This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maitai Catamaran - Waikiki Sunset Sail with Open Bar & Friday Fireworks Cruise


Attended as (Families) Reviews

Best part of our family trip.

Reviewed by: Emily, 2018/11/15

My family has been to Hawaii the past 5 summers in a row. We always make sure that this is part of our trip. It is so much fun and good for the ages of our kids who are teens. We absolutely love the warm night air while watching the fireworks and the amazing view! The hosts are ALWAYS great and of course the drinks are a bonus! Thank you as always and we will be booking again in the near future!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/20
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friday Fireworks sail

Reviewed by: Janice, 2018/03/12

What a great evening activity! Staff was great! Definitely recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

3rd Time's a Charm

Reviewed by: Danni M., 2018/02/01

Third Mai Tai cruise and once again did not disappoint. First was the Sunset in 2016, Fireworks 2017 and Fireworks again 2018 !! Had a great time, drinks were fabulous as were the staff... See you again in 2019 !!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cruise with amazing staff!

Reviewed by: Kirstin, 2018/01/25

i bought this as a gift for a family holiday, we had the best time on board and the crew were amazing!

We even managed to see 2 whales!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great trip

Reviewed by: Suetyn2002, 2017/12/31

My daughters and their families and I all went on the Mai Tai sunset cruise! The boat captain let my 13 year old “drive the boat” for a couple of minutes so we could get a picture! The Mai Tais and sodas for the young ones were unlimited. The sunset views were spectacular! Take this cruise! It’s great for all ages!!!



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really Enjoyable with Great view of the Fireworks

Reviewed by: Denise, 2017/12/18

A really enjoyable evening - even though the weather was awful! But you can't help that!
A great view of the Fireworks and the lights along Waikiki - awesome to view a different perspective!
Super friendly staff
Plenty of drinks - was a little worried at first - I was traveling with my daughter - there was a Hen's night and a Stag night on board - thought I may have booked the wrong type of trip - a booze boat - I was really relieved - everyone was having a great time, without being stupid!
Would highly recommend this activity - it was one of our hi lights!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maitai's and Fireworks

Reviewed by: Danni M., 2017/03/21

This is the second time we have had an excursion with these guys, last Sept 2016 we did the Sunset one ( sensational !!) This time the fireworks and had the best night. can't wait to come back next year and do it again !!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Last night in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Sandi W., 2017/01/22

The sunset sail was a great way to end our week on Oahu. Fun crew, great drinks, beautiful sunset and gorgeous views of Waikiki and Diamond Head. They gave us a great suggestion for dinner after the sail as well. Thanks for the making our final night so memorable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the Fireworks

Reviewed by: Sandra (Australia), 2016/07/01

This is the third time I have been on the Maitai Catamaran Sunset Cocktail and Friday Fireworks sail. It's a great way to see the Hilton Hotel Fireworks and Honolulu skyline. Great crew.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend!!

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2016/06/13

My daughter and I had a great time on the Friday night sunset cruise! Such a wonderful way to begin our time on Oahu! More than enough drinks and the music added to the fun!


  • Amazing sunset!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2016/04/15

Great time, great views, and great crew. This was an amazing experience. The drinks were delicious.


  • Catamaran view

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasantly Surprised!

Reviewed by: Leslie C., 2015/07/13

When our original fireworks sail was canceled, we were told this sail would be comparable. However, when the confirmation was sent it clearly stated we would not see the fireworks regularly scheduled on Friday evenings since we would be ashore before the fireworks began. We were devastated. BUT... much to our surprise and NOT mentioned on line or the confirmation/voucher documents, we sailed amidst the local sailboat club's Friday sunset "race". It was absolutely breathtaking to sail with several other boats in the sunset. The crew make some awesome Maitai's too! Enjoy!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mai tai

Reviewed by: Michelle , 2015/06/16

The cruise was good, the weather, not so much. The captain and bartender were very friendly, and entertaining.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful evening

Reviewed by: Julie, 2015/01/01

Great staff, beautiful scenery, we even saw a whale breech! Highly recommend this cruise!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maitai Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Randy M, 2014/12/08

Fantastic time!! The sailing was great and the drinks were the best. Would recommend to anyone traveling to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Evening!!! Let's Sail!!

Reviewed by: ArchAOD, 2014/09/23

A fun relaxing evening to put it simply. First there's the no hassle boarding right off the beach as the catamaran comes right up onto the beach. There may be a line but boarding is quick with lots of room for everyone once on board. You get underway very quickly, a brief safety talk, and then your motoring out past the waves to station yourself for the fireworks show. Drinks are as free flowing as you want distributed by the crew of one in a very efficient manner. The fireworks show looking back at the beach is pretty good - how can it not be- your on a boat in the Pacific, looking at skyline of Waikeke and it's 82 degrees!!! After the fireworks the captain raises the sails and you cruise along the coast. BUT - the best part of the trip is talking with the other passengers- my family met a group from New Zealand and we spent the time talking about differences between the two cultures as similiar as they may be to each other. We have 17 year old twins (boy & girl) and they also had lots of fun !! The price was a very good value, the time at sea was about right- Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Stephanie Z, 2014/09/16

I joined the sunset sail with my family. The views were perfect, and my Mum and Dad really enjoyed it, it is interesting to see the sunset on catamaran with a bottle of Maitai. The price is reasonable and you will not regret.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FANTASTIC

Reviewed by: Barbara Sue Rhyne, 2014/08/05

Had a FABULOUS TIME!!! Thoroughly enjoyed the cruise!! The crew was energetic and courteous!! Would highly recommend and definitely return!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maitai Sunset Sail, fun!!

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2014/07/23

This was one of our favorite excursions. My husband, kids, brother and niece were very glad I booked this. The scenery was wonderful, the sunset was gorgeous, and the two crew members were so much fun. My kids are 26,24,and 21, and they still had to get pictures behind the wheel of the boat. I would recommend this even if you do not want to drink the unlimited maitia's! We sailed around Diamond-head Crater and saw the lighthouse which was really cool.


  • Sunset with American Flag. Very cool

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very pleased from Montana

Reviewed by: veta wade, 2014/04/27

My husband ,son and I really loved the sunset sail. The views were most spectacular and the Mai Tai's were very good. The crew was very nice and really wanted to make our sail most memorable. We would do this again if we ever get back to Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Jamie, 2013/02/28

We were staying at the Sheraton for a friend's wedding and decided that this was close and a perfect way to spend an evening, and boy were we were right! The delicious and bottomless maitais made for a great night and the best way to enjoy Hawaii's signiature sunshine.

The boat boarded right from the beach almost directly in front of our hotel, and from there we cruised along Waikiki for unbelievable views. The crew was excellent and this is a must do for anyone wanting to go sailing in Hawaii. Enjoy!





Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

On time??

Reviewed by: Robin, 2012/05/24

The instructions and directions to the location where we could park was not specific for those of us who had never been in the area before (we paid $26 to park). Our emailed confirmation told us to check in at 6:45pm and the catamaran would set sail at 7pm. Our group was first to arrive with plenty of time for checking in. Our catamaran did not arrive to pick us up until 7:15pm and it took another 10 minutes after that to get us all checked in to board. Once onboard, we realized the mai tais were weak so we drank beer instead. This was a very slow-paced cruise. We would like to come back but are more likely to experience a different catamaran cruise than this one.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories