Kualoa Ranch Adventure: Hike, Kayak & Snorkel to Chinaman's Hat (from Waikiki)

Above and beyond

Reviewed by: Belinda Squires, 2017/08/08

I don't want to ramble on but but I would like to say what a truly lovely and genuine person Brooke is. There was no falseness, just a genuine love for her job and the people in her care.
We were fortunate to paddle amongst turtles and share the waves with them as we approached Mokoli'i, then to snorkel with the fish and a little exploration of the Island, made for the perfect day.
The lunch was fabulous too, fresh and tasty with more than enough to fuel our return to the beach.
In summary, an amazing experience with an extremely capable and informative guide.
Thanks you for sharing Brooke with us.
Regards, Belinda & Jason
Ps. I'm sure she wore us out as she knew we would compete against each other in the Dragonboat race the following weekend. Great win Brooke x


  • Photo courtesy of Brooke


  • Photo courtesy of Brooke

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kuala Ranch

Reviewed by: N family, 2017/07/09

We had an amazing time at our hike, kayak & snorkel adventure! We were picked up at our hotel by Rodof and as we drove to our destination he shared about the history of Hawaii. Once we arrived at Kualoa Ranch, we started our hike, then we went kayaking after that and it was just amazing!! Both Rodof and Christen were awesome guides. They gave us a quick lesson on kayaking and they we kayaked to the next island. It was so much fun!! totally recommend trying this excursion!!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us....

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

so much fun...

Reviewed by: Adriana, 2016/09/10

We had an a great time..the view from the hike was beautiful. Kayaking was so much fun. It was our first time and we tipped over..lol. Teri was a great Guide and managed to guides us back up and be on our way...


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Adriana.. glad you enjoyed your tour.. Come join us again soon on another unique experience.. That is our specialty!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Walk and Kayak (no snorkel)

Reviewed by: Kerri B, 2016/06/05

Hike was a short stroll but a lovely outlook. Kayak was great and got to blow out the cobwebs after a long flight. Snorkel gear wasn't even taken. Gave the company my feedback but they didn't bother to reply. Too expensive for a simple kayak.

Reply from activity provider

I did ask our guide what happened about the masks. Apparently they brought them, but didn't bring them out of the kayak due to low underwater visibility that day. Mother nature can be fickle. Mahalo for spending a small part of you vacation with us.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hiking, kayaking and snorkeling tour

Reviewed by: Barry, 2016/01/16

We enjoyed our guide and the experience. The hike at the ranch was great but we would have loved it to be longer. The kayaking was awesome we went out to the china mans hat and then snorkeled. The snorkeling there was good but did not see a lot of fish. The experience was great but we had one guide and he was responsible for getting everything ready to go and clean everything up afterwards. I feel the preparation and clean up took time away from either hiking more or snorkeling more. If the kayaks were set up before hand and another guide put them back in the container after cleaning it all I think we would have had more time to enjoy our experience.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the kind comments and we are happy you enjoyed your tour with us. With just 6 people on your tour, we only have one guide for smaller group sizes. We do add the second guide with more customers on tour. Happy and safe travels to you and hope your family returns to Hawaii again soon.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend!

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2015/07/09

My 12 year old son and I had a fantastic time. I highly recommend this activity. It was by far in our top 2 out of all the activities we did. You will get a great glimpse of Hawaii's beauty and some great stories of Hawaii. Matt, our guide was great at telling us interesting stories behind some of the landmarks of Hawaii, he was amazing with my son, and did a great job at choosing activities based on our groups capabilities. I loved the small group numbers! I recommend wearing tennis shoes or a closed toe shoe when walking around the island that you will kayak out to. Overall, I give this outing easily 5 stars and recommend it to anyone that enjoys getting out and away from the hectic city and other tours.


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for spending part of your vacation with us.. We hope you will return again soon. With Aloha..Bike Hawaii Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great day but poor weather

Reviewed by: sarahbrien, 2015/01/17

the weather was really poor, raining and strong winds which was out of their control of course but it prob should have been cancelled. the hike was underwhelming because of the cloud cover so could not see the beautiful views. I really enjoyed kayaking. I like a bit of adventure so the strong current was just a fun challenge for me but some of the group struggled quite a bit. highly recommend requesting a single kayak, so much more fun! they cancelled the snorkel because it was dangerous conditions. but they did take us around kualoa ranch at the end to save it. the equipment provided was good quality and the staff were great! I was a little disappointed that I didn't get exactly what I paid for but I had an awesome day!!!! despite the weather and I would deff give 5 stars if it were different circumstances.




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't miss!

Reviewed by: EHL, 2014/09/22

This was better than I could have ever imagined! As someone traveling to the island without a game plan I stumbled on this tour; it ended up being a fantastic excursion where we got to experience a bit of everything. After hiking you kayak to a beautiful small island- although tiring it was not extraordinarily strenuous. Our tour guide was great- he was knowledgable about everywhere we visited and gave us histories on both the locations as well as Hawaii overall. I highly recommend this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lot 'O Fun

Reviewed by: Annual HI Visitor, 2014/07/22

Visited with 2 other couples. Been annually cruising to HI for several years now. This was the most fun ever on Oahu. Our guide, Jeremy, was terrific; knowledgeable, took good care of us. Lunch was delicious sandwiches. We're fairly active, in our 60's. Hike, kayak, and snorkeling was an easy activity. This happened last year and we still talk about how much fun it was. Using Veltra again for our upcoming trip and planning to visit the ranch again.


  • Hiking at the Ranch


  • Snorkeling at Moko'liki

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

hike, kayak and snorkel combo

Reviewed by: Carol Lopez, 2013/11/07

This was fantastic! Jeremy was our guide and he was awesome. It could not have been any better. We had a great time and I would recommend that this is a must do adventure. So worth the money and Jeremy was the coolest guy and perfect guide. Took our pictures for us, educated us on the different plants, history of the ranch and mountains, explained how to kayak and did not make us feel awkward since I did not know how to do it. Best excursion and we were lucky to find it and have Jeremy as our guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

See It Right (and stay in shape)

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2013/09/11

Wifey picked this adventure out and I am glad she did. She's in shape and I am not, yet I still had a blast. Not too much work was the price for great views, an easy hike, just the right amount of kayaking and snorkeling with the fishies. Mattias and Blair were the perfect guides with lots of knowledge, easy demeanor, great island tips and enthusiasm. Hell, they even showed most of the folks in our group how to use the *fancy* features of our cameras! Would absolutely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Different and enjoyable

Reviewed by: Richard Baker, 2012/07/17

The view from the hike was stunning and the kayaking was fun. Didn't see much fish while snorkeling but was interesting.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hike, snorkel underwhelming

Reviewed by: Scott, 2011/10/09

There was not much to the hike. Basically a five-minute trek to a nice panoramic of the ocean. Guy talked to us for a while before heading back to kayak to an island off the coast. That was fun, but once we got to the island to snorkel there wasn't much to look at in terms of fish. Our guide was nice, but we did a hike the day before with a gentleman who had a much more extensive knowledge of the island. I feel this excursion should be valued closer to $75 instead of $110.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

good experience

Reviewed by: Bruce E, 2011/04/18

Jeremy was great. Great tour guide, and knows a lot about the local culture. He was also very flexible, and altered the tour to accommodate what we wanted to do. Would recommend very highly.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and fun!!

Reviewed by: evester, 2008/08/20

Our tour was soo much fun!! The views are incredible!! I would recommend this tour for everyone except families with young children. The hike is not bad, but the kayaking and snorkeling can be difficult for younger children. Also make sure that you wear plenty of sunblock, out of my whole trip this is were I got the most sunburnt.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: April, 2008/04/22

We had such a great time during this trip. Matt was super friendly and considerate. He stopped by little stores for us and told us great stories about the island, and island life. The hike was easy, and had a great view. Also, the kayaking experiance was a lot of fun! We got to kayak onto China Man's Hat Island and had the whole place to ourselves! Matt was a great guide, and helped to make the day a special one! Thanks Matt!! We would definatly recomned this this activitey.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

get away from waikiki

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/05

matt was our driver/tour guide. gorgeous views of kualoa ranch and the ocean. matt was knowledgeable and very personable as a great tour guide should be.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Veronica and Kevin, 2007/10/31

Our kayak trip was great. It made us feel adventurouse without working too hard for the fun. There were beautiful surroundings and the instructor was alot of fun and told us many stories about the island that were great. We would difinately do it again. Thank you so much guys!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hike & Kayak and Snorkel

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/10

Very good value combo for the money!!! I enjoyed the entire experience. Our guide was very pleasant and outgoing. The hike was a little harder than anticipated but the view was worth it. Only negative I would comment upon was little snorkeling instruction given. I would definitely not recommend this trip for families with children under 12 but highly recommend for couples or groups.

Absolute beautiful waters and views!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/09

this activity was very fun it was an all day thing it would be good for groups and families with older childern.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu / Waikiki Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI