed by: Olga, 2017/11/25

It was a perfect morning for snorkeling with the sea turtles overlooking Waikiki beach! The captain and the crew were professional but laid back, and the catered food was excellent. The family enjoyed the catamaran ride, the warm waters and cool ocean breeze. It's like swimming in a giant aquarium, and you're guaranteed to swim with the sea turtles!


  • Catamaran ride to Kewalo Basin


  • First Sea Turtle Spotted

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Turtles!

Reviewed by: Pa Chia , 2017/10/15

The overall experience was wonderful. The crew members were nice and helpful. This was our first time snorkeling and they assisted us with how to put on the mask correctly and how to use the snorkel. I tried using the mask before and failed miserable with a mouth full of sea water. We were able to see three sea turtles on our trip out along with a school of fish. The sailing was also wonderful since it was also our first time sailing. Definitely recommend for anyone who have not snorkel or sail. It was also nice to have a bar on board also.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!! :)

Reviewed by: Jackie. , 2017/10/14

We had a great time with our group of 8. Booking was easy with an accurate itinerary. All of staff members were fun, very helpful, and informative. They really put you at ease and made you feel like their family. They even made sure the people with sea sickness, myself included, were ok and gave tips on how to help relieve it. The sailing and snorkeling was the perfect amount of time, not too long not too short, where you had enough time to sight see and see the turtles and underwater life yet not get too bored or burnt out. It was fun seeing the turtles, fish as well as the scuba divers who were able to get down and a lot closer to the sea life. I highly recommend booking this trip when you come to visit Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family fun half day snorkel

Reviewed by: Christian Britton, 2017/10/12

Great experience for the entire family or the new to snorkeling folks. Sail on a roomy Catamaran just miles off shore and stop along this giant reef where sea turtles have taken up residence. Catching good sights on about 5-8 turtles along with tons of marine fish. Very experienced crew who were all about keeping everyone safe. Life vest were a requirement and the crew was very attentive thorough out. Once snorkeling was done, we enjoyed an amazing make it yourself fresh turkey and ham sandwiches with fresh fruit. Drinks were also available including mixed drinks and beer. After lunch we enjoyed a nice relaxing sail along the coast line near wikiki and diamond head where you find yourself dozing off on the boat. Fun half day experience for the entire family. Transportation available to and from and no need to worry about getting sea sick. Fins and snorkels provided.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Jackie. , 2017/10/12

We had a great time with our group of 8. Booking was easy with an accurate itinerary. All of staff members were fun, very helpful, and informative. They really put you at ease and made you feel like their family. They even made sure the people with sea sickness, myself included, were ok and gave tips on how to help relieve it. The sailing and snorkeling was the perfect amount of time, not too long not too short, where you had enough time to sight see and see the turtles and underwater life yet not get too bored or burnt out. I highly recommend booking this trip when you come to visit Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani deluxe turtle canyon

Reviewed by: Kang moua, 2017/10/12

First time family trip. The process wasvery quick and easy, after a Quick registration t
hrough Hawaiian Activities website and a confirmation via email was sent a short time afterwards. We came as a family. So far the process easy and fast. It was a very safe and beautiful trip we all experience. When we arrived at the water a quick verification of vouchers and received our boarding passes and drink tickets. We were greeted with happy cheerful staff. All of the staff members were young at heart and entertaining. They joked around and we all laughed together as if we were one great family.The staff thoroughly went through instructions of what to do and what not to do. The marine life was beautiful. The water was clear and comfortably warm. Underwater I was able to see many types of fishes and and turtles. It was also fun to see experienced scuba divers who were able to swim closer to all of the fishes and turtles. The aftersail was longer and relaxing. There is something about the sound of the ocean and it’s lively waves that makes you feel at ease and completely relaxed. This was a First time experiencing anything like this and it won’t be our last. This activity is a must do if you haven’t done it already. Thank you so very much for a wonderful memory to add onto our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkelling with turtles

Reviewed by: Julie thao, 2017/10/12

First timer experience and the marine life was beautiful. The water was clear and comfortably warm. Underwater I was able to see many types of fishes and friendly turtles. The fishes independently swimming in groups and the ones feeding off of the algae on the turtle shell. The staff were amazing. The process was quick and easy to follow through. The aftersail sight seeing was effortless and relaxing. There is something about the sound of the ocean and it’s lively waves that makes you feel at ease and completely relaxed. On top of that the staff was extremely helpful, funny, and friendly. My husband and i had a wonderful times. We enjoy the under water view together as we get to observe the beautiful life view of turtles and fishes. We also see scuba divers down the ocean. This activity is a must do if you haven’t done it already. Mahalo to all the staff. Thank you so very much for a wonderful memory to add onto our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Was the highlight of our trip thus far.

Reviewed by: Lashawna , 2017/10/11

Great staff, wonderful experience overall. We loved them and we highly recommend. Booking was very quick and easy, after a Quick registration through Hawaiian Activities website and a confirmation via email was sent a short time afterwards. We came as a group of eight both men and women. Waiting to be picked up was a bit delayed but we got a quick phone call from a staff and was prepared for the delay. When we arrived at the water a quick verification of vouchers and received our boarding passes and drink tickets. We were greeted with happy cheerful staff. All of the staff members were young at heart and entertaining. They joked around and we all laughed together as if we were one great Big family. Bartender was super awesome and generous. The recommended mix drink was delicious. The staff thoroughly went through instructions of what to do and what not to do. My boyfriend didn’t know how to swim but the staff made him feel comfortable and safe enough to where he was completely comfortable being in the water and independently snorkeling and enjoying himself. He didn’t want to exit the water. The marine life was beautiful. The water was clear and comfortably warm. Underwater I was able to see many types of fishes and friendly turtles. The fishes independently swimming in groups and the ones feeding off of the algae on the turtle shell. It was also fun to see experienced scuba divers who were able to swim closer to all of the fishes and turtles. We were able to rinse off and enjoy lunch and many cocktails. The aftersail was longer and relaxing. There is something about the sound of the ocean and it’s lively waves that makes you feel at ease and completely relaxed. This was a First time experiencing anything like this and it won’t be our last. This activity is a must do if you haven’t done it already. Mahalo to all the staff. Thank you so very much for a wonderful memory to add onto our trip.


  • Right before dipping in the water.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Oahu Categories