Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

Great View

Reviewed by: Singh, 2017/06/10

Great view that pays off for the hike. Take your time and bring plenty of water.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head 2017

Reviewed by: Henry, 2017/06/05

WOW what a view from the top of the crater. It was breathtaking to see Waikiki down below. The hike up was not very hard of anyone of average abilities. It had it all; wide open paths, narrow paths for inline walking, tunnel, many many steps, steep inclines and sloping inclines. All told it was .8 of a mile from top to bottom and well worth every penny to do. Our tour guide made the trip well worth our while. He gave us a good history of the crater and many of the attributes in and around Honolulu.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Karen , 2017/04/22

We really enjoyed this although it was quite strenuous for us oldies ( forties)
Bethany was wonderful . We ended up doing a few tours with this same company as we were so impressed . All the staff are amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great holiday!

Reviewed by: Teresa Yamada, 2017/03/29

Our man for the day named Peter. Very helpful and friendly tour guide who really have the sincerity to make our crater's climbing worth to remember. This is the fondest memory we had during the trip .


  • Panoramic view


  • On top of the crater

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Outdoor Activity

Reviewed by: MAG, 2017/02/26

Really fun way to get outside and see beautiful views of the Island. There are cheaper ways to do Diamond Head, but this way you get a shuttle from your hotel with a hilarious guide that gives you facts about the Island on your drive up there. There's also a certificate at the end and the guide will stay with the last member of the party the whole way up, so there's no chance you'll get left behind. He was extremely knowledgeable and fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour and guide

Reviewed by: Janet, 2016/12/18

We were picked up with no problems exactly on time. Our tour guide was friendly and gave us great information about the area. The hike was not difficult and not rushed. Really good value for money.


  • The view from the top

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head hike

Reviewed by: Massachusetts Jim, 2016/10/28

Our hike was guided by Bethany.
She was awesome, sheexactly described the hike and set our expectations, the path, water and photo opportunities. She also advised us on group meet-up locations, letting each of us travel at a speed that would be comfortable for us. She gave special attention to the less athletic so that they could enjoy the hike. Fortunately none of us wore high heels like some unguided hikers did! She noticed that my wife and I didn't have a backpack to carry our bottled water, camera, or other items and lent us an extra one she had. You cannot go wrong if you hike Diamond Head with Bethany.
Massachusetts Jim
Ps: After the hike we traveled through Honolulu and Bethany became a tour guide too!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond head tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Mrs rodriguez, 2016/10/18

Our tour guide Justin was the best! He was super friendly and had a wealth of information on places to visit during our stay. He made the tour extra fun!!! Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good hike

Reviewed by: monica, 2016/08/11

Got this hike for my granddaughter and friend and th tell me it was fun and the tour guide good

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth Doing

Reviewed by: Globe Trotter, 2016/08/10

Although this was more of a guided walk than a hike, it was definitely worth doing and the guide was amazingly knowledgeable. The crowds detracted slightly from the experience, but the tour guide and transportation were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Guide!

Reviewed by: Bill L, 2016/07/19

The guide, Mandy, did a fantastic job in educating the group about Diamond Peak and other items that were about Hawaii in general. She was very kind, and paced the group to keep the hike enjoyable for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good activity

Reviewed by: Jerry Shannon, 2016/07/15

The Guide was great and had a lot of knowledge and good talking points

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Hike

Reviewed by: Dave G, 2016/07/02

Not a moderate hike. Sun and heat make this a more than moderate hike. Guide and transportation make this a 5 star event, especially the guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hiking

Reviewed by: Donabelle Lawan, 2016/05/22

It was a first time experience for my family and I to go on a hiking. Our tour guide Mandy was very nice and so it made our hiking experience great. We had a wonderful time over all.


  • At the top of the diamond head

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!

Reviewed by: Katrin , 2016/05/12

A hike to Diamond Head is a MUST when you're on O'hau. My guide was Mandy and she is just plain awesome! Super nice and always sharing interesting facts, answering all questions, sharing a joke. Great atmosphere throughout the whole trip. The hike wasn't as exhausting as I feared but be aware that it's not a stroll in the park either ;) The view is spectacular and I'm glad I booked this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Guided Tour!

Reviewed by: Cliff Merems, 2016/04/08

First of all, I can't say enough about our guide Justin. He was phenomenal! He knows Hawaii, its history, landmarks, restaurants, sites to see. And not just the touristy stuff, he gets into detail and keeps you captivated and entertained and that was all just in the shuttle on the way to Diamond Head. Our guided tour through Diamond Head was no less informative and entertaining. Justin's knowledge of its history and ecology seemed limitless. I would recommend this tour, and especially Justin, to anyone who's considering seeing Diamond Head.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Hike

Reviewed by: Rose Canon, 2016/03/28

Most amazing time ever!!! Durk, our tour guide was absolutely amazing!!!! Highly recommend this tour!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience!

Reviewed by: Lillian, 2016/03/21

I really enjoyed this hike! The Guide,Greg was super! He was very informative and encouraged everyone in our group to make it to the top! We were able to stop and take our time! Thanks for a wonderful adventure! I would highly recommend this hike! The views of the island were awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: The two Swedes, 2016/02/18

We had a great experience. A well spoken tour leader who told us a lot of history around Honolulu and Hawaii altogether, not only the Diamond Head crater. He was also a licenced Park Ranger.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great guide, well worth it.

Reviewed by: Julz, 2016/02/15

Well worth the money to have a hotel pickup right on time, a very knowledgeable guide and a perfect day. This hike was nowhere near the strenuous climb we thought it would be. Paul our guide was great , informative and funny, pointing out various things of interest along the way, we were given plenty of rest stops and a lot of local history. The climb up is steep in parts on the stairs, and rocky in places but no problems for our group of 6 Aussies who ranged in age from 18 to 68. None of us are fitness freaks, in fact our 68 year old relative had only had a hip replacement 6 months before. We went in winter and it was pretty warm on the way down so go early. Loved it and would definitely do it again. Thanks Paul and Howzit!!


  • Steep stairs but worth it.


  • awesome 360 degree views

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Sonya, 2016/01/24

Mandy from Oahu Nature tours took us to Diamond Head and her enthusiasm and knowledge of the area was brilliant. We all enjoyed this activity very much

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience with great guide!

Reviewed by: Barbara, 2015/10/10

Being older, I was a little nervous about whether or not I could actually make this hike. Our guide, Bethany was great. Encouraging, knowledgeable and patient! The view was amazing. Great trip!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your great review! We are glad to hear you made it to the top of the crater, the view is always breath-taking! We hope to see you the next time you are on Oahu for another one of our adventures.

Mahalo,

Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go early!!!

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2015/09/12

This is not a hike for those who don't exercise at all!! It is steep and very little shade and the path is hard to walk. But if you go slow it is well worth it!! Be prepared for what are I think 74 stairs.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the Guided Diamond Head Hike!

Reviewed by: Mrs. D, 2015/09/06

The Diamond Head Hike was one of our favorite activities on Oahu! My 13 year old daughter and I booked this hike and, while we could have done it alone, I'm glad we were part of a group. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to diamond head. Our guide was friendly and helpful....I have to note that while he walked with the group, everyone climbed at their own pace...some were way ahead and others followed up from behind but we had meeting points at the mid way range and then at the top to be sure we had everyone. Our group was great and everyone watched out for one another. The climb itself is not overly difficult. There were people of all ages climbing. There are stopping points to take breaks if needed. Of course coming down is easier than going up!! Once we were down, our guide allowed time for the restroom and to grab a bottle of water if needed. Upon boarding the van for the return back to the hotel, we were all given our own individual 'I climbed Diamond Head' certificate which can be personalized and framed...my daughter loved this! I'd highly recommend this tour. I'd also recommend to book the early morning climb as it was getting very hot by 8:30 as we were finishing up. You'll also want a bottle of water.


  • At the top overlooking the inside off the crater


  • That's where we're headed


  • Sweeping views from the top


  • Top view


  • View of Makopu'u Lighthouse from the top

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Mrs. D,

We are thrilled that this hike was something you and your daughter both enjoyed! Your kind words and Great review mean a great deal to us, and your pictures turned out fantastic! The group support experience and educational part of the tours is exactly why we love our Diamond Head hike as well, and to be able to share that with Visitors makes it all worthwhile. Join us again for another adventure the next time you are in Oahu!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Oahu Nature Tours

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond head hike

Reviewed by: Maritza Avila , 2015/08/31

Best hike ever! Great view! Will do it again! It was great experience!


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Maritza,

We are so glad you enjoyed your Hike. Thank you for your great review!

Mahalo,

Oahu Nature Tours

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our guide was very friendly helpful and knowlegeable

Reviewed by: Kate from CA, 2015/07/10

Highly recommend this tour. It was tiring but the climb to the top was well worth it.





Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kate,

Thank you for your great review! The trek is a tiring but the view from the top is astonishing and Diamond Head is a must-see historic site here in Oahu. We hope you learned much and had a great trip. You must try some of our other adventure on your next visit to Oahu.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience! Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Sophie , 2015/05/10

David was a great tour guide. Very friendly. Set a good pace for the walk with lots of breaks and knowledge along the way. Also gave us some handy tips for our stay in Waikiki along the way. Would highly recommend.


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Sophie,

We truly appreciate your great review and are so happy that you had a great time. David and all of us here at Oahu Nature Tours love to hear that our guests were able to experience the spirit of Aloha. We hope to take you on another one of our adventures the next time you visit Oahu.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Oahu Nature Tours

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Creater Hike

Reviewed by: Diane & Barry, 2015/01/20

Justin (Timberlake) was fantastic. Very knowledgeable, and it was very obvious he loves his job. Thanks again for the great hike. Would totally recommend to my friends. I'm so glad you shared a bit of your island paradise with us.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Diane & Barry.

We are so happy to hear such wonderful things. We will be sure that Justin knows how much you enjoyed his tour. Our Islands's natural beauty is something we love to share. Thank you for choosing Oahu Nature Tours and for your kind words and great review. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience and view

Reviewed by: Rachel , 2015/01/11

Awesome tour! Our guide was very informative and lovely! The hike itself was amazing! The views and things you walk through are fantastic! Highly recommend to all!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Rachel,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will pass your kind words on to your guide, David. Here at Oahu Nature Tours, we strive to show visitors all the beauty that Hawaii has to offer in the Aloha spirit. Safe Travels and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

More than Moderate, but great experience

Reviewed by: Valgal, 2014/10/30

My sister insisted we had physical activity on our Hawaiian vacation...so she signed us up for the Diamond Head Crater Hike. We had a great experience! We were picked up at our designated location within the allotted 20 minute pick-up grace period and we were greeted by a very friendly guide. I am still amazed how he remembered everyone's name and where they were from instantly!

We felt safe the entire time and our guide (I think his name was Mike) was very upbeat and extremely knowledgeable about Hawaii, Diamond, the history of the island as well as the science behind the island formation, etc. I will say the trail was more challenging than I anticipated, but that could be because I haven't worked out in a few weeks. We were huffing and puffing at some points but were always given ample time to stop, rest and enjoy the scenery. The view once we reached the top was breathtaking and totally worth it.

The experience working with Veltra was enjoyable, they called to confirm our hike the day before and confirm our pick-up time and location. I would definitely recommend them and they would be my first choice for another adventure the next time I return to Hawaii.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Val,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your hike. Thank you for your kind words and great review. It is always satisfying to hear that our guests are able to share in our passion for the nature and beauty of Hawaii. Our guides love hearing the positive feedback and take pride in their work, training, and knowledge. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI