This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.77 4.77 / 5

Reviews

116 reviews
Post a review

AMAZING

Reviewed by: Rudy, 2016/10/12

I AM SO AMAZED AND DELIGHTED WITH MY FIRST LUAU EXPERIENCE, I LOVE IT.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great...

Reviewed by: Adriana, 2016/09/08

The show was funny and entertaining. The pre-games were fun. We even got a special dance since it was our honeymoon.. 2nd day. The drinks could have been better..the bartender was a bit sloppy..just stick to the mai tais

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

chief's luau

Reviewed by: Debra Jones, 2016/08/09

My sister and I wanna say thank you all at big chief's luau. First luau ever and we had a blast. So glad I had chosen Big Chief's. By far the best even though I'd had never been to another. The family oriented feeling you received you felt as if you had known them longer then you had. The food and entertainment was awesome. Not to mention the lesson in life to learn from . Teaching cultures and hawaii traditions was special. much love to the crew at Big chief's for making us feel so welcome. I would recommend to anyone I know. Even the bus tour guides was top stars.
Aloha
From Kansas
Love and peace

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply amazing!

Reviewed by: Daniel Haquet, 2016/07/14

We stayed in Oahu for our 10yr anniversary and this was attended the night of our very anniversary and all I can say is that the Luau was amazing. When everyone celebrating and anniversary was asked to go on stage, given flowers, torches came out and they shut off the lights and had the couples dance under the stars, it made our night. We could not have asked for a better experience. We had a great time, the staff was amazing and the event was more awesome than I could have ever anticipated. Highly recommend.

  • The backdrop was amazing!

  • The chief was such a character a genuinly awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience

Reviewed by: Michelle , 2016/07/06

We chose the Royal package, it was alot of fun sitting up close and getting to eat first! There were lots of activities to do before dinner and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The alcoholic drinks are very "light", drink your free ones but save your money on the others. Buy some of the hand made jewelry instead!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Cinthia , 2016/06/27

It was amazing definitely a must see show the culture was amazing and great to see

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: vegas, 2016/06/12

We had an amazing time. Would recommend to anyone. Fun for all ages

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just go!

Reviewed by: Froggie2121, 2016/05/15

Had a great time! Really fun people and a really funny and exciting show. Had a great time and delicious food and so many exciting activities and souvenirs. Everyone there is pleasant and it's worth the deals they have online!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau st Sea Life Park

Reviewed by: GeraldineRobinson, 2016/05/15

I have been to a number of Luau's on Oahu and this one is by far the best, mostly due to the brilliant 'Chief' who will keep you laughing throughout the evening. The food is excellent, the Hawaiian dancing is magical, the fire dance is spectacular, the whole evening is just total enjoyment from beginning to end. A show not to be missed.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Entertainment was the highlight

Reviewed by: David, 2016/04/09

The activities, dancing, and MC were very good. The food, however was just average. I have been to several luau before all of which had a better food selection.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Jacob Parent, 2016/02/24

This luau was the best ever for my first luau! so funny! everyone was friendly and the food was so fantastic!

  • Pig cooking

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau fun

Reviewed by: LindaTMK, 2016/01/24

I have attended many Luaus. This was the best by far. The pre entertainment, the show, the food and the staff were fabulous. Will definitely go again. A must - attend event.

  • Dancing the night away.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best decision!

Reviewed by: Sue, 2015/12/16

In Honolulu for business, I had just one day free and wanted to make the best of it. Ending the day with the Chief's Luau was the best decision I could have made. The show was the best part, really phenomenal entertainment and well worth the price. The ride out to the venue held spectacular views. Loved the whole experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience & Location

Reviewed by: H. Winarko, 2015/10/31

We had fun and lots of interaction with performers. Chief is super. Great Shows, food and location

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great luau

Reviewed by: susan, 2015/10/24

we found this luau great ,the view was amazing, the show wonderful ,shuttle bus staff fantastic our only problem was the food , we were the last table called up and some of the food had run out and also we didn't really like the food there just was not enough variety

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun luau!

Reviewed by: Jonathan W., 2015/08/31

This is the only luau I have attended, but I can't imagine one being more enjoyable than this one. The pick-up service was right on time at the scheduled location and the drive over to Sea Life Park was quick considering the time of departure. The pre-dinner activities were fun and I picked up a piece of local artwork from a vendor that has become my favorite Hawaiian collectible. Dinner was very good and I'm still thinking of how yummy the coconut cake was! Chief was very entertaining and the other performers really put their native pride into the show. I would certainly recommend this luau experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

There is reason why it's called Chief

Reviewed by: Jaybird, 2015/08/22

I am a native Hawaiian so I know my way around a luau. I was home visiting family and decided to take my wife and kids to Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii. I must say it was THE BEST luau I have ever been to. The food was excellent as I usually go to a luau for the food first and show second. The show was even better as Chief was the perfect showman with talent to burn. Speaking of burn, the fire dancers were simply AMAZING!! The entire show was dazzling as each Polynesian country were represented in true artistry. What an amazing show with some of the most delicious authentic Hawaiian food I have ever tasted. My only complaint, and its a small one, is that there was no haupia for dessert.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii/Paradise Seating

Reviewed by: Billy&Janis&Bryton, 2015/08/17

Fantastic. We were made to feel Welcome to the Beautiful Island. The presentation
was very authentic performed with passion. We really felt as if The Chief had gathered
the best of the best to reflect the special times of island life. The venue is the perfect
size and the interaction during the Meet & Greet time with games and conversation
could only be described as welcomed interaction.
Thank You for the pride of heritage and reality in which all was presented.
Gorgeous view of the bay behind the Stage complimented the performance of these
proud islanders.
Thank You

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2015/05/17

After swimming with the dolphins at Sea Life Park, we simply walked back through the park to the Luau (very convenient). We were greeted warmly with a shell necklace and photo op with the Chief, and then got to enjoy some games (spear tossing, a Polynesian version of musical chairs (except with sticks), braiding palm leaves to make head-bands, and hula dancing). There were also some tables with native-made goods for sale. Then the Chief led the unveiling ceremony of the roasted pig (he is very entertaining and funny), got our non-alcoholic drinks and food (which was very tasty, especially the pineapple cake!), and then enjoyed the show. The hula dancers were very talented, the fire dancers where great, and it was neat to see all the different dance styles of the islands that were represented. It was our 2nd wedding anniversary, so we got to go up on stage with some other couples and they honored us with some pretty flowers! The only down-side was that the location is a little small, but other than that, we had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So and so!

Reviewed by: Marzia (Roma-Italy), 2015/04/15

It has been a beautiful night, with a very normal dinner, nothing special for the price, with a beautiful show at the end. My disappointment was because I paid for a Royal seating and the seating was not good at all. I had to stand up and sit on the ground to have a beatiful view and I also didn't get the lei. But all the staff people were really very kind and I enjoyed the traditional dances and the fire knives dance.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic backdrop for a great Luau

Reviewed by: Paula, 2015/04/13

Everyone loved the entertainment, food and ohana spirit here.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing and hilarious

Reviewed by: Diana, 2015/04/12

food was delicious, activities were entertaining and fun. The chief was hilarious. View was spectacular. Loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN FUN FUN

Reviewed by: R family, 2015/04/04

We had a great night! The food was good and the show was amazing! It was worth the beautiful drive and the money paid.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

worth the money

Reviewed by: R family, 2015/04/04

We enjoyed the luau so much! We even got to see several whale breeches in the ocean behind the stage just before the show began. BONUS! Seeing the dancers and all that talent on stage was a great way to spend our evening.
Dinner was good, show was fun and the setting and the way the involved everyone made it that much more fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular

Reviewed by: Spencer , 2015/03/22

We looked around at a lot of luaus but then we luckily got recommended for chiefs from our front desk lady. The food was amazing, the stuff before was a lot of fun. The show was incredible and the chief was a blast and very funny! Would defiantly recommend it to anyone looking for a great luau at a pretty good price!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park

Reviewed by: Zack, 2015/02/21

Great time had. I only wish I would have upgraded seating. The standard seats were good, but surrounding people talked way too much during the show. No fault of the luau by any means. Just a lack of common consideration by a handful of inconsiderate people. It could have happened anywhere and our family was able to move to avoid them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chiefs Luau

Reviewed by: Paul Viator, 2015/02/07

Very entertaining and nice experience. The food was a little disappointing, could have been better for the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Time!!

Reviewed by: Vincent & Linda - NY, 2015/01/21

WE had the perfect night. The luau was everything we dream it would be. The Chief and his staff were wonderful! Totally worth it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: WallanVic, 2015/01/11

The Chief's Luau was fun and culture fulfilled. This was our second Luau and found this better than the Paradise Cove Luau as there was alot more teachings of the Polynesia culture. It was wonderful to hear about the different Polynesian beleifs, markings dancers and so much more. The Chief was a great host and his passion for his culture was lovely. A wonderful night.

  • Great Family night with the Chief

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Put this on your to do list

Reviewed by: Japhia, nz, 2014/12/21

My first luau and it was such fun great food and entertainment I learnt how to do the hula and even got up on stage the chief is so funny too

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories