This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Ko Olina Ocean Adventures Catamaran Snorkel with Wild Dolphins Tour


Attended as (Families with Young Children) Reviews

Fantastic!!

Reviewed by: ebr, 2018/06/16

Had a wonderful time. The team worked really hard to make sure EVERYONE had a great time; even my granddaughter who was too afraid to swim with the dolphins or snorkel.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Ever!!

Reviewed by: Lynna, 2016/07/20

We had the greatest time, even the teenager who did really want to go. She said it was amazing. I am definitely doing this again on my next trip to Hawaii. Staff where brilliant when my son get a bit sea sick on the way back. Couldn't fault it at all.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great tour

Reviewed by: agnes , 2015/05/03

We were picked up at 515am and taken to a marina. A light breakfast was provided consisting of tea/coffee and muesli bars/muffins. We then boarded a boat equipped with snorkling equipment. We had 2 wonderful guides and a photographer. Austin and the young lady guide were great. We were taken across the ocean, saw a few whales before being taken to a phenomenal reef. Beautiful coloured fish and coral to see. The underwater photographer Asia takes photos of you and family snorkling which you then can purchase. The photos are definitely worth it. We saw a heap of dolphins and turtles in their natural habitat. The guide takes you as close to the dolphins as possible. We were then treated to a bbq lunch at around midday. Great for young kids and non swimmers. Wonderful staff. Can't fault this tour. Highly reccommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sitting uncomfortably in a rubber pontoon for three hours going in a circle...

Reviewed by: Maiwayalways1, 2015/04/03

The staff gets two stars for doing their job but the excursion itself is misleading and therefore gets zero stars. We had three children ages 5, 7 and 9. We unfortunatlely sat in the last two rows of the pontoon and pretty much missed the entire dolphin and whale sightings due to the stingy adults who would immediately stand up and hog the sights with their cameras. One of the sweet staff boys did accompany our 5 and 7 year olds to the front of the boat during the first sighting but then a few adults moved to that same spot to crowd so the kids moved back to the end with us. Complete inconsideration but perhaps I am more conscious of sharing space and views with others.
Anyway, we snorkeled for roughly thirty five minutes in one spot, jumped on the pontoon and cruised in a large circle outside the industrial plant for about an hour and a half then anchored for a second snorkel location. This time only about eight people snorkeled (40 people) due to exhaustion and boredom... And to top it off, the lunch was either room temp chicken thigh or room temp shredded pork, questionably warm pineapple and strawberry salad and an oversized bun with generous lettuce and tomatoes. Overall this activity should have been thirty dollars max and lunch optional since it was inedible. If you have small children under 12, and actually want to snorkel longer than forty five minutes, then seek else where.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/03/29
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Ultimate Dolphin Adventure

Reviewed by: loveoahu13, 2013/09/15

I wish I can give this tour 100 stars. I highly recommended this tour to anyone all ages and swimming capabilities. I am a non-swimmer and also had trouble in the beginning with the snorkel and mask. The Captain, his assistant and even the photographer were so encouraging and helpful with my nervousness. It took me until the end of our tour to finally get my face in the water. I cannot express how great it felt to be cheered on by not just my family, but the crew as well. I purchased the photos of the activity. They are amazing. Seeing the dolphins swimming all around and my kids and husband right there with them was an amazing experience. I will definitely go back to Ko'olina Ocean Adventures during our next visit. Please don't pass this activity up. You will not regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You will love this tour.

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/12

Great & fun experience even for the first timer.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice trip but not great

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/31

The crew were great, very helpful and entertaining. As far as seeing dolphins, yes we saw them, but as soon as we jumped in the water they swam away. The best view of the dolphins was from the boat. The additional snorkeling sites were just OK. Also, we froze once we came out of the water so I recommend getting the wet suit top at least. My wife did and she was comfortable.
I don't blame the crew for not getting to swim close to the dolphins, they did everything that they could to try to make it happen.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!!!!

Reviewed by: LaToia Marks, 2012/07/19

We got there really early and they were a little behind on check in but once tour started it was amazing!!! 5 min out from the marina we saw a pod of dolphins! This was too advanced to begin the tour swimming with them so we went to a snorkeling location so people could develop ocean legs. Good thing too cause some people didn't listen and were freaking out. Next we went looking for dolphin and got in the water twice to swim wiith them... It was incredible to see them swimming under you. We even saw a baby. The experience was so great the captain (Austin) found us another pod and we had another swim! In all we saw maybe 50+ dolphin! No turtle unfortunately but that many dolphin made it all worth it!!! Thanks John and Austin! Oh yeah the lady doing the lunch/snacks was very efficient and my Teriaki sandwich was really good!!! Would do this again in a heartbeat!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Swim and Snorkel

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/02

To see dolphins, turtles, eels, fish all in their natural environment was an absolute thrill and privledge. I highly recommend this activity to everyone. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. A must do event for anyone. Thank you for the thrill and adventure of a lifetime.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Opportunity!

Reviewed by: - Kris Murphy, 2011/11/29

My daughter is a budding marine biologist, off to college next year, and this was the perfect opportunity for her, and for us. The captains understand dolphin behavior and were able to educate us as well as perfectly place us in the water so we could view them swim by and under us.

They were very respectful of the pod and instructed us on what to do to maximize our experience and not startle the dolphins.

As well we had the opportunity to view some turtles and a vibrant coral reef.

I would highly recommend this adventure.

Kris Murphy

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ms

Reviewed by: Esta Metekingi, 2011/09/17

Awesome day out with Captain Mark and Lyndon, definitely recommend this activity. For me, a somewhat anxious person getting in the open ocean for the first time, was made easy by the step by step instructions from Capt. Mark. Exellent day on the water, we not only got to see Spinner dolphins but swam with them and spotted them underwater 3 times! Appreciated the lunch and drinks. Well organised tour, thanks for great memories.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of dolphins

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/09/16

Great day with the dolphins. The crew was outstanding, very helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Day of my Life!

Reviewed by: Claudia - Calgary Alberta, 2011/09/03

FANTASTIC in every way! This was the second time that I was lucky enough to attend this tour with Captain Mark, and it won't be my last! This is the true essence of Hawaii at its best! And GREAT VALUE for the money too! I will savour these memories forever!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Sheryl, 2011/08/31

My teenage daughter and I went on this trip and between the staffs knowledge and enthusiasm and the locations that they took us to, this was an experience we'll never forget. I was concerned that we'd see a few fish and maybe a dolphin or turtle if we were lucky....I was not prepared for the abundance of wild marine life that we got to interract with. This is one of those rare experiences where what you get is WAYYY more than what you pay for. We will absolutely do this again and would highly recommend it to everyone. We would also highly recommend the wetsuit top upgrade....it's very worth it.





Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Many Thanks

Reviewed by: C.C. from Burbank, CA, 2011/06/21

We were on the early Monday morning 6/14th encounter. I want to thank the crew for a very enjoyable time and keeping us safe. I have not been in deep open ocean water for over 40 years...it's a shark thing. The crew made it very worthwhile. The pictures on the CD are fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Choose this one

Reviewed by: James, 2011/03/20

Great crew. Best fun to value available. These guys have this down to the details. Pros all the way around. You can go with the others if you want but I know the secret.

I went with my family. My wife and daughter were first time snorkelors and apprehensive at the least. Mindy did a great job working with them and getting them into the water.

The captain went out of his way to find fun. The photographer took the best open water photos I've seen. I have seen a few.
The food was generous and tasty.

Thanks guys, see you next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dophin observation

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/15

This activity was well worth the cost. The crew as great and did everything possible to make sure that everyone had the opportunity to "swim" with the spinnner dolphins and see other unique sea life while snorkeling. Don't go into this activity expecting the dolphins to swim right up to you. They are wild animals. Be content with seeing this wonderful creature in its natural habitat no matter how close they come to you. The two snorkeling sights that were great. Especially the turtle cleaning station. My best advice is to remember that you are being given the oppotunity to see these animals in their natural environment. Listen to the advice of the crew - this is a time for observation, a chance to see what the animals are like when they are not in a confined place. It is not the time to try and touch or chase these graceful creatures.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Weather didn't cooperate

Reviewed by: Washington Mom, 2009/04/12

This probably would have been much better if it hadn't been so windy & rainy. Nevertheless, my family had a good time, the food was very good, and the staff friendly & accomadating. The trampoline was pretty cool and my 7 year old enjoyed it. My older daughter did the snorkel tour and said it was ok.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

what a great day........

Reviewed by: the schneider family, 2009/01/13

We are a family of six, ages 16,18,20,22,48,and 49. This was the best activity we did in Hawaii. We swam with dolphins in the wild, saw a shark while snorkling, fed hundreds of fish, saw beautiful coral, and even watch a whale pretty close up. This trip was amazing. The captain (a woman) was the best person and tried her hardest to please everyone and I think she did. Extremely organized, clean, pleasant, and exciting was this trip. It would be the first trip to book on my next trip. Some of the other trips we did were Zipling, Tubing, Hikes, Helecopter, Small plane, among others. The best was this one........ Thanks for the great memories. Here some pictures I hope you enjoy.








Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Amy Zuidema, 2007/09/05

I highly recommend the dolphin swim. If you are in Hawaii this is a must do.
I will never forget it. The crew were great, they enjoyed their jobs and
made sure that we enjoyed our trip. It was such a wonderful experience to
see AND swim with the dolphins, fish and turtles. I would do it again in a
heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories