Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.72 4.72 / 5

Reviews

138 reviews
Post a review

Entertaining

Reviewed by: Lynna Ampe, 2021/04/11

I would have given Chief’s Luau a Great, because the entertainment was the best. Thee food ok. How ever I took our two boys 15 and 16. Paid adult prices. Was told by Veltra, that they could have a virgin Mai tai or coke, sprite, etc.. however they would not give the guys drinks unless I paid extra for them.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time even through the rain!

Reviewed by: Mainland Friends, 2021/02/18

My girlfriend and I just recently attended the luau on Valentine’s Day. We were welcomed in and sent straight to our table which was set up very nicely. The show was absolutely amazing even though I feel it was a little short. It started raining pretty heavily and although we appreciated the ponchos it does seem that tents should have been built to avoid what the forecast predicted. This made it really difficult for us to enjoy our food because everything was soaked. All in all the food was decent. We did however have to wait 15 to 20 minutes for someone to notice our on the table signifier for a waitress or bartender to serve us. Fortunately it did work out in our favor as by the time our food and drinks arrived the rain had settled. The chief was extremely funny and we have an experience that we plan to take back to the mainland and talk about for years to come. If you do happen to go to the luau make sure you check the weather because I guarantee you would enjoy it more with clear skies. To the event, I was strongly suggest that pop-up tents are invested in so that customers can truly enjoy the night as expected regardless of the weather.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly and Fun Luau

Reviewed by: a-chan, 2019/11/04

Chief's Luau was such a fun experience. The chief was such a funny person and made me laugh the entire time during the luau. The show was very intriguing, the Chief likes to have the audience take part in the show which made the experience personal. The weather was great the day I went so there was no rain at all which helped make the experience more enjoyable. The food was okay it wasn't something extraordinary but it was still good. My favorite part of the luau was when the chief had a special segment where he recognizes couples on their honeymoon and couples who have been married for a long time. The chief also helped someone propose to his love. He really acknowledges family and makes sure that everyone has a good time while they are at the luau. I would definitely recommend this luau to families and couples. 

  • complementary mai tai

  • amazing fire show

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not sure if we would go back

Reviewed by: Viv , 2018/03/10

show was awesome
meal was not the best
we included transportation from Waikiki..ambassador did no entertainment on the bus

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value and great location

Reviewed by: Roc & Nats, 2017/01/02

This was a must do activity and was made excellent by our host "Cousin Bo" who was informative and entertaining. The event itself was fantastic, the show was very professional and the story of the Pacific islands well executed. The fire dance at the end was visually stunning and well worth it. Location was beautiful and the trip there was pretty too. The activities and food were probably not my ideal, but we would absolutely recommend going for the actual performance. We booked the royal experience. The chief is a real comedian and the evening was good fun all round.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great luau

Reviewed by: susan, 2015/10/24

we found this luau great ,the view was amazing, the show wonderful ,shuttle bus staff fantastic our only problem was the food , we were the last table called up and some of the food had run out and also we didn't really like the food there just was not enough variety

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2015/05/17

After swimming with the dolphins at Sea Life Park, we simply walked back through the park to the Luau (very convenient). We were greeted warmly with a shell necklace and photo op with the Chief, and then got to enjoy some games (spear tossing, a Polynesian version of musical chairs (except with sticks), braiding palm leaves to make head-bands, and hula dancing). There were also some tables with native-made goods for sale. Then the Chief led the unveiling ceremony of the roasted pig (he is very entertaining and funny), got our non-alcoholic drinks and food (which was very tasty, especially the pineapple cake!), and then enjoyed the show. The hula dancers were very talented, the fire dancers where great, and it was neat to see all the different dance styles of the islands that were represented. It was our 2nd wedding anniversary, so we got to go up on stage with some other couples and they honored us with some pretty flowers! The only down-side was that the location is a little small, but other than that, we had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN FUN FUN

Reviewed by: R family, 2015/04/04

We had a great night! The food was good and the show was amazing! It was worth the beautiful drive and the money paid.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

worth the money

Reviewed by: R family, 2015/04/04

We enjoyed the luau so much! We even got to see several whale breeches in the ocean behind the stage just before the show began. BONUS! Seeing the dancers and all that talent on stage was a great way to spend our evening.
Dinner was good, show was fun and the setting and the way the involved everyone made it that much more fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First experience for my kids

Reviewed by: The Mann Family, 2014/08/11

We love the dancers and the stories! It was awesome!

  • Pretty cool!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chiefs Luau

Reviewed by: Kelley, 2014/07/02

Really enjoyed the show! Food was...ok. Would recommend based on the entertainment factor.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: TMJ, 2014/01/12

Cheif's Luau show was good. Transportation was good. Food was alright. Disappointed in the fact that the 'coupon' for a free item we were supposed to get by booking with VELTRA was useless. In other words there was no free item.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

luau

Reviewed by: Joe Ballard, 2013/07/16

The entertainment was wonderful. The food was a disappointment. in fact, the cheaper tickets that went through the buffet had it better because they got as much as they wanted. Also, there wasn't much difference between our seats and theirs. I would do it again but would buy the cheaper tickets.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/09

Great, very enjoyable!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/14

We really enjoyed this Luau. The entertainment and location were fantastic. The food was typical luau food, but what it lacked was made up for by the staff and the show. Would go again in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories