This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Ko Olina Ocean Adventures Snorkel with Wild Dolphins Tour

Overall Rating

4.70 4.70 / 5

Reviews

91 reviews
Post a review

Absolutely great time

Reviewed by: Steve, 2017/09/29

We do this trip every time we are in Honolulu and every time it is great. Got to see loads of fish and turtles swimming under us! The spinner dolphins were the star of the trip. Crew were great, helpful and friendly. Lunch was good too. All in all, highly recommended and will definitely do again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a time of my life!

Reviewed by: Margarita, 2017/05/15

I have always wanted to see dolphins out in the wild and swim with them in the open ocean. I have heard of the tours where travellers are offered to swim with dolphins in the pool, but this is a completely different experience. We have travelled to several snorkelling spots before our speed boat started to make its way to a place where Hawaiian spinner dolphins are usually resting. Our captain was funny and enthusiastic, he also had a cute dog called Kiki – everyone on the boat just fell in love with her! After we spotted a group of dolphins we observed them from the boat for about 20 minutes and then decided to jump in the water. Our captain knew exactly what needs to be done in order to get the best experience possible. He told us to stay calm and jump quietly in the water and wait for the dolphins to approach us. Emotions I felt that day are hard to describe, I was crying from happiness, laughing and was completely overwhelmed with the beauty of these magical creatures. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone who is visiting Oahu and looking to have a memorable experience and fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would recommend to anyone

Reviewed by: Gabby, 2016/02/01

A great activity for all. Captain Mark is very knowledgeable and the staff are very friendly. I've done this tour twice and would recommend to anyone. It's amazing seeing dolphins so close in the wild.

  • Tropical Fish (Photo taken on disposable underwater camera.)

  • Dolphins swimming right underneath me! (Photo taken on disposable underwater camera.)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Tour!!!

Reviewed by: Maud, 2016/01/28

I was super impressed with the amount of sea life we were able to see. Lots and lots of Fish, Turtles, Whales, and Dolphins! We were also very well taken care of. We were greeted with happy helpful smiling faces, they had hot chocolate and pastries out for us. They were very helpful when were were getting in and out of the boat. The snorkeling gear they provided was top notch. They also had peppermint oil if anyone got sea sick, cool water for drinking, and had a fresh water shower hose on board to rinse off with leave in conditioner for our hair. They were incredibly knowledgable and big on safety. I would highly recommend this tour. It was worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Allanah, 2015/08/07

My friend and I are first time travellers to Hawaii and we absolutely loved this experience! In the first 10 minutes, we saw a pod of dolphins and were allowed to get in the water with them. After that we continually found some more. The snorkelling was amazing as well, saw a sea turtle in the first 5 minutes of getting in the ocean. The team was friendly, informative and enthusiastic. We had an awesome time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing half day of snorkeling

Reviewed by: cm_83, 2013/11/16

A great time snorkeling. The spots were amazing with so many marine creatures to see. Incredible to see what kind of life is happening just out of site. The crew was professional kind and courteous helping my friends who was a bit nauseous midway through. If I'm ever back here will most definitely go again either on this or one of their other activities.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Rachel B, 2013/05/11

Went with 2 of my girlfriends and it was a blast! We saw 3-4 dozen dolphins all swimming together, a momma and baby and individual dolphins would swim right next to us. We did this all without disrupting them as they dropped us in the path of the dolphins and told us not to swim but to just float above them. All of the other tour boats around us had their passengers in their fins splashing and causing commotion which scares them away. Also saw sea turtles and tons of fish. Would recommend especially for a beginner snorkeler as their equipment worked well and a crew member even got in the water with us and showed us all kinds of neat things. Worth the money for sure and lunch was tasty too!

Reply from activity provider

Wonderful! Thank you for joining us, and your review. Also a huge thanks for remaining "passive" for the dolphins so they could enjoy their time with you all as well. The dolphins are incredible creatures that we want to share with others and it requires the respect that you have shown. From the dolphins, turtles fish and crew at Ko Oljna Ocean Adventures, thank you, we hope to see you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Was good but.....

Reviewed by: Mike, 2012/11/08

It was my first time snorkeling and I was a little nervous yet excited. Our first site was really nice and the water was perfect. When we went off to see our second site where the dolphins hang out we were all disappointed to find that there were no dolphins. I really can't blame this on the crew. They did their best but to no avail. I suppose there is some risk involved that we may not see any dolphins since they are wild animals and it is a big ocean. But overall I had a nice time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thoroughly worth it!

Reviewed by: Jess, 2011/12/10

This was a great day out, everything went smoothly and there was nothing negative about the day! First we went and saw the green sea turtles, then went to the a reef to see the fish (also saw turtles there). Lastly we went to see the dolphins. The only bad thing about this trip was NOT the tour's fault - the poor dolphins were being harrassed by about 10 different groups at once and they were clearly stressed.
Lunch was better than expected and filling.
Don't bother getting fish food - just follow other people who bought it (plus the tour people have some that they chucked in anyway). The snorkel equipment was way above average - well taken care of!
The wet suit didn't look worth it - everyone froze whether they were wearing a bikini or a wetsuit so definitely take a weather-proof jacket that you don't mind getting wet!
Transportation was easy and hassel-free.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2011/10/22

I was lucky to have a great crew! Captain Marc and Steve were awesome and funny guys, thank you for having a great trip! We also had been happy seeing the dolphins right away and didn´t have to search for them! The snorkeling was great, especially for first timer, because Marc took his time to explain everything and make people feeling comfortable in the water. They also explain how to behave in the waters with turtles and dolphins around you - so, please listen to them!! It is exhausting having people bumping into you, because they swim - what you should not do....well, some people don´t listen and don´t watch their environment!
Oh, and don´t imagine yourself actually swimming and playing with dolphins! you wanna do that, go to sea life (what I am not recommending - those poor doplphins!!) It´s wild animals - you are able to observe them and their behavior, swimming beneath you - that was awesome!
After the trip, we had a nice lunch with burgers of your choice (pork, chicken, veggi

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Marina, 2009/10/31

It was great. I was lucky enough to have the turtles swim right up to my nose, and the dolphins to swim up right underneath me. We had some trouble getting the dolphins to come close, but I'm glad that the crew kept on trying. The guys were really nice and the photographer took some great shots. I think it's great for first timers as well - you can opt to go after everyone and the crew really makes sure that you're safe. I would do it again any time (if I had more time in Oahu, I actually would've done it again in the week that I was there) and highly recommend it.

I wish I heard about the "deep drop" before I went, but I guess it just means I'll have to go again...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Garry NE UK, 2008/10/12

From start to finish this was an experience i will never forget the staff were great and of cause the whole trip highlight was swimming with the dolphins it was fantastic make sure you have an under water camera, also seen the turtles and lots and lots of fish. Nice snack at the end of trip and a chance to see the photo's what were taken while out at sea.
Thank you very much i hope to come back and do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2008/05/03

Such a great activity. The scenery is beautiful and it's so neat to see the dolphins up close and personal. People kept swimming towards them when the crew kept telling them not to so we didn't get as close as I would have liked, but I still got to see them swim under me once. The snorkeling is neat too. I would reccommend this activity to anyone. Make sure to wear lots of sunblock though because I got burnt to a crisp. The crew was great and the lunch was sooo good!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great experience!

Reviewed by: Teresa, 2007/11/19

It was a beautiful morning in Hawaii. We saw dolphins as soon as we were out in the open water. Captain Mark and his crews were wonderful. They really wanted us to have a good time! I have great shots of dolphins playing and swimming in the ocean. The snorkeling was great. The water was warm and clear. We saw turtles and plenty of fish. As an added bonus, I saw dolphins underwater while snorkeling. This is an activity you will surely enjoy. I would come back for more!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Time of my life!

Reviewed by: Harvey, 2007/09/18

I had the time of my life!! Could not ask for anything better. The staff was very personable and passionate about their job!! When I make it back I will book me the same trip with them!! This was my favorite tour on my trip!!! Thanks to the staff!!!

Joey Harvey

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories