Polynesian Cultural Center All-Day Pass with Luau Dinner & Show [Open 2021] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Polynesian Cultural Center All-Day Pass with Luau Dinner & Show [Open 2021]

Overall Rating

4.61 4.61 / 5

Reviews

319 reviews
Post a review

Polynesian Culture Center

Reviewed by: Denise, 2018/03/02

The place was pretty nice and there really wasn't anything wrong. We just were too tired to see the show at the end of the night. I wish they would of had an earlier show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip

Reviewed by: Lel, 2018/02/28

The tour guide was a blast but it rained all day so it could have been better.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day eating & learning

Reviewed by: Bec M Lee Olsen, 2018/02/04

My husband and i booked this tour pretty last minute and we were so happy we did!
We were staying down at Waikiki Beach and got the bus pick up service from the Marriott which was prompt and well organised. Cousin Knox was our tour leader and kept the bus entertained and informed for the hour long trip. He was funny and accommodating.
Arrived and Cousin Knox picked up all our tickets for the day to get us started. Everything was well explained and we were off with our guides for the day. The guides did so well in the torrential rain which the Centre provided us with ponchos. Some of the activities were busy when we arrived but the guides were able to take us to other areas which were very entertaining and provided us with some insights into their cultures. The luau was very good fun to enjoy whilst eating dinner. Plenty of food and drinks. Well organised tables - we were lucky to get a table in the front.
The only suggestion would be to allow more time for lunch. We arrived at the bbq lunch and unfortunately only had 25 mins to eat as had to get to the start of one of the displays. Not enough time especially since it was a pay your own lunch.
Overall a great day from start to finish where we wwere dropped off back where we were picked up.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cultural tour spoiled by the rain

Reviewed by: Yagman, 2018/01/01

The Polynesian Cultural Centre consists of the villages of the various people from the surrounding islands of Polynesia. Each village had a presentation which gave an insight into their culture - family and community mindedness. One of the highlights was how to make fire by "rubbing together 2 sticks of wood". There is a lot to see and do so you may not have enough time to see all of the villages. The Luau was great - food, show, drinks (no alcohol though) however we were allocated the 4pm time slot (I suspect the more expensive packages allow you to eat later). Afterwards, the night show was spectacular. Unfortunately, we chose a day where the heavens opened up and continued to rain for the whole time. On a "feel good" note, the centre was set up to employ students from the surrounding Polynesian islands so the money raised helps them fund their education.

  • Culture Pagent

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center all day pass dinner and show

Reviewed by: Judy, 2017/09/26

You offer few options for lunch -- and then all of a sudden you are paying an extra $20 for lunch after paying a high price already for park tickets. Luau food was mediocre -- and they ran out of food and shut down food lines. Night show was great

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good way to explore the Hawaiian culture

Reviewed by: Nancy & Shirley, 2017/06/02

The Polynesian Cultural Center presented shows from the various groups that make up the Hawaiian Culture. The final show was good but too long and the food at the Luau was OK but nothing spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

good

Reviewed by: sylvain, 2017/02/19

Le préposé au guichet n'était pas très aimable. Aucun bonjour, aucun salut et aucun sourire.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Entertaining and fascinating

Reviewed by: Henrik, 2016/12/25

Highly recommended! Also very informative about the different cultures among the pacific island nations. The late HA show was so-so though! Beautiful tropical surroundings and professional performers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun (if a little tiring) for all ages!

Reviewed by: debby, 2016/07/06

the package includes 4:00 pm late admission, followed by the ali'i luau (dinner and show), then about an hour break before the start of "Ha" (the night show). there's a lot to see at the PSC and unfortunately you don't get to enjoy much of the park with a late admission, so if we'd had it over to do again we would've tried to get a package that let us enter earlier. the luau was really enjoyable, and the food in the buffet was surprisingly tasty! there's an hour between the end of the luau buffet and "Ha", so we went to see the Hawaiian history movie (sorry, can't remember the name of it), which involved 15 minutes of watching gorgeous scenery. "Ha" itself reminded many of us in the group of a polynesian version of "Lion King the musical", but the fire dancing finale was spectacular--definitely the highlight.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

PCC experience

Reviewed by: Chen family, 2016/01/02

The shows are very good. The night show could be better explained. May be a printed program to explain each dance, the meaning and connection to the story line. The dinner show is good too . The MC is wonderful but it will be good to have some quiet moment for table conversation and not so rushed to eat. But this is just our view for your consideration. Overall, it was a good experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Commercial

Reviewed by: Simon, 2015/12/26

It was beautiful, fun, exhaustive, but very commercial. I truly wanted to know more about the history of the first Hawaiian, but I was let down on that expectation. The dancers, the show at the end, the luau, the many islands with their respective activities were very interresting and beautiful, though. It's worth it, but dont expect it to replace the viewing of a good documentary. Also, the fact that this olace is ran by Mormons is extremely apparent through many not so subtle references in history plaques, or the simple fact that there was no alcool at the Luau. Still a solid activity, and it was worth it. We had the full day package (110, I think).

  • Reconstitution of a marriage ceremony, we took pictures with the actors.

  • Luau intertainment

  • Floating display of the different polynesian cultures

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A taste of the South Pacific

Reviewed by: p&dyager, 2015/10/22

Nice day, but a lot to see in a short time. People very friendly. The luau was nice, and the evening performance was awesome!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cultural center trip was for sisters first visit to Hawaii

Reviewed by: JANICE ferriss, 2015/05/01

I have gone many times with family and friends so they can enjoy as I did my first time.mmalways great day this time also, as Iwe had private tour guide which was amazing. Reason for one star down is that I paid for mini bus and was transported in large coach which less personal. I admit we had a great driver. Funny informable about trip and culture center. I did pay extra for mini so think I deserve refund for that upgrade.

  • Demonstrations were great

  • Parade on canoes always treat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show!

Reviewed by: y'all, 2015/04/25

The show was great. But the food was not. The whole tour was way too long. If I were you, I would go just for the night show. You won't be regret!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau and dinner

Reviewed by: Kim, 2015/02/08

The Polynesian Center provides a learning environment rich in Polynesian culture. I enjoyed riding the canoe and watching the luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center Alii Luau & Night Show/Full Day Package

Reviewed by: ScottH, 2014/10/30

Very good, everything we were told it would be. The performers and staff were wonderful, warm and friendly, however, we were a little disappointed in the lava. It was not what we expected. It was more like a group buffet. On the other hand the Breath of Ha show was thrilling and excellent. We would highly recommend it. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center Full day package

Reviewed by: Lidia, 2014/06/01

Was looked after from the moment we walked on board bus with great commentary. Got to see and feel the great islands. When visiting Oahu would recommend highly as a must see.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long day

Reviewed by: Clarissa, 2014/05/19

Be prepared for a long day. Did not get back to hotel until 11pm. Night show was excellent and luau was fun. The food at the luau was a bit disappointing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2013/12/22

Food was good. Luau could have been better. Very friendly staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Total

Reviewed by: David, 2013/11/02

Too fast - need to slow down and spend more time on each area

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Dinner Show

Reviewed by: Sunny, 2013/09/18

The Polynesian center is a must see. The Luau was a bit disappointing in terms of the food selection and quantity. The evening show however was Outstanding!! I would recommend make this an all day event so as to explore the entire center.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center

Reviewed by: Roger, 2013/09/07

wonderful tour had the greatest guide was able to see everything and had alot of good laughs was well worth having a tour guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2013/07/31

I thought the cultural center was very good. Our tour guide was amazing and would recommend having one. The only bad thing was not being able to take pictures during the breath of life show and no air movement. Show was great but very warm. Wish I could have taken pictures.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great !

Reviewed by: California fisherman, 2013/04/12

Veltra gave the cheap price, we took a tour guide that helped covering most of the place at Polynesia cultural center

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A showery day at PCC

Reviewed by: Islander77, 2013/01/08

We upgraded to the full day, rather than sticking to the late entry. We wanted to have more time to check out the presentations etc. The presentations were interesting and well done. They came over as authentic rather than cheesy or Disneyesque. The staff were excellent all 'round. There were showers passing through, but it didn't take away from our day, as there were plenty of buildings/huts to head into, and showers don't seem to last too long in this part of the world. The entertainment and food at the Luau was good. It did take a long time to get to the lining up and eating part, but there were a lot of people. It would have been better if they started processing the tables through the buffet right after the unveiling of the pig, and we could just watch the entertainment as we went, instead of largely sitting for nearly an hour before anyone started lining up. The HA show was amazing, and I would recommend it too anyone going to Oahu. Overall an opportunity to learn about

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Alii Luau Polynesian Cultural Exp

Reviewed by: Visitor from Kentucky, 2012/10/26

This was a full day. Prepare to be exhausted by the end of it. BUT it was well worth it. We paid the extra to use our guide for the day (cousin Cissy) which for sure was the best plan since we would not have seen half of the exhibits and demonstrations that he took us to had we gone it alone. Well worth the extra expense. Cousin Cissy was the best guide - he was totally passionate for his culture and very knowledgeable. He genuinely cared that we saw the best of his people. A perfect day out which ended with an amazing show - a must to see. Our only compaint was the food - it was disappointing and bland. But plenty of it so we did not go hungry.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Creepy nice

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/18

Everyone was nice almost to the creepy extreme if you are from NY or Chicago. Big BYU influence may have been the reason for the overly dressed female workers. Very child friendly environment. Would defiantly take a young family there.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Culture Center

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/17

The Polynesian Culture Center was a great experience. The representations of the countries were great. The canoe ride, the canoe parade, and the activities were very well done. Our guides, Hannah and Saydie were awesome. They really made our tour special, and were very informative. The HA fire show was amazing !

The only thing that was disappointing was the dinner. There wasn't much of a variety. I went back for seconds and there was barely any food left, and no fruit. It seemed that we were rushed throught dinner. I was very disappointed in what I thought would be an "authentic" luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2nd Time Around

Reviewed by: Wanda K, 2012/08/08

This is the second year in a row that we attended the Polynesian Cultural Center and the Alii Luau. The show is great and the food is probably the best we have had at a Luau. This is probably because the focus is on doing everything possible so that the guest is entertained with a wonderful show and feed all the delicious food you want to eat instead of trying to get you to spend your money on alcohol and then getting you to act foolish like they do at many of the other luaus on Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Items that need improvement.

Reviewed by: Pat, 2012/07/27

Overall, the show and activities were really good. However, we feel that there could have been some improvements in other areas.

First, the people who paid extra to sit next to the stage had to climb a great many steps which had no hand rails, to reach the food, drinks and to use the restrooms. There should be an area for the food and drinks to be closer for those people seated near the stage who paid more money for their tickets.

Secondly, after the first time that the our server came to help me with our order, she returned to see if we needed more food, but did not return after that to see if we wanted any dessert or coffee. The dessert and coffee were on another section of the upper level.

Third, since I was in a wheelchair, when the show started, I was wheeled in through the back of the stage to my seat. My wife was told that she could not come with me or exit the way I came in, causing a big problem at the end of the show. She was told to go to the customer relations des

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories