Page 2) Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

131 reviews
Post a review

Yummy food Funny Chief

Reviewed by: MTK, 2017/01/30

Had so much fun at this show and the good was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT LUAU!

Reviewed by: Debs, 2017/01/21

Saw the chief in 1985 at PCC. Loved his wit & charm then. So glad he has come so far. Still as great as ever. Was touched by the couples dancing & Make a Wish kids. Would recommend this smaller luau to everyone!!
Thank you, Chief!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/01/17

We were told that going to Hawaii we had to go to a luau and we were not disappointed at all! The staff at chiefs luau were absolutely amazing, the food was fantastic but the overall experience is something we'll never forget. Thank you so much for a one of a kind and magical experience. I don't have enough good things to say, just do it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value and great location

Reviewed by: Roc & Nats, 2017/01/02

This was a must do activity and was made excellent by our host "Cousin Bo" who was informative and entertaining. The event itself was fantastic, the show was very professional and the story of the Pacific islands well executed. The fire dance at the end was visually stunning and well worth it. Location was beautiful and the trip there was pretty too. The activities and food were probably not my ideal, but we would absolutely recommend going for the actual performance. We booked the royal experience. The chief is a real comedian and the evening was good fun all round.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sealife Park

Reviewed by: Sandra, Sydney , 2016/12/05

We have been to Hawaii a couple of times and have been to most if the luaus, but we think the Chiefs Luau has been the best one by far. The food and drinks were very good and the location is very beautiful. The Chief was very funny and the whole show was very entertaining- great hula dancers and exeptional fire dancers. If you are staying on Oahu, do yourselves a favour and go see the Chiefs Luau - you won't be disappointed.

  • Sorry. Only photo i took before the show started.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Show but poorly represented

Reviewed by: Jennifer & Jim, 2016/11/27

The "Royal Package" is described as follows;
"Enjoy front seating and receive a fresh Flower Lei, a mai tai greeting and three standard drinks, a souvenir t-shirt, pork tasting fresh from the imu, poi and lomi lomi salmon sampling, and be first (1st) in line for the dinner buffet. Before the show, go on a short guided tour of three exhibits at Sea Life Park. Get up close with turtles and dolphins before you get to meet the Chief!"

We did receive our front row seating, mai tai greeting, 3 drinks each, t-shirt, & were first in line for the buffet. The Pork tasting, poi and lomi lomi salmon sampling was made available to all attendees at the Luau and there was no tour. We specifically bought this package for the tour and to be "up close with dolphins & sea turtles". We were held at the entrance until they called for "purple bands", aka royal package ticket holders. We were then led down the hill past a turtle pond and directly into the luau area while receiving our choice of flower or nut leis.

Once inside we received a complimentary mai tai and took a quick picture with the chief and a young lady. Realizing during the show that our picture was with the chief and that is when we "met" him. I would not call this "meeting the chief". The inclusions in this package are very misrepresented and should be updated to avoid disappointment to other guests.

The show itself is the BEST! The entertainers, the story, & the audience involvement is top notch. On our next trip we will be visiting this luau again but will rethink which package we purchase and will investigate options directly through Sea Life Park to avoid future disappointment and to ensure we will actually get what we are paying for.

**The show was definitely worth 5 stars but the misrepresentation of the package made us give this package 2 stars. **

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. Your feedback has been shared with the activity provider to better serve future guests. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having the most updated information on our website, we will make sure to fix the page contents. Our Customer Support team will contact you by e-mail shortly.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

. Chiefs luau

Reviewed by: Charity, 2016/10/13

What an amazing place wonderful food great people the show was outstanding the chief was great what do this over and over again

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING

Reviewed by: Rudy, 2016/10/12

I AM SO AMAZED AND DELIGHTED WITH MY FIRST LUAU EXPERIENCE, I LOVE IT.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great...

Reviewed by: Adriana, 2016/09/08

The show was funny and entertaining. The pre-games were fun. We even got a special dance since it was our honeymoon.. 2nd day. The drinks could have been better..the bartender was a bit sloppy..just stick to the mai tais

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

chief's luau

Reviewed by: Debra Jones, 2016/08/09

My sister and I wanna say thank you all at big chief's luau. First luau ever and we had a blast. So glad I had chosen Big Chief's. By far the best even though I'd had never been to another. The family oriented feeling you received you felt as if you had known them longer then you had. The food and entertainment was awesome. Not to mention the lesson in life to learn from . Teaching cultures and hawaii traditions was special. much love to the crew at Big chief's for making us feel so welcome. I would recommend to anyone I know. Even the bus tour guides was top stars.
Aloha
From Kansas
Love and peace

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply amazing!

Reviewed by: Daniel Haquet, 2016/07/14

We stayed in Oahu for our 10yr anniversary and this was attended the night of our very anniversary and all I can say is that the Luau was amazing. When everyone celebrating and anniversary was asked to go on stage, given flowers, torches came out and they shut off the lights and had the couples dance under the stars, it made our night. We could not have asked for a better experience. We had a great time, the staff was amazing and the event was more awesome than I could have ever anticipated. Highly recommend.

  • The backdrop was amazing!

  • The chief was such a character a genuinly awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience

Reviewed by: Michelle , 2016/07/06

We chose the Royal package, it was alot of fun sitting up close and getting to eat first! There were lots of activities to do before dinner and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The alcoholic drinks are very "light", drink your free ones but save your money on the others. Buy some of the hand made jewelry instead!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Cinthia , 2016/06/27

It was amazing definitely a must see show the culture was amazing and great to see

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: vegas, 2016/06/12

We had an amazing time. Would recommend to anyone. Fun for all ages

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just go!

Reviewed by: Froggie2121, 2016/05/15

Had a great time! Really fun people and a really funny and exciting show. Had a great time and delicious food and so many exciting activities and souvenirs. Everyone there is pleasant and it's worth the deals they have online!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau st Sea Life Park

Reviewed by: GeraldineRobinson, 2016/05/15

I have been to a number of Luau's on Oahu and this one is by far the best, mostly due to the brilliant 'Chief' who will keep you laughing throughout the evening. The food is excellent, the Hawaiian dancing is magical, the fire dance is spectacular, the whole evening is just total enjoyment from beginning to end. A show not to be missed.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Entertainment was the highlight

Reviewed by: David, 2016/04/09

The activities, dancing, and MC were very good. The food, however was just average. I have been to several luau before all of which had a better food selection.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Jacob Parent, 2016/02/24

This luau was the best ever for my first luau! so funny! everyone was friendly and the food was so fantastic!

  • Pig cooking

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau fun

Reviewed by: LindaTMK, 2016/01/24

I have attended many Luaus. This was the best by far. The pre entertainment, the show, the food and the staff were fabulous. Will definitely go again. A must - attend event.

  • Dancing the night away.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best decision!

Reviewed by: Sue, 2015/12/16

In Honolulu for business, I had just one day free and wanted to make the best of it. Ending the day with the Chief's Luau was the best decision I could have made. The show was the best part, really phenomenal entertainment and well worth the price. The ride out to the venue held spectacular views. Loved the whole experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience & Location

Reviewed by: H. Winarko, 2015/10/31

We had fun and lots of interaction with performers. Chief is super. Great Shows, food and location

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great luau

Reviewed by: susan, 2015/10/24

we found this luau great ,the view was amazing, the show wonderful ,shuttle bus staff fantastic our only problem was the food , we were the last table called up and some of the food had run out and also we didn't really like the food there just was not enough variety

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun luau!

Reviewed by: Jonathan W., 2015/08/31

This is the only luau I have attended, but I can't imagine one being more enjoyable than this one. The pick-up service was right on time at the scheduled location and the drive over to Sea Life Park was quick considering the time of departure. The pre-dinner activities were fun and I picked up a piece of local artwork from a vendor that has become my favorite Hawaiian collectible. Dinner was very good and I'm still thinking of how yummy the coconut cake was! Chief was very entertaining and the other performers really put their native pride into the show. I would certainly recommend this luau experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

There is reason why it's called Chief

Reviewed by: Jaybird, 2015/08/22

I am a native Hawaiian so I know my way around a luau. I was home visiting family and decided to take my wife and kids to Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii. I must say it was THE BEST luau I have ever been to. The food was excellent as I usually go to a luau for the food first and show second. The show was even better as Chief was the perfect showman with talent to burn. Speaking of burn, the fire dancers were simply AMAZING!! The entire show was dazzling as each Polynesian country were represented in true artistry. What an amazing show with some of the most delicious authentic Hawaiian food I have ever tasted. My only complaint, and its a small one, is that there was no haupia for dessert.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii/Paradise Seating

Reviewed by: Billy&Janis&Bryton, 2015/08/17

Fantastic. We were made to feel Welcome to the Beautiful Island. The presentation
was very authentic performed with passion. We really felt as if The Chief had gathered
the best of the best to reflect the special times of island life. The venue is the perfect
size and the interaction during the Meet & Greet time with games and conversation
could only be described as welcomed interaction.
Thank You for the pride of heritage and reality in which all was presented.
Gorgeous view of the bay behind the Stage complimented the performance of these
proud islanders.
Thank You

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2015/05/17

After swimming with the dolphins at Sea Life Park, we simply walked back through the park to the Luau (very convenient). We were greeted warmly with a shell necklace and photo op with the Chief, and then got to enjoy some games (spear tossing, a Polynesian version of musical chairs (except with sticks), braiding palm leaves to make head-bands, and hula dancing). There were also some tables with native-made goods for sale. Then the Chief led the unveiling ceremony of the roasted pig (he is very entertaining and funny), got our non-alcoholic drinks and food (which was very tasty, especially the pineapple cake!), and then enjoyed the show. The hula dancers were very talented, the fire dancers where great, and it was neat to see all the different dance styles of the islands that were represented. It was our 2nd wedding anniversary, so we got to go up on stage with some other couples and they honored us with some pretty flowers! The only down-side was that the location is a little small, but other than that, we had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So and so!

Reviewed by: Marzia (Roma-Italy), 2015/04/15

It has been a beautiful night, with a very normal dinner, nothing special for the price, with a beautiful show at the end. My disappointment was because I paid for a Royal seating and the seating was not good at all. I had to stand up and sit on the ground to have a beatiful view and I also didn't get the lei. But all the staff people were really very kind and I enjoyed the traditional dances and the fire knives dance.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic backdrop for a great Luau

Reviewed by: Paula, 2015/04/13

Everyone loved the entertainment, food and ohana spirit here.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing and hilarious

Reviewed by: Diana, 2015/04/12

food was delicious, activities were entertaining and fun. The chief was hilarious. View was spectacular. Loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN FUN FUN

Reviewed by: R family, 2015/04/04

We had a great night! The food was good and the show was amazing! It was worth the beautiful drive and the money paid.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories