Page 6) Kualoa Ranch Combo Tours - ATV Off-Road, Zipline, Secret Island & Kaneohe Cruise reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kualoa Ranch Combo Tours - ATV Off-Road, Zipline, Secret Island & Kaneohe Cruise

Overall Rating

4.40 4.40 / 5

Reviews

1323 reviews
Post a review

Fun! Fun! Fun!

Reviewed by: Szlinsky, 2010/08/07

We had such a blast especially on the ATV. Next time we come to Hawaii, we will definitely enjoy a full day on the ranch.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Secret Island

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/07/08

The view was very beautiful and it was a good activity if you're a first time kayaker but not a great beach for simple swimming or laying out.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ms.

Reviewed by: ael, 2009/12/15

My daughter and I did tour on 12-10-09 and really enjoyed. We did the "Lost" Film tour and the Fish and Garden tour. We enjoyed both very much. We did the half day day and probably sometime will go back to do other things. Realy enjoyed the lush green grounds. The garden tour taught us a lot we didn't know about HI plants and how they are grown. Relaxing small catamaran ride..!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Tour

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2009/12/02

Be aware that you sign up for activities after you arrive, you are not guaranteed your first choice of activities. We originally wanted to do the Movie Sites Tour and Ocean Voyaging, but the sea was too rough for the boat trip and we ended up doing the Jungle Tour instead. Both activities were fun and the guides were entertaining. The lunch was buffet style with plenty of good food. When it was time to leave it was oddly disorganized, people standing around trying to figure out which bus to leave on. This was in contrast to the rest of the day which was over-organized due to the large number of people on the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a day !

Reviewed by: Allan, 2009/10/18

This was simply excellent.

The Kualoa Ranch offers something for everyone. We started the day on the rifle range, went for a trip on a yacht, grabbed some lunch, experiened the Jurassic Park movie lot and finished the day on an ATV .. and we never had time for the horses and the other 3 activities.

The ranch runs like a well oiled machine and we had an absolutely wonderful time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved It!

Reviewed by: L, 2009/09/19

The ATV tour was amazing. We saw incredible scenery and movie sites as well! Our guide was very entertaining and friendly - he even took us off the usual path for some real off roading. We only paid for an hour tour, so it did feel like our time was slightly limited. I would have liked to make more stops to see the valley, but this wasn't possible with time guidelines. I high recommend the ATV tour, but purchase a 2 hour tour if possible.

Ocean Voyaging was breathtaking. The cruise around Chinaman's Hat very relaxing and Captain John was humerous and warmhearted. We were hoping to get some snorkeling or swimming during the voyage, but were disappointed when this was not on the schedule - so don't bring your bathingsuits, you won't be needing them for this activity.

The whole staff was extremely friendly and accomodating to all needs. They seemed excited to have us there. The lunch buffet wasn't bad and there was certainly plenty of food.

I highly recommend going to the ranc

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ranch

Reviewed by: Caitlin, 2009/08/20

The ranch was beyond our expectations, the movie tour was cool, and the ocean voyage was amazing. It is totally worth looking into the private beach option it is simply beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

DIFFERENT KIND OF FUN

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/07/17

This was different than most activities in Hawaii. It was nice to do something other than snorkeling or swimming of luaus.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

waaay too expensive for what we did

Reviewed by: daniela, 2009/03/26

me and my boyfriend got the full day activity and we did the atv tour, horseback riding and the trip to the secret island.The ATV tour was the best of all and we got to see the places where Lost, Jurassic Park, Godzilla and Pearl Harbor were filmed.The horseback riding was a little boring, the horses knew where to go - nothing exciting.The secret island was ok, we got to do some kayaking, snorkeling and play beach volleyball.
I would not do it again< it was not worth the $310 we paid for 5 hours.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full day at the ranch

Reviewed by: Kathy and Gerald Bratz, 2009/01/27

We had so much fun! We came to Hawaii for our 27th wedding anniversary and did the whole day package. The ATV and horseback riding were especially beautiful--such scenery! The guides were very attentive and everything was well organized. We will definitely do this again when we return.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Choose a right one

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/21

My husband and I choose a full day ranch package, so we choose: horsebacking, ATV, Ocean and Jungle. The horsebacking and ATV and ocean are totally worth the money. It was fine and excited activities and the day I went is perfect for sailing, so the ocean activity has the best view ever. Those are really make my day. I choose the Jungle because as I researched it should be very fun, but after i done it, I felt disappointed. The guide is very nice and explained the ranch, the history of Hawaii, but it was not that fun. It's just like you siting on the circle Island tour and just sit and listen to your guide instead of activities. Besides the Jungle, I love the rest of them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

atv-ing was great

Reviewed by: the ancasters, 2009/01/07

we as a family range from 16 to 48 in age. this was a great day for all of us. the jungle ex was ok but i do have to say our guide for that was excellent her name was turtle. she made it as interesting and funny as she could. the site was limited to what she could work with. it was more of a nature leason with a very energetic teacher. she was delightful, the ATV- ing was awsome. once the guide knew we were experinece riders, he took us on more advanced terrain through steams and jungles. it was so much fun. we would do it again in a minute. maybe not the jungle one

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ATV AND JUNGLE

Reviewed by: the ancasters, 2009/01/07

this adventure was great. the jungle ride was ok but the atv riding was great. once the guide knew we were experienced in riding, he took us off road and on challenging paths. we went through streams and jungle like terrain. he also stopped and showed us sites used for filming. it was one of our best activities on the island. and the staff and food was the great. thanks we would do it again

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: LizFerguson, 2008/11/13

My family and I had a great time at the Kualoa Ranch! It is very beautiful. We chose the half-day package. Half of us chose horseback riding tours while the rest did ATV tours. Both got rave reviews from us all. Next, we went on the Katamarran and had a blast! Highly recommended. The horses on the horseback riding tour are very well-trained in addition to being absolutely beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half day package

Reviewed by: Gelene and Larry, 2008/10/05

We chose the ATV Tour and the Ocean Voyaging around Chinaman's Hat for our half day package. Both activities were really fun and the staff was very informative, friendly and totally willing to answer any questions, take pictures, give directions to the next activity or whatever we needed.
The Ocean Voyaging involves a boat trip across a huge fish pond (complete with loads of info on the pond's history, etc.), followed by a short walk through some trees to a waiting catamaran which then takes you out to Chinaman's Hat Island.
The ATV tour is a "follow the leader" kind of trip, but so much fun and interesting info on movie and tv shows shot there. Helmets are supplied and required, so be prepared for major helmet hair, ladies. At the end of the ATV ride, we went for a really great "all you can eat" lunch back at the Ranch buildings.
Both activities, of course, were filled with gorgeous views and not a hotel in sight! We will definitely go back and check out their other activiti

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Julie, 2008/10/01

I had a fantastic time at the ranch. The staff was great and fun on on the tours I took. Saw lots of really neat things including a wild boar and sea turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch

Reviewed by: Tim, 2008/09/29

I would recommend anyone to take the full day activies. We had a blast on the "Ocean Voyage" which takes you out in to Kaneohe Bay around Chinaman's Hat on a catermaren. This was cool and the beauty looking back at the island was breath taking. If you take the jungle ride have " Turtle" for a guide she was great and the tour is right down you alley! The all day activtie will provide you a lunch also, but don't get the bar-b-que ribs, there not that great. I lived in Texas and I know a great batch of ribs taste like. The horseback ride is also a must!

Only a draw back and that is you don't get to pick your activies before you arrive. You pick your activitie when the other 100 people arrive to do the same thing. It was more like a chinese fire drill, which left little time to get to your first activtie. This is something the ranch must look into of changing. All in all the wife and I had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Don't Miss Package

Reviewed by: Paula, 2008/09/17

The activities at Kualoa Ranch are a blast! I did the Movie and Film Tour and the Jungle Excursion on the half day package, and will definitely do them again on my next visit. I have been coming to Oahu for years, and this package was the most fun ever. The buffet lunch was delicious, as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch

Reviewed by: WWW, 2008/08/22

The ride we took was fine although the horses were a bit tatty and perhaps not so well groomed and the movie location tour was good their tour guides were excellent. Food was not that good though and as for the transport getting there and back!!! MAKE YOUR OWN WAY! I do not speak Japanese, nor do I appreciate being grouped together with other non Japanese people who are then separated and treated as an after thought by the transportation people. On the way back (after a two hour wait, presumably to get us to buy merchandise in the ranch store), we were left standing around not knowing what bus to get while the Japanese group were politely escorted to the nearest one and driven back. This is not the only time we experienced this behaviour by the transportation people and it ruined our tours.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must Do

Reviewed by: Eric Smith, 2008/06/24

We selected a half day trip and thouroughly enjoyed the jungle expedition and the ocean cruise they were well worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank You

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/06/09

My boyfriend and I had a really great time at the ranch. We especially enjoyed the ride through the jungle. Our guide really showed us some rare fruits that we've never even seen or heard of! Thanks D!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fun day

Reviewed by: Laura, 2008/05/07

I had time to kill while my friend that I was visiting was at work so I did the full day. It was enjoyable and not so bad being there alone. The sign up process for activities should be changed to before hand but I ended up going on the jungle expedition because the ATV tours got booked...boy was I a happy camper after I went on the expedition. It was the highlight of my day! The horse back riding was a little lame for the price you paid, but the scenery was nice. I choose the secret Islnad which was nice, although they only let you kayak in this small area which to me was not kayaking...seemed more like floating, I would have liked to have been able to get a good hour plus of kayaking in for exercise...even maybe go to Chinamans hat since you were only 20 minutes from it by kayak! All in all it was good...not sure if I would pay the mainey to go back...maybe next time I would stop in for the jungle expedition! Worth doing once if you are new to the island or have a family with you!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was not what we expected.

Reviewed by: April, 2008/04/22

My husband and I along with our two friends booked this activity thinking it would be alot of fun. We booked the full day, did the ocean adventure, the jungle expedition, the horseback riding, and the ATV's. The ocean adventure was alright, they brought you out to a closed in bay, where you could see sea turtles, if you were lucky. We were and we got to see quite a few. But that was pretty much it for the whole ocean adventure. It lasted maybe 30 minutes. Then we went on the Jungle Expedition. This was definatly the highlight of the day! Danny was our guide and he was super informative! He told us about the tarrot plant, and how the whole Hawaiian Language is based on that plant, he stopped by strawberry guava trees and let us sample the ripe fruit. Danny really enjoyed his job and you could tell, because he made the whole trip fun. After lunch, we went ATV'ing. They really should explain that the ATV is a TOUR and not a track where you get to ride around for an hour. Everyon

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had A Blast!!!

Reviewed by: M & Mrs. M, 2008/04/20

We chose the half day and with that, we did the gun range and the atv tour. With the gun range, you get to shoot a pistol and a rifle. It was fun and safe. The atv ride was just as fun. The scenery was gorgeous and being able to ride on your own following the guide made it perfect. It was nice to have lunch ready and waiting as we worked up an appetite. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. Would definitely make our way out there again and try other activities!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/06

Our family enjoyed the day very much and the staff was great

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full Day at the Ranch

Reviewed by: Jacqui, 2008/03/04

The Ranch was beautiful!! Spectacular scenery, friendly staff and lots of things to do!!
We enjoyed the Ranch so much that we went back a couple of days later!
We recomend the ATV's and Horseriding. Make sure you sign up to those things first, or you may miss out!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Excursion in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Staci in Mesa, AZ, 2008/01/27

Has a blast, we did the 4 wheel ATV's and jungle expedition. Both were a blast and the staff were very friendly. Would do it again in a heartbeat!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty good....but select well

Reviewed by: Len Langevin, 2008/01/16

We enjoyed our time at the ranch, but my partner and I both felt the Secret Island activity was not worth two activity tickets. The Secret island would be great for families with young kids, but we went there thinking it would be great for snorkely, but it wasn't. I can't speak highly enough of the staff at the ranch for all activities.

By far the most enjoyable activity for us was the Jungle Expedition.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Jose, 2008/01/12

I had good time, especially on the jungle adventure. Very fun, and paked full of nature.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not what you expect

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/12/11

WE choose to do a half-day out of this event. That was plenty. I had hoped to see more when we went on the ride showing us where different films were made. I have a great imagination, but it took all that and then some to see where the films were actually done.

As for the pond and garden tour...well, we rode in a little boat for a short while, never seeing a fish and then drove a little while looking at some fruit and some flowers. I was hoping for more.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories