This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

Amazing guided diamond tour

Reviewed by: Jeff , 2018/06/15

Me and my wife booked a guided walking tour to the summit of diamond head crater with Oahu nature tours for June 12, our guide Tori was very friendly, knowledgeable and very informative, she went at a pace where we could all keep up and we stopped at a few spots along the way to take photo opportunities and to make sure everyone in the group was alright before continuing to the summit, once we arrived at the summit we had an unbelievable, breathtaking view of all of downtown Waikiki, she was more then willing to take pictures of me and my wife with the incredible picturesque views, once we got down we were all given certificates as a souvenir and a reminder of the achievement that we all accomplished, I would highly recommend booking a tour with Tori, she truly made one of our experiences here on Oahu a very memorable one, thank you so very much Oahu nature tours and a special thanks toTori.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Guide Was Great

Reviewed by: DonzGC, 2018/04/07

Our guide was wonderful and realised we had a group of very different exercise levels.

My partner and I are quite fit and were easily going up Diamond Head - she realised this and told us to just go ahead and meet us down the bottom at a certain time.

This is a great walk - although very busy and I was surprised at some of the way people dressed - (slide on shoes / jeans) and also the fitness levels of some - as though they didn't realise they would be climbing a moutain.

The hike itself is surprisingly fairly easy - however tracks at some points very uneven.

But definately worth the view when you get to the top.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great because of our amazing guide

Reviewed by: Tayler , 2018/01/09

This hike would not have been worth the money at all just for the hike itself: it is an easily accessible location by frequent city bus and not at all worthy of having a guide for (it's all paved, no one is getting lost!) but the guide who's name I unfortunately forget was incredible. I learned a lot about the island from him, a wealth of knowledge. He is a park ranger when not doing the guides. Plus, he recommended a couple really good hikes to me (kuli ou ou ridge trail was amazing) that made it worth while. Extremely easy walk, if you want something more exciting do some research and look them up on the Hawaii trails site.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Lelo, 2017/12/14

Guide set a reasonable pace. Stopped frequently on the way up to share history and facts. Nice time.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing hike with awesome views

Reviewed by: Kayla, 2017/12/10

The diamond head hike tour was amazing. The tour guide Marisa was lovely and informative. She was able to moderate the pace for the whole group too so it made the walk more enjoyable for everyone!
Would definitely reccomene this to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip!

Reviewed by: Margaret, 2017/11/13

Marissa was very knowledgeable and informative. It was totally worth going; you learn so much more through a guide then doing the diamond head hike on your own. Great job!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamondhead hike

Reviewed by: Letty Torres, 2017/11/11

I enjoyed it. Approximately 1.5 mile hike up and back. Tour guide was very informative. Views were great! You are allowed to go at your own pace. Recommend to go with tour bus because parking spaces are very limited for cars. Cars were waiting to enter while bus was let in right away. Snow cone at the end of the hike was perfect!


  • View of Oceanside from top.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great View

Reviewed by: Singh, 2017/06/10

Great view that pays off for the hike. Take your time and bring plenty of water.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head 2017

Reviewed by: Henry, 2017/06/05

WOW what a view from the top of the crater. It was breathtaking to see Waikiki down below. The hike up was not very hard of anyone of average abilities. It had it all; wide open paths, narrow paths for inline walking, tunnel, many many steps, steep inclines and sloping inclines. All told it was .8 of a mile from top to bottom and well worth every penny to do. Our tour guide made the trip well worth our while. He gave us a good history of the crater and many of the attributes in and around Honolulu.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Karen , 2017/04/22

We really enjoyed this although it was quite strenuous for us oldies ( forties)
Bethany was wonderful . We ended up doing a few tours with this same company as we were so impressed . All the staff are amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great holiday!

Reviewed by: Teresa Yamada, 2017/03/29

Our man for the day named Peter. Very helpful and friendly tour guide who really have the sincerity to make our crater's climbing worth to remember. This is the fondest memory we had during the trip .


  • Panoramic view


  • On top of the crater

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Outdoor Activity

Reviewed by: MAG, 2017/02/26

Really fun way to get outside and see beautiful views of the Island. There are cheaper ways to do Diamond Head, but this way you get a shuttle from your hotel with a hilarious guide that gives you facts about the Island on your drive up there. There's also a certificate at the end and the guide will stay with the last member of the party the whole way up, so there's no chance you'll get left behind. He was extremely knowledgeable and fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour and guide

Reviewed by: Janet, 2016/12/18

We were picked up with no problems exactly on time. Our tour guide was friendly and gave us great information about the area. The hike was not difficult and not rushed. Really good value for money.


  • The view from the top

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head hike

Reviewed by: Massachusetts Jim, 2016/10/28

Our hike was guided by Bethany.
She was awesome, sheexactly described the hike and set our expectations, the path, water and photo opportunities. She also advised us on group meet-up locations, letting each of us travel at a speed that would be comfortable for us. She gave special attention to the less athletic so that they could enjoy the hike. Fortunately none of us wore high heels like some unguided hikers did! She noticed that my wife and I didn't have a backpack to carry our bottled water, camera, or other items and lent us an extra one she had. You cannot go wrong if you hike Diamond Head with Bethany.
Massachusetts Jim
Ps: After the hike we traveled through Honolulu and Bethany became a tour guide too!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond head tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Mrs rodriguez, 2016/10/18

Our tour guide Justin was the best! He was super friendly and had a wealth of information on places to visit during our stay. He made the tour extra fun!!! Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good hike

Reviewed by: monica, 2016/08/11

Got this hike for my granddaughter and friend and th tell me it was fun and the tour guide good

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth Doing

Reviewed by: Globe Trotter, 2016/08/10

Although this was more of a guided walk than a hike, it was definitely worth doing and the guide was amazingly knowledgeable. The crowds detracted slightly from the experience, but the tour guide and transportation were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Guide!

Reviewed by: Bill L, 2016/07/19

The guide, Mandy, did a fantastic job in educating the group about Diamond Peak and other items that were about Hawaii in general. She was very kind, and paced the group to keep the hike enjoyable for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good activity

Reviewed by: Jerry Shannon, 2016/07/15

The Guide was great and had a lot of knowledge and good talking points

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Hike

Reviewed by: Dave G, 2016/07/02

Not a moderate hike. Sun and heat make this a more than moderate hike. Guide and transportation make this a 5 star event, especially the guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hiking

Reviewed by: Donabelle Lawan, 2016/05/22

It was a first time experience for my family and I to go on a hiking. Our tour guide Mandy was very nice and so it made our hiking experience great. We had a wonderful time over all.


  • At the top of the diamond head

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!

Reviewed by: Katrin , 2016/05/12

A hike to Diamond Head is a MUST when you're on O'hau. My guide was Mandy and she is just plain awesome! Super nice and always sharing interesting facts, answering all questions, sharing a joke. Great atmosphere throughout the whole trip. The hike wasn't as exhausting as I feared but be aware that it's not a stroll in the park either ;) The view is spectacular and I'm glad I booked this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Guided Tour!

Reviewed by: Cliff Merems, 2016/04/08

First of all, I can't say enough about our guide Justin. He was phenomenal! He knows Hawaii, its history, landmarks, restaurants, sites to see. And not just the touristy stuff, he gets into detail and keeps you captivated and entertained and that was all just in the shuttle on the way to Diamond Head. Our guided tour through Diamond Head was no less informative and entertaining. Justin's knowledge of its history and ecology seemed limitless. I would recommend this tour, and especially Justin, to anyone who's considering seeing Diamond Head.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Hike

Reviewed by: Rose Canon, 2016/03/28

Most amazing time ever!!! Durk, our tour guide was absolutely amazing!!!! Highly recommend this tour!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience!

Reviewed by: Lillian, 2016/03/21

I really enjoyed this hike! The Guide,Greg was super! He was very informative and encouraged everyone in our group to make it to the top! We were able to stop and take our time! Thanks for a wonderful adventure! I would highly recommend this hike! The views of the island were awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: The two Swedes, 2016/02/18

We had a great experience. A well spoken tour leader who told us a lot of history around Honolulu and Hawaii altogether, not only the Diamond Head crater. He was also a licenced Park Ranger.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great guide, well worth it.

Reviewed by: Julz, 2016/02/15

Well worth the money to have a hotel pickup right on time, a very knowledgeable guide and a perfect day. This hike was nowhere near the strenuous climb we thought it would be. Paul our guide was great , informative and funny, pointing out various things of interest along the way, we were given plenty of rest stops and a lot of local history. The climb up is steep in parts on the stairs, and rocky in places but no problems for our group of 6 Aussies who ranged in age from 18 to 68. None of us are fitness freaks, in fact our 68 year old relative had only had a hip replacement 6 months before. We went in winter and it was pretty warm on the way down so go early. Loved it and would definitely do it again. Thanks Paul and Howzit!!


  • Steep stairs but worth it.


  • awesome 360 degree views

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Sonya, 2016/01/24

Mandy from Oahu Nature tours took us to Diamond Head and her enthusiasm and knowledge of the area was brilliant. We all enjoyed this activity very much

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience with great guide!

Reviewed by: Barbara, 2015/10/10

Being older, I was a little nervous about whether or not I could actually make this hike. Our guide, Bethany was great. Encouraging, knowledgeable and patient! The view was amazing. Great trip!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your great review! We are glad to hear you made it to the top of the crater, the view is always breath-taking! We hope to see you the next time you are on Oahu for another one of our adventures.

Mahalo,

Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go early!!!

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2015/09/12

This is not a hike for those who don't exercise at all!! It is steep and very little shade and the path is hard to walk. But if you go slow it is well worth it!! Be prepared for what are I think 74 stairs.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Oahu Categories