Page 4) Maitai Catamaran Waikiki Booze Cruise Sunset Sail with Open-Bar [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Maitai Catamaran Waikiki Booze Cruise Sunset Sail with Open-Bar [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.59 4.59 / 5

Reviews

893 reviews
Post a review

Romantic night sail

Reviewed by: DHMN, 2016/02/15

My wife and I took the Maitai Sunset Sail for our wedding anniversary. Our crew, Ian and Lindsey, made the sail fun and Lindsey made sure that our hands never went without a glass. Water was beautifully calm, view from the waterfront was spectacular, and the fireworks just topped it off. I highly recommend this outing to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maitai Cruise

Reviewed by: Randy M, 2015/11/08

Great maitais and wonderful evening to go sailing!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worthwhile!

Reviewed by: Sandra, 2015/10/28

My first time in Hawaii and on a any type of boat. At first I was hesitant but so glad we had this unforgettable experience. Captiain, crew, music, view and Mai'tai cocktail were awesome. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Friday Night

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2015/10/26

This was a great evening activity for a Friday. The check-in process was super-simple, we even had extra time so we went to the small bar to the right of the check-in stand. Then we lined up and where able to board the vessel. I recommend shorts, as this is a barefoot cruise. I got a little wet but others weren't so fortunate. The cruise was a quite ride out, then down to Diamond Head and back near Magic Island to see the fireworks. Overall a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Maitai Cruise

Reviewed by: Brittney H., 2015/09/27

We took the sunset cruise on our last night in Waikiki. It was such a fun way to end our trip! The crew was great and took great care of us aboard the boat. It was such a relaxing way to spend the evening. If we lived closer, I would take this cruise all the time!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME!

Reviewed by: Miya, 2015/08/08

I went on the fireworks cruise with a friend of mine and it was definitely a trip to remember. The drinks were fantastic and the crew was so friendly. It was definitely something I would do again and I did! Except the next time I did the sunset cruise. The fireworks were spectacular from the boat and was worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasantly Surprised!

Reviewed by: Leslie C., 2015/07/13

When our original fireworks sail was canceled, we were told this sail would be comparable. However, when the confirmation was sent it clearly stated we would not see the fireworks regularly scheduled on Friday evenings since we would be ashore before the fireworks began. We were devastated. BUT... much to our surprise and NOT mentioned on line or the confirmation/voucher documents, we sailed amidst the local sailboat club's Friday sunset "race". It was absolutely breathtaking to sail with several other boats in the sunset. The crew make some awesome Maitai's too! Enjoy!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fireworks show and cocktails

Reviewed by: Mrs.Osaki, 2015/07/06

Waikiki was the destination of our honeymoon and a Fireworks Cocktail Cruise sounded perfect! I didn't anticipate how DARK it would be when arriving to the boat. It should have been obvious...but I didn't think about it. It was cumbersome to board the boat due to the tide and needing to board from another area a catamaran had left from. This meant we had to walk over a concrete divide that had been slightly eroded to access the ship. Was a little tricky.
The staff for the event was great. Full of energy and kept everyone informed of what was happening. The boat was full of happy tourists ready to party. Drinks flowed quickly and if you were adept enough to weave through the crowd in bobbing waves--there was not problem in accessing beverages. Since it was super dark, it was hard to see how to get around the boat. We unfortunately sat by the toilet on deck which was hysterical. It basically was a clear plastic top that opened and you climbed down stairs that felt like a propped up ladder. Inside it was really tight to move (duh, it's a catamaran). My husband said he didn't know how women would actually use it if they needed to sit. Best of all was---since it was so dark, the only light you could see was from the toilet; and if you were down there...EVERYONE could look down and see you. It was one of my favorite take-aways from the experience.

Overall the cruise was fun, staff was great, and drinks were solid. Hard part is having only a few minutes of fireworks...and then floating around in the dark with a boombox and sitting next to the bathroom.

If I was to book a cocktail cruise again...I'd choose the happy hour to enjoy the sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tons od Fun

Reviewed by: JSpenguin, 2015/07/06

Crew was great, they treated you like long time friends.
The drinks were awesome and not the watered down ones you get with other all you can drink tours. Part of the fun was getting on and off the boat.
Only negative comment was that the head had a see through hatch, but I would do this trip again. I highly recommend this sail trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience!

Reviewed by: Michaela, 2015/06/21

sunset was beautiful, staff was friendly and fun, music was great, and drinks were strong! loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mai tai

Reviewed by: Michelle , 2015/06/16

The cruise was good, the weather, not so much. The captain and bartender were very friendly, and entertaining.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip

Reviewed by: Julie, 2015/05/20

Amazing time, fun atmosphere! We went as a family of 4 adults a 7yr old & 1yr old. I wasn't too sure if it would be children friendly but it was. Well worth the money. It was a great start to our vacation. The Maitais were great but be careful they creep up on you. The captain & bartender were amazing and attentive. Just bring a light coat because it is at night and of course with the wind it could get chilly but good thing I read a review and went prepared. Loved it!!!

  • Before boarding

  • Friday's firework

  • Great view

  • The boat

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun experience

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2015/05/09

The Maitai sunset cruise was lots of fun! Drinks were flowing, the crew was so chill and the boat brought us some gorgeous views of the coastline and the sunset. A great addition to any trip to Waikiki.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing.

Reviewed by: Philip Petty, 2015/04/27

This is a MUST do for everyone and anyone. We did the fireworks cruise and it was incredible. The staff were amazing and the drinks were awesome. This was the perfect way to end our week in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Romanticc Sunset Catamaran

Reviewed by: Jorge, 2015/04/15

Incredible views of Honolulu & Diamond head, nice breeze, a fun crew, and all you can drink Mai Tais, what could be better?

My wife & I were really glad we chose the sunset catamaran over the night (fireworks) one, as it got a bit chilly after the sunset... especially if you happen to get wet. If you enjoy being at the front of the catamaran, I would recommend a swimsuit, as you'll probably get wet. Also, if you choose the Friday night catamaran, just be aware that fireworks are only about 10 minutes long at around 7:45pm.

Otherwise, this is a must, enjoy it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise

Reviewed by: Jeff P, 2015/03/29

We had a wonderful time on the cruise. We met some very nice people, enjoyed the scenery, and even saw some whales. The crew treated us like Kings and kept the drinks flowing. The ship was full, but had plenty of space to mill around and get a good view.

  • Beautiful Sunset!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful evening

Reviewed by: Julie, 2015/01/01

Great staff, beautiful scenery, we even saw a whale breech! Highly recommend this cruise!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maitai Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Randy M, 2014/12/08

Fantastic time!! The sailing was great and the drinks were the best. Would recommend to anyone traveling to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fireworks catamaran

Reviewed by: Jody, 2014/11/16

Was not relaxing at all. You stand around waiting for over 30 minutes to board. We boarded what I thought was an overcrowded catamaran then we waited around while 6 other people paid at the last minute so they could squeeze on. Very awkward way of serving the cocktails. They might well have said "can I throw you a brewsky". Would not recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friday night Fireworks

Reviewed by: "Sad to leave", 2014/11/04

What a night! It took 46 years of marriage to finally get to Hawaii and enjoyed it to the fullest including the romantic cruise watching the fireworks. Perfect night weather and sea conditions. Beautiful shorline with the colorful night lights. Can't wait to return...hopefully sooner than 46 more years!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

catamaran

Reviewed by: Marsha, 2014/11/04

nice and relaxing, wish it was a little longer. Drink and crew were very good. Had a lot of fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great sunset sail!

Reviewed by: Alana, 2014/10/28

We had a great time on our sunset cruise! The staff were friendly and helpful, and although the cruise set off a little late this had no impact on our evening. We would highly recommend this activity when in Waikiki, I think it is a 'must do'.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maitai Catamaran Sunset & Fireworks

Reviewed by: Susie Pena, 2014/10/18

Good cruise but was disappointed that it stated Fireworks and they brought us back to land to watch it and not on the catamaran where we would have gotten a great view. Don't advertise fireworks and then don't deliver. We could have paid the lesser price and got the same thing. Just sayin!!

  • Mike & Susie Pena

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally Awesome! Highly recommend.

Reviewed by: Candice, 2014/09/28

This was our first booked activity and it was amazing. Our captain was the best and the sunset was gorgeous. A relaxing, fun, and beautiful sail at sunset. The perfect introduction to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Evening!!! Let's Sail!!

Reviewed by: ArchAOD, 2014/09/23

A fun relaxing evening to put it simply. First there's the no hassle boarding right off the beach as the catamaran comes right up onto the beach. There may be a line but boarding is quick with lots of room for everyone once on board. You get underway very quickly, a brief safety talk, and then your motoring out past the waves to station yourself for the fireworks show. Drinks are as free flowing as you want distributed by the crew of one in a very efficient manner. The fireworks show looking back at the beach is pretty good - how can it not be- your on a boat in the Pacific, looking at skyline of Waikeke and it's 82 degrees!!! After the fireworks the captain raises the sails and you cruise along the coast. BUT - the best part of the trip is talking with the other passengers- my family met a group from New Zealand and we spent the time talking about differences between the two cultures as similiar as they may be to each other. We have 17 year old twins (boy & girl) and they also had lots of fun !! The price was a very good value, the time at sea was about right- Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience!!!

Reviewed by: Joe, 2014/09/20

The crew was amazing. The fireworks were awesome!! It started out with a booking that was fast and informative. We then started out on the water. Smooth sailing, and the captain was very friendly and personable. They said that the maitais were the best on the island. They weren't kidding!! Overall very well done! A must do, must see, must experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Stephanie Z, 2014/09/16

I joined the sunset sail with my family. The views were perfect, and my Mum and Dad really enjoyed it, it is interesting to see the sunset on catamaran with a bottle of Maitai. The price is reasonable and you will not regret.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All around great time on the catamaran!

Reviewed by: Robert, 2014/09/15

We had a blast on the catamaran from start to finish. We looked into the dinner cruises but were drawn to the quaintness and al-inclusive drinks on the catamaran. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful to show you a good time. The sail included a ride past Diamond Head and then returned toward the sunset over the Pacific. Seeing the many sailboats, paddleboarders, and surfers along the way was fun. We would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Firework and sunset cruise

Reviewed by: Cindy, 2014/08/22

What a great ride! Crew was great and music was awesome!! We had a blast!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FANTASTIC

Reviewed by: Barbara Sue Rhyne, 2014/08/05

Had a FABULOUS TIME!!! Thoroughly enjoyed the cruise!! The crew was energetic and courteous!! Would highly recommend and definitely return!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories