Page 4) Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

118 reviews
Post a review

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/09

Great, very enjoyable!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time had by all

Reviewed by: Karen, 2012/10/12

I attended the Chief's luau with my husband, siblings/spouses, and my elderly parents. A great time was had by all....even got my parents (temporary) tattooed at the event! We enjoyed the pre-show activities and the food was delicious. Chief and his group of entertainers put on an excellent show. This was my first luau, but my siblings had been to others on previous visits and said Chief's luau was their favorite.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Luau

Reviewed by: Blaze Daniels, 2012/09/29

This was our first Luau and we are confident in saying that it is quite possibly the best Luau you could attend. It was very authentic and Chief Seilu put on a great show from the dancing to music to his corky comedy. The activities before the Luau and the show itself are a perfect experience for anyone visiting Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/14

We really enjoyed this Luau. The entertainment and location were fantastic. The food was typical luau food, but what it lacked was made up for by the staff and the show. Would go again in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Lovely Event & Evening

Reviewed by: Leigh, 2012/09/14

1 - A very informative and interesting event

2 - A fantastic location for the event, with mountains and the sea in the back-drop

3 - Talented dancers!

4 - A hilarious chief who makes the entire crowd get involved and excited

5 - Decent food for a buffet, some unique Hawaiian dishes. Nothing too fancy. It's not about the food, much more about the experience overall.

It was our first time in Hawaii and our first and only luau. We are happy we went and experienced it on the 2nd night of our vacation. It is worth it to have the luau experience and great fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's luau

Reviewed by: Remar, 2012/09/04

Great show. Started out slow at first but the small audience made it a really personal experience

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau!!!

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2012/07/31

My family and I had a wonderful time. The entire night we were laughing and enjoying the show. The view is beautiful and the staff was great. I would definitely recommend this to people looking for a Luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: Gerry, 2012/05/26

By far the best Luau in Oahu. 'Chief' is on to a winner with his Luau. He entertains you from the start to the end of the evening with his brilliant comedy skills, his drumming, singing and, of course, his fire dance which is sensational. There is a lot of audience participation, the food is excellent and it all adds up to the most magical evening. 'Chief' has an excellent team with him and I would highly recommend this Luau to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing night!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/05/21

Booked this activity with a few friends, as we wanted to do something fun in the evening, and what a great choice this was! Being close to Waikiki is the first perk, but the entertainment and scenery makes it even better.

We were running late, so missed some of the crafts before the luau, but as soon as got there they were starting the Imu ceremony, which was unlike anything I have ever seen! Between Chief Seilu, who is the definition of entertainment, to the dancing, music, and wonderful food, this was definitely a night none of us will ever forget. Thanks Chief for keeping us laughing the whole time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau: No Ka 'Oi!!

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2012/05/18

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park was by far the best luau I've ever been to! I've gone to other luaus on the island but this one hands down beats all the others. The venue alone has spectacular views of the mountains and the ocean directly in front of you. After sunset you can even see Makapu'u light house lit up in the distance.
Chief Sielu was a FANTASTIC host. Right when you arrived you felt so welcomed by the Chief and the other staff. Not only were they welcoming and made you feel comfortable. He had my friends and I laughing the entire time, his humor was hysterical! Not to mention the entire luau was super interactive and informative. Chief Sielu is SO passionate about his culture and passing his knowledge on to others, that the entire luau was both extremely entertaining but also educational, which was great.
All the performances, dances, and traditions that were taught to us were amazing. The fire dancing was spectacular and far beyond my expectations! The food was also delici

Rating:
Attended as:Families
3 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nothing Corny About This Luau

Reviewed by: Ms. Rosie, 2012/05/18

First off... I will RECOMMEND this luau over any other luau on Oahu. This didn’t even feel like an activity or a tour I paid for, it felt like I was invited to a festive Hawaiian family gathering.

I have been to many "traditional" luaus, and usually leave during the show because it gets so boring, everyone does the same routine..over and over again. Not at this luau. I cannot explain how good of a time we had.

The show was great and the Chief grabbed your attention the minute you walked in, he was so funny! Chief Sielu had my friend and I laughing so hard we had to put our drinks and camera down because we wanted to enjoy every minute of it.

One of the main highlights was the fire knife dancing, it started off with 1 dancer, then 2, 3, 4, 5...it just kept on going!! I think at one time the stage nearly caught on fire but they just kept on flipping their fire knives, throwing it in the air..it was soooo exciting!!!

This luau felt like a family gathering, everyone shared

Rating:
Attended as:Families
4 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Luau and Closest to Waikiki

Reviewed by: Myk Powell, 2012/05/16

I chose to go to the Chief’s Luau at Sea Life Park because it was close to Waikiki but not IN Waikiki. And I had been to Sea Life Park and the ocean views there are absolutely gorgeous. The main reason I chose this one was I had heard so much about Chief Sielu. Everyone says he’s the best in the South Pacific and “everyone” were correct. What a luau!

In my humble opinion, the Chief’s Luau is the best. The Chief Sielu is even better than his reputation. He and his huge cast of male and female dancers first entertained us with crafts, how to weave, make fire, and dance hula. Then the Chief narrated the imu ceremony where they pulled the pig from the underground imu oven. Informative and funny. Dinner was great. Then came the show. Beyond entertaining, exceptionally funny, and more fire knife dancers than I expected. There were about 7 or 8 of them doing really wild stuff.

One of the best parts of this luau was its proximity to where I was staying in Waikiki. It took less than 30 m

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
5 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories