Page 2) Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise

Overall Rating

3.81 3.81 / 5

Reviews

208 reviews
Post a review

Not the best, not the worst

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2016/03/29

Six of us went fishing and we caught a total of three fish. That seemed to be the general rate of success on the boat when we went. Pros: Great to be picked up at our hotel. The gear was in generally fine shape, Doug worked very hard the entire time between prepping the fishing gear and cooking up the fish that were caught for the ride home. Cons: There were too many people for the size of the boat. There were lots of crossed lines that took a lot of time to fix (Dough could only do so much). You can't catch fish if your line's not in the water. Simply put, there were too many people for the size of the boat and the crew. I could see this being a much better experience with fewer people.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing experience a must before going out

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2016/01/03

They don't teach out how to fish, they only supply hardware & bait. Did the night fishing, so its not like we had sunlight the whole time. I enjoyed myself, cause i know how to fish, but limited to where to go on the boat to fish.
They made food, not really, just cut up hot dogs & rice in a crock pot, set on simmer. I love to fish, but i don't like to eat it. However, i rather eat the fish i caught than to eat that mess hall type of food. In other words, not consider food to eat on a boat in the ocean. Almost as if to see who has a weak stomache on the waters.
Would i go back is the bottom line. Yes i would, i enjoy fishing. However bring your own food or wait till they cook the fishes caught, otherwise do not eat the food they supply. Bring beer!

  • First fish

  • Night scene

  • Day scene

  • View from ocean with rainbow

  • sunset with no obstructions

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset fishing

Reviewed by: David, 2015/12/24

The captain and deckhand were very friendly and knowledgable. Very easy going feeling. It was beautiful to see the sunset and the lights come on throughout the city. If you're looking to catch monster sized fish, this isn't for you, but we caught a lot of pretty and tasty fish that were grilled up on the ship and also got to take some home. A lot of fun all around and deliciously rewarding!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice fishing

Reviewed by: 247, 2015/09/06

Although we were very beginner for a bottom fishing, other participants helped us and we caught some fishes. Great experience

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip, lousy people

Reviewed by: Bjorn, 2015/09/03

Captain Tiger was great. Unfortunately, the other travelers were not. Plenty of people complaining about the heat, or weren't satisfied that they hadn't caught anything after 2 mins on the water. Other people intentionally cut off the sinkers so they could fish on the surface, and some almost tangled up in the motor while we were driving because they were impatient. Still caught several fish myself though.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful fishing

Reviewed by: Bjorn, 2015/09/03

Captain Tiger knows what he's doing, and if you follow his lead you will catch plenty of fish. We had a good haul, catching at least 20-25 fish over the course of the trip. Cooked up the snapper we caught. Would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun!

Reviewed by: Kelly, 2015/07/17

Very much enjoyed our trip! It was rainy all day but it stopped right before we went out on the water so it turned out to be a great time. The whole crew was wonderful and helped out anyone who needed anything at all! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Scott, 2015/07/05

This was exactly what we were hoping for. The captains were fantastic. At one point they moved the boat to a better location - always trying to provide a better experience. Cooking up the fish on the boat was a classy touch. This is a tour for inexperienced fisherman, however. If you want more of a challenge book their deep sea charter.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bottom fishing

Reviewed by: Joseph & Susan Daley, 2015/03/31

F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S......awesome time.....inexpensive....lunch over.....fishing......your catch is cooked up for you to eat on your cruise back. Captain and mate were spot on. Thank you for a wonderful end to our 5th Wedding Anniversary trip. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikki Bottom Fishing

Reviewed by: Bob, 2015/03/05

fun & relaxing afternoon
would recommend them to my friends

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Top day on the water

Reviewed by: Tim Leach, 2015/01/22

Excellent day of fishing. Very enjoyable Will come back again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok trip

Reviewed by: mika, 2015/01/07

It was called Sashimi fishing, but no Sashimi. The wind was too strong when we went, so we got very seasicked. The staff was friendly, but one of the guy was flirting with my friend and even patted my friend's leg, and we don't like it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing

Reviewed by: Linda, 2015/01/04

This was a very good experience for the beginner. We all caught something and had a wonderful view of Wakiki shoreline and Diamond Head. The crew were very good and helpful when your line got broken/stuck. Well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Bottom Fishing

Reviewed by: Randy M, 2014/12/08

Had a great time!! It was better than expected. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Late pick up But made up for the time.

Reviewed by: Rey , 2014/11/03

Had fun,for the price i paid. Was pick up late cause of paper mix up.But the Capined kept us out later to make up time which was cool. Im think everyone in are group caught at least one fish or more..will do again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Time

Reviewed by: Jackie&Manuel Villa, 2014/10/16

The fishing trip was fun... great for anyone. They took their time to go around and make sure you were okay... they provided food and grilled the fish at the end of the trip! Great instructors! Had a blast!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing

Reviewed by: Alan, 2014/10/03

Good afternoon but they should have some other kind of baits rather than just the one kind,we fisher people all know that you need more than one kind of bait.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip!

Reviewed by: Stefani Bucifal, 2014/09/29

My boyfriend and I were visiting from Santa Barbara, CA and went on this fishing trip. It was really fun and we caught a ton of fish! The staff was really helpful and laid back. We would definitely go again! They even cooked the fish we caught on the ride back. Great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing

Reviewed by: The Christophers, 2014/09/01

We had a great time!! Everyone was very nice and helpful. We would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Father-Daughter Activity

Reviewed by: Barbara Betty, 2014/08/17

I bought this tour for my husband and our daughter, who loves fishing. It was a great opportunity for them to spend time together doing an activity they used to do when she was younger. They had a great time, and, of course, she had proof that she caught a bigger fish than her dad! And I had an evening to myself to do a little shopping and relax!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly and fun!

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2014/08/12

I want to start off with a big thank you to Warren!! Very patience and helpful!! I have 2 young kids with me and he made sure I had assistance whenever I needed it. Got the Sunset fishing, they picked us up promptly from the hotel and about 20 minutes drive to the boat. Once on the boat it will take about an hour to get to the fishing spot. During that time they give you some instructions and serve you a rice plate that contains beans, hotdogs and pineapples. You get about 3 hrs of total fishing time at 3 different spots. A total of 5 hour trip. I would highly recommend this to anyone that enjoys fishing or just out in the ocean. My kids are 8 and 10 and had a lot of fun. If you have motion sickness make sure to take something beforehand, it can get a little choppy. I heard ginger works pretty well. Happy fishing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxed fishing

Reviewed by: Owen, 2014/07/30

Great relaxing evening . Picked up on time and out on the water with 11 other people .as with most fishing charters everyone became friendly and the crew especially deck hand Keith were great my type of people . Views of the harbour were stunning. And as a bonus we caught 13 fish between my wife and myself .
This is not a luxury charter it's a working mans charter and good value for money where you don't want a full deep sea trip . I would do it again .
Cheers to captain Rick and crew

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day fishing

Reviewed by: Tim Leach, 2014/07/12

It was a good trip not too long. Plenty of time for fishing. The kids really enjoyed it. They lived the fact that the fish they caught was cooked up right on the boat on the way back.

  • Olivia happy with her catch.

  • Fun day on the water

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!!

Reviewed by: Young, 2014/06/07

It was really great! People was really kind! Fishing was really good!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lackluster

Reviewed by: kaileen, 2014/05/11

Lackluster. One of the captains was kind and helpful. The "driver" was a egomaniac with anger issues. He called a small group of customers "Too f*cking stupid. They are just too stupid!" ...to their faces about 4 times. If you want to catch large fish spend the dough for a better trip if you can afford it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: paprjp, 2014/02/26

Great time! Capt Rich and Calen (?) were exceptional. Would definitely recommend and would do again! Thank You!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not bad

Reviewed by: Katie, 2014/01/20

It was the first time for me to go fishing and I think it was a nice experience for me though I felt dizzy on the boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a blast

Reviewed by: Dennis, 2013/10/03

We had a great time. The crew was awesome. They even grilled our catch on the boat as we fished. Lot of fun. Thanks fellas

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun trip

Reviewed by: Hatcreek, 2013/09/21

Fun trip. Good crew. Was a little crowded. Good light dinner served. Do not pay $63 can book for $55. Can ask to keep fish. only 1/2 of our group caught fish.only first and last stops were biting.captain would move if no bites so that was nice.overall very good value.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset bottom fishing

Reviewed by: Kaila Toone, 2013/09/11

This was a great fishing trip, a lot of fun with very few people on the boat, which is always nice. I liked going at night because it was cooler. Everyone on the boat caught fish which is also always nice. The only thing I would change is that you know ahead that they don't sell beer on the boat so you can bring your own. The crew was the best and super nice. The first mate was totally on top of things the whole trip and we even got to have the fish we just caught a little earlier because he grilled them right there on the boat. I would definitely go on this trip again with these guys! Awesome trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories