Polynesian Cultural Center All-Day Pass with Luau Dinner & Show [Open 2021] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Polynesian Cultural Center All-Day Pass with Luau Dinner & Show [Open 2021]

Overall Rating

4.61 4.61 / 5

Reviews

319 reviews
Post a review

Pretty amazing show

Reviewed by: Sakhom, 2017/07/25

It's a mixing for all the polynesian shows from each countries to a made-up area where you can see them all at one time. All the shows were well made and prepared, but you have to time and manage the priority to make sure to see them all in one go. It's great for those who never seen them before, but we did see similar from other countries, so it's not that exciting.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting.

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2017/07/09

It was fun seeing the different Polynesian cultures, but it was a bit too long of a day. We checked in at noon and didn't leave the grounds until 10:30 at night. You walk around the stores and different villages that are set up, then you have your luau, which is a buffet. That was nice. When you are done with that, you have 2 - 21/2 hours to kill before the show "HA- breath of life" (which was very good). It would have been OK, but the villages closed up, so you had nothing to do before the show. We had an OK time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This tour needs to be refreshed!

Reviewed by: drg, 2017/05/07

The bus ride to the Polynesian Cultural Center was ok. The guide who spoke most of the way there was not very entertaining. He did pass on a few useful tidbits, but not many considering he spoke for almost an hour and a half. The guide we got at the PCC was difficult to understand and was apparently supposed to shepherd about 20 or 30 people around. Since you had to be very close to him to be able to hear and understand him, most of what he said was missed by most of his charges. He led us from presentation to presentation for 2.5 hours, then, as he sent us on our way to our dinners, he gave us maps of the place. It would have been nice to have a program or something to explain what it was we were seeing in these presentations. The Luau was just ok. Waiters were passing out drinks in pineapples to select people...I was unaware of any offer of those drinks. I assume there was a separate charge, but I have no idea. The food was mediocre and the show after dinner was not much better. Then we went to the main event...HA, breath of life. Once again, we were not given any explanation of what the performance was showing us. A brief one-page synopsis would have been extremely helpful. Overall, I was very disappointed with this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review

Reviewed by: Wally, 2016/05/10

For little kids would only do it once in a lifetime. Luau was really good though

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your feedback, Aloha oe!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Late Entry Package/Polynesian Cultural Center Alii Luau & Night Show

Reviewed by: Jan D, 2015/07/04

Positives first...the Show is Amazing! I personally enjoy the show more than any Luau I have attended on Oahu. As a former resident and frequent visitor to HI....this has always been one of my favorite activities to visit and bring friends and family......sorry to say that the late entry does not allow you to do anything but attend the Luau and Show...there is NO time to do or visit the other activites....very disappointing.....not sure the Late Entry should be an option at all...unless....you just want to got to the Luau and Show, and it should be advertised that way.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Late-Entry Ambassador Package - Average Experience

Reviewed by: Kristen, 2014/10/04

After reading so many reviews, we expected this experience to be great; however, we found most of the evening to be okay at best. The prime rib and seafood, "prime" dining, is not good. Much of the hot food was luke-warm, the roast beef...I mean prime rib...although pretty sure it was roast beef, was way overcooked and just gross, and much of the food was slimy and just inedible. There was one hot seafood item which was somewhat hot/somewhat still frozen, and my husband said was disgusting. It was not prime dining. I would suggest skipping dining there altogether.

We had some time to walk around; however, most of the exhibits are just artifacts or movies/shows. The Samoa live show was interesting and entertaining, but the videos were boring and I can't imagine what you could spend an entire day there doing (we went late at 4 PM and had plenty of time). The "Ha, Breathe of Life" show was the best part for sure. The show was entertaining; however, it was very long. We went to another luau and show earlier in our trip, booked through the cruise line, and I would say that show was better. "Ha, Breathe of Life" was very long and had a lot of repetitive dancing. They do a part of the show for each Island, so after awhile the dancing gets repetitive. Some aspects were really neat: fire dancing, a few of the dances with props, etc, but it would have been better if it hadn't been so extremely long and repetitive.

Overall, I can't say that I would recommend this experience. If I did, I would recommend the show, without eating dinner. Additionally, be prepared to pay extra for everything and have things that cost money constantly offered to you (I understand, it is a vacation destination, but for the Polynesian Cultural Center, which doesn't allow tipping and is all about culture, it just seemed weird after awhile). Next time we go to Hawaii, we will try a luau closer to the resort area, and skip the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Center

Reviewed by: Lisa WS, 2014/08/25

The bus tour guide was great but quite disappointed in the Center. Did not seem authentic Polynesian at all. The best time was the fire dance part of the show. The rest I could've skipped. Didn't feel like I learned anything real about the different cultures which was disappointing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't spend the whole day!!

Reviewed by: Lalita, 2014/05/02

We got picked up from the hotel at 10am and brought to the cultural center where we were asked to pay $25 for the tour guide and lunch. we didn't feel like having such a big lunch so we did not take the offer. There were too many people and we hardly see anything. The Luau was so so and the line was too long. We rather spend the quality time near the beach sipping some cold beer.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

just okay

Reviewed by: joie nick, 2013/09/06

The food was horrible and the show was okay. We did not make it in time to do any of the activities offered. My parents were there all day and enjoyed the activities more than the dinner and show.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not very authentic except for HA

Reviewed by: Nicky, 2013/06/27

Terrible food at the luau. Not very authentic in terms of food or staff. Was like a discount Disneyland but with not very convincing landscaping. A total tourist trap in terms of knock off "artisan" items and souvenirs. However the show HA was amazing. If I ever went back, would only go for the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Food

Reviewed by: lori, 2012/12/03

Did not like the Luau food at all! Very thankful that they had great ice cream at the concession before the show

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

PPC Ambassador tour

Reviewed by: B&B, 2012/09/22

Were entertained by Walter on the road to the Center. Before arriving Walter "strongly" encouraged everyone to purchase the lunch buffet for an additional $15 The buffet was nothing spectacular.

As an "ambassador package group" we were herded around by Elvis. We started out as the first group but somehow ended by late for all the demonstrations. Elvis was in such a rush to get us in place that he provided very little in the way of cultural information. Supposedly the Ambassador group see only the "highlights". The Canoe pageant costumes were first class but the boats looked "tired". Somoa action was well done and very funny. Drumming show in Tonga really energized the audience.

The Luau dinner food was nothing to write home about.

The Pacific show was outstanding but could eliminate the pineapple delight - too much - too messy for such a large audience,,,left trash everywhere in theatre. At a minimum you should end intermission with going through the aisles with tr

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty cool visit.

Reviewed by: Pratik, 2012/09/01

Everyone says that PCC is the #1 place to go when you're on Oahu, but I don't get it.

Yes, there are a lot of things to do there but it's mostly walking around and looking at different artifacts and recreations. It wasn't a big deal to me, especially since most people file all that information under M for "meh" after they leave the place.

One thing that really rubbed me the wrong way was that they kept pushing their $5 "Island Deelite" ice cream bowls on everyone, but only after forcing people to sit in 90-degree weather with no shade.

There wasn't enough of a gap in between lunch and dinner for me... you can't give people a buffet lunch and then expect them to dive into a buffet dinner less than five hours later, with Island Deelite ice cream in between of course. The after-dinner show was pretty good, but kind of cliche for me and had more of the "meh" factor from before.

The main thing that rubs me the wrong way is that the PCC is run by a church, so they don't really co

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau lowlight

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/03/23

Selected Ambassador package and got a guided tour as part of it. Guide was fine, but we were not able to look around the "villages." Instead, we only went from one presentation to the next, missing portions of some of them, and then it was time for the luau. Interesting, but not outstanding. The facility should open earlier in the day. For the price, you should at least have time to see most of it. Luau food was not particularly good, lunch menu was better, and the "show" during the luau left a lot to be desired. "Ha", the show afterwards was very good, however.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Slightly dissapointing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/06/16

I had gone to this Luau about 20 years prior and had a very favorable memory of it. This time, I have to say, was disappointing. First off, I bought the half day package. I'm not sure if there was a misunderstanding or what, but our driver ( I also paid for transportation) said that our guide couldn't make it, so he took us on a tour when we got there. I felt the tour was rushed and not very impressive. I suppose for the half day, you shouldn't expect much.

He then took us to dinner a little late, and we were seated in the waaay back of the line, which makes a difference. The tables go to the buffet in order, so if you are towards the back, it's slim pickin's. The buffet itself was average, although considering what we paid, was below average for the price. I didn't get to see anything of the cooking of the pig or anything about the traditions, again, maybe because I was late.

The show, however, was as billed. There were many many different dances, and the dan

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half-day Polynesian Cultural center

Reviewed by: Mary, 2008/10/13

The show was great and we enjoyed it very much. The rest of the experience was so-so. Our driver was 30 min. late and we were rushed into the park with most of the villages already closed for the day. The dinner was again rushed and we were seated during the end of the show which appeared to have been great. The little we saw of it was really funny. The food left a bit to be desired. But then we went to the Horizon show and it was awesome. I guess when you go to the half day show you're really just getting the great evening show. Next time I'll know to go to some other luau and go to the cultural center during the day to really see what's there. Feel like we missed a lot.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average Experience

Reviewed by: Rick, 2008/06/25

My wife and I were disappointed with the buffet that was served. We were expecting traditional Hawaiian food like Kalua pig - but ended up with chicken. On a more positive note, the Polynesian dancing was good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Jose Mendoza, 2008/06/16

This has been our third luau. We have been to a luau in Kona and the Old Lahaina Luau. This year my family and I decided to attend the luau at the Polynesian center since we had heard so much of it. Unfortunately, we were not impressed and actually disappointed. We were treated better at the other two luau's, such as free alcohol drinks and hospitality overall. Your dinner was good, and the waitress attended us well. We were disappoin- ted with the show. I felt I was watching a Las Vegas show and not a cultural, narrative, Polynesian history show. My family and I love to see the grass skirt dances and you had very little of it. We also did not like the auditorium ambiance and everyone running to get ice cream.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Geared towards the older crowd

Reviewed by: LL, 2008/04/17

I was told this was the most authentic luau on Oahu. The actually dinner was a bit crowded and the stage show was too loud and pretty boring. The buffet offered a variety of dishes but I had to eat from the kids side because that menu only offered the vegetarian option that actually had nutritional value.
When booking this trip it would have been nice to know up front that the cultural center was run by mormons so therefore there was no alcohol or caffeine available. The night show was worth seeing...very well done...just as good as a play in NYC.
Our driver picked us up 15 minutes late then proceeded to wait another 20 for 2 people who were on the list and were not there yet. Because of this we were unable to get the tour of the center that we paid for and they would not issue us tickets to come again some other day. If I could do it all over again I would go the full day, pack food and see the evening show. Probably rent a car and take a break down the street on the beach.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/11/10

Our guide was very poor.We didn't get to see anything. You need a full day to see everything before the luau.The luau was very poor.The evening show was the best part of the experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories