This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise

Fishing Trip On Oahu

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/21

This was the wrong activity for me to book for my family. In reading the fishing trip description it appeared that it would be fairly calm since we were fishing close to shore. At no fault of the Captains or activity provider, the water was very choppy and very high rolling waves, and all 3 of my family members spent pretty much the entire time leaning over the side of the boat "chumming the water". 3 days later and we are still feeling a little weak in the stomach. I would not recommend this for a family activity. Maybe for a hard core individual wanting to do some ocean fishing. Make sure you don't get sea sick before you book this or it will affect your other activities after you attend the fishing trip. Again, I want to say that the Captain and crew were excellent, but we just underestimated the high waves and how long we would feel sick to our stomach afterwards.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Sashimi Bottom Fishing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/20

Had a beautiful day out on the water, but the propellor got wrapped in someones rope that another boat had tossed overboard. That made it impossible to get to the intended fishing spot, so the fishing wasn't as good as it should have been. 1st Mate Richard and Capt. Dave made the trip as enjoyable as possible. After a good lunch Richard had to jump overboard and clear the rope from the propellor to bring us in. Richard was very attentive and helped my grandaughter catch the largest fish that day, an almost 3ft saltwater gar. She loved it! Our 2 sons both caught triger fish. My husband and myself were fishless. We had hotel pickup and with the beautiful sites and lunch it was well worth the price even without the fish. The captain and first mate made the best out of something they had no control over.









Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

trip experience

Reviewed by: Annetta Mooney, 2010/05/11

W,e are repeat customers, well worth the price, staff is great, would recommend to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great value

Reviewed by: Mike, 2009/10/20

The boat ride out to our fishing spot was worth the price in itself, I had never been on a boat before or on muchless the open ocean. The seas were relatively calm but our party of 3 all took a motion sickness preventative and none of us experienced any problems during the trip. Make sure to bring a light jacket as it will feel cool with the wind and especially after the sun goes down.

The crew made us feel comfortable and safe at all times, provided dinner on the way out to sea and we were also able to eat our catch if you wanted to.

We each caught one fish and had a good relaxing time on the way home with the view of Oahu & the stars from sea.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very friendly and hospitable

Reviewed by: michael burrell, 2009/07/31

although we did not catch a lot of fish the scenery was great the captain and crew were very friendly and hospitable I will go out with them when i return to hawaii. Excellent trip for families or first time fisherman.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They all got Away!

Reviewed by: Charles Sartin, 2009/04/03

Originally from Florida, fishing trips are familiar to me. This trip was a complete disappointment! Thank goodness the scenery was beautiful. The fishing lines didn't use steel leaders, the hooks were the size of hooks used for small freshwater fish such as bluegill. certainly not for the likes of a saltwater fish. Also I felt like a child when the crewman handed me one "dixie" cup with bait to share with the two friends that came with me.
The fishing excursions I've taken in Florida included unlimited bait, each person receiving a bucket of their own and unlimited trips back to fill the bait bucket as needed, LARGE hooks and STEEL leaders on large shark type poles. There is never any guarentee of catching anything, but at least if you hook one you havwe the ability to reel it in. The one fish I did hook was to big for the supplied equipment. That's no fun and certainly not sporting.
Very disappointing :(

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun!

Reviewed by: Super Dave, 2009/03/04

We had a lot of fun. Cooking and sharing the catch was a treat. Don't expect gormet food, but it was OK. Also don't expect to catch a lot of fish or anything BIG. Fishing around the island does not compare with deep sea fishing in the Gulf of Mexico. Take it for what it is, a fun time and a great view of Waikiki, at a reasonable price! We will do it again next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You should try this once or so

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/22

This was my second time on the sashimi II. The trips were very different. This trip there were only 8 people very nice, but no fish. The pickup was a mess. The driver thinks that it is better to park and go look for the guests instead of pulling up in front. Too many one way streets for him. Whatever. Don't think I will go again, but for the price even if you don't catch fish, you get a boat ride with dinner, and a sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing Trip

Reviewed by: Brandy, 2008/05/01

My husband and I went fishing one night in Oahu. It was not quite what we expected. The whole boat caught maybe 5 fish around 6 inches long. The bbq dinner was some chili out of a can on some rice with a hot dog minus the bun. There were no drinks, the captain and the crew member had soda, but none for the rest of us. We did see a beautiful sunset, and it did get us onto the water. I don't think we would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing Bare Bones

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/15

Here are some things you need to know before you go on this adventure.

1. Bring your own food
When you first get on the boat, you will be given a plate with 2 hamburger patties (at least it looked like hamburger), a hot dog, rice (very bad rice), and it is all smothered in beans. You do not get any buns for the hamburgers or hot dogs or a choice on any part of the food. My son hates beans but since we were not asked anything, the whole plate was covered with beans over the meat and rice. The food was nasty but if your hungry you have to eat it.

2. Bring your own drinks

Bring your own soda or beer since the only thing available on the boat is water or juice.

3. Bring hand sanitizer

you will be baiting your own hooks with raw, sticky tuna chunks and the smell with stay on your hands for the whole day even after trying to scrub it off when you get back to your hotel. Bring gloves or hand santizer, you will thank me.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fresh Fish for Lunch

Reviewed by: luckyone, 2008/03/27

My Dad and I just went on the Daytime Bottom Fishing trip and we had a blast. My Dad caught the most fish of anyone on the boat! I only caught one but it was really pretty. Some people caught fish you could eat so they cooked it on the back of the boat and we all got to try it. The rest of the lunch was local Hawaiian BBQ and we both liked it. Great Trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bottom Fishing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/10/27

Fishing was great and the crew was nice. Unluckily wasn't the weather the best

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time.

Reviewed by: George, 2007/10/17

The Sashimi fishing trip was well done. We were picked up at our hotel on time. Chuck and Henry helped newcomers set up their poles and with the fish when they were caught. The barbecue was well done. Would recommend it to anyone looking for something different to do in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

Oahu Categories