Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.27 4.27 / 5

Reviews

1650 reviews
Post a review

October Bday

Reviewed by: Yanira, 2021/05/01

My "good" vs "outstanding" rating is 100% dependent on the time of the year. So I had actually done this trip before but in July which I loved. I ended up spending my bday alone during the day so decided I wanted to come back out to the sandbar. Well nothing had changed from the last time, same good food, same great crew, great snorkeling. Not sure if it matters but when I went in July the water was knee deep, when I went in October it was up to my chest. Now I'm only 5ft tall so wasn't gonna drown but it was just different. It was also a little more windy so I'm just gonna chalk it up to a new "season". Still had a great experience but I will more than likely make my sandbar trips in the summer vs the "fall". Still a great friendly crew so don't forget to bring cash to tip them at the end!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Trip!

Reviewed by: Leana, 2021/04/22

The snorkeling place is good! So many fishes! Turtle view is fine as we are a bit far from those turtles and we can only see their head for a second when they come out of water for air. The sandbar itself is good too, but not sure what to do with it except playing volleyball.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Solid experience

Reviewed by: Kris, 2020/02/15

Food was ok but experience was great! Happy we chose to spend our day with this crew

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the sandbar

Reviewed by: Steven, 2019/07/29

The boat ride to the sandbar and walking out on the sandbar was a great experience. Highly recommend it. Unfortunately, the weather could have been a little better as it rained for a bit. The crew were friendly and provided great commentary as to what to see and do as well as safety features. The snorkeling by the reef was another great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is Aloha life

Reviewed by: Robert, 2018/08/04

It was an excellent experience! The staff were outstanding and fun

  • It was an excellent experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable outing

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2018/08/04

We had always wanted to visit the Sandbar and snorkel in the Kaneohe area. Captain Bob's made it enjoyable . The crew was pleasant and the food was great. It was a relaxed atmosphere (meaning, not too regulated) so we could pretty much do whatever we wanted. There were lots of turtles and fish. The only drawback was that it was more crowded than I'd imagined it would be. Maybe it would be less busy when the keikis go back to school.

  • Snorkel companion

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sandbar Tour

Reviewed by: Satisfied, 2018/06/02

The whole experience was being on the sandbar, which was amazing. However the tide was to our waist and it wasn't very sunny so I'd plan better for a low tide. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Don't get excited about the BBQ lunch. It was fine but frozen stacks of burgers.

The highlight of snorkeling was seeing a giant sea Turtle, beyond that the water conditions made it hard to see other fish. And I doubted the sterilization of the snorkel gear.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Kate, 2018/01/20

Staff are nice. Lunch was simple but tasty. When we went there, sandbar was not very low tide and we had rain. So most people stayed at the boat as it was too cold being in the water. Snorkel was nice. It was nice that the staff are watching us for safety when we were in the water. We had to wait for return shuttle for 30 min as there was some misunderstanding between the transportation company and the tour company. While waiting for our shuttle, We saw puffer fish at the marina where boat launch/stay. It was nice surprise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bay Cruise

Reviewed by: Julie of Cali, 2017/12/16

It was wonderful to be on the bay! I enjoyed swimming at the sandbar , beautiful views and the sea turtles. The aloha spirit was ever present. I love Oahu. Enjoy your tour!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time but crowded

Reviewed by: ADR, 2017/10/09

I've lived here for a few years and have really wanted to experience the sand bar. Overall the crew and boat were excellent.! It was crowded and frustrating with tourists not understanding English and basic instructions like "Do Not Stand Or Touch the Reef." Sad~ and makes me wish it was a more eco friendly tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is NOT a non-smoking tour

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/07/10

This is the second time I've taken this tour and it is a wonderful experience. However, be warned this is NOT a non-smoking tour which we only discovered this second time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kama Aina fun!

Reviewed by: Mo & Family, 2017/06/07

Thanks to the whole crew for showing us a good time as well as our visiting guests! We look forward to doing it again! Mahalo & Cheers!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a fun experience

Reviewed by: Michael Wallace, 2017/05/21

Captain bobs snorkel tour was a lot of fun. You get taken out to a shallow water area at first, to play around with volleyball, taking water photos, and then they give you a barbecue lunch. Then we're taken into shallow waters further out, but along the way we are looking for large turtle citing a. We saw many large turtles. When we stopped again we were let into the shallow waters(3-4ft) to swim with small fish, and snorkel with a breather pipe, to see live coral, and small fish. The whole time a performer was singing, and playing ukelele on top the ship, a really fun time. I would recommend capt bobs for a fun afternoon!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Babe , 2017/05/19

Everyone was friendly! The sandbar was the best part. Family friendly and fun for anyone! The only bad was that we didn't see anything while snorkeling and the coral reefs were rough.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

18th Anniversary Trip to Hawaii Of Dr Perre Joven Famiky Dentistry

Reviewed by: Dr Pierre Joven , 2017/05/06

Fun day At Captain Bob's . Amazing experience to see the mantas and turtles . Good bbq lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good staff

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2017/02/04

All was good, only thing that could improve is the lunch. Spend at least $10 per person on lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Experience was Corny and Fun, oh yeah, the bus broke down.

Reviewed by: CATourist, 2017/01/09

Everything was exactly as promised. I booked this for myself, 46 yr old mom and my family of 4, kids ages 13, 11 and 9 and Hubby. I chose this tour based on the pick-up time from our hotel and the hot lunch. Other tours had earlier times and offered cold cuts. We took the tour from the Sheraton Waikiki.
The boat and snorkeling equipment were in good condition - the location was amazing and just like the brochure.
The hamburgers were satisfying - we were happy to eat them.
We saw about a dozen Sea Turtles - this made my kids very happy.
The reef snorkle was great for me - but felt short.
Staff was excellent, very helpful and congenial - one even played a guitar during lunch - keeping the ambiance light and loose. They managed boat safety and maneuvering well.
You do not need to have athletic ability- just know how to breath and float and you can enjoy it. The seas were extremely mild and I did not get sick or feel nauseous as I am prone to.

The bus did break down headed up Likelike hwy. The tour operators had a replacement bus on site in about 15 minutes so the inconvenience was minimal. They didn't exactly keep us well appraised of the situation but it was managed well- enough.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/11/26

The tour was great but just one thing; they don't have prescription boggles.

I was trying to buy or rent them,
but the website said there are a few of them and a person who called for a confirmation a day before the tour said the same thing, so I didn't bring them.
It turned out they don't carry them anymore.

That was kinda annoying.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkling tour

Reviewed by: Ginnie, 2016/11/07

The tour was great. Luch was awesome! The highlight would have to be the vollyball game everyone in our group had a blast!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it but ...

Reviewed by: Sara , 2016/09/01

We had a great time and it's definitely worthwhile to check out the Sandbar. The water is just beautiful and great snorkelling too. Lunch was also very decent. We had hamburger and pineapples and tortilla chips on the side. The only thing that bothered us was that the Captain kept on assuming we are Japanese and that we don't speak English (given that there are a lot of Japanese tourists on the boat). He repeatedly tried to communicate with us in very broken Japanese. We look Asian, but we are Canadian and we don't understand Japanese. I always reply him in English but he keeps forgetting that we speak English. Maybe he thinks we all look the same. He loved making conversations in English with Caucasian guests, called out the non-Asian names on his list of guests, and ask them where they were from, whether they were celebrating an occasion, but made no effort to talk to us the same way. The translator, think his name was Freddie, initially assumed we were Japanese too but caught on right away that we are English speakers which was great. Other staff were very nice and helpful. Overall we did have a great time and I would recommend this, only the Captain frustrated us a little.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice sand bar

Reviewed by: tony, 2016/05/10

thank u so much. captain & staff. so nice & fun.
everything was good except bad weather (windy rain).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awsome adventure

Reviewed by: Ross and Mona, 2015/11/29

We had a great time. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We had a few surprises such as the turtle watching and the snorkeling at the beautiful reef. The food was great and the hot cocoa and beverages were a plus. There was more people than we expected but overall we had a wonderful time. Thank you captain bobs gang ;)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Natsumi, 2015/10/07

I joined this activity with my husband and 2yrs old son.
We all spent really good time:)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

乗るなら英語船に

Reviewed by: ネコママ, 2015/03/26

日本語ガイドがいる日本船と 英語のみの英語船とがありました。
私たち家族は英語船へ、母と友人は日本語船へ乗船。
日本人に人気のサンドバーだけあって 日本船は満員でした。
それに比べて英語船は (同じ大きさですが)ゆったりのんびり。
この差が大きく出たのは ランチ時です。
ずーっと並んでいる日本人を横目に ランチのお代わりをする英語船。
亀何匹見れた?って友人に聞いたら 3匹も見れたよ~ と返事。
そっちは何匹?と聞かれ 30匹以上見れた と返事するのが申し訳ない位。
日本人ガイドさんとは サンドバーに上陸したときに会えるので、
特に英語で困らなければ 英語船への乗船をお勧めします。
元々乗組員は全員英語 ジョークも英語ですので、わからない方にはわかりません。
シュノーケリングを楽しんで 亀を見るだけなら
英語がわからなくても大丈夫です。
ただ海の透明度は メキシコのカンクンなどに比べるとはるかに落ちますが、
こんなに一杯魚いるんだ~ と感激しました。
初シュノーケリングではまりました。 
(翌年はメキシコでシュノーケリングするくらいはまりました)

  • ランチはアメリカンなハンバーガー

  • 魚 さかな サカナ 魚え~

  • さんご礁とのコラボ

  • 亀さん2匹 見えますか?

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip was great

Reviewed by: Spudley, 2014/06/22

We really enjoyed visiting the sandbar and the coral reef--the coral was amazing and there were many tropical fish around, as well as several green turtles for those who got off the boat before everyone else. Turtle sightings around the area where they were supposed to be were somewhat disappointing. We were pleasantly surprised by the grilled cheeseburgers for lunch and unpleasantly surprised by having to pay for beers--for what we paid for the trip, a beer or two for free should have been provided

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kaneohe Bay Sandbar

Reviewed by: Stacey Franklin, 2013/12/30

Excellent Tour definantly would go again. Nice friendly staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour December 10 11-3pm Captain Bob cruise

Reviewed by: M Farris, 2013/12/18

Crew was great and very friendly did a good job making the minority English speaking tourists feel welcome. Would have appreciated a little more tour of the waters around that side of Oahu rather than pointing at various things and saying there's Gilligan's island as we headed back at end of day.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nicely spent our first day on Oahu

Reviewed by: Lilly, 2013/10/14

Fun crew, Great locations, good food. Relaxing day on Oahu

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sand bar

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/27

Fun staff

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Truely Enjoyable

Reviewed by: Mark from Ottawa, 2012/02/29

For the first snorkel outting of our trip, this was a great way to get the ball rolling. Other than the long drive to get to the boat launch everything was smooth sailing. The crew was great and fun to travel with and were very knowledgable on the sites we visited. The trip to the sand bar was a treat. Only regret is we would love to have stayed at the reef longer.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories